Image of Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel

Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel

3 of 15 hotels in Alvor

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Alvor, Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel, 8501-904, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alan
8 years 8 months ago
We had an excellent family holiday in Pestana Dom Joao. The hotel was on an excellent location right on the beach, so you had the choice of dipping in the pool or the sea to cool down. Decent food and our 7 year old son loved the buffet in the mornings. Room clean and modern, satellite TV, modern bathroom. Sea view worth the extra money as it is a beautiful view.

Only minor criticism was the air-conditioning which had only slight impact on cooling the room down. We stayed B&B which we preferred as we like the variety of trying different restaurants in town. The walk into Alvor is only about 15 mins but there is also a good cluster of bars and restaurants as soon as you hit the outskirts of the town (only about 5 or so minutes from hotel). Best food was in the Lemon Tree in town, excellent quality and friendly service too.

The hotel entertainment is fine and we enjoyed their show nights (1-2 nights a week) and they had one or two other shows (kids fashion show or local Algarve folk dancing). The other nights it was basic keyboard and singer stuff - OK background noise but not worth staying in for!

Some entertainment each afternoon most days apart from Sunday if you could drag yourself away from the sun-lounger: shooting target practice, beach football, volleyball and pool aerobics.

A great holiday which we loved and so did our son. I wouldn't hestitate to recommend it for couples or families, but not for singles looking for a wild time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Bobby
8 years 11 months ago
Eight of us spent seven days at this hotel on a golfing package. The hotel was spot on, very modern, spotlessly clean with daily maid service.
The facilities provided are really good, I particularly enjoyed the turkish steam room and the sauna followed by a dip in the indoor pool.
The restaurant staff were a bit aloof, but very efficient. I celebrated my birthday here, and was so absolutely gobsmacked when the hotel manager arranged for a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice to be left in my room on return from the round of golf. A wonderful surprise and a nice touch.
If there was a negative it would be the very small balcony to the room.
I would recommend a stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Premier Iberian

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Just returned from 2 weeks in Alvor staying at Dom Joao hotel.

This hotel is not a four star in my opinion. This is highlighted by the fact refurbishment is due to begin in October. Bright blue and yellow tiles everywhere - very 70s. Furnishings/Decor all very tired looking.

3rd bed was added to our room for my daughter - the headboard - if you could call it this - was made out of metal/tin and looked like something from WW2. I had to cover it in a sheet to make it more safe around the edges.

The bathroom was in desparate need of grouting - brownish stains and the wood had been chipped from bottom or doors over several years.

Please note the room that is shown in the brochure is a sea view room , the decor differs greatly if you do not pay the supplement for the sea view.

Food we recycled each day, Soup appeared the same everyday but just a new name was given to it. Our first tuesday there was a grill night which was nice but the second tuesday was no where near the same standard. This is the only hotel I have visited where i have felt the need to eat out at night - which we did on several occasions.

On the plus side nice pool,plenty of sunbeds and location onto beach is brilliant. It takes 10/15 mins to walk into town - but when temperatures increased whilst we were there it was not a problem. It was extremely cold first 4 nights, no one sat outside and a coat was definately required.

On our last day we were told we could book an early breakfast as coach pick up was 6.00am. this was booked for 5.30. We went into restaurant nothing out , we asked for jug of water , the waiter was extremely rude and unhelpful and returned with a jug of warm water which was in no way drinkable. I believe he just took this from hot water tap. We waited 10 mins in hope he would bring out some milk (we did not expect all singing all dancing breakfast at this time of day) but at least a drink would have been nice. We had to search through kitchen for the man on duty who became extremely angry and told us he did not start until 6!

This was our last impression of this hotel and will not stay in this chain again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Susan & Ralph
10 years 10 months ago
When we booked we were advised to pay for a sea view. This I would recommend. The view was breathtaking.

The rooms are very comfortable as were the beds. Maids in every day with clean towels/bed linen. We were only B&B, there was always plenty to choose from.

The hotel was a 10 minute walk into the town where there are loads of restaurants something for every taste in food. We did not sample the entertainment as we went out at night for our meal.

Plenty of bars to sit & have a relaxing drink after your evening meal. We would definitely visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years ago
This is a very good hotel, it's very clean, the towels and bed linen changed frequently, a hair dryer is provided in the bathroom and a safe can be hired for 2 euros a day.

The food was good with a wide choice of hot or cold meals and wide selection of vegetarian meals.

All the staff spoke English, even the cleaners spoke it fairly good.

The hotel is part of a complex of three hotels, villas and apartments it has very nice grounds with several swimming pools, including children's pools and a golf range. You can use the facilities at the other hotels including their restaurants provided you prebook.

The hotel is right beside a very long beach, I walked it and it must be a mile long, it's very clean with golden sands.

The hotel has a restaurant/snackbar on the beach.

The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes walk into the town of Alvor, whilst at night the road is well lit there is no pavement and so you have to be vigilant regarding the traffic,though taxis are available and are reasonably priced.

The entertainment consisted of, on Saturdays and Sundays a man playing an electric guitar and singing to recorded music. In the week their were two men playing an organ and the drums. Their music was middle of the road, easy listening. Whilst not for the younger generation they weren't bad I have heard far worse, even the children were dancing to them. The hotel runs a free courtesy bus to Portimao and there are public transport buses to Lagos and Albufera that pickup right outside the hotel.

I had a very satisfactory week's holiday at this hotel and I would certainly return to it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Marilyn
11 years 2 months ago
Very clean hotel.

The staff are very friendly and can't do enough to make your stay comfortable.

Food was very good with plenty of variety.

The hotel is situated on the beach which is a bonus.

The entertainment could do to improve.

I would definitely go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Mrs J Sidebottom
12 years 5 months ago
Hotel was very clean.

When we first arrived and checked in to our room we were very disappointed. The room was very cold and overlooked the car park,therefore getting no sun at all during the day. After a very cold night we spoke to a different receptionist(the chap we spoke too the day before didnt want to know)we were given the key to a different room on the 1st floor(originally on the 4th floor). This room was lovely and warm although very noisy at night sounded like air con units.

Food was very good. The room was quite clean. The maids do work hard. Didnt find the entertainment very appealing. Staff werent very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Fiona
13 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a weeks holiday and although relaxing there isn't much to do for a young couple this time of year.

Was a bit dissapointed as mainly maturer couples / partys for this time of year and the hotel catered more so for them.

Great location only 10 mins walk to Alvor town on the road (no paths built)and also along the beach front which is very clean.

The hotel itself could be re-vamped a little still very 70's and although it offers a leisure facility with heated indoor and outdoor pool this isn't the case - the pools are very cold and the gym is a 10 minute walk to another hotel and most of the equipment does not work.

Food wise although alot of variety most of it is cold and we had to wait some time for food that had run out to be brought out again.

We would travel back to this hotel at a different time of the year and also to see if it had improved.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
I've just returned from 4 fantastic weeks at this hotel and I would highly recommend it for singles/couples at this time of the year. We have had a lovely quiet and relaxing time.

Location - Directly on one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen, you can walk for miles along it. Also not too far from the village of Alvor - about a 15 minute walk.

Food was lovely with plenty of fresh fruit, nice main courses and sweets. (Only had chips on a few times).

Cleanliness - Rooms where cleaned every day and clean towels provided daily, linen changed every 3 days.

Entertainment was good and they offer a lot of painting activities which were nice to try for a change.

Staff were so pleasant and polite they would do whatever they could to help you.

In my opinion at this time of the year the hotel is not for those who want a lot going on and disco's etc.
Also if the view from your room is important then pay extra for the sea view otherwise it is likely that your room will overlook the car park

It is one of the nicest holidays we have ever had and will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum