Image of Oasis Tossa Hotel

Oasis Tossa Hotel

9 of 15 hotels in Tossa de Mar

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
4 stars
Carrer del Poeta Lope Mateo, 3, 17310 Tossa de Mar, Girona, Spain
Situated in a quiet area of the attractive reosrt of Tossa De Mar, this superb hotel offers comfortable accommodation combined with a wide range of facilities and friendly service.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
The Taylors
13 years 2 months ago
We reviewed this hotel through a holiday brochure and it read quite well describing it as located in a quieter part of the town and rated 4 star.

We booked via internet, organised our our flights etc and everything went according to plan until we got there that is.

The Hotel is built on a housing complex of apartments. These surround the hotel completely and so close you could almost shake hands with the residents. There are children playing football and whooping and hollering. A new house being built with the tile cutter going all day. Dogs barking and I swear that everyone in Tossa owns one of those noisy motorbikes. The Town Toy Train passes every 40 minutes dinging his bell.

The Hotel was awful. The first day we were there there was no hot food for breakfast other than a few baked bean scrapings and it was only 8.45am. After that there was a chef cooking eggs and bacon for you but topping up of hot food was grim. There was just a choice of 3 cereals, ham and cheese, croissants and cakes that looked as if they had seen better days and the quality of bread was abysmal. Twice throughout the toaster and as soon as you put something on it, it collapsed and went soggy.

The evening menu's were worse. For instance, Battered marrow and stewed lentils? Pork Cheeks. Yummy?????
Needless to say we didn't eat in the hotel at all. We even forwent breakfast and ate out.

The sheets didn't fit the bed and we spent several times during the night straightening the beds as every time you moved the sheets bundled up under you and we had 24 hours of no hot water so no-one could have a wash. The man upstairs kept us awake for 5 days with his snoring but that was not the hotels fault.

The weather wasn't very good and again that wasn't the hotels fault but the whole area is full of flies. We had just over 2 days of sunshine which enabled us to sit round a very small pool and all we did was swat flies. Some people had even bought fly swats!!!!!

The pool is overlooked by apartments and is in the shade all morning so it's jolly cold.

As for evening entertainment. That was just dreadful. A keyboard two nights, two women trying to sing and one of those pranced about the stage most of the time. Karaoke night comprised of two 11 year olds but we were intrigued to see the Catalonian Evening. This comprised of 3 bistro sized tables of Catalonian nibbles. No music. Nothing else at all. Whoopee!!!!

We found the reception staff unhelpful but the bar staff were OK.

At this time of the year the area was more like a ghost town. Nobody about and we had the choice of all the restaurants all to ourselves. That was OK but all menus were much of a muchness and chips with everything. No other choice of potato other than chips.

In order to move out of the Tossa area, you have to get into Lloret first.

We can understand now why English tour companies have pulled out of the Costa Brava. We wouldn't go back there and certainly not to this Hotel. This is rated as 4 star, but being generous we would rate it 2 star+. God help the lower rated Hotels if this is the case.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Internet

13 years 2 months ago
I had to read the review by the Taylors below several times, just to make sure they had gone to the same hotel as we had! I imagine we went the week before, and had better weather, but the Oasis is unrecognisable from their review.

I didn't find the neighbourhood noisy at all. There were a few kids about, but mostly of primary school age. And the traffic was minimal. The occasional motor bike, I suppose. And the resort land train did come by every half hour during the day, ringing its bell now and then. I can't see how this was a problem.

The pool isn't particularly small, and I never saw more than a handful of people using it. It is in shade some of the day, but I always seemed to find a sunny spot somewhere, there was plenty of lounger space. As for being overlooked by apartments - well, most hotel pools are overlooked, aren't they? You even have to pay extra for a pool view, don't you?

The food was good - for a hotel buffet. Breakfasts were plentiful. All 4 adults & 3 kids in our party never went hungry. OK, it was "continental" rather than British food, but there was always plenty of choice. And the wine was cheap: 6 euros for the house red.

The rooms we had were pretty standard hotel size, with a balcony. Never had a problem with the sheets, and the hot water was plentiful.

I'd agree the entertainment was poor - except for the flamenco dancers. But hotel ents are always rubbish. It's a fact of life.

The staff I found to be very helpful and friendly, in reception, in the bar and the restaurant.

For the money we paid, the Oasis was an excellent hotel, and I'd return without hesitation.

- Tony -

PS Maybe it was me snoring upstairs!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Huitson
13 years 2 months ago
Read reports and thought I would travel to this hotel with an open mind. Have been to lots of hotels and this is an honest review.

Hotel is clean and rooms are made up daily with good bathrooms and clean towels. Beds uncomfortable and sheets do not fit properly, they come away from the bed by the morning (you will be on the mattress with no cover).

The hotel is located a little way from the town and is in a residential area. There is a childrens nursery opposite.

Although we did not use the pool, it is overlooked by apartments and another hotel. These are all situated very closely together.

The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Can't comment on entertainment as did not stay in hotel during the evening.

The food was the worst I have ever experienced at a hotel. Breakfast was the usual fried if you wanted it, but there was limited availability and the scrambled egg looked as if it had been sitting there quite a while. The sausages were nice though. Even the choice of bread was limited. There were croissants, cold meats, cheeses etc, but all looked a bit grim and some dried up biscuit and cakes!
The evening meals had a very limited choice and was always luke warm. We tried eating at different times to see if it was any better and it seemed whatever time you ate, the food was the same. I do like to try different foods whilst abroad but nothing tempted me much. I did not expect this from a 4* hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Jackson Family
13 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from the hotel Oasis Tossa after our first visit to the resort of Tossa de Mar and can recommend highly!!

The location of the hotel is a short walk from the center of the resort. Upon arrival we were slightly put off by the appearance of the immediate area (mainly residential/dated looking) but a short stroll took us into the center of Tossa which is absolutely lovely!!

We had e-mailed the hotel in advance and requested a pool facing view and a fridge (available to hire for 2.50 Euros per day) in the room all of which were provided for us. We found all the staff to be most friendly and helpful in any way they could be.

The rooms were cleaned daily with linen/towels also changed daily (usually while we were down for breakfast!) Food-wise I would say the choice was typical of a buffet style hotel in most resorts, some days lots of things we considered to be nice and others not many!!

I would recommend people who book half board to swap their evening meal for lunch and then eat out in the evening as Tossa has some lovely restaurants.

We didn't find getting a bed around the pool a problem even though we travelled in peak season and the hotel was full although it was definately first come first served with regards to the parasols!!

In summary, we would definately return to this hotel and the resort and recommend others to do so!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant through web

Recommended
Geoff Firth
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very clean and the cleaners came oround every day with fresh towels.

The food was varied and well prepared. We only had one evening when we did not really like the selection on offer.

The pool and sunbathing terrace area is quite small but there always seemed to be plenty of beds available. My only real criicism re: the sun beds is that there were no cushions. Perhaps this accounts for the lack of demand.

The hotel is just a short walk from shops and restuarants but far enough away not to suffer from passing tourists. Try to get a room facing the pool as the inland facing rooms can be affected by street noise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked privately

Recommended
Pat
13 years 5 months ago
The food was not so good the first week, we had to guess what we were eating, the usual pictures of pigs, cows etc above the food. The second week was lots better, someone said it was the end of the Spanish holidays. Breakfast
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Sandie
13 years 6 months ago
Overall this hotel is a nice hotel to find yourself staying in. My one great big complaint is that there were no umbrellas. The weather was scorching on a couple of days that we were at this resort and everyone was fighting for the little bit of shaded area that is around the pool.

I found this to be such a shame as everyone was moaning about it.

Also when booking your room ask for a pool view. We stayed inland facing and on the 1st floor. There is a kindergarden across the road from the hotel, the train pulls up on this side and also a villa across the road for the hotel has a dog - that barks - ALL the time !

Overall lovely place. Resort I could not fault - Hotel was great all bar these few details.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lastminute.com

13 years 6 months ago
Excellent hotel, all areas kept spotless, very friendly staff. Entertainment was adequate I imagine it must be hard to find something to suit people from the ages of 9 months to 90 years, but they tried their best and our youngest children loved the mini disco. The teenagers enjoyed the various competitions throughout the week.

Rooms were cleaned every day and towels and sheets were changed daily as well, even though I had 3 beds in a room it was still not too cramped. Air conditioning kept the room at a nice temperature this was free in previous places I have had to pay for this.

Food was lovely, full house breakfasts, cereals, fruits etc in the morning. Large variety for the evening meals, and something was always freshly cooked on the grill in front of you every night.

Hotel staff were friendly and always anxious to please, a lot of spanish stay here so it must be good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
D & D Tomlins
14 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very, clean, friendly & the staff, what can I say, I had only the utmost praise for them. The bar staff seemed to know what we wanted before we did.

The food was excellent and the choices were varied.

The entertainment could have been a little better.

The only draw back was the distance to the beach and lack of local transport, (there was a motor train that stopped at the hotel, but it was expensive)

The local bars and sandwich shops were excellent.

Pool area was kept clean although the reserving by leaving towels on the recliners was a bit of a problem (supposed not to be allowed).

We will be back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Carol Bruce
14 years 4 months ago
We arrived on the 17th August for 1 week. and we really enjoyed this holiday, the hotel staff and were extremely friendly, the food was excellent, the last time we went to the Costa Brava the food in our hotel was horrible, we only surfaced once for breakfast, this time we set our alarm to make sure we did not miss the excellent spread laid out. The evening meal was also exellent with a lot of choice and there was an ample supply of fresh fruit and ice cream. The rooms were also very clean and spacious, we hired a fridge for 17.50 euros for the week and that was great. The bar staff always knew when you were waiting and served you quickly either at the bar or waiter service. We did not find the location to be a problem the walk to the beach allowed you to look in the shops. We ate out for lunch every day as were half board always finding exellent food available. The entertainment was good. The bar was open until 1am. The coffee served at the bar was also very nice. The served hot snacks in the evening e.g chips toasted sandwiches etc. The facilities were very good, with the indoor pool also open (previous holidays the indoor pool was closed during Auguat). We will definately return and have let other friends and family know of this exellent hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum