Image of Riu Park El Kebir Hotel

Riu Park El Kebir Hotel

14 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tracy
8 years ago
After reading some negative reviews on another site i was worried about our holiday...no need,what a lovely hotel! Ok there were signs of wear and tear on the corridors but nothing major.The rooms were lovely,we paid for a seaview which was about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
Variety of food in the main restaurant is great. There are also two all inc restaurants: Italian and Tunisian. They cook the same food every time, it's tasty, but no menu for choice. Tunisian restaurant offers fixed menu for everyone and doesn't have a vegeterian option. However the athmosphere is great, so it would be an interesting experience even though you don't eat meat.

4 for clearness because the outdour pool wasn't clean enough for me.

4 for staff because they are helpful, but sometimes try to trick with the currency rates. Be careful.

5 for entertainment. Ent-t team really works hard and do ther best. There are also lots of other facilities: small gym, water sports, darts, archery, tennis, ect.

In overall it's still a very good hotel.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Elaine
8 years 6 months ago
Plenty to eat and drink on AI although the wine is an aquired taste
The room was cleaned every day to a high standard but some areas of the hotel were not as clean (courtyard rooms)
The location is not very good if you expect to find bars and entertainment outside the hotel
The staff are good if you tip them but ignore you to look after the German holiday makers
The animation team are nice and try their best (thats all Im going to say about them)

I dont really think its a Platinum standard hotel

We arrived at 10pm to be shown to a room in the courtyard without the seaview room we paid for, we went straight to the reception to complain and were told that there wasnt one available until the next day , we got ours at 1pm the next day and did not unpack till then so we lost a good chunk of the first day of our holiday hanging round waiting for our room

over the week we stayed we were not the only Brits that this happend to (but it never happened to the German visitors) infact some were given seaview rooms when they had not booked them
So my advice is make double sure that if you pay for a seaview its there before you accept your keys

We have stayed in this hotel before and we liked it very much as it was a peaceful and relaxing hotel
MY HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED!!!!
A large group of Russians arrived and bulldozed their way through everything (I thought the Brits were supposed to be the loud chavvy tourists???, ...I was wrong) I think the German tourists were miffed the Russians were louder and brasher than them!!

Over the week I and others noticed that Brits seemed to be treated like 2nd class citizens from allocations of rooms and dinner tables to waiter service in the bars and lobby no matter how much we seemed to tip it seemed others had priority over us

When the German holidaymakers said to the staff 'jump' the staff said ' how high?'

I would like to go back to this hotel but only if Brits were treated eaqual to other nationality's and that you got the room you paid for and didnt have to waste a day of your holiday waiting to get it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Kim
8 years 7 months ago
I travelled on a late deal with my husband in April 2009. We arrived around 8.00pm and met with a refreshing cocktail. Reception were keen we didn't miss our evening meal and we were escorted to the restaurant and given our check in cards to complete over dinner which we thought was very thoughtfull. We were allocated a specific table for evening meal but lunch and breakfast you could choose where to sit.
After then checking in we were shown to our sea view room that we'd upgraded to. The room was on the top floor, very spacious and spotless clean. We found the staff were incredibly friendly towards us. We tipped early on and the staff went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. They would reserve our favourite table for breakfast and lunch and even sprinkled rose petals on our table on a couple of occassions!! Food in the buffest restaurant was excellent, always hot enough and a varied choice. Wine, beer and soft drinks are self service but we found our waiter Karb waited on us hand and foot!! He even booked us an additional night in the Italian restaurant and provided us with a bottle of wine in a chiller by the side of the table (which none of the German/Russian guests were given). In fact we found that British guests were more respected and received better service. Entertainment was a bit naff but it didn't bother us. There was a lovely lounge bar that sometimes had a sax player or just background music which we found ideal. Bar staff in here were very professional and knew how to fix a good cocktail!!
There were 2 pools, a large pool where all the entertainment took place but if you turned left near the beach bar this took you to a smaller, very quiet pool which I don't think many people knew about. We never saw more than a quarter of the loungers occupied, we loved it here and couple of steps took you down to the beach which was practically empty. It was paradise!!
We paid just over
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
Hotel is immaculate. Rooms are very,very clean and a good size. Pool is beautiful, big and clean and have luxury of private beach which is also immaculate. Great fun too.

Plenty of sun loungers and parasols for all. Food very good, something for everyone. Front of house staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them. Laundry very cheap and is returned within 48 hrs, sometimes the same day.

Animation team worked hard, especially cristiano and aldinio. Bar staff superb, only downside no drinks after midnight but supermarket nearby and can take it back to hotel and sit on balcony. Fantastic weather for oct late 20's a few days early 30's. Fab. Very lovely people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland Direct

Recommended
Mr Jones
9 years 6 months ago
Hotel was kept clean, although some of the carpet areas were bald and needed replacing. We had booked a sea view room, but we were on the ground floor overlooking the pool area which was ok but not what we had asked for. As we could not be bothered to move room we stayed put. This was our choice and I am sure the hotel would have moved us if requested. If we had been there for 2 weeks we would have asked for another room. The food was ok, I like spicey food so it was a bit bland for my taste but my other half thought it was great chips with everything. The desserts were the same most nights, all little pastry cakes and ice cream. One night they did a Tunisian night and as I have been to Tunisia before the 'BRIK' was not as I remember it, traditionally it is a crispy pancake with a fried egg inside and the Couscous is generally more spicey with Lamb and veg. The BRIK was filled with like omelette and the other dish had Chicken and veg served separate to the Couscous with a tomato sace to pour over it. This was a dissapointment to me. The location was quite poor nothing to do outside the hotel. The entertainment was not for us so we didn't bother. As we are non smokers, every where in the hotel especially the public areas smoking was permitted apart from the Restaurant which we were glad about. Due to this we spent all our evenings outside as other wise we would have choked on the smoke.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

9 years 11 months ago
the food was often cold or not available.
the wine was the cheapest rubbish.
had to wait an hour to start the new years dinner.
the staff were only motivated by tip or bribery.
the entertainment was boring and repetative.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

9 years 11 months ago
This was the worst hotel we ever stayed in ,I will never go there again.

The only people that were worth any praise were the cleaning staff who were very hard working,but the others were only interested in tips and skiving.

We have been to other RUI hotels before and have never been disapointed,also the rep was of no use either,she could not give us any help.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

10 years ago
We were very impressed with this hotel, although it could do with a lick of paint and carpet replacement in places. It was spotlessly clean and the staff seemed to be constantly cleaning all areas.

The staff were very friendly and the reception staff couldnt do enough for you.

We booked a normal room but after booking decided we wanted to upgrade to a seaview room. Thompson wanted to charge us to change the booking so we decided to ask at reception on arrival. No problem to change at all, and we were charged
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Elaine James
10 years 2 months ago
We went on this holiday to have a relaxing holiday, after visiting Kenya the year previous which was a Safari and very busy holday.

So all we wanted to do was enjoy the sun and relax. The hotel was clean the food was good and the weather was hot, the beach was good and clean and had all the water sports you would need to entertain yourselves.

We made losts of friends and had a fab holiday I would recomend it to those who just want to chill out and get sun and drink, and relax.

The entertainment was poor but if you are lucky you will meet good friends , ps the lights get turned of out side the hotel at 11.45pm which I think is well out of order as this forces you to go to bed, and the bars close shortly after and that is the end of your night, NOT GOOD. And there is a photographer who never stops taking photos and ripping you off but we had plenty of photos to take home ha ha.

Overall out of ten I would score it for a lazy holiday 8 enjoy Elaine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: