Image of Gran Oasis Resort Hotel

Gran Oasis Resort Hotel

53 of 82 hotels in Playa de las Americas

3 out of 5 from 43 reviews
3 stars
Gran Oasis Resort C/ Meandro, 3, 38650 Arona (Tenerife), Spain
Set beside the Playa de las Americas Golf course, this attractive property enjoys stunning views over the course to the sea beyond. A great choice for families, this resort offers an excellent range of facilities and enjoys a charming, peaceful setting.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Angie Albutt
12 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from 2 weeks at Oasis Golf Resort.

We read the reports on this site and another so we went forewarned and forearmed. On arrival we requested no maid service, which they were a bit shocked, but I told the staff I like privacy. Whenever we needed towels or loo roll we only had to ring reception and someone sent them straight away. We also took 4 stick on window alarms which we put on patio doors and windows.

The complex is very clean, very pretty in tropical gardens.The pools are wonderful although the jacuzzi in the big pool only worked for 1 day during our stay. The bar, restuarant and shop prices are expensive. our kids were having cans of pop out of the vending machine for 1euro, but were frowned on if they drank it in the pool bar.

The complex is built on the top of a hill and we had a 2 bedroom apartment at the very top, most apartments are duplex but our was on a 3rd floor above a duplex. We had a private roof top with fantastic veiws of the sea, christianos and playa de las americas, which had a multi gym under a gazebo, our lads loved it.

The rooms are well equipped it has a full fitted kitchen with oven, microwave and large fridge/freezer. there were ceiling fans in all rooms but i think air con would have been better.

As we were at the very back of the complex a busy dual carriageway runs behind it which can be a bit noisy.
The card system is a bit of a pain, but the staff will give you a statement whenever you ask for one. Be warned someone withdrew 45 euros in cash off our account and signed it in our name, but the head reception staff sorted it out for us, we believe it was a member of the evening staff who did it but we never found out.

The evening entertainment is a bit dull as most people go out at the evening. the best entertainment there was Henrique who does genral activities around the complex for several hours during the day and for 2 hours on an evening. Our kids loved him, he was so funny and he calls bingo in every language of every guest so a game can take a while !

While we were there we heard of 1 burglary an old couple awoke just as the culprit was leaving through the door with their belongings, there was no sign of forced entry and their patio doors had been shut ???

We wedged a dinning room chair under our door handle and used the window alarms which peeled off when we left. we never had nothing stolen and didnt encounter any problems as such.

Overall the complex was beatiful and relaxing, but set too high up and far out of town and taxis tend to charge whatever they like.

This was our first visit to Tenerife and we were not taken with it, so we will not be returning. Although we would return to the Oasis Golf Resort if it would have been on another island.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Hayley
13 years 1 month ago
We stayed here in August for 2 weeks. We were on a self-catering basis but ate breakfast here several times, also snacks from the pool bar and used the evening restaurant. All of which was superb.

The restaurant was a buffet meal twice that we used it and an a la carte menu once. A very high standard of food on every occasion.

The hotel is situated quite a walk from the resort (approx. 25 mins) but taxis were either on the rank outside or reception would call one which would arrive very quickly. Never cost more than about 5 Euros.

The maids weren't very specific and the only time we noticed they'd been in was that the beds were made and there were clean towels. I'm not picky about this sort of thing but it would have been nice to have the floor swept!

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the waitresses (who doubled up for bar staff in the day) were very smiley and good fun.

We didn't use the First Choice kid's clubs as our son is 15 (we tried but he wasn't having it!!!) but people were saying how good they were and the girls seemed to be working very hard.

There are a LOT of steps at this complex but it keeps you fit and enables you to have an extra beer without feeling too guilty.

The entertainment of an evening was a bit naff but they have a resident entertainer there who works very hard, and was a really nice man.

He organised pool tournaments some days and table tennis tournaments and then in the evening the entertainment tends to be geared towards smaller children but they all liked it. Mini disco etc.

We would definitely visit this hotel again, the rooms are a good size and the landscaping of the whole complex is lovely.

There are three pools on different levels and they are watched over by a very keen lifeguard (who my son threw in the pool one day - but he was laughing...the lifeguard that is).

There is a lot of development going on in the area (not disruptive) and I think that shortly there will be a few bars springing up in the are which will make it a better location as you won't have to keep going right into town.

They operate a no cash policy so you have an account card - watch out for this, you lose track of what you are spending.

There is a 600 Euro limit and we managed to max that in a week just on snacks and drinks!!! Took it a bit more careful the second week. You can use the hotel opposite, the Granada Park, to watch football in and this bar accepts cash.

We were worried before we travelled about the thefts that had been reported here. We didn't hear of a single one during our stay. We slept with the two patio doors open just about 4 inches to let in a bit of air, there is a bolt that allows you to lock them open just this amount.

It was very warm in the apartments as there is no air conditioning but the manager said that this is something they are hoping to install shortly.

He had only managed there for 6 months and was hosting "meet the manager" cocktail parties on Monday evenings to get guests' views... we went along and told him some things which he was very grateful for and gave us free champagne... we were only being friendly! ha ha ha
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Campbell
13 years 2 months ago
Nicest apartments we have stayed in. On a hill so quite a few steps but we got used to it. Location outside busy resorts but free bus runs from 9 - 5.30 to Americas, also taxis regularly outside at a cost of 5 Euros, peaceful late at night. Staff very helpful and friendly. Card system operated so no cash is used at all bar,in the games room which has pool tables, table tennis, arcade machines and internet access.

We occasionally ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was excellent but we did talk to some people who were on half board who apparently had a different menu.

The barbecue night organised by the hotel costs 15 euros per head and was very nice.

We enjoyed ourselves and had a lovely relaxing holiday, first time I haven't been in a hurry to get home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Stephen Collins
13 years 3 months ago
We were a bit apprehensive about the hotel being a bit too much golf orientated, due to its name, but it wasn't at all. You can't even see the golf course!

It is a lovely hotel, especially the foyer with its marble floor and pine furniture.

It is about a 1km walk downhill to the bars, restaurants and beach which doesn't take long, but there is a free bus right outside the hotel about 5 times a day that is very punctual and reliable. It also picks you up later on from the same spot to bring you back.

So although a bit isolated, you don't get any noise and commotion as you would with a hotel nearer the main town.

The hotel staff all speak good English and are generally polite.

Don't expect too much from the entertainment -
it's very much Phoenix Nights.

The swimming pools are brilliant, all 3 of them. Having only 200 rooms, the pools are usually very quiet.

The apartments themselves are ace. Upstairs has the kitchen (nice and spacious, every luxury you have at home) lounge area with dining table and balcony. Downstairs has the bedroom, bathroom and balcony with sun loungers.

Linen was changed about 4 times during our week, and the apartment was cleaned ok really. Not as clean as home obviously but you've definitely seen worse!

Would recommend to families who prefer a quiet holiday, hopefully the kids' club improves nearer the main holiday weeks.

Check the weather though. We had 3 hot sunny days out of 7 in June. Don't quite think Tenerife is as sunny as the brochures and travel agents would like to make out though from what I've heard...
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mori
13 years 4 months ago
As others have said the hotel was very clean and the apartments were very spacious. We ate in the hotel occasionally and although the food itself was good the choice was limited with a fixed menu.

However during the bank holiday weekend when the Spanish guests arrived for a weekend break the hotel switched to a help yourself buffet menu which was great but then when the Spanish left it went back to a fixed menu which was disappointing.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the few problems we had were resolved very quickly. The pools were clean and sunbeds were available everyday so you could get near the pool.

The entertainment was poor which has been said before but hey you're not paying five start prices so why expect five star entertainment and as it was very cheap by taxi into town it wasn't something that was ever going to spoil our holiday.

The location wasn't too bad and you can walk into town but our youngest was without his buggy for the first time and there was no way he'd walk that distance in the sun so we just got the free bus during the day or taxis at night.

I wouldn't go again to this hotel personally as I like to try different places each time but to anyone going I would say that you will have a great time.

As for the First Choice Kids Club Reps - FANTASTIC! A great crew who gave the kids a brilliant time especially as one of them was at our hotel last year in Ibiza and the kids remembered her straight away.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jonathan Hughes
13 years 5 months ago
When you walk through the reception doors you just think - lovely! It has marble floors all the way around the complex and it is very relaxed looking.

The actual area around the pool has quite a few palm trees and other plants it is quite lush.

The staff are fine they do a very good job at keeping the place clean and tidy you always see maid out and about.

Theft was not a problem as the culprit was caught and arrested in December 2004. But there is a deposit box priced at 2.80 euros per day plus a 30 euro deposit.

They have a play room where there is internet in there and arcade machines which are 1 euro. There are pool tables in there as well for 2 euros and table tennis for 1.80 euros. There is a cinemas room with 2-3 films per day including The Simpson
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nickson
13 years 7 months ago
This is the second time we have stayed at the Oasis, last year we were able to fly from Blackpool but this year First Choice were not flying from Blackpool - hopefully next year!

Tried to book a 2 bed apartment in UK - fully booked arranged 2 X 1 bed apartment on arrival asked if we would go in a 2 bed apartment with "dangle of carrot" HALF BOARD. Swapped apartments food great buffet style.

Rooms cleaned every day; linen changed twice in a week, maids helpful and brought more blankets & anything else that was requested.

Weather wasn't as good but informed that the weather was the most unsettled in years.

Would go back and recommend to any family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Susan Bufford
13 years 11 months ago
Before we left I checked both this website and another one so was somewhat concerned about some of the comments.

Initially we were very impressed - a nice big well equipped apartment on two floors with two balconies, one with table and chairs and the other with sunbeds.

After two or three days we noticed that the 'maids' were very slap dash - when they even bothered to turn up - the floors were not swept or washed the bath was not cleaned, although they did use bleach somewhere, not sure where though! On one occasion they moved the table and chairs on the upper balcony, leaving an extremely dirty imprint where the legs of the table were, but they didn't even bother to wash it. A job I did because I couldn't bear it!

The comments about the burglaries are all true. I know - I saw him. What he does is climb over the perimeter wall behind apartments 16/17 (where we were) then climbs on the wall between the downstairs balconies - he then looks along the upper balconies to see which patio doors have been left open. He then walks in past anyone asleep upstairs on the put-u-up bed, goes down stairs to the bedroom and takes jewellery, mobiles, handbags etc then leaves the same way. He then leaves the complex through the emergency exit door below the wall that he climbed over. While we were there five apartments were burgled. We reported what I had seen (by the time I saw him he had already burgled the apartments so we think he was frightened off when he saw me). The security guard came to look but didn't seem too interested, even though he seemed to recognise the description I gave. The people who were burgled had to make their own reports to the police, the hotel were not interested. We also found out that some others guests had heard rumours so asked reception if it was true - they denied that anything had happened.

Our neighbours for the second week of our stay also had a pair of shoes taken from their apartment, so it seems even the maids take their opportunities.

This complex could be so much better, especially if you want a relaxing holiday (although saying that, while we were there there were a lot of children, mostly Scandinavian, so it did get a bit noisy!). Unfortunately its let down by bad management, poor security and shoddy cleaning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Lee Jones
14 years ago
We stayed at the Oasis for a fortnight in September/October 04.Lovely apartment,very clean, on 2 levels,be careful if you have toddlers.Great views,great pools,great kids reps,loads of sunbeds.Supermarket is expensive,6 euros return to Netto in a cab!.Card system can catch you out...keep an eye on your bill.No security problems during our visit.It is a way from the action...but the brochure had made that clear..only 15 mins downhill walk to busy area...20 mins to beach...get a cab back if I were you 4 euros (ish).We found staff fine..made a big fuss of our little girl...we ate out every night so cant comment on the restaurant..likewise the with the entertainment though took little girl to kids disco nightly..would consider return visit. Enjoy..!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lisa & Craig
14 years ago
Myself and my boyfriend went to the Oasis in Sept and love it. Athough I had read the reports about the break in's, on arrival I spoke to the reception and told them we didn't want a maid and they didn't send one. If we needed more towels/sheets we'd get them oursevles.

Only ate at the hotel pool bar once and wouldn't do it again. A full english is about 8 Euros but go into town which is a walk but not that far (or a short taxt ride) and they do breakfast for approx 2-3 Euros.

We found a lovely resturant is Playa Americas (veronicas) Bannna Garden. It is set downstairs and it so romantic and is realy good value.

I wouldnt hesitate going back to this accomadation.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum