Image of Raga Madeira Hotel

Raga Madeira Hotel

20 of 24 hotels in Funchal

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Estrada Monumental 302, 9000-100 Funchal, Portugal
A popular choice with couples, this comfortable hotel offers high standards of service with a friendly atmosphere. Situated just a short walk from the lido area, with its amny bars and restaurants, this is a great location for a relaxing holiday.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
The Raga is the most awful hotel we have ever stayed at
7 years 7 months ago
We were stranded in December 2010, no flights into Funchal because of snow in UK. We were taken by Thompson to The Raga for the night. It was the most dreadful experience. The room was so tiny, the pillows smelled very dirty and the beds felt like washing up bowls and had no mattress protectors on (a basic requirement). The food was so awful, we only ate the cake.

You reached the restaurant by going outside in howling wind and rain. The cutlery was thrown at us, the restaurant was a soul less place, no atmosphere at all, just a place to eat. The soup was like eating last weeks dish water and the staff were most unfriendly. I would rather have slept at the airport. I have left my review this long as I have only just discovered this site. The Raga is the most awful hotel we have ever stayed at and we travel extensively. How it got 5 stars I cannot not imagine. If you are expecting 5 stars, do not stay here. Go to a 4 star hotel like the Eden Mar suite Hotel opposite The Raga, you will see, instantly the difference in food, cleanliness and overall customer care. The Raga is a typical city hotel, if you just want a place to sleep, stay here, that's all it has to offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Steve
9 years 7 months ago
This is a good clean Hotel, good location to the seafront & a large selection of restaurants.
We had breakfast only so no comments on evening meals, but the breakfast was adequate with a fair choice
the room was good with nice views, the staff friendly & maid service faultless!
again no comment on entertainment as we went out every night. But it seemed lively, & no noise leaked out into
the surrounding hotel complex.
overall..a good place to stay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
L.hannon
10 years 8 months ago
We had been told this hotel had been refurbished and to some extent is has, the rooms are clean but small and basic and I certainly expected something better from a four star hotel. The food is quite good but limited in variety. The refurbishment however does not seem to have included the exterior of the hotel, the entrance is shabby and the swimming pool tiny and scruffy looking.
The Hotel staff were the most miserable I have ever encounted (AND they tried to overcharge me when I checked out). The biggest letdown for me was the lack a decent bar, the small pool bar closes most nights at about 6pm (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Mrs Coulson
10 years 9 months ago
The Raga hotel was allocated to us on arrival and it didn't disappoint! My hubby and I were on our honeymoon and when we notified the staff that this was the case they upgraded our room to a seaview room, which was gorgeous. Later on that evening a waiter knocked on our door and delivered a bottle of champagne, a bouquet of flowers an a basket of fruit! The staff were really friendly, the food was OK and the hotel itself was clean and tidy.

We would definitely go back. In fact my parents, aunty & uncle have already booked up to stay in October 2008!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel reopened on the 14th December after refurbishment which had been done to a high standard. The staff where most helpful.

Breakfast was self service with a good choice, but the evening meal was waiter service with 4 courses, which was a nice treat, we had a choice of main course (fish or meat) and a good selection of desert.

Most evenings there was an organist playing while we had our evening meal.

I would say this hotel was not for young people. We would go to this hotel again as the quality and value for money was very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lewis Family
12 years 2 months ago
I booked this holiday through Thomson at the last minute and had to settle for accomodation allocated on arrival. I was guaranteed at least a three star so was not really worried.

I chose Madeira purely for the flight timings as my daughter is only 7 years old and did not fancy hanging around airports in the early hours. I had no real experience of the Island, only what I had read in the brochure.

We were allocated the Raga which was about 40 mins transfer from the Airport. The hotel is very dated and is in much need of refurbishment. This is happening at the end of June as it is closing for three months. Saying that the rooms were very clean and the public areas were also well kept.

The staff are friendly, especially at the poolside. The hotel does not cater for children and according to the regulars (there were many), they do not usually have children staying. Luckily for my daughter there were a few children staying and we had a lovely week by the pool.

The food is not up to much, but there was plenty of it. We did come across a few cockroaches which was not very nice, but I do understand that it is a hot country and these things happen. I am sure that when the refurbishmentis complete, they will deal with it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jacqui Kellett
12 years 6 months ago
This was our third visit to the Raga hotel, we only ever stay on a bed and breakfast basis, so I can't comment on the evening meals.

Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent choice from continental to full English. Breakfast starts at 7-30am and ends at 10am, so plenty of time if you need a lie in!

We have always found the Raga to be spotlessly clean in all areas. As repeat guests, we are given a room upgrade and are left flowers, fruit and wine in our room. All rooms have a fridge (very handy for chilling the vino!)our bedding and towels were changed every single day.the hotel also provides a laundry service (for extra charge) which includes washing, ironing and dry clean.

As stated above I can't comment on the evening meal, but snacks are available all day at the pool bar, and also the coffee shop. Try the lasagne there it's fab.

The evening entertainment is the only thing which, in my opinion, lets the hotel down. These two guys have been there for years, and are still playing the same songs!! However you are free to walk into any hotel and enjoy their evening entertainment programme.

Lastly the staff....what can I say?? as soon as you walk into the hotel you are a member of the "family". nothing is too much trouble. Suzanna in reception is worth her weight in gold! is there anything she can't help you with?? Carlos the pool attendant is a lovely man, and so helpful. Our favourite member of staff is Helena at the pool bar, always a smile, and such a wicked sense of humour!

Would we visit this hotel again? well, let's put it this way....it's already booked!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
MRS SCOTT-KING
12 years 6 months ago
We paid 280 each for bed and breakfast at the Raga for the last week in January 2006. The weather it rained for 2 days, grey for one day and sunny at 19c for the rest of the stay. We booked with Thomson. It was my mother in laws birthday while she was staying there and she recieved a beautiful boquet of flowers from the hotel


The Hotel
The Raga hotel is a bit dated a bit worn around the edges but still is lovely. They are due to update it soon but I think it may loose some of its homely feel. Inside the hotel is a breakfast/dining room, a small dance floor, a cocktail bar (again quite small), several lounges and places to relax, an outside (unheated) pool with lots of sun lounges. Yes it is built between two busy roads so you will have difficulty sleeping if not used to noise. Remember though Funchal is a city so its to be expected.

The Room
We were on the 8th floor which was great (thank goodness the lift worked!). The hotel has 11 floors. We has room 805, it was well equiped and is great to be used for a base. We had a bathroom with loo, sink, bath and over shower and a bidet. Our room was quite large with a fridge, two single beds, dressing table and mirror aswell as plenty of tables and hanging space. We also had two armchairs next to a table aswell as a tv with sky and some British Channels. We also had a balcony with Fantastic views of the sea! On the balcony was two chairs and a table. The windows are not double glazed though so when it is windy or rainy it can get quite noisy. There is no tea and coffee making facilities (B.Y.O)and you have to ask for hair dryers from reception

The Food
We didnt eat at the Raga as we were only on Bed and Brekfast. It does have a dining room, a snack bar and another restaurant too.
Breakfast is served from 7.30am-10am, on offer there is tea,coffee, pineapple and orange juice. Four types of bread and croissants along with butter and jam. Fresh fruit and yogurt. Cooked items include small sausages, bacon, three types of eggs, cooked fresh tomatoes and beans. A sea view seat in the non smoking area maybe difficult to get at breakfast time. But there is loads of room in the dining room.

Cleanliness
The rooms were cleaned every day with linen and bath towels renewed three times a week. The usual shower cap, soap, flannels left for use (not refilled though). Sometimes rooms werent cleaned til after 1pm (although not a major niggle.) Always cleaned by a happy employee.

Staff
All staff speak English and are very helpful.

The Location
The Raga is on the Estrada Monumental a long road which takes you into Funchal center within 20-30minutes. Close to the hotel are plenty of restaurants to eat at from Portugese to Italian to Chinese food. There is also a "british" shop aswell as two supermarkets close by. Within 5 minutes walk is the public swimming pool (The Lido).
Beware people if you are over 30 years old though-you will get hasseled to buy into timeshares by the Porto Bay Resort people. They will offer you money off trips if you go to their timeshare resort.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Judy Dignum
12 years 9 months ago
We booked into the Hotel Raga for our honeymoon. Having booked a double bed we were not very impressed with the room assigned to us and were immediately offered another room, albeit a twin-bedded room, which we accepted. We then spoke to First Choice who in turn contacted the hotel manager who arranged to have a double bed moved into this room the following day. This was all arranged within 5 minutes and even impressed the First Choice rep.

Following an inauspicious start, we were extremely impressed with the hotel. It IS dated (sea green tiles etc!) but it has character.

There IS traffic noise but it's in a popular area of a busy city. More importantly, it is extremely clean and the food is good (especially the breakfasts).

If you want to stay somewhere where the staff are courteous etc to you only because they are being paid to be then go elsewhere because at the Hotel Raga they do really care about YOUR holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Peter Davis
13 years 1 month ago
Had an excellent holiday at the Raga Hotel.

The staff were very good, helpful and always cheerful.

The breakfasts were more then adequate and the hotel room very clean.

The towels were changed on a daily basis and the bed linen two or three times a week, which is most unusual.

The hotel is situated outside the main area of Funcal with wonderful views out to sea ( we had a third floor room with sea view)

The entertainment consists of a duo playing popular music with a visiting dance trope once a week.

Not suitable for children as there are no facilities.

I would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum