Image of Medplaya San Eloy Aparthotel

Medplaya San Eloy Aparthotel

4 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4 out of 5 from 57 reviews
2 stars
Carretera de Llagostera, 17, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
This fortress styled accommodation is all inclusive and comprises four blocks of apartments, arranged around the pool. The Hotel San Eloy has a range of facilities providing everything you need for a relaxing break or an active holiday.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    24
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maggie Russell
Fantastic first holiday abroad in 20 years
4 years 4 months ago
We stayed in a 1 bed apartment on second floor and the view was amazing of the whole complex. The apartment was immaculate and the cleaning lady was so attentive as were all the staff in reception and the bar area. The bus into Tossa de Mar on the hour was so fantastic - lots of wine drinking and no worries about driving back. Tossa de Mar is spotless and very relaxing to walk around. Lots of history too - even found Roman remains by walking down a side street.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Save Admin

Hotel tip: Take a travel kettle if you want a cuppa in your apartment

Recommended
JEANETTE
9 years 4 months ago
WELL where do i begin, i will tell you all the good bits first, we stayed All Inclusive and could not fault the food at all, it was lovely and a fab choice, the location was not to good as just out side the hotel there is nothing at all so you cant walk any where for a stroll, ,but they do put on a bus every hour all day to take you into town, so that's not too bad, the entertainment staff were fab, they worked really hard, Robin and all his staff put on the best of shows, we all never stopped laughing, well done you lot, could not fault you at all , THE POOLS were lovely 3 in all, and the kids loved the foot-ball pitch, and the kids park.

Right now i will tell you what we found that we did not like !!!! When we arrived at the reception office, we had to give our pass-ports in for 1 day, and was told to come the next day with 50 EUROS each room, as we had 3 that was 150 euros we had to give for our 3 room keys, which i find is quite a lot , as with the deposit for our safe key as well then it was 180 euros, that they kept for the full 10 days holiday, please tell me what would happen if you did not have that much money with you to spare, Sun 4 you did not mention that, Also in the 10 days stay, they changed our sheets just once, and changed our towels just twice, we never had our room cleaned at all, the bins were over flowing, which we were told to empty ourselves, our bathroom needed a good clean, I went to the office to complain, and they rudly told me that if i had booked my holiday with Thompson holidays then my room would have been cleaned each day with new towels, as we were with sun 4 you then it wont be done, i told them that we were all inclusive, and we had paid the same as the thompson people, but no they would not listen, there were quite a lot of people who had booked with other agents and they were all treated like us, they only looked after the people who had booked with thompsons which i found very hard to believe, we had all paid for all inclusive and we had booked our holiday since last January, , why did sun 4 you not tell us about this as i always go on holiday all inclusive to enjoy the rest but all we got was stress, this hotel needs to sort them selves out and i will be e-mailing the manager with my complaint as well as sun 4 you, this is the first holiday i have not enjoyed and have never left a bad review before, but this is as truthful as i have found my holiday, and no i will never go back to this hotel ever !!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sun 4 u

Recommended
Clewes
10 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from a 10 night holiday at the San Eloy and boy what a holiday!!! Food was great, entertainment was fantastic especially the Rocky Horror take off, Animation team went out of their way to include everybody even my shy 9 year old who by the end of the wek was renamed "SMILER". lovely people fantastic holiday rooms cleaned daily, no rush for a sunbed and such friendly people made for a eonderful time for all. We will no doubt return to the San Eloy without hesitation. highly recomended even if you only go once you will never forget. 10/10 5* holiday for a 2* price. Made great friends there too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Martin Cross
10 years 4 months ago
Just got back from our week at San Eloy and just had to write about it. I always rely on these reviews so i thought i'd give something back for once.

On the day we (Myself, wife, kids: 15,11 and 9yrs old) arrived we got there 4 hrs before our all inclusive was due to start but they let us go straight to our room (for no extra charge) as it was ready. As lunch was being served they asked us if we'd like to start early and miss lunch on the last day instead, very nice of them, so we checked it out.

The resort is well laid out with the main pool close to the rooms and lots of grassy areas for sunbathing, there were loads of sunbeds so no need to get up at 7am to put towels out. Our room was fine, it was clean and spacious and nothing was missing or broken, we got fresh towels every day. The shower puts our one at home to shame, if you want to be pinned to the wall, feel free and whack it on full power.. and the hot water never ran out even after all 5 of of us had showered.. a big plus point as i was always last in. :-)

The entertainment team were excellent, they had plenty of activities during the day for kiddies and seperate ones for adults, nothing serious but good fun and made a break from laying in the sun. The same team also put on shows in the evenings which were always entertaining and every night they always asked people from the audience to come on stage for some light-hearted fun. The team really do make your holiday one to remember. During our stay they also had a few acts visit for a couple of hours, there was a reptile show and a parrot show which the kids loved. We never came away thinking we'd wasted a night..

The San Miguel flowed freely and i never waited more than 2 minutes to be served, obviously that may change in the peak of summer but as there is no need for cash it cuts the serving time down massively. Also, officially you're only supposed to get 2 drinks at a time but i never saw this, they'd serve you all the drinks you needed and always with a smile. The bar is also linked to the kitchens upstairs so if you're peckish at any time in the evening just ask for some chips, burgers or whatever and 2-3 mins later it arrives at the bar..and it was always freshly cooked.

Like others have said on here, the San Eloy is away from the main resort and as we had the kids with us clubbing and fun-pubs weren't important anyway. Definately a 100% family holiday destination. I've read a few reviews from people moaning about kids running around being noisy.. this is a holiday for kids and they are actively encouraged to run around and do stuff. If you're on a couples holiday or a stag/hen party this is not the holiday for you.

The restaurant was the thing we worried about the most but we needn't have been. Every mealtime was met by a different variety of foods, we never saw the same dish 2 days running. Even our fussiest boy was able to find something at every sitting. Every day there were different types of meats and fish all fresh and cooked perfectly ( we saw Salmon, Monkfish, Panga, cod, hake, fresh sardines, trout, veal, lamb, chicken, pork, steak, beef, quality sausages..etc etc) there were always pastas and fresh salads ( russian, spanish, english, carrot and pineapple salad was amazing) fresh french bread. And there was always a lighter option with different fruits being prepared. I didn't see anybody make a single complaint..not even that there wasn't enough as it was all eat as much as you like. The chef was always there too if you wanted to talk to him. There was always the choice of at least 5-6 puddings not including the kids unlimited free ice-creams that just helped themselves to.

During our stay we kept bumping into people who said it wasn't their first vist to San Eloy, many said they come every year.. that says it all i think. We'll be going back again too.

1-2-3 Adios
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Tracy Evans
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed S/C at the San Eloy. It was fantastic. The review before says everything.
A bus runs hourly from the hotel to the town, its free if you are AI 1euro e/w if you are s/c. A footpath/road also leads into town about 25mins e/w a nice walk. The last bus runs back at 9.30pm so if you are later than 9.30pm you have to get a taxi or walk back via the footpath - make sure you take a torch, in the dark the walk is not for the faint hearted!
The supermarket within the hotel was very expensive and had limited goods if you are on s/c.
We used Perla Tours as our transfer bus, it was not good in getting us from the airport to the hotel. The journey should of taken 35mins but the coach went to every resort before arriving at Tossa! Also one family never got off at their hotel and we had to go back to it! Total transfer time 2hr 10min! On the way back to the airport they sent a taxi for us which did take 35mins.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Nights

Recommended
Gail Power
11 years 1 month ago
We booked self catering but visited the dining room once. The food was bland and thankfully it was labelled.
The room was clean and the linen was changed frequently during our stay but the towels were old and stained. The 2 adult pools had black scum around the edges, which put us off using them.
The hotel is in an isolated spot, on the main road from Tossa to Llagostera. There is nothing within walking distance. Some rooms have bars against the windows which would help to keep the bedrooms more secure from intruders.
When we arrived the receptionist asked us to pay even though we had already paid. I suggest taking your receipt as proof of payment.
The entertainment staff worked very hard. Because of the layout of the hotel the noise from the pool and entertainment reverberates around the site and there is nowhere to escape to for any quiet time.
We booked this hotel because it was a cheaper option and we hired a car for the duration of our stay. The hotel was what we expected and to sum it up in 3 words: Butlins with Sunshine.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet

Sharon, Stephen, Kevin, Jodie, Laura, Michael, Georgia
11 years 1 month ago
Just returned from the San Eloy, the rooms are basic but you are never in them, only to sleep, there is so much going on in complex to keep you out in sun. The entertainment team were fantastic a big well done to Robyn and Kerri they worked non stop. The food was nice always something for everybody. The drinks arent limited on all inclusive as mentiones earlier, my two kids were always getting cold drinks. Rooms are cleaned everyday with clean towels allthough the towels are a bit dated there clean. Watch out for the grumpy waiter in the restaurant we moved the tables to make one big one he wasnt happy, never cleared our plates for the rest of the holiday. The pools were cleaned everyday. Tossa de Mar not much of a resort the bars are very small. Flys are a problem as you are in middle of forest.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jen And Joe
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed on all inclusive basis, and cannot complain about the food, always something to please. Linen, was not changed during our weeks stay and beds only made up once, towels changed every other day, though we did hear that guests that booked through thomsons got clean towels every day.

The towels where worn and a bit tattered, hotel staff friendly, and courtsey bus very useful, entertainment was ideal for families, though not to our taste.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel repiblic

11 years 2 months ago
Arrived late at night/early morning & have to say first impressions were a bit iffy. This is really not a hotel it resembles a holiday camp more. That by the way is not a negative remark, the San Eloy is a great set up once you get into your first day.
By second day we really appreciated the layout.

The food was very good, as a chef of 36 years I know the difficulties in planning a menu for 5 nationalities over two weeks. I stuffed myself. My wife is big into fish and had at least 10 diferent types, including monk, salmon, trout, squid, octopus, cuttle, cod, panga, ling, perch mussels & more. At lunch time pudding is based more around fruit, not a bad idea. Dining room supervisor a bit of a tyrant.

Bar service is very good, real San Miguel & no restriction on amount you can get, this was brill, never experienced it before. Even bottled water was included, big ones for the room too. Under 18s have no chance of getting served, hope mummy & daddy give you some.

Snack bar as good as a snack bar can be.

Entertainment was really quite good. A good amount of outside stuff along with the entertainment staff's own got us laughing. Day time activities were often & fun.

Overall we loved the san Eloy, kids hardly left it & then only if bribed or forced. Nikka at her age loved it too so bigger teens are looked after too.

Tosa was not for us, small congested with a horrible shingle beach.

If only this property had air conditioning we would gladly return often, did get hot at night although appartments are all big and very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This was our second visit to this hotel and again we thoroughly enjoyed it. It is self catering accomodation that is all inclusive. It suits us to a tee. The location is about two miles from the beach (not the town) in the middle of a pine forest. Transport to the town is by an hourly bus. The driver is GIZMO who originally hails Manchester and is so laid bsck he is almost horizontal. A font of knowledge for all the guests. He will go out of his way to assist you. One good guy !
Th food was good and plentiful. During the fortnight only Big Sam (Human food processing machine) complained on his fourth visit to the buffet.
The entertainment was fine. Very family orientated. The entertainment staff worked hard both and night and again it was directed to the families on site. As a group we had a ball. Found it to be a total chill holiday. Great fun, Met some great people and the service from the staff was outstanding.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hamilton Flight Centre

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum