Image of Paraiso Maspalomas Apartments

Paraiso Maspalomas Apartments

40 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
1 star
Avenida de Gran Canaria, 44, 35100 Playa del Ingl├ęs, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Helen Mccann
9 years 10 months ago
Have just spent a week here and was rather disappointed with the rather basic self catering facilities. We like to cook some of the time and were disappointed to discover no oven or grill, then to have to hire a kettle and not able to get a toaster was a bit much. I think they should specify in the brochure description exactly what is available. the apartment was clean and plenty of storage space, when we arrived we had no light in the bathroom and several of the sockets were faulty, I ended up charging my phone in the kitchen as none of the other sockets worked, the light was fixed and by a very pleasant member of staff. Hotel reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.
I just feel as if the complex is stuck in a time warp, bags of potential but not being developed.
I didn't feel as if the appartment was very clean after it had been cleaned and the towels were threadbare.
The holiday itself was very enjoyable and a wonderful location, any of the restaurants we visited served excellent food and you always got a free liqeur at the end of your meal. Beaches and scenery were stunning, especially the drive up to Cruz de Tejada and the view of Roque de Nublo.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunset Tours

GaV
9 years 10 months ago
On the whole id say the hotel was good very basic and like others have said in a 70`s time-warp.

Would visit again as it`s fine for a week, regular maid service and thr bar downstairs is fine if you like big measures.

Was not so keen on the poolside snack bar pretty incompetent bar staff and the snack food wasnt exactly amazing so I wouldnt recommennd eating there.

The pool area itself is fine loads of space although seemed to be very popular with Germans when we went which was a bit of a downside.

The room itself was basic but fine apart from a lack of cutlery i.e. a cereal bowl and the TV was a waste of money as there are only 2 english channels which are poor CNN and eurosport.

Found the location to be fine and the staff very helpful. Couldnt really complan for the cheap deal we got.

If you have a late check out u can book the room for an extra day if you ask at reception for 20 euros which might be cheaper than going through the rep and is useful as u can leave when u want and not hang around all day.

Reception also book cheap taxis to the airport which is useful as we got ripped off when we got one from the airport coming to playa del ingles.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jay
10 years 6 months ago
not had any problem with it,hotel is clean,snack bar at the pool was ok, big bar area inside but never open,it was cheap to eat out,not far to walk for food or about 3 euro's for taxi to main centre's,most hotel staff were ok,the maids were great,came about every 2 days. no entertainment in the hotel & 2 english channels in room tv, cnn & eurosport.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
ARTHY
11 years 7 months ago
We arrived in at lunchtime to the apartments and looked a little scared as one pool was greenish in colour and we thought oh my god! But on entering accommodation we had a sigh of relief as the apartment was very clean and standard was ok, we overlooked the pool area in which there were 3 lovely ClEAN pools and a nice snack/bar.

As we ventured around apartment complex there is really everything you need shop/bar/pools/snack bar reception were helpfull when asking about surrounding area althougth at night if you are talking as you walk in your told to ssshhh.

There is not any entertainment really here but the bar down stairs has darts pool tables games etc. The location I thought was fab, yes there is a large club nearby but we were not really disturbed by this.

The walk to the commercial centre only takes about 15mins the beach is a pleasant but long walk which we did 3 times. There is a spar round corner which is cheaper than the one in the complex for some things but others are about the same.

Some accommodation right in centre had bars underneath them which we would rather walk into.
The cleaners come more often than the rep said which was good but we did notice they are a bit slap dash about the floors as by the second week walking around bare foot lead to black feet! But everything else was great they always changed towel etc.

We would def go back to Playa del Ingles and prob this complex if about same price again, we did have a nosey in another aparment which was similar maybee better furniture. (our sofa not comfy as had hard board under it ouch but your not sat there long its ok. Beds not the best but when are they?

All in all we had a great time, its not the ritz but has all you need for self catering chill out or to party.

They did start to refurb 2 other pools while we were there and shut them off for a few days the complex was not packed so did not affect us., they were laying new concrete round the edges thats all.

So dont panic when you arrive if there is an empty pool on its own there are 3 more. We would still go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUNSET

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
Arrived at hotel at 3.45am, just wanted to sleep. However on waking up was pleasantly surprised at the size of the accomodation.

There was a good sized living kitchen room and bedroom, bathroom and balcony overlooking 3 pools. The apartment was well equipped, with plenty of cupboard space in the kitchen/living room, bathroom and bedroom. The apartment was a bit dated, however spotlessly clean.

There was no air conditioning, but balcony and bedroom windows had grills on them and the way the rooms were set out meant that cool air came into the apartment, so it was never too hot. Maid service was every day.

Reception staff could'nt have been more helpful. The pools and surrounding area were very pretty and well kept.

We didn't use the hotel restaurant until the last day, which was a pity because the food was delicious and all freshly cooked. Bar wasn't as busy as it could be, but met lots of people so the time my daughter and I spent there was good.

Taxi's really cheap and drivers friendly, so used them a lot, though we were only about a 15 min walk to the Yumbo centre and Kasbar Centre.

There was no entertainment in the complex, except pool and machines.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Paul Jones
12 years 2 months ago
Fawlty Towers this place is! We were on one of those 'allocated on arrival' holidays and when we got to the hotel we were surprised at how big it was from the outside.

The three pools are very good but the hotel is very dated and it doesn't look like anything has been modernised from when it was built in the 70's.

We had to be moved on our first night as our room didn't have a lock on the door and no electric either. The second room we stayed in was better but sweltering hot as no air con and if you kept windows open of a night it was very noisy with people shouting all the time. Also when the room got hot it absolutely stank of urine - there was a leak on the toilet which must have been there for a long time.. And the beds were awful.

On the plus side The staff were quite pleasant and there are shops on site were well stocked but a bit pricey. The bar is quite good and some of the cocktails were potent!

The hotel is situated about a 25- 30 min walk from Playa del Ingles centre and about the same distance from the beach - but there is a regular bus service into town and also Puerto Rico.

I would visit this resort again as it was great, but give this hotel a wide birth big time - its pants.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Tony
12 years 4 months ago
The exterior of these apartments need some freshing up. A lock of paint covers a multitude.

The daily visits by the cleaning staff proved beneficial especially with three young children in tow on holidays.

Food in surrounding restaurants not to bad or too expensive. But be careful with local pizza take-away, you will wait an hour for your order.

The location of the apartment complex is ideal for all activities, whether it's night life or beach lounging.
The five swimming pools are a treat. No need to book loungers, always plenty available.

Because a lot of the apartments are owned and lived in by locals, there is an atmosphere of encouement on their turf, especially at best places around the pools.

The hotel staff are very obliging. Cuban night porter and security man as well as the Mongolian bar man 'Bud' are excellent people to get to know.

However, with such a big bar at basement level, it's a pity the management can't see it's potential and organise nightly entertainment.

Overall a good experience.

Rating out of ten would be hovering about a 6
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Stein Travel

Angela
12 years 4 months ago
Just got back from Gran Canaria 2 weeks ago, and I was very pleased with the apartments. Actually, that's an understatement....they were fantastic!

I think this particular apartment we stayed in had just been renovated (everything looked fresh and new plus the bathroom door could not close indicating it had just been painted!). Our apartment was very spacious with a lovely view of the 3 big pools and the vast landscape of the island (we were on the 5th floor).

Also I must say that the maid service was excellent. Our maid was really nice and understood when we had a hangover, she would leave us alone!

Generally the whole complex was very clean and I always saw someone in the corridors cleaning up.

The people at reception where always nice and glad to help in anyway. Although I have heard somethings about the security guard which I will not repeat!

I was a tad disappointed with the location of the Paraiso. My friends and I had to walk quite a distance each night to go somewhere worthwhile to eat or drink. Yes we could have taken the very cheap taxis, but then we'd be taking taxis to the commercial centres as well (where the nightlife existed)! And as students we had to stretch our budget for 2 weeks. But as a good point it was good exercise.

I didn't take advantage of the entertainment and hotel food as there's loads of places to eat elsewhere and entertainment comes in the form of meeting new people and going out.

Hopefully next year my friends and I will come back here. The apartments were beautiful and well worth its money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dave
12 years 9 months ago
Just back from here last Sat 26/3/05 and I must say it was a reasonably pleasant experience. I read some of the previous reports and was a bit wary but as the holiday was a last minute job, I wasn't too fussy.

I must say I was very pleasantly surprised and found the place to be clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

The swimming pools (5) were cleaned regularly and there was maid service 5 times during my week here.

Generally, I enjoyed staying here and its location is good in the sense that it is quiet at night but well within walking distance of the livelier parts of Playa del Ingles.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Stein Travel

Recommended
Laura
13 years 3 months ago
I stayed at this hotel after deciding to go away with my mum last minute as her apartment at the Sunwing (opposite) did not have any further available accomodation. I was worried having read previous reviews about this hotel but needn't have.

My room was big clean and had a full bathroom suite inc a bidet. Clean towels every day and daily maid service. I had a fantastic view overlooking the pool. I stayed in room 316 and would recommend it, but I was aware that some of these rooms were owned by individuals and have been refurbished to varying standards.

I didn't really take advantage of the evening entertainment as I spent most evenings with my family at the sunwing resort or in town. However I can advise that the staff are fantastic, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The location is within walking distance of the commercial centre and there is a local spar nearby around the corner which is very cheap. Although if you hire a car as we did the spar at Mogan is about as cheap as it gets and is where a lot of the locals shop. Be aware that opposite this spar is a piece of land used as a car park. This is actually free but you may be approached and asked for 2 euros and then be given a handwritten ticket!!

Overall I had no problem with this hotel and would not hesitate to go back again. My family also thought my room was superior to theirs but didn't swap because my little sister is only 3 and my mum was worried about being on the third floor with a balcony being a climbing frame.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: