Image of Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

3 of 9 hotels in Matagorda

4 out of 5 from 41 reviews
4 stars
Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Tías, Spain

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Friends
12 years 11 months ago

This is the third time i've been to the Sol Lanzarote, Matagorda.Unfortunately the weather wasn't that great when we were there but that didn't ruin our holiday.

The hotel is spotless, from the reception are (lovely water feature) to the rooms themselves. Maid service is daily if required and they are always very pleasant.

There are 3 pools which are all surrounded by sunbeds, never a problem getting a bed. Just a 10 second walk onto the beach, so is ideal for those who like the beach as well as the pool.

We were self catering, didn't use the hotel restaurant but have heard great reviews about it, the food did look lovely. There are a wide range of restaurants & bars around the hotel ranging from greek to indian to chinese, loads to choose from. Taxi into Peurto Del Carmen main part is around 4euros.

The staff at the hotel are lovely, especially the kids entertainment team, they're always keeping the kids busy & have a wide range of activities, even letting the kids fling them in the pool !

Entertainment not really for us, but some of it was good, mainly singers/bands. Had a few other things on as well, but we were out most nights.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
We stayed at this hotel over easter.

The hotel food was varied and plentiful.

The location of the hotel was ideal for beach lovers. We had no problems with aircraft noise just fun watching them come into land.

We did have a problem with our room. The room had twin beds in the bedroom and one double sofa bed in the lounge area. The sofa bed was not suitable for two adults or two teenagers aged 14 and 16. The rooms are the same throughout the hotel unless you have a junior suite which we were able to upgrade to. After this was sorted out we had an enjoyable relaxing stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Elaine Simpson
12 years 11 months ago
Hotel location is excellent, turning right a very pleasant walk into PDC or turning left into Playa Honda past the airport.

The food is fine and drinks are reasonably priced, there is a daily happy hour 5 - 6. There are a couple of things that let the hotel itself down, the main one being all the cats roaming around in the outside part of the dining room, as soon as a table is left they jump up onto it and start licking the dirty plates, not very nice to see, on more that one occasion there were 4 to 5 cats on one table having a good feast off the left overs, this put us off siting outside even though it would have been better dining in the fresh air.

The restaurant is under staffed and so there are plenty of plates left for the cats to dine from, occasionally the staff would wave them away, but more often than not they just ignored them.

The pool areas are very crowded and there is no room what so ever between sunbeds and more than half of the beds could do with being replaced, so if you wanted a decent sunbed you had to be up early with the "towel brigade" reserving a bed.

The beach is right outside the hotel, with plenty of room to spread out if you desired.

The hotel entertainment wasn't up to much in the evenings, but there were local bars in Matagorda with various acts appearing which were worth a look at.

If this hotel could sort the cat problem out we would go back to it again, the rooms were of a good size, we were on the top floor round the side of the hotel and got the sun all afternoon & evening on the balcony (rooms 2620 - 2630) and also had a view of the sea, the fridge and safety deposit box in the rooms were both free of charge and you could hire pool towels for a refundable deposit.

We found the staff both friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Louise
13 years ago
On arrival at the hotel the man checking us in was very pleasant and joked with us. The pace of check in was fairly leisurely but we were on holiday so it's not like we had to get anywhere fast!

Although we had booked half board we were allocated a self-catering room. The room itself was very spacious and spotless. It took us a few minutes to figure out how to get the lights to work but then realised that there is a little holder as you come in the door that you have to put your swipe card into in order for the electricity to come on. (It doesn't have to be your swipe card and credit card piece of plastic will work.)

The facilities in the room were ideal for us as we really only needed a fridge to keep water in but I think you might struggle to cater for a family in the small kitchen area (two electric rings, a microwave and a very small surface area).

The bathroom was huge and had a hairdryer and complimentary toiletries.

Our room was cleaned every day and the towels changed most days. My sheets were also changed twice.

Public areas were also kept very clean and there was constantly someone sweeping up by the pool and painting areas where paint was flaking.

Breakfast was served between 08.00 and 10.00 and dinner between 18.30 and 21.30 - both were buffet style.

At breakfast there was a selection of cereals, pastries, fruit, smoothies and there were chefs on hand to cook eggs and crepes.

At dinner there was a variety of salad items, a chef cooking steak, fish, pork or chicken and another cooking your choice of pasta (normally two types of pasta with three choices of sauces). There was also a table of different breads and rolls. As well as this there was normally rice, potatoes, chips, vegetables and things like chicken nuggets. For dessert there was a choice of ice-cream, fruit and cakes.

They also have theme nights in the restaurant. When we were there it was fruit flambe, cheeses and meat skewers.

Towards the end of our stay the restaurant got pretty busy and on occasion we had to queue for a table. Drinks are not included so you can choose to pay for them cash or have them added to your room bill.

If you were self-catering you could pay for the buffet - Breakfast: 6 euros / 3 for children and Dinner: 13 euros / 6.50 for children.

For all the selection was pretty similar each day there was enough of it that you didn't need to eat the same meal twice.

The location of the hotel was ideal. It was only a 5 minute transfer from the airport. (If I went again I definitely wouldn't pay extra for the coach transfer as it would probably be cheaper to get a taxi.) It was also great to be able to walk out the back gate of the hotel and be right onto the beach. There were two small commercial centres within a few minutes walk either direction along the promenade.

There was daytime entertainment for both adults and children every day except Sunday. This included fee activities such as scuba lessons, pool and darts competitons. For a small fee you could also get Spanish lessons and ballroom dancing lessons.

Most nights there was musical entertainment in the bar area starting at 22.00 and fnishing at 00.00. There was also a music quiz and a magician in the week I was there.

Another thing we noticed is that the hotel has great facilities for wheelchair users.

The only complaint we had the whole week is that if you have a late flight they can't tell you until 10.00 on the day of departure if you can keep your room on after 12.00 or what time you can keep it until (there is a flat fee of 30 euros for keeping it later.) As it turned out we couldn't keep ours but we were allocated half an hour in a courtesy room later on in the day.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fly Globespan

Recommended
Peter
13 years 3 months ago
The apartments/hotel are situated close to the airport and a taxi (including tip) costs between 8 & 10 Euros.

On arrival, we were checked in quickly by two friendly, efficient receptionists. Luckily we arrived at a quiet point in mid -afternoon. We did note however, that over the course of the week (it was Christmas Week) the hotel became very busy and the reception desk was hopelessly understaffed as large groups of tourists arrived. Checking in took a long time for many people and of course guests who were already there had to wait ages too to get anything from reception.

The apartment was spacious modern and cleaned / towels changed every day.

Guests were a mix of nationalities, German, Scandinavian and Dutch. There were also many British people staying in the hotel and unfortunately, a fair proportion of these people sat knocking back the pints in the bar area whilst their children literally ran wild around the reception/entrance hall area each evening. Our landing was entirely British and along the corridor leading to our room, beer cans, cigarette packets and butts had been thrown away by the residents on their way to & from apartments which was a disgrace as the cleaners tried to keep pace with picking them up. A kindly family next door to us thought that they would provide entertainment for everyone by blasting out their music through the paper thin walls during the late afternoon / early evening. When the music wasn't on there was the sound of dad effing and blinding at his children.....nice eh? Maybe this is peculiar to the Christmas period? I don't know - but I certainly wouldn't be willing to go back to find out. I don't like feeling embarrassed about being British, but that's how I felt in front of other nationalities as the tattooed beer swilling brigade swaggered around the building.

Potentially a very nice hotel, good staff, good location just shame about (some) of the other guests.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Leanne Newton
13 years 3 months ago
On arrival at hotel, check-in was very slow. Reception area really nice, with marble floor and water feature in centre.
Room was really nice and big, we were half board so we never had any self-catering facilities. We had a T.V although most channels were German or Spanish. Not that you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
John
13 years 3 months ago
On arrival the 1st impression was how pleasant and clean the reception area was.

After check-in we made our way to our rooms using a map which was a challenge, but great fun ! The rooms where excellent, very clean and kept that way through out the stay by the never ending work of the staff. Complete with clean towels every day.

The kitchen area in the room was more than adequate for our use, a cup of tea in the morn and a microwave snack in the eve. Hotel entertainment was ok but nothing special. The kids had the better end of the available entertainment.

The hotel pools where nice but cold, did not stop the kids from using them though. Eating out was not a problem at all with plenty of choice within easy walking
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st Choice

Recommended
Couple
13 years 5 months ago
W stayed at this hotel in oct 05.

We had booked self catering apartment but on arrival we were advised they only had hotel rooms available. we were offered a hotel room for our 11 day stay with free breakfast and evening meal or hotel room for the night and an apartment the next day.

We opted for hotel room and the free breakfast & dinner which was the best choice as the food was excellent. chef was there at breakfast cooking you eggs freshly, you could also have your choice of freshly made omlettes or pancakes.

All the meats and fish were also prepared fresh by chef. plenty of choice - salad bar, ready made meals like lasagne, chilli, chips and of course you choice of fresh meat or fish. Huge selection of sweets and ice creams. excellent service.

Hotel rooms recently modernised and immaculate. Hotel reception and bar immaculate and very plush. staff were excellent and that goes from kitchen staff, cleaners, to bar staff. special mention to the entertainment team - they really go that bit further to ensure guests are having a good time. 4 pools to chose from - 2 large pools a smaller pool and a kids splash pool.

We did not have a problem at any time getting a sunbed - even midday. excellent location - just on the beach. went into puerto de carmen couple of times, 30 min walk or 5 min bus ride for 90 cents, taxi around 4 euros.

Usual shops selling the usual stuff. small complex next to hotel has 2 supermarkets, multitude of bars and restaurants, including chinese and indian. Excellent irish bar (the auld triangle) selling good food and shows all the soaps and football from home. Hotel excellent for families and couples alike.

Will definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
We were half board & found the food excellent with a wide variety of dishes. We particularly enjoyed the freshly made omlettes & pancakes in the morning and the carvery/fresh fry in the evening. Pasta was also an excellent choice.

The staff were helpful and each of us in the family found our favourite chefs. The waiting staff were kept busy but were pleasant and as quick as they could be. I cleared our table a couple of times but it was no real hardship. We chose to eat indoors but there was a large smoking canvassed area and also right outside in the open air.

Our rooms were large and gorgeous. they were spotlessly clean & most days flowers were left in the bathroom by the maid. It was a real "aaaw" moment when we saw them. We had a pool & sea view (without asking) and the receptionist proudly told us they were the best rooms. I couldn't disagree.

There were loads of beds in the sun, in the shade, on the grass and we never had a problem getting 4 together. Our routine was to choose them on going to breakfast then straight out to them afterwards. The sun was beating down so we always chose beds with shades. The beds were a bit worn & saggy so a lilo may be a good buy. We managed though! The pools (3 plus a paddling pool) were all tried out but we preferred the deeper pool. There was no problems with rings etc and mostly the rings/toys etc were shared about and left for others at the end of the holiday. I did notice some missing tiles (the wee mosaic ones) but certainly nothing that would be dangerous and only cos i was looking. The pool seemed to be cleaned every morning and the ongoing cleaning of the paths garden and all facilities was extraordinary.

we tended to have a quick swim after a dip in the pool the minimise the temperature shock and then shower and back to our sunbeds. I miss it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
Chris
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel is very clean and our spacious 1 bedroom apartment was cleaned (and beds made) every day. All of the staff are very friendly and have excellant customer services skills - nothing is too much trouble. We ate in the many places only a few minutes walk away from the hotel. The hotel is close(ish) to the end of the airport runway so takeoff/landing noise is unaviodable but as there are only daytime flights this is not too much of a problem - but you need to be aware if you are wanting a quiet holiday!

Loads of sunbeds - but very very close together around the pool areas, as previously mentioned many have seen better days - we also had our sunbeds in the the grassed areas away from the pool.

The room safe is free to use and the kitchen is over equiped ! - 2 electric rings and a microwave, we only used the one ring to boil water for a cup of tea.

The majority of the apartment patio sets consisted of one chair - we were told lots more charis / tables on order to replace those broken by previous guests !

If you realy want to watch the aprtment TV (feast your eyes on CNBC / CNN, there is nothing else to watch) you can hire the remote control for 10
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum