Image of Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

Sol Lanzarote Aparthotel

3 of 9 hotels in Matagorda

4 out of 5 from 41 reviews
4 stars
Calle Grama, 2, 35510 Tías, Spain

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fraser Family
13 years 11 months ago
Arrived at 11.00 p.m. and although allocated a room with no problem found directions on hotel map difficult to follow. Eventually found our room and were very impressed.

Room was spotlessly clean and very spacious with a sliding japanese style door separating our bedroom from the Children, who were allocated a sofa bed. They are both teenagers and surprisingly neither complained. The large bathroom was well equipped with soap & shampoo provided, as well as a hairdryer. Temperature controllable room ventilation which was most welcome, along with free use of a safe.
Towels were changed every day (if left on bathroom floor).

Daytime Entertainment for our kids was very good and they particularly enjoyed archery/pistol/rifle shooting (from 13 years). Broken tiles on ramp from shooting range area could be dangerous, and tiled areas are slippery when wet.

Room blocks are connected by steeply sloping painted walkways which once again are extremely slippery when wet. The hotel rooms, rather than self catering would possibly be more suitable for people with mobility difficulties.

Pool area small for the number of sunbeds and we found ourselved using the sandy area back from the pool for a bit of space. Rear gate from pool area was directly opposite the beach and only a short walk across a traffic free promenade was required. Sunbeds on the beach were 8 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol for the full day.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mick And Adrienne
13 years 11 months ago
We visited this hotel is 2002/2003 and although were impressed by entertainment for our young teenage daughter though the rooms were dingy and needed complete overhall.

We decided to re-try it in 2005 when we saw it had the over haul.

The rooms are lovely and big but could do with a toaster and kettle. Also the tv only has CNN and although you don't go on holiday to watch tv it is nice to sit on front of having your lunch or waiting for your partner to comd out of the bath-room.

We have booked to go back in 2006 and no I cannot fault the place except found it very hard to get a sun bed and some of them were completely saggy in the middle.

We did not use the entertainment in the hotel as we had a kids free holiday (been there and done that etc) We went in Porta Carmen to Flanagans drag show ( a must free entry) and Scotties Bar and beside it the American Indian Cafe.

Thought the band was good and bought the cd must obviously drunk listening to them cause when we played it in our car they were off tune (gas) The walls are very thin in the hotel and the people upstairs seem to have spent the holiday on a sponsored walk in high heels and moving furniture around.

However we don't let little things get us down. Oh once we used the bar at night and the service is so slow.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Julz & Lorna
14 years ago
The hotel was kept clean and rooms were cleaned daily, never ate in the restaurant but was always busy and looked nice.

Although this hotel was renovated last year (2004) it is showing signs that work is required already, the main pool needs to be looked at with broken tiles and the bathrooms especially need to be refreshed.

The location was fine if you didnt mind being a bit out of it but there were plenty of restaurants and a few bars within a couple of minutes walk.
The hotel staff were mainly pleasant and helpful with a few exceptions but arranging taxis was a problem.
The entertainment was completely for children although perfect for families, not really for adults.

I would certainly go back as it was value for money and we enjoyed our stay
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
Peter Thorburn
14 years 2 months ago
We went to a 1 bedroom apartment to find when we arrived that only a room was available due to overbooking. We did get our apartment the next day though. This appears to be a frequent problem when speaking to other guests.

Apartment was clean, obviously having benefited from the refit. Maid service was every day. Never used the 2 rings but the fridge was most welcome!!! Getting clean towels was also slightly haphazard. You did not always get them when the apartment was cleaned. Often they would arrive late afternoon after some prompting!

The entertainment was very much aimed at kids with a very active kids club. Evening entertainment is also really for the kids.

Would definitely revisit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
Dunn's
14 years 3 months ago
Although we stayed on a self-catering basis there was a more than adequate restaurant for those requiring half-board/all inclusive, which indeed you may dine in even if self-catering.

The hotel was recently refurbished (2004) and was clean and presentable throughout, the only shame was the amount of dust/dirt that got blown up onto the corridors which then got paddled into the appartment - meaning dirty feet if not wearing shoes! The rooms were cleaned daily however and otherwise fine.

Knowing before hand that Matagorda was quiet but convenient to visit Puerto del Carmen, we thought the location was perfect - central to Matagorda and its few restaurants and shops, next to the supermarket and on the beachfront. We do not usually bother with the beach but found it so tempting as it was on the doorstep and even showers dotted along the beach to clean off excess sand before going back to the hotels and appartments - great idea! We swam in the sea every day it was crystal clear and so refreshing!

Hotel entertainment was completely directed at children by day and night - an absolute must if you have younger children as they will not be bored for a second but a little dull if you were expecting any decent shows by night (aimed at adults) as the kids didn't appear to go to sleep! Normally in past experience the children are entertained early doors and are taken to bed later on when a more adult orientated show begins, or even a disco, but that isn't the case. Not a complaint however as we knew it was a family hotel and we totally intended to benefit from the quiet atmosphere/location by day and journey to Puerto del Carmen by night - which we did. It was one of our best holidays, could not fault anything and would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
14 years 4 months ago
Lovely hotel entrance with a beautiful foyer consisting of nice fountains, armchairs, couches and a 24-hour reception. There are 4 computers for public use, it costs
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Omni-Tours

Recommended
Murphy
14 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from Sol Lanzarote and had a lovely holiday.

The hotel has been refurbished and well deserves its new 4 star rating. The reception area is lovely with a bar and shop.

The rooms are good and the bathrooms very spacious. Our room was cleaned every day and we had no complaints about the cleanliness at all.

There was still some tiling being done around the pool area but as it was not very busy when we were there it was not an inconvenience.

It is right on the beach and very child friendly as there are no cars on the front, only bikes and skaters! The hotel is in a good location with shops and bars close by. There is a lovely little centre north of the hotel with lots of good bars and some shops. We walked into Puerto Del Carmen and it took about an hour.

There was evening entertainment at the hotel which was always very busy. During the day there were activities for the children, football etc.

We had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Pete
14 years 10 months ago
The aparthotel sol lanzarote has recently been re-furbised so every thing is new. Rooms are a good size,but as s/c guests we found the equipment on the poor side.a tip, if you are going take a travel kettle they hire them as well as toasters.
The location is at the airport end of puerto del carmen it is in matagorda it's about 3 to 4 euros to get into town in a taxi or a 30 minute walk but up to an hour and a half to the harbour.
We took part in all the day time activities and had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended
Sue
16 years ago
Hotel clean, pool cleaned daily.
Great location 100m from beach.
Staff pleasent.
Ok mainly aimed at children.
I would visit this hotel again.
Pools were great but were a bit cold.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: just

Recommended
Stacy
16 years 3 months ago
The hotel is rather dated decor wise, but it is clean.the air con needs updating it was 40+ and couldnt cope.and the staff friendly.

Initially We were the only english family staying at the hotel, the other guests were mainly older Germans,so the hotel seemed to cater mostly for these. The food was not all that unless you like German cuisine.
The photos of the pool have artistic licence im sure. it was only small and not suitable for children-no shallow end 4ft and deeper .The "Indoor" pool was in a greenhousey thing outside which turned into a sweatbox shallower at 3ft.

The hotel was quiet and very friendly but not really suitable for children. suit older couples.
very close to beach. area around hotel very plesent but catering to the german tourist.

When we arrived the hotal was half empty but by mid week nearly full -coachloads of english families moved from elsewhere to here.
Im sorry to say but we wished that some of the english hadnt been there, they really showed our country up, rude and obnoxious to the germans, (lets be a wally and mention the war!!!!)

If you want a quiet old fashioned holiday try it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: dedicated holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.