Image of The Cliff Bay Hotel

The Cliff Bay Hotel

17 of 24 hotels in Funchal

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
5 stars
Estrada Monumental 147, 9004-532 Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
A modern, prestigious hotel with a distinct touch of class, the Cliff Bay Hotel is a member of Porto Bay Hotels and Resorts.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Terry &Mary Ledger.
Efficient and friendly
8 years 5 months ago
We have stayed twice in the Cliff Bay hotel in the last two years and never found anything to complain about, in fact we have only praise and compliments for the efficiency and friendliness of the staff.

The cleanliness and facilities of the rooms and the lovely food and location provided by this excellent hotel.

We have recently booked again for May 2011 to experience the Madeiran flower festival which will be an opportunity to see some of this islands beautiful flora.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Billy & Sally Owen
8 years 11 months ago
This is the third time that we have stayed in the Cliff Bay Hotel and it never disappoints. Due to misunderstaning over last years booking, we were upgraded to a great seaview room on arrival. As it was my wifes birthday and our 21st wedding anniversary, we had flowers and cake on the appropriate days.

The hotel is clean and although we only stayed under a bed and breakfast arrangement, the breakfasts were excellent. The choice was great and the food fresh. If you get down earlier enough you will be able to sit outside for breakfast...not to be missed!

The pool area's are great. There is an area near the hotel with a heated indoor swimming pool, or you can ride the lift down to the open pools and go swimming off of the private quay.

the location is good, with both shops and restuarants with in easy walking distance.

The staff are polite and helpful which helped make our stay there very, very pleasent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Tracey Robson
10 years 2 months ago
Excellent hotel, we were on our honeymoon and they were brilliant with us.
The Hotel is very clean and staff were excellent and would do anything for you.
We ordered room service and this was very reasonable and wasn't overcharged.
We had a bathrobe and slippers in our room.
Rooms weer furnished to a high standard and the food was excellent, especially the breakfasts.
Portions were too big for a lunch time snack!
If you are going to Madeira, this hotel is a must!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Bob Barclay
10 years 7 months ago
a great hotel third time of going am going back in june 08 and january 09 all going well. food facilities and staff excellent.will return i am sure to this fine hotel many times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
John Smith
11 years 7 months ago
Avoid the CB for the next 6 months as the Crowne Plaza next door is being renovated - unless you like holidaying next to a noisy building site from dawn to dusk six days a week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Arrangements

Recommended
Williams
12 years 4 months ago
The Cliff Bay is a first class hotel run exceptionally well and its staff are superb. 5th visit and still great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
Lovely hotel. Furnishing in rooms looking slightly dated now, but are large and very comfortable, with great bathrooms.

Pool and spa areas are lovely - especially the indoor areas, which was good as it rained most of the week we were there.

Only used the hotel for breakfast and afternoon tea.
Food and drink prices were very expensive. I don't know why they do that! 7euro for an Irish coffee is over the top in my view. The sister hotel in Old Town (Porto Santa Maria) had a lovely bar and did a proper 2 for 1 happy hour, with a reasonably priced drinks menu.

Great location for sea views etc, and not too far a walk into town.

Would stay here again, but would want to get into the Porto Santa Maria and Porto Mare to give those a try.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Williams
12 years 11 months ago
Its our 4th time and this hotel is still superb, the breakfast is very good if a little crowded if the hotel is fully booked, excellent staff and no request is to much trouble.

The hotel arranged for football tickets to see nacional Maderia v Porto and the taxi driver.We have already booked for April and Oct 2006

Visit LAREIRA Restaurant no more than 100yds from the hotel it is superb. Swimming pools always clean rooms spaciuos and spotless, I just hope everyone does not discover Maderia
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Andrew
13 years 2 months ago
This is a fantastic hotel for couples or if you just want to relax and take it easy.

The rooms are well laid out and it's definitely worth paying extra for a full sea view!

The staff are first class, so helpful and friendly.

The lagoon pool at sea level is superb with excellent lunch time snacks/meals available at the poolside bar.

The spa area is beautifully set up and it's worth staying at the hotel for this alone!!!

Finally, I don't think anyone could stay at this hotel without mentioning the breakfasts!!! Which are just too good!!!!

There are so many little touches that make this hotel special. I would recommend it to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Terry Yarnall
13 years 2 months ago
Location

2-3 miles from town and beach, pleasant walk down but uphill back


Hotel

Reception
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Style

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum