Image of Porto Mare Hotel

Porto Mare Hotel

5 of 24 hotels in Funchal

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Rua SimplĂ­cio dos Passos Gouveia, 9004-532 Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Opened in 2003, and part of the Vila Porto Mare complex, this excellent hotel has the best of everything. Fantastic sports facilities, indoor and outdoor pools and children's activities ensure that you will never be bored at the Hotel Porto Mare.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Den Carter
9 years 2 months ago
The Porto Mare is a lovely hotel both in terms of facilities and staff. The spa area and pools are beautiful and the gardens exceptionally well maintained. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - an attitude which runs through the whole operation - and our stay was memorable for all the right reasons. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of good quality food (loved the pastel-de-natas)and taken in a wonderful setting. Although the hotel is big there is so much space that it always feels very tranquil and relaxing -we will definitely return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos tourama

Recommended
Elaine Crow
10 years 2 months ago
We had an excellent mother & daughter break and can't recommend the hotel highly enough.
We stayed in a fantastic garden room which was massive
It was cleaned every day and we had courtesy bootled water every other day.
Excellent touches of lovely fresh flowers in the reception every day
Great weather in February
Pool & Spa were excellent
Make sure you take the hair raising basket ride but not if you've got a weak heart!
The cable car ride over Funchal is also well worth a trip
We will certainly use this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
J Holland
10 years 5 months ago
From the outside this hotel looks rather ordinary but once inside the entrance the transformation is unbelievable. The hotel is spotless with great decor and furnishings. The staff are extremely helpful and give you a good feel for the hotel. The gardens and complex are well cared for and the fact that the Eden mar is connected gives you more options for relaxation.

The restaurant we visited (med) served very good food and the service was excellent. The rooms are very big and comfortable and there is enough cupboard and draw space for the holiday glad rags.

The location of the hotel is exactly right as it is an easy walk to Funchal (25min), taxi fare to from Funchal is approx 6 euro each way if you need it.

If you prefer to eat and drink in the hotel then be prepared to pay 4 star prices, the entertainment in the Portofino bar is slightly dated but for guests who like to dance(strictly come dancing)it is good.

If I return to Madeira then Porto mar hotel is for me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sue
10 years 10 months ago
I really cannot fault this hotel. It was great.

We had a sea view room and was well worth the extra cost, we never got fed up of the beautiful view. The rooms were very big and spotlessly clean.

You get tea/coffee making facilities but don't forget to buy your own milk as you don't get that provided.

The hotel food was very good but we did find it was best to go to the restaurant earlier rather than later if you wanted to bag the best puddings! Staff were all great, never came up against anyone that was not friendly.

Entertainment was ok if you just wanted to sit and relax in the evening which we did but if you wanted more you may be disappointed.

The hotel location is ok, there is a nice promenade to walk on but this isn't very long and your walk is over very quick.

It would be wonderful if they continued it straight to Funchal but I don't think it is possible because of the cliffs etc. It would be lovely to walk along the sea front instead of the road side which can get very busy and smoggy from the car fumes (its not as bad as that sounds but you will know what I mean!) There is building work going on next door but don't worry as it really does not interfere with your hotel. I never even heard it hardly at all for the whole fortnight and believe me, I would if it was bad.

The hotel is in what is known as the Lido area. It is ok here but it is a 30 minute walk into Funchal. We found it quite nice as it gave you the chance to walk your meals off.

The hotel runs a free bus into town if you need it but you will need to book it in advance to get your seat, as it is popular.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Shirley Owen
11 years 1 month ago
This is my dream hotel. this was our 3rd visit to Madeira. 2nd time to the Porto Mare.

The sea view rooms are are really spacious queen size twin beds, tea and coffe making plus fridge.

For our 2nd visit a fruit basket was complimentary. For breakfast there was a huge choice cooked, cereal, meat cheese bread yogurt fruit. The dining room overlooks the pool and is spacious without feeling crowded.

Downstairs in the gardens is the pool but also a very large patio area with the most comfortable wicker suites with large parasols to keep out the sun. After buying the paper this is where we spent most of the morning reading.

Inside the hotel is a large reading lounge area with suites laid out to resemble a sitting room. it was nice to sit in here if the evening was cool and listen to the enterainment in the adjasent bar.

The overall effect of the hotel was very relaxed, and the staff very helpful. as we had an early departure 5.00am we asked for a breakfast tray which was delivered to our room at 4.30am.

There is a courtesy bus into the town which is quite frequent.

The area round the hotel is well laid out with plenty of restaurants round about and a lovely park area down the road which belongs to the hotel.

Fantastic hotel can't wait to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panarama

Recommended
Dora
11 years 2 months ago
We had a great week's holiday at the Porto Mare Hotel in February. Everything about the hotel was good. We had a very spacious bedroom with a sea view. The staff were very friendly and all the facilities are excellent. We booked bed and breakfast but there were plenty of places to eat at - within the hotel an excellent buffet style restaurant and also an excellent al-la-carte restaurant. We enjoyed our holiday so much we have booked to go back there again in April 2008.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs June Todd
11 years 9 months ago
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone we had a fantastic time the two weeks we were there, we took the bed and breakfast option and then took the 3 night evening meal at a discounted price. The food is beautiful hot and cold and plenty to choose from desserts delicious.

The hotel is very clean to a high standard, towels and beds are changed every day the beds are huge and comfortable, the rooms are spotlessly clean.

Hotel location was good they also had there own courtesy bus to take you into the town, there is plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel staff are most helpful and friendly also funny too.

The entertainment is average nice for the children also you could have the option to chill out with the lounge music.

The pools and spa are beautiful so clean and well maintained plenty of sun beds, loads to do crazy golf etc.

I most definitely would visit this hotel again top class I rate it 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Peter Gulaiczuk
13 years 5 months ago
We were in Madeira last year, found the whole island just fantastic, granted not a lot to do but just switch off and enjoy the calm everyday charm of the island.

Great weather, great polite local people, such a change in respect to other places we visit.

The hotel is just fantastic quality building everywhere you look, from the pools to the rooms the eating pleasure there is unreal, if you like good food and variety of food there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self. flights only

Recommended
Ella
13 years 8 months ago
Lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens. Excellent facilities both for adults and children. Many restaurants and shops (including large supermarket) nearby. Very clean. The staff were very helpful.
The resort is very hilly, so might not suit less mobile.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
A Richardson
14 years ago
This hotel only opened in January 2004 and it was fantastic! The views of the Atlantic were out of this world. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms were very spacious, well equipped, huge beds, a massive balcony, television,spacious bathroom and ours had a kitchen area for self catering which was very handy. The hotel has three swimming pools, a jaccuzi, a gym and an aroma therapist, We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfasts were fantastic, everything you could wish for, bacon and eggs, continental, cereals and the most deliciious waffles freshly made. We had a champagne breakfast most mornings.It took about 30 minutes to walk into the main town but buses and taxis were frequent.Ths hotel staff were friendly and obliging.We did not stay around for the entertainment so we cannot comment on this.When we go back to Maderia we will certanly stay at this hotel again it comes highly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum