Image of Fourati Hotel

Fourati Hotel

21 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 1 month ago
Whole hotel in need of a complete over-haul. Filthy dirty, public toilets, rarely flushed or were broken, no toilet roll. Outside pool near the sea not cleaned for whole 2 weeks,indoor pool cleaned every few days,the best part of this whole hotel, even has a jakusi pool,very clean and well maintained also outdoor pool next too this one cleaned weekly, but the edge tiles and patio absolutely filthy. Cats use the corridors, art works, etc as a toilet.Cockroaches were climbing out of the food, I reported it to the rep who said they had a problem and were dealing with it, wasn t dealt with, we ate out for ten days all meals, went into food hall each day to see them crawling in and out of food and around the bread. Staff very nice. Entertainment team were fun and did their best, they were all friendly and fun to talk too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Julie
11 years 4 months ago
We have now been to Hotel Fourati twice. Very clean and tidy rooms. It has lovely gardens and is very picturesque. The food is good, only what you would expect from a foreigh country. The children found something to eat each evening. The staff are extremely polite and very helpful. We were advised to stick to the Travel companies trips on our first visit, which we did. But on our second visit we went our own way and found that it was a considerably cheaper i.e. camels and the pirate ships which are run by staff on behalf of the hotel - bookings for these were taken on the beach during the day. We would most definately recommend this hotel to families and couples. There are a few steps but nothing that my smallest couldn't handle.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Shelley
11 years 4 months ago
I think this hotel was excellent all the staff great and very bubbly. They always have a laugh even if they were upset.

The hotel is great, I know people over there so it's cool. If I could pack eveything up and live there I would.

To every one that reads this and hasn't been there, you need to go and check it out you will love it TRUST ME....xxx xxx xxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Eric
11 years 7 months ago
We first arrived at Fouratti at midday ,met in dark and distinctly dingey reception area.

Our rooms were at the side of the hotel.They were in need of a complete refurbishment ,broken tiles ,flaking paint ,and small dingey bathroom . Dirty grouting in bathroom with no fridge ,tv or tea making facilities. The dining area was very dark and miserable ,so was the food. We doubted the hygiene. We asked the next day to be moved which we did.

The rep was excellent . The hotel was in good position but bad repair ! This is the first time we have felt the need to post a report and are not normally that fussy, but we felt in this instance we need to voice our opinion.

We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Moggy
11 years 7 months ago
Return visit to this hotel and what can we say..????

We arrived earlier in the night than we did last year, thanks to speeding through Immigration...90 mins instead of 2 hrs plus. At Reception my partner and I were greeted with a warm welcoming smile and being told..Lovely to see you back. Luggage was taken to our room and the porter even refused a tip..!!!!!

Next day on wondering around we were greeted with big smiles and handshakes from all the friendly staff we met last year. On going into the restaurant for the first time we handed our green card over to the Maitre D...and ended up with a table to ourselves for the whole of our stay!!! In the snack bar, Samir almost jumped over the bar to greet us, first drink was on him..!!! only because we handed him a bottle of duty free whisky.
The only downside to this visit was the entertainment, it was lacking an atmosphere, the Russian dancers were doing the same routine each time they were on, the drag artists at least changed their routine each time.
We fell in love with this hotel last year, thats why we went back and after the treatment we received this year made us want to go and live there if we could.
As some comments have been made about state of the building but we think this is all part of the added attraction, it may only be a 3 star hotel, but the warmth and willingness of the staff make it feel more like a 5 star at least. Can anyone else name a 5 star hotel where you return a year later and get greeted and treated like Royalty, I doubt it. For us the staff treat you more like family than just "Rich people" spending money on them.
The only downside to a holiday in Tunisia is getting through Monastir Airport, but as the staff were saying there are plans afoot to build a new airport some 20/30 kilometers south of Hammamet, hopefully when this does happen the holidays will be better all around.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lynne Lee
12 years 1 month ago
The hotel is kept lovely and clean and we always saw gardeners trying to keep the bushes and trees under control.

The food was very repetitive, the breakfast was OK if you like rolls and sweet buns but if you want the cooked food the scrambled eggs were not cooked long enough and the bacon had no meat only fat. The soup in the evenings was always nice, and the cake for afters was OK but the dinners were not great to the English taste buds.

The location of the hotel was nice, surrounded by only a few shops but most of the shop keepers were really friendly especially the jewellery shop owner opposite. Don't expect to leave the shop without being kissed on both cheeks. A Tunisia tradition.

Also the hotel was right on a very beautiful beach and although there were people passing by all day selling things they didn't bother us if we said no. It was entertainment in itself just watching what passed by. Everything from jewellery, to doughnuts, to rugs to a man on a camel.

The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful, although probably because we tipped them regularly.

The entertainment wasn't great, a belly dancer, a snake charmer and some transvestites, although it was something to watch in the evenings. The animation team had a good leader who was like the pied piper and always has children trailing around behind him. He seemed to be around most of the day by the pool arranging games (water polo, blindfolded darts) and was there for the children's disco in the evening. Although they could do with splashing out on a new CD.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angie Skillern
12 years 2 months ago
On arrival we were met by friendly and helpful staff, we were quickly allocated our room which was basic but clean and adequate with a lovely view of the sea and grounds.

Breakfast as you would expect, evening meals were not to our tastes but there was plenty, lunch time snacks were the best we loved our crepes or our paninis.

Lorraine was the best rep we have ever had and dealt with any problem immediately. Trips were well organised and enjoyed them all. Our waiter was lovely and we were sad to say goodbye to him. As we were there for two weeks we found the entertainment repeated.

We will be going back again a great time was had.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Karen
12 years 6 months ago
I've just returned from Hammamet. We stayed at the Fourati. I thought that the hotel represented great value for money and I am surprised at some of the previous comments. When you consider that we paid a little over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Two

Recommended
The Randall Family
12 years 6 months ago
We had heard many conflicting reports on Tunisia and people seem to love it or hate it! We went May 2005 for 2 weeks. We loved it.

The hotel looked nothing from the outside but was quite a garden of eden once through the reception. 3 Pools and right on a beautiful beach. We arrived at 11.30 at night and the enterance was beautifully lit which made it very attractive.

Our room had a defective toilet but we were moved the very next day to a basic but clean room. Towels and linen changed regularly. The food was fine and plentifyl, even our very fussy daughter found something to enjoy each meal time.

The location was good and although not many shops, it was very cheap to get a taxi into central areas. The hotel was slowly being refurbished while we here there but in general the hotel and gardens was kept clean.

The age of the hotel definatly added character. Our children loved the entertainment staff and they joined in most of the activities. We hope that they are still there when we return in May this year.

Overall good value for money, basic rooms, friendly staff and a great time. Plus the hotel Thomas Cook Rep, Lorraine was brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Moggy
12 years 7 months ago
Arrived at the hotel at around midnight, the reception staff were a bit miserable, so we both thought what have we let ourselves into. However next day... we found the real Fourati...Staff are absolutely fantastic and really helpful.

Facilites were plentiful, 3 swimming pools, 7 bars plenty of snack bars and for most of the children a wonderful entertainment staff. Room needed in our opinion needed more cleaning, ie the toilet could do with a drop of bleach. We had a problem with the toilet, reported it and they came to fix it in about an hour, so no faults there.

Rooms were cleaned daily, bedding changed every other day, towels changed daily.
Facilities in the room were sparse so take your own kettle, iron etc. No tv in the room. We were in the 300 rooms and the view from the balcony was fantastic. The beach is only a 3 minute walk away same for all the other facilities.

The only thing we didnt like was the amount of steps everywhere so if you have a walking problem this is not the hotel for you. We fell in love with the hotel, the staff and the locals, apart from the peddlars selling goods. We are hoping to go back again and it would be here we will be staying. All in all a wonderful hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: