Image of Aziza Thalassotherapy Golf

Aziza Thalassotherapy Golf

19 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Scott Deeley
Good but could be better
5 years 6 months ago
Great location but nothing much to do outside the hotel. Food incredible. Recommend you book into the al la carte restaurants. Bar service at the pool bar not too good. Waiter service in the main bar also poor. Very clean and great pool area and private beach. Entertainment in the hotel at night is a bit hit and miss but there is plenty during the day. You need a visa to get into the country ask on the plane if they are going to hand them out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Amanda Beamson
10 years ago
Aziza is a very well managed and run hotel, I have been in this industry for over 20 years. It was very quiet indeed when when went but we took advantage of this and travelled as much as possible.

We found the locals to be very friendly although because it's such a poor country you have to be vigilant; the usual rule of respect to them encourages respect to you was true.

Aziza has fabulous grounds, pool and beach access including beach showers. The food was fine, something for everyone, a good opportunity to taste a little of this and that. For us it was the rooms that were rather tired, but we were told that there is an extensive refreshment project ongoing and that seemed to be evident as they started whilst we were there. The therapy centre is excellent value.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tunisia First

Recommended
John & Julie
11 years 6 months ago
Second visit to Tunisia as we enjoyed our first so much at Port El Kantaoui. This holiday also superb mainly because we were so happy with the hotel and it's location.

The hotel itself was kept immaculately clean and we had a very nice top floor room with sea and beach view. The beach had lovely sand and we took many walks along it to try and to try and shed some calories.

We don't know how anyone could complain about the food as there was so much choice and the hot dishes were 'hot' and most importantly there was a no smoking area in the main restaurant.

The lunchtime restaurant which is situated near to the pool was also very nice and airy. In both restaurants if you asked for a glass of wine you were given a bottle! The house wine, both red and white, was excellent. The local beer good also.

No problem in May getting a sunbed by the pool and we can't say enough 'thank you's to Ali the pool man who was so attentive to your needs. He also had a great sense of humour!

We like walking and walked several times into Hammamet either via the local 'town' or by the coast route. The town route is very interesting as you see the local lifestyle; homes, shops and businesses intertwined. By the coast route you take the new promenade which is very pretty.

Our first trip into the Medina was an organised trip with the rep. This is thoroughly recommended to enable you to gain your confidence to do it on your own which we then did several times and it was great fun haggling over prices.

A visit to the new resort of Yasmine Hammamet is a must to see the quality of the new hotels in which you are most welcome to use the facilities. Do use the noddy train to get there as it is very cheap and good fun.
There have been negative reviews about the hotel entertainment but compared to many other hotels in which we have stayed we considered the Aziza entertainment good....however it is not an important issue in our itinerary.

We never visit the same hotel twice as life is too short;however if we had no choice we would be delighted to return here and would not hesitate to recommend it to others....it is well worthy of it's four star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Sophie
12 years 2 months ago
We found this Hotel as we expected it's in a quiet part of Hammamet very relaxing, ask for a sea view its well worth the extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Angela
12 years 4 months ago
Have just returned from a very enjoyable two week break at this hotel which is on the beach - just walk through the small garden by the pool and you are there. The sand is very fine and can be difficult to walk on but nevertheless very enjoyable - not much shade from the parasols which are very small and immovable - so beware of the sun which is extremely strong in July and August.

The hotel was really clean - the bedrooms are cleaned every day and the bed linen changed every day too - there is a mini bar which is filled up every day.

As we had our 14 year old daughter with us we had a mini suite which was great - it was L shaped which meant our daughter had some privacy without being separated from us - the room looked over the sea and the air conditioning was fantastic

The staff were marvellous although there is a tipping culture - 1 dinar is usually enough - about 50 pence

The food is Tunisian which I found rather "challenging" but having said that my husband loved it - olives, cheese that sort of thing - I mainly lived on the desserts which were wonderful to look at and very tasty without being too sweet

There is entertainment about 4 nights a week for about 2 hours - a chap on the piano, belly dancers or a group who walk on nails/glass but that is about it really - it was enough for us but not everyone would agree

One note: the brochure says over 14s only but as from August 2005 children of all ages will be allowed in which I think will spoil the atmosphere which when we were there was one of peace and quiet and of course the pool and beach never got busy as it no doubt will when children are permitted.

Mainly German, Italian and Tunisians use this hotel - very few English - the main language is French
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tunisia First

Recommended
Margaret Davis
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel is joined to a Thallassotherapy centre and if you haven't tried it then you have really missed out. It was the most wonderful experience - with sea water therapies and hammams (deep cleansing programmes) with massages, facials, sea-weed wraps and the Thallassotherapy pool which tones your body without exercising. Marvellous.

This is not a resort for children or people wanting a noisy night life. I think it is a resort for peace and quiet and recuperating from the stresses of life in England.

We returned to England feeling refreshed, ultra clean, stress free and wonderful. The indoor pool was really warm, not like most hotels that sport a 'supposedly' heated indoor pool.

The staff were very caring and the food in the lunch dining room was great.

The sunbeds were free and the buffet style restaurant gave us healthy and well prepared food. The desserts were delicious.

There was a great laundry service - clothes were back, ironed and dry and on hangers, within one day. There is a Moorish Cafe on the ground floor where every kind of game is available at tables. No one will hurry you even if you are there for only one coffee. There is also a pool table.

I would not recommend the hotel shop for purchases. Things were much cheaper outside in the local shops but you have to bargain for goods. It is expected.
The girl in the hotel shop was very discourteous and really seemed as though she couldn't be bothered with customers.

The rest of the hotel staff were very attentive and caring. Liz is in the foyer every weekday at 10 am. She will arrange any therapies for you. Hair and nails and eyebrows plucked can also be booked.

Money could be easily obtained from the cash machine in the hotel.

Not much in the way of entertainment but we were quite happy to have some early nights or play cards in the lounge.

A very nice holiday in a very nice hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holdidays

Recommended
Monty
13 years 2 months ago
10 nights half board 4 star hotel

Room:

The room type requested was for a sea view double. Which is what we got on the first floor. It had a big balcony with a low table and 4 chairs. Great view of resort/pool/sea. (Room 151). We were very lucky most of the balconies were half the size. Some with a sea view had obscured view due to trees. The room was spacious with a wardrobe, dressing table, set of drawers small table and chairs, large mirrors, one 2-pin plug socket in the bedroom with one also in the bathroom, comfortable king-sized bed, 2 pillows - we got 2 more from housekeeping. Its appearance was tired looking and shabby but it was clean. The TV had English Speaking BBC World, Sports and Super Movies, no remote but some dodgy buttons on the side of the bedside table - it was easier to get up and change channel manually. There was also elevator, music available - if you like that kind of thing. The air conditioning was noisy and on full pelt at its lowest setting gave a steady 23 degrees, which felt nice, as it was over 30 degrees in the shade on the balcony. The patio doors leading onto the balcony activate/cut out the air con. There were no handles on the outside of the patio door making it difficult to open. The room did have black out curtains, very useful as the sun rises over the sea and came blaring in at 7am.

The toilet was separate from the bathroom and was very smelly. No extractor fan in either toilet or bathroom. The bathroom was old and mildew in places around the bath but clean enough. It had both a bath and shower. The latter was at a fixed uncomfortable height and difficult to gauge on pressure/temperature. The hairdryer was like a long hosepipe that wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Driveline

Adrian & Matthew
13 years 2 months ago
Moved in the 2nd week of our 2 week stay to this hotel from the (alleged) 5* Sindbad Hotel the other side of Hammamet (see our review of THAT hotel on this site!). Must say, we were mighty relieved, and although in fairness the Aziza is not really a 4* in most of the world it seems Tunisia has its own special grading system
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tunisia First

Recommended
Briarskeg
13 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a Weeks Winter Holiday at the Aziza, booked at the last minute through www.driveline.co.uk/

Schedule flights both ways, with BA and a private transfer by Minibus were included in the price.

The location I would describe as not that good, with about a 30 minute walk to Hammamet centre, but it is right on the beach and Taxi's are very cheap, at the moment they are building what appears to be a large Cafe just across the Road, and the Hotel is situated in large pleasant gardens.

Rooms were bright and kept very clean and the food in the Hotel was very good, although if you want chips and burger every night it may not suit you, a typical Evening Meal served Buffet style was home made soup, salad bar, and a choice of meat (incuding pork on one Night which is unusual in Tunisia) rice, sliced potatoes, different types of vegetable, including what looked like raw chips, but were in fact a vegetable, some Nights cous cous, all in all a good range of choice, the beef was in cubes and almost like a english stew, several Nights chicken was also included served in various ways, and my Husband really 'pigged out' on the sweets you could choose from all sorts of cakes and pastries, I have to say we did not have one bad meal all Week and no upset tums, also must mention the Head Waiter he couldn't do enough for us and even offered that if there was nothing we fancied he would get the Chef to cook something.
As a previous Member posted the Bar area lacks atmoshere, and the entertainment was very poor, the man playing the keyboard did just that, he may as well have been a CD playing in the background, so we walked several Nights to the Bel Azur which had far more atmosphere and the drinks were quite a lot cheaper.

The Mini Bar in the room, was checked daily and refilled including water which we were informed we were only allowed to buy in the Hotel, (also told no food to be imported to the rooms) which was OK until the last Day when the mini bar was emptied so we got to our rooms to make a drink and no water, my Husband did complain when he went to the Bar to purchase some, and was told the Mini Bar was always emptied on the last Day, (although this was mid afternoon and we didn't check out until 9.30am next day) I thought that wa quite bad.

Also one of the rules I read was no kettles or irons, I had taken my kettle so hid it in the cupboard every day, I think part of this is that they would like you to use the room service all the time.

Indoor pool was warm, and we enjoyed a swim every Day, at this time of Year if the weather isn't that hot there are also sunbeds around the indoor pool, it wasn't warm enough to swim in the outdoor pool, but we did manage to sunbathe there two days, one thing I was very disappointed in was the choice of food for snacks, mostly sandwiches which weren't that nice, and all food at the pool was served in a bag, no plates we asked for a salad and were informed that you weren't allowed them around the pool, we packed our things and headed off the Bel Azur, where anything you wanted was 'no problem'.

If you do go to this Hotel one thing is make sure that your travel plugs have a hole (difficult to explain) which is in the centre as for some reason the Hotel have a pin sticking out of the plug on the wall, which was OK for one of my travel plugs but not the other, so I was very pleased that I had the choice of the two as would have been lost without my hotbrush, there is a hairdrier in the bathroom, and plenty of hot water all day.

All in all we really enjoyed the Week, especially as the seaview from the room was very good, to see the sunrise over the sea was one of the loveliest views we had ever seen, also enjoyed sitting in the room watching the little fishing boats when it was cool outside the heating was very good in the room, but I wouldn't rush back the Aziza mainly due to the lack of things to do in the evenings at this time of Year, it really is one area that they need to improve on and other guests commented on this too, a Couple we made Friends with had been there for New Years Eve, and like us are used to Tunisia commented that even New Years Eve lacked atmoshere.

One thing I did mean to mention, we were told on arrival that you didn't take your own towels to the indoor pool (not sure if this is the same for outdoor in Summer) but that you had to pay to get a 'ticket' for a deposit, you then showed this ticket in the Hotel Shop, and had to then pay two dinar to hire a towel, we did this at 1st and then noticed others had taken their own beach towels with them, the hire towels were thin and not very big, that was it we handed our ticket back in and got deposit back, as we much preffered our own beach towels, I know 2 dinar (50p) isn't that much but it does add up over a few days, and nothing was said when we used our own towels, so take a tip and don't bother with the ticket etc.

If I can help anymore please post your questions in the Tunisia Q&A forum.

Travel operator: Driveline

Lacegirl121
15 years 1 month ago
Visited in October 2002. Airtours deal. Lovely room, private transfers in a minibus, fruit and wine on arrival as we got a Prestige Deal.

Hot water and loads of towels, lots of tv channels.

Grreat restaurant for evening meals, lots of choice including lots of Tunisian specialities which you don't always get in Hotels. Lots of French guests.

Breakfast served in downstairs cafe which needs updating. Small moorish coffee shop, shop and hairdressers and indoor pool and fitness area which leads to the pool and gardens.

Pool is lovely, mattresses no charge, but give the guy a dinar every day for the two of us and he kept our spot for the week. Steps down to private section of beach which is very clean and tranquil. Expensive to get drinks on the beach, but worth it when you are relaxed. Steep steps down, which are covered in sand. Changing hut on beach. Restaurant outside serves great pizzas and chocoalte mousse.

ATM machine in reception, usually goes down on Saturday nights! Cashier is MISERABLE!

Reception staff okay, a bit snooty. Our minibar was empitied 36 hours before we left! Extra charges for late departure were

Travel operator: Airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: