Image of Quinta Nova Sun Club Apartments

Quinta Nova Sun Club Apartments

11 of 15 hotels in Alvor

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
3 stars
Sítio da Dourada, 8500 Alvor, Portugal

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andrea
12 years 2 months ago
All I can say is Faulty towers.

We spent 1.5 days there & got out at the earliest chance. Alvor centre must have been at least a mile away. It took us at least 5 - 10 mins to get there in a car from another hotel just outside alvor.

All the rooms virtually overlooked each other, it felt like the old butlins camps.

The staff were unhelpful. Thankfully we were at alvor last year so we spent most of the day catching up with people we knew.

Would never go there again.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Unhappy Bunny
12 years 3 months ago
Stay at this place again? You must be joking! I am a fair person and I am not hard to please but I would never stay at these apartments again, I will tell you why reasons why.

1) We stayed on an all inclusive basis and the food was below an acceptable standard, often cold or barely warm, as a result I ended up with food poisoning and the holiday repetitive Fernando did nothing about it. Okay it was not his fault but he could have took the complaint seriously and informed the correct people with the food problem rather than ignoring the issue giving the fact that I complained on more than one occasion.
2) The pool areas were of an acceptable standard that I have no complaints about.
3) The rooms were not very clean and the bedroom and living/kitchen area had an extremely bad mouldy smell to it throughout, even the wardrobes when you opened them smelt like it.
4) None of the bathrooms had a window in and there was not an extractor fan only a ventilation bit which made no difference so you can imagine that steam was constantly in the bathroom and their was a horrendous smell when people needed to use the toilet facilities as there was not adequate way of getting rid of it.
5) The staff was not always polite and/or helpful.
6) They could do with pulling the apartments down and rebuild them from scratch.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

ONeill
12 years 4 months ago
Apartment was spacious but in desperate need of decorating. Free standing cooker which is rare on holiday, microwave, toaster, fridge and kettle. Maids came in every day except Sunday and were very pleasant.

Towels and bedding were not changed too often just fluffed up. First time all inclusive and it will be the last the food was absolutely horrible.

The restaurant is like a canteen and it is a fight to get a table you then have to get your own cutlery and queue for 10 minutes to get a drink. Pork, chips and burgers almost every day, chicken once during the fortnight we were there, a salad bar that consisted of lettuce, tomato, onion and a few pasta/fish dishes covered in mayo so you can't tell what is actually in them.

Have to be up at 7.30 to get a sunbed there are 2 average sized pool areas to cater for 400+ apts Pool areas never cleaned, there were plates sitting in the pool area when we arrived and were still there a wk later.

Mini disco every evening which all the kids loved but it was only 5 songs. entertainers very nice and seem to work hard Be prepared to queue for a drink only 1 bar man at any time and don't expect pints of beer they only give out small glasses.

Don't expect service with a smile I have never met more unpleasant ignorant people (exception of maids)than the staff in the Quinta nova they look straight through you and if you ask for four drinks they tend to give 2 (no good for a family of 4)when you correct them they will Tut or sigh. This experience has put me of all inclusive holidays and indeed Portugal.

I will definitely not be returning to the Quinta Nova again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Med Hotels

Chris
12 years 4 months ago
My wife and I have just returned from the Quinta Nova 6 August after 11 night stay on an all inclusive basis, the room was not bad,good for self catering.

The rooms were cleaned every day except sunday, towels were replaced with clean but sometimes ripped and threadbare, the beds were ancient on the 10th night my bed actually broke in the middle, no air conditioning, we had to purchase a Fan think fans are for hire but would be cheaper to buy.

This hotel would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties.

The food that this hotel serves up in my opinion is a disgrace, food that should be hot was lukewarm or even cold, very limited choice, the canteen as it should be called not restaurant was small and crowded, we ate there only twice eating out put an extra 500 pounds onto our holiday cost.

The pool area was filthy, people eating next to overflowing rubbish bins, guests were actually going round with black bags cleaning up the rubbish off the tables, the bar staff & canteen staff were unfriendly & miserable.

I feel sorry for anybody on a limited budget and would have to suffer this place for the whole of their Holiday's. Don't waste your money, this place is terrible, alvor itself is very very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Angela Dunne
12 years 4 months ago
The Quinta Nova apartments are very basic but really clean. They are a lovely ten minute stroll from the town, a lovely walk in the evening when it has cooled down.

We had a couple of small issues such as no clothes horse and a leak in the bathroom which were fixed straight away.

They could do with another pool and you have to be up early to get a sunbed. The apartment although basic had a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge and three ring cooker which worked really fast.

The entertainment in the complex could have been a bit better but we do our own thing on holiday so that wasn't an issue. The cleaners came in every day with fresh towles and cleaned the apartment, the staff in general were ok.

A visit to Slide and Splash is a must, we had an excellent day there. Yes we would return to Quinta Nova again but wouldn't go all inclusive as advised by people who had.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Amy
13 years 4 months ago
Excellent hotel, in paticular the staff and entertainment - so much energy. Bar and entertainment staff were very friendly and inviting.

Good location, near village and bus provided for beach.

Would recommend
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Jean Craig
13 years 8 months ago
We booked last minute and the QN was allocated on arrival. We liked the size of the accommodation - nice and roomy.

It was kept really clean by the friendly maids, clean towels and beds made every day. There was a little balcony, we were on the ground floor, with table and chairs.

The kitchen gear was okay - cooker and microwave and toaster( a bit of a bonus I thought.)

It was a bit 'past it' but fine, especially at the price we'd paid.

We only used the restaurant the night we arrived and it was okay but a bit pricey. Entertainment for kids probably, didn't check it out in person.
Overall I was pleased. Cheap and cheerful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rick & Elly
13 years 9 months ago
We arrived at 10am but had to wait until 2pm for our room even though the place was half empty.

Our room was dark, tatty and dirty. Cupboard and drawer fronts broken, ancient appliances and electrical fittings. The beds squeaked at the lightest touch.

A toasted sandwich in the restaurant was over-priced and unappetising. No-one but us were using it.

We found the hotel reception staff disinterested.

We booked out within 3 hours of checking in and would not wish for anyone else to have the disappointment we had at the start of an otherwise great holiday in a lovely area.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Pamela Haigh
13 years 9 months ago
Arrived at lunch time and waited for maybe half an hour till room was ready. Walked into the apartment and as other people have wrote regarding the furniture, wonky cupboards and VERY squeaky beds, not for people on honeymoon !!!

The apartments were cleaned daily and the cleaners were very pleasant.

The entertainment on an evening was amusing especially the bingo, if you want to go to sleep then this is the time to do it !!! If you go then you will see what I mean.

As for visiting this complex again then yes, with no doubt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Heyes
14 years 2 months ago
Rooms basic but adequate for needs. Pay attention to the kettle though! It is a whistle kettle on the hob and we tried for 2 hours to make a brew to no avail. We then discovered the high setting on cooker is the opposite to ours in england (to the right not left).

The bar snacks were alright but quite expensive.

Pool was very clean but freezing cold all the time we were there.

Hotel is only 10 minute walk into Alvor down a hill.

Hotel staff were very nice, especially Rosanna the entertainment manager who organised rifle shooting, archery, pistol shooting, football etc every day between 3pm and 4.30pm.

Evening entertainment was much for children but was quite good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None Booked Seperate

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum