Image of Mehari Hammamet Hotel

Mehari Hammamet Hotel

24 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

3 out of 5 from 5 reviews
5 stars

5 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Annabelle Malindasan
unforgettable hotel
3 years 10 months ago
We had the best experience in this hotel. The bar and restaurant were amazing. The staffs were brilliant and very helpful. Been twice this year ..going on third for Xmas. Very modern none judgemental staffs -my fiancé is Tunisian and I'm British. Highly recommended. We stayed in another hotel before for a change totally regretted it. See you soon Mehari Hotel cannot wait ....what an unforgettable experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Hotel tip: Booked Dec 2013 Feb 2014 and Dec 2014

Recommended
Rob And Sue
10 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from the mahari and can say,THANK GOD Thomson do not take uk holidaymakers here anymore,i can agree with most of your other reports,that this is very badly run,from duty management upwards,like the other reports i can confirm,the pool area is very slippy,the steps and the hand rails of indoor and outdoor pools are loose,broken or othewise unsafe,the food is so-so.but dont expect any bacon with your fat!,the final blow was on the last day a child? messed them self in the pool,after many requests to close the indoor pool,even the hotel manager refused to drain and clean the pool,despite 1-2 year old babies using the pool,no action was taken,completly unacceptable in any hotel,BUT A 5 STAR WHAT A JOKE
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Sue
12 years 1 month ago
5 star what a joke, we think they must have stolen stars from another hotel?

The outside pool was dangerous the slope into the pool was steep and a few times our youngest slipped when walking into the pool.

Breakfast and dinner well that was another joke, was that really food! We ended up eating in a nearby pizza place.

The indoor pool was nice but not very clean.

The rooms we had were ok but having 2 single beds pushed together werent most comfortable, bathroom if you like laying in the bath then don't look around to much(under the sink was bad).

The looks I got from staff when I ordered a beer. (Was it because I am a woman).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cadogan

Steve
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel is actually in Yasmine Hammamet and is officialy rated as a 5 star.We had been to Tunisia for the past 2 years staying at the Averros which is across the road from this hotel and had a very nice week late November.We returned in 2004 and had 1 week at the excellent hotel Phenicia in Hammamet.

We had used the Mehari in 2003 as we went in for a drink at night and thought how impressive it was,so we decided to stay there for 2 weeks this year.What a mistake that was.

The hotel looks very attractive with its stone pillars and marble entrance.The reception area is very nice with a huge ornate domed ceiling and typical arabic design,but dont let this fool you, as it does not reflect how badly this hotel is managed.

We were a party of 3 adults and 2 had paid for a sea view room and 1 single room.We have had many holidays ruined by bad rooms and noise in the past so we wanted to get it right this time so we rang the hotel 2 weeks prior to departure and asked if we could have top floor rooms which would stop noise from others dragging chairs above you and footsteps day and night.

We were told no problem,we would be given 2 rooms on the 4th floor,1 with a sea view and 1 garden view.

On arrival at the hotel at about 11.30 am we were checked in and we were very disappointed that we had not been given the rooms promised to us.We were given one on the 3rd floor and one on the 2nd floor which was not acceptable,we wanted the rooms close by.

The female staff member was very charming and promised that we can move to different rooms the next day if we seen her at 10 am.We then had a 2 hour wait as the rooms were not ready on arrival.

We were quite annoyed when we saw the rooms as the sea view we had paid for we did not get,we overlooked and ugly casino and the sea was just visible over the roof.As we were promised we would be moved the next day then we didnt let it spoil things.

We noticed the hotel had many nasty smells coming and going,one nauseous smell of diesel,then a nasty sewerage smell.

We were also promised Welcome Packs on arrival by the Thomson rep,these packs never appeared,also other English guests failed to get theirs.There is no rep visiting daily,just once a week and a mobile number to ring if any problems.

We ventured out to sunbathe at the hotel and was very disappointed it had no nice gardens to relax in,just a small grassed area on the 1st floor with a pool.This was not suitable and was quite noisy and cramped with sunbeds,so nowhere to sit and relax.

The hotel has its own beach across the road so we looked there,again another let down. The beach isnt great,quite scruffy and rows of beds and straw umbrellas sardine style,not what we like - so nowhere to sunbathe !

This hotel also has a residence which is part of the hotel so we looked there. Again this is also not good,the reception is dreary and drab and a big window looks out onto the small grassed area and pool. This is overshadowed by an ugly grey shell of an unfinished building,also a tall communication mast is sited in the garden.The grass and garden was unkempt and just not idyllic considering its supposed to be 5 star.

So we used a nearby hotel which was wonderful with a huge pool and nice gardens and right on the beach,which we went to each day and were never challenged if we were staying there,it was very annoying we had to do this when we had paid to stay at the Mehari, yet it does not offer comfortable relaxing areas to sunbathe.

The dining room is very basic,not what we expected.
There are far too many tables and chairs and its like an assault course trying to walk about getting your food,chairs in the way and not much room to move.

The food is not good here. We cannot say during the 2 weeks that we had a decent edible meal. Food that should be served hot was cold,vegetables not cooked,meat not cooked properly and just a lot of messes thet do not give a proper meal. Breakfast also is not good.We were outraged that fresh orange juice was on offer but you had to PAY extra for it ! milk for cereals was warm and was never chilled.

So we went to reception to change rooms the 2nd day at 10am and the woman was not there as promised.The others knew nothing about a room change.We returned later at 4pm and she was there. She was very rude and her attitude was terrible.She demanded to know where we had been at 10am,we said we were there but you were not.She then said its too late now to move rooms.

It was 5 days later when we moved rooms as the rep sorted it out.We were given 2 rooms on the 3rd floor both with sea views.The rooms are spacious and we had a huge balcony.
However the corner bath we had was disgusting as it had black mould spores around it. Also the furnishings were tatty and plugs didnt work and the patio door would not lock. It took 3 days for the plug and lock to be fixed.
The housekeeper was very nice to us and she arranged for 3 sunbeds to be brought up so we could use them on the balcony. One bed was delivered whilst we had breakfast and whoever delivered it also made a very unplesant mess in the bathroom - as the toilet had been used which should never happen in a guests room !!! The 3 sunbed mattress's that were given to us were stained and dirty,again just poor standards.

We noticed that in reception the big glass doors have stickers on them so you can tell its glass and dont walk into the doors.The bedroom doors do not and many times we banged into the glass doors,not knowing if they were open or shut.

The swimming pool at this hotel is very dangerous. The walkway into it is steep and many people slipped and fell,one English woman fell and was seriously injured tearing a ligament in her leg. The hotel did not attempt to rope it off or put signs up.
There is a serious accident just waiting to happen here.

We feel this hotel does not refelct its 5 star rating and it needs great improvements and better managing to bring it up to standard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

12 years 2 months ago
Hotel Mehari

2 adults and no kids in Sept 2005 for 7nts

First impressions upon arriving were that someone had made a big mistake and dropped us off at the wrong place. A very grand looking columned fa
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomason

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: