Image of Sol Azur Hotel

Sol Azur Hotel

17 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ruth
Relaxing
4 years 6 months ago
Very relaxing holiday, had a bungalow on the beach which was lovely. Hotel needs some updating, but that did not spoil our holiday, staff always friendly and polite with a smile on their face. Pool guy saves your sunbeds of a morning, and always kept pool and pool area spotless. Did not really have much interaction with animation, but they were fab with an able bodied disabled girl who was within our group.

Food was good and always something to eat, until about our 10th day, and as Ramadan was approaching, food was often cold, and not as much on, but again there was always something to eat.

Tourism has really gone down :-( the hotel held about 600 people, but during our stay I would say there was at the most 10 guests. The Sol has a lovely friendly atmostphere, and there is no airs and graces, you do not feel uncomfortable or made to feel uncomfortable.

Would we stay in this hotel again?, the answer is a big YES.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Gloria Carlson
7 years 7 months ago
Once again I stayed at the Sol Azur with my Grandaughter we stayd for 2weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the 2 weeks became 3 due to the volcano eruption but thanks to Thomas Cook and the staff at the Sol our extra stay was made more bearable the Animation team where great trying to keep the children entertained. The hotel staff all tried to keep cheerful even though we were all worried. I will be hopefully visiting again in August. Well done Sol Azur Keep up the good work.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Panorama

Recommended
Dave
8 years 5 months ago
have just returned from the hotel sol azure expected more from a 4 star nice enough but looking very dated not the relaxing holiday i had looked forward to staff not interested unless you tip them all the time.entertainment staff only interested if you are young shapely and single!!! we were there three days before they even noticed and that was only because flights had gone out that day and there was gaps round the pool,, which if you didn't get up before 6 30 in the morning you had no chance of getting a sunbed round the pool or on the beach. we saw towels that staff put out for some young females and they could be unused best part of the day hotel policy states no beds can be reserved what chance has any one got when staff blatantly broke the rules. forget a relaxing holiday once entertainment staff do realise you are there they are relentless and you get no peace join in this join in that no matter how many times you tell them no!!! entertainment really poor unless you are under ten . while we where there was a conference booked in for our last three days we were only there for a week!! no one told us delegates took over the hotel brought their families and took over everything else no peace again . as i say hotel was clean enough breakfast catered for every nationality if you like eggs and stale bread evening meal plenty of choice by the time you battled through back to your table was always cold .enjoyed holiday but we made own entertainment by people watching we couldnt stay up late you had to be in bed by 11 so that you could be up at 6 30 for a sunbed!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Gloria
8 years 8 months ago
I stayed at the Hotel Sol Azur Hammamet. As a single traveller staying in hotels all over Tunisia for 23 years I found this Hotel to be the Best. Everyone was very friendly and helpful this was a very genuine act on everyones part. The food was fantastic something for everyone. the Entertainment lads were always around but not in your face they always had a smile and time for a few words with everyone even though they provided a full day and night time programme, The bar Staff were always happy to run about fetching and carrying for you and if you smoked you never had a dirty ashtray. they also made fantastic English tea.
the maids where great they kept my room spotless and always flowers and fresh towels. reception where always around to answer any questionsand they all spoke good english. NO COMPLAINTS I am taking my 9year old grandaughter there at the end of August i know she will love it and thier fantastic pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Panorama

Recommended
David
10 years 8 months ago
we stayed at this hotel last march (2007) and have been coming to tunisia for over 10 years.we have stayed at all the tourist resorts but find hammamet to be the best.This hotel in my opinion is probably the best in tunisia although the phenicia comes a very close second.i find the hotel relaxing and just fantastic to wind down for two weeks.rooms are clean staff are friendly and the food is great.liz is always on hand for any issues you may have and is employed by the hotel.we also stayed at the royal azur in september and i am coming back to the sol azur in september 2008.i have traveled all over europe etc but tunisia is all ways where i come back to.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Claire
11 years 3 months ago
The decor in the reception and dining were amazing and the bedrooms were adequate.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The English Guest Relations officer Liz (employed by the hotel and in addition to Panorama rep) was always around checking that you had everything you needed and that you were aware of the entertainment eg cookery demonstrations, Arabic lessons etc that were going on.

Animation team did a good job always asking you to join in with various sports but always happy to take
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Mark
11 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Sol Azur Hotel. It is not 4* as rated the only way it is are the prices of everything.

Hotel is tired not clean enough, shared room with ants, pool area looks well but smelled. Beach was nice and tidy, plenty of sun lounges avalable. Food was very nice but come back with tunisian tummy.

Felt cheated as I didn't get what I pay for.
Would never come back again to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Deb
11 years 4 months ago
We holidayed at the Sol Azur in July 2006, had a fabulous holiday met some great people, we are going back this year same time.

The hotel was clean and the staff wrere friendly,the animation team were excellent if you didn't want to join in you were left alone. Can't wait to go back and meet the people we made friends with from Yorkshire.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Tom And Mary
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel kept clean with cleaners evident during most of the day. Rooms cleaned daily - apart from one day when our cleaner was so busy she simply ran out of time! Clean towels everyday.

Bedroom decor dated and really needs freshened up but hotel's public areas were pristine. Food ok but repetitive although you always found something you liked.

Hotel staff generally polite but not particularly friendly. Some of the reception and kitchen staff were quite surly although we noticed that Arab guests were treated much better although some of these guests appeared to treat staff like servants!

The dining room Maitre D' could really do with a personality transplant! Service in the bar although friendly was dead slow so if you have a thirst quench it with water before you visit the bar!

Entertainment seemed to be varied but we didn't bother with it much as it was quite rightly in our opinion mainly geared towards the kids. One of the Animation staff was quite rude to us one day on the hotel beach and needs to get it into his head that some guests go on holiday to relax and not to participate in group games!

Location was ok - hotel has its own beach and is about 30 minutes walk into town. There are a couple of shops outside the hotel and a few restaurants but no bars despite what it says in the brochure.

Avoid the supermarket directly across from the Royal Azur gates, beside the African Jewellers - the owner (he owns both) ripped us off on our first day by charging double for a few basics that were so much cheaper in the nearby supermarkets.

Needless to say we didn't go back and I doubt if he got much trade because people quickly catch on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Rachel Parr
12 years 9 months ago
Food here was great, a wide variety to choose from with traditional dishes and a 'safe' English choice for the non-adventurous.

Rooms were very clean and tidy, and the maids were a great help. In a good location but seeing as we were ma large school party we weren
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: