Image of Los Patos Hotel

Los Patos Hotel

18 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Carretera de Santander-Cádiz, 50, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 10 months ago
Visited this Hotel from 17/02/08 to 24/02/08 and

Really booked it on strength of reviews here and on other sites, but whilst there are are always differences I do feel some of the reviews were generous.

To be fair, the Hotel I was informed, only opened on Friday the 15th February.

Taxi from Airport was 21 euro though Taxi driver did not know where Hotel was. Conversely taxi back to Airport was 25 euro, so allow 23 euro each way.

Location

At far end of resort Hotel is set back and is approx 400 metres from main road, some people who had come with a major operator had to lug their luggage all the way up the road as Coach driver apparently would not go up the road, I fail to see why.

New apartments are being built in front of and facing pool side of Hotel can't say it was noisy though. However more building work is going on up the road leading to hotel.

Rooms

Hotel has been refurbished and well presented but there are no chairs whatsoever in the rooms, not even a dressing table chair.

TV has no English channels, correction I did manage to get Sky News and Eurosport but unwatchable.

The same seems to apply for the TV lounge.

There are basically two public rooms one a large TV lounge-no Internet facilities, also no papers could be purchased. There is a large bar area but week we were there no entertainment.

Strangely bar is spilt into Smoking and Non Smoking
but there seemed to be no policing of this.

Restaurant

Whilst a reasonably good choice, no info to tell you what things were and whilst one does not expect piping hot food from buffet style hotels, the food in this Hotel was cold. There appeared to be no means of heating the trays that were put out.


Pool area at time of year no problem as weather was
awful, but can't blame Hotel for that.

It is a fair walk to heart of resort, Marina is at least a 20 minute walk at a brisk pace. You can catch a bus at end of road to either Torremolinos or Fuengirola., 1.10 euro or 1.25 euro respectively.


I personally would not return to this Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jet2 holidays

Debbie
12 years 3 months ago
On first arrival the hotel did look a bit dated from the outside although when you enter it is lovely and clean.

Reception very friendly and polite. our room was on the 9th floor large so we had a lovely view over the mountains and also of the sea it was large, spacious and clean.

We stayed on half board basis i didnt really enjoy the food although I do admit I am a fussy eater my partner seemed to think it was ok.

The hotel clientle is 90% spanish the pool does tend to get very busy and is not that big i will say that the pool is very deep about 4m deep not that great for young children as even the childrens pool get to a point where it about 2m deep!

The lifts are a nightmare always loads of people waiting on them and on our second night the lift got stuck we did press the alarm but no one came luckly it was half way down a floor so we had to prise the door open and climb out which was very scary!!

Down a slight hill and your right on the beach beware it is shingle.

Overall I would say it is a good standard of hotel but best suited for the more mature and the Spanish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Tracey Wilson
12 years 4 months ago
My husband and daughter have just spent two weeks at this hotel. The resort is nice and the hotel is in the quieter area.

The hotel building and the rooms needed updating. The cleanliness was good. The pool was good and you did not have to get up too early to get a sun bed if you were too late for a sun bed there was a lovely grass area to sit.

The food was adequate. The desserts were the exactly the same for 14 nights. Every night there were baked apples, creme caramel, rice pudding, ice cream and a gateau - it got very boring as they did not change the menu.

Children are not catered for separately so some evenings we struggled to feed out daughter. The hotel guests were mainly spanish, I would say at least 80%, so my daughter did not attend the hotel run children's club as the majority of kids there were spanish.

The only thing that really let this hotel down was the evening entertainment plus the mini disco was mostly spanish songs. I personally would not go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytours

Linda
12 years 5 months ago
My friend and I visited this hotel in July for an girls adults only get away! Breakfast was great and so was dinner for kind of food we wanted...... wine was very cheap....we were expensive girls and opted for the 12 euros chardonay! Beds were really CLEAN and reasonably comfy. Bathrooms too, very clean and towels changed every day.... yes perhps dated but mega clean. We preferred quiet area hotel was in and just LOVED the daily walk to the marina for sangria! What a lovely walk, I enjoyed a spanish wedding at the Cultural Centre one day! Pool area - yes lovely and clean and yip few germans and spanish......just moves towels, fold neatly on the wall and enjoy - sign says so! We are considering taking our children next year....... spanish reps, so what, good place to stay!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Recommended
Paula
12 years 6 months ago
We stayed here for a week half board, the food was excellent with more than enough to choose from every night including the children meals. The room was cleaned every day & fresh towels left daily, we were on the 6th floor & had a view of the sea & side view of the pool.

The pool area was also very clean & spacious with lots of sunbeds. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was the evening entertainment, there was nothing for the children (eg, mini disco)they did put some kind of show on but that didn't start until 10pm & was all over by 11pm!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
B Price
12 years 8 months ago
Having stayed at this hotel for three nights in april 2005 we found this to be of great quality. The rooms were I would say slightly dated but very clean!!!

The hotel has fab surroundings the garden area superb and again very clean they takegreat pride in this hotel!!! They have happy hour 5-6 every eve which was great would certainly go back to this hotel!!!!

Well done all you hard working staff!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Mick Aherne
13 years ago
No complaints about this hotel, rooms large, clean and comfortable. Towels changed daily, cleaner very pleasant and efficient.

Staff all friendly and helpful, we had a leak in the bathroom reported it to reception and it was fixed while we were returning to the room.

Food good different soups every night, properly made not canned or dried catering rubbish. And prunes on the breakfast bar.

Nice bottle of House red for 5.70 euros.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Liz And Joe
13 years 2 months ago
We stayed half board and found the food good, hot and plenty of choices for meat and fish also vegetarian dishes, salads etc all were excellent. The sweets we're too die for, unusual for a Spanish hotel usually it's only a choice of ice creams or cr
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Sue
13 years 4 months ago
I stayed in August with my 4 year old daughter. The staff were very good although they couldn't find my booking when I first arrived which was not what you want to hear when you've just arrived. This was sorted out the day after. The hotel was clean and the pool and outside bar area very clean. Entertainment was good but didn't start until late. When I went the guest were mainly Spanish which made it difficult for my daughter to make friends.
The food was plentiful but average and did not cater for children particularly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easy jet

Jeanette
14 years ago
If you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: