Image of Alvor

Alvor Holidays

4 out of 5 from 134 reviews

Hotels in Alvor, Portugal

Image of Alvor Club Apartments
13 of 15 hotels in Alvor
6 Reviews
Image of Alvor Jardim Aparthotel
9 of 15 hotels in Alvor
4 Reviews
Image of Alvorferias Club Apartments
10 of 15 hotels in Alvor
40 Reviews
Image of Alvormar Apartments
1 of 15 hotels in Alvor
14 Reviews
Image of Dunas do Alvor Apartments
8 of 15 hotels in Alvor
29 Reviews
Image of Luna Alvor Bay
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
Ask for a higher floor.
1 Review
Image of Luna Clube Brisamar
15 of 15 hotels in Alvor
Use the hotel taxi to the town/beach, and there is a washer in apartment so take wash tablets. Quiet on Sundays but still some things are open..
1 Review
Image of Maralvor Apartments
14 of 15 hotels in Alvor
4 Reviews
Image of Pestana Alvor Atlantico Hotel
4 of 15 hotels in Alvor
3 Reviews
Image of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
1 Review
Image of Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
1 Review
Image of Pestana Delfim Hotel
12 of 15 hotels in Alvor
7 Reviews
Image of Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
3 of 15 hotels in Alvor
9 Reviews
Image of Quinta Nova Sun Club Apartments
11 of 15 hotels in Alvor
17 Reviews
Image of Vitors Plaza Apartments
2 of 15 hotels in Alvor
34 Reviews

134 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    36
  • Very Good
    63
  • Good
    25
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Karen
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed in a private apartment within the Quinta Da Praia. the apartment was excellent, and very hand for the beach and the town. We have holidayed in Alvor many times and really enjoy this laidback resort which caters very well for our needs. This is definately not an 18-30 resort but more suited to families or older couples. There are lots of very nice restaurants, Goodville, Buganvilia, Lusitania, Vagabondo, Dream Team to name a few. Having visited the Captains Table on more than one occassion, we were very dissapointed and upset with the way the Waiter and the Owner dealt with our complaint when we received a cremated kebab...apparently sell 20,000 a year and that's what a kebab is! mmmm and then proceeded to see us off the premises! We won't be back....
Lots of nice friendly bars, Charlies Place is a favourite, Borala Bar is good when Simao is playing, Mouriscos and the Sports Cafe are excelelnt and this year there is an excellent new bar on the harbour front, just past the lifeboats, called Seattle. Live music most nights and the band we heard were excellent. Pity we had to come home..... see you in 2009 guys...
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Peter Hazeli
10 years 1 month ago
the town of alvor has lost some of its original charm but is still interesting the beach at alvor is excellent and very clean
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Carolanne
10 years 1 month ago
Alvor has a great beach and harbour, great places to eat and great bars to drink in. We drank in most of the irish bars but we popped into the others as well.

will be back next year

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Martha
10 years 3 months ago
I thought this was a lovely resort. It has the perfect combination of unspoilt cobbled streets with lots of restaurants and bars. Not a huge variety of evening entertainment but most pubs had live music after 10pm. I would have liked something earlier for families who want the kids in bed before 11pm. We loved the Irish Inn.
Credit cards. I am used to paying for meals etc on plastic and just using cash for small stuff. We found that many of the restaurants did not take credit cards which is inconvenient.
I tried several restaurants mentioned on this website and was most disappointed with Vagabonds. It was the most expensive meal of the fortnight, the food was average, the portions small and they ripped us off on the bill.
China Garden was excellent, good service, great food, especially the crispy duck.
The Albor Cafe has a great location and we loved the food.
Al Dente- we went on our first night and couldn’t get a table. Didn’t get around to it again until the end which was a shame because the food was wonderful and we would definitely have gone there a lot. You need to book or go before 7.30pm.
Beach
What a fabulous beach. It‘s very deep and goes on for miles so never crowded. We seemed to have it to ourselves some days even in July. It was very clean with no litter or cigarette ends to be seen.There are lifeguards every 100 meters or so and you can hire sunbeds for 10 euros a day or 6 for half a day. We used the blue and white beds near the Cinco Quorona restaurant. Included in the cost was the use of proper showers at the restaurant which was very useful. The sunbed attendant was lovely and helped my son when he cut his foot on a rock.
We went to Slide and Splash Water Park. You need to take something to sit on and an umbrella if you want shade as there were no sunbeds.
Our best trip was out to sea on the dolphin safari. The one in Alvor was out of action and we booked through the travel agent in the Dunas apartments to go from the marina at Praia de Roche. It cost 160 euros for the 4 of us and was well worth it. The boat trip alone was exciting as you are on a speedboat sat astride benches (not suitable for the very young ). We saw lots of dolphins in their natural environment. Forget the zoomarine and do this instead.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jason
10 years 3 months ago
the resort of alvor is not for party goers it has nice resteraunts and bars but nothing to loud which suited us pefect.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Francis
10 years 3 months ago
alvor is a lovely place the beach is fantastic and the restaurants fine the portuguese people are friendly and even more so when you have kids
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sandra
10 years 4 months ago
Found Portugal to be extremely expensive now.
You will be spoilt for choice with all the wonderful restaurants. Raccula's near the church is recommended and is owned by a guy from Kent and his Portuguses family.
Felt I was in Little Ireland though as the place was full of Irish bars and Irish people. If I wanted that, I'd have gone to Ireland and not Portugal! No offence intended as I have Irish relatives.

Resort totally unsuitable for the disabled as it is hilly and all the streets are cobbled and slippery.

Airport duty-free prices are a joke! Cigarettes same price as shops but drink dearer. First time I've come home with no duty-free drink!!!!!

Beaches are beautiful. 10 euros per day for 2 sunbeds and one umbrella.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Griffin
10 years 11 months ago
Sorry Alvor just did not do it for me I would hear a lot of people saying how pretty a place it was not to me.
Also it is very hilly. Sorry would not go back for a holiday.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Scanlan Family
11 years ago
We love the Algarve, but adore Alvor! It has the best Italian restaurant in he world (Al Dente) and the friendlest bar (Russos). We have been to Alvor a number of times and we get recognised in the the restuarants and bars by the staff.

Alvor has the best beach. Its very clean and ideal for children. However, watch the weather. When it gets windy the sea is very rough. My two boys were told off for going in the sea when the red flag was flying, so you must pay attention.

I want to live in Alvor!!!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ann Hawksworth
11 years 1 month ago
The resort is not dirty but we saw quite a bit of dog dirt on the streets. Owners musnt clean their mess up. Plenty going on in the bars. Karaoke, live music. quizzes. Some very nmice resteraunts in the resort. The Indian hut is good for curries. A chinese near the taxi rank was very well frequented and we went there twice. We went to Prai de Rocha on our 4th day as we were told the beach was nice. Lovely. We went every day in a taxi after which cost us £9 per day but well worth it. I have booked a holiday in this resort for next year. Much nicer. Would go to Alvor for a night out but would not stay there again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
Alvor, Portugal
Small but content...
Image of Luna Alvor Bay
Luna Alvor Bay
Alvor, Portugal
Great Hotel
Image of Alvormar Apartments
Alvormar Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
3rd Stay - ideal for families
Image of Maralvor Apartments
Maralvor Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
The Maralvor was bleak in as much as the pool area…
Image of Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
Alvor, Portugal
We had an excellent family holiday in Pestana Dom …
Image of Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
the only good thing about the hotel was the cactus…
Image of Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
Alvor, Portugal
we have visited this hotel many times over the y…
Image of Alvorferias Club Apartments
Alvorferias Club Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
apartments very clean and were huge,lovely pools t…
Other popular destinations
Image of Albufeira
Albufeira
Algarve
Image of Praia Da Rocha
Praia Da Rocha
Algarve
Image of Funchal
Funchal
Madeira
Image of Vilamoura
Vilamoura
Algarve
Image of Lagos
Lagos
Portugal
Image of Carvoiero
Carvoiero
Algarve
Image of Monte Gordo
Monte Gordo
Algarve
Image of Portimao
Portimao
Algarve
Image of Olhos de Agua
Olhos de Agua
Portugal
Image of Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
Algarve