Image of Miramar Pirates Gate Hotel

Miramar Pirates Gate Hotel

5 of 15 hotels in Skanes

4 out of 5 from 25 reviews
4 stars

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pamela Etchells
8 years 2 months ago
This was my third time I went to this hotel ...So I was expecting it to be as good as the previous years ...Wrong !! The place had really deteriated...The carpets in the hallways were shabby & dirty. The food was inedible..It was the same things every day ,which had been standing for an eternity & were cold.When asking for fresh orange juice at breakfast i was told ...They dont have machine !They suddenly found the machine on my insistance to see the manager !Every morning was the same ..I gave up in the end..Mealtime became a torture .All the other English guests felt the same & filled up on bread ! Not what you expect from four star accommodation .( Which it never was )So sad as it used to be a beautiful hotel..My advice ..Dont Go !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Internet booked

Duffin
8 years 3 months ago
The resort is as advertised Skannes has nothing around it and it is ideally a perfect beach holiday. I have visited Skannes over 12 times and found this hotel sadly lacking in numerous areas. I read the reports before I left and was worried but thought it could not be as bad but it was. There is a photographer taking holidaymakers photos great until you go to purchase them he does not speak English. The lady who run the children's club I had to speak to her about a problem again she said she did not really understand English. The pool man if you were down early and put your towells on a bed and someone else had asked him to book them he would take the towells of as he has been given a tip for to keep the beds for them, i watched him doing this one morning. The food is horrible it is not cooked properly and is cold same thing all the time. It is advisable to stay away from this hotel we spoke to other holidaymakers who have visited Tunisia inthe past and they felt the same.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Devonshire
9 years 8 months ago
The hotel was clean but seats were full of cat hairs that the wild cats sat on at night and during the day.

Food was not very appetising with only a few selective choices of a description of 'what is that?'

The location is, as it says, opposite a golf course, but that is it, transport to the nearest town is a must.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful very good.

Entertainment was limited with no daily notices as to what was on for guests it was a case of 'well we might do this now'

Cost of use of sun beds and cushions 3 dinar. Cost of drinks expensive average 6 dinar.

Taxi fare 10 dinar to airport.

Bus to biggest towns cheap very cheap well worth the experience.

Rep not very helpful.

Broken tap in toilet not repaired. Shower has hot and cold running water. Watch out it goes cold then very hot could scold young children.

Not 3+ or 4 star rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

John T
10 years 1 month ago
The room we had was spacious and pleasant - the only thing we missed was a bedside lamp for a bit of reading in the evenings - I would recommend taking a bag of tea lights if you like a read, as candles seem quite hard to get hold of.

The bathroom is a bit tired, but clean and bright - plenty of hot water - shower worked fine. We had a little balcony area overlooking the pool with a view out to sea - what more could you want? The chambermaid came every day and cleaned/tidied the room and replaced the towels.

Yes - it is 3 dinars (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Burrows
10 years 3 months ago
We re-visited Skanes after 7 years, this time with a 6 Year Old.

It has changed since we last visited, and the Miramar Hotel had changed hands also.

The Hotel Rooms are large with double bed and a single, we had a pool/sea view with a double balcony so we had plenty of room.

They were cleaned to a high specification, and we always leave a tip for the Maid; you'll be surprised at what she does for you by just leaving a couple of dinar (2.5 to the pound). On the last day, our maid brought a gift for our daughetr and a souveneir, that's how appreciative she was!

The hotel is very clean, Aircon was on, and was one of the best I have experienced as temperatures soared to above 42C!

Food, is good for the first few days, then becomes a bit boring, you can almost get your food with your eyes shut, as it is pretty much the same. There are different foods available daily, and you need to experiment after all, it's not about fish and chips in an arab country.. Having a major french influence you can imagine the diversity of cuisines especially the cakes and sweets.

Location - 5 minutes drive from Monastir Airport, and right on the beach, for us you couldn't ask for more..
Sea water pool, both adult and childrens. If you want nighttime activity don't go, we knew what to expect, it is a quiet holiday really, Port El Kantoui only 30 minutes away, and Sousse even less, but it has been built up so much from our last visit, not my scene, but will be to others, plenty of life and activity especially at night.

Staff - Very friendly, effecient and helpful. Be polite to them, tip small and often, and as the maid situation, you will be treated lkike a king/Queen/royalty.

Entertainment - Evenings well lets just say after a few drinks it's bearable. These guys work over 14 hours each day and sleep on the beach too, there must be something else to it, as it was far too hot to be jumping about. After the first week I even spoke to them, they are very friendly and are just trying to help you enjoy your stay. If you let them know your not interested they will leave you alone.

So summing up, we will return next year, as weather is guaranteed, the sea, even though there are jelly fish... is so inviting, and there's the pool and if your on Half board, it's cheap! Things to buy, Leather and Gold, bargin prices if you want them.

The hotel is situated in a very quiet beach area and there is nowhere to walk at night to speak of, so if your wanting activity and plenty of night life I wouldn't go, but if like me you want a quiet relaxing time by the sea and pool it's exactly that!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Clint
10 years 6 months ago
This was the 3rd time that I have stayed at this hotel in a year. I met up with some friends that we had made last year. The food is not much good is you are a vegi or are fussy but if none of those it is great. The hotel is continually cleaned by the chamber maids who work very hard. The hotel is right on the beach and only a short taxi trip to nearby towns. The hotel staff are very friendly and will help as much as they can as long as you remember that you are no better than them. Treat them like slaves they will act like one. I now have telephone numbers and addresses of many staff. Whilst there was invited to a member of staff's house for evening meal and next year when I return I will have another 5 homes to visit. During the day the Animation Staff try their best to keep you going but most people prefer to cook in the sun all day. At night the entertainment is not as good as it used to be as they have a new man in charge, because most people who visit are French a lot is done in French. Rooms are very large and very comfortable. Tunisa is a country that I would recommend to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
ROGERS
10 years 8 months ago
This hotel is nowwhere near 4 star it is barely 1 star.

The overall appearance is really seedy,the lighting in the corridors is below candle light.

We were taken to our room over looking a ventilation unit so we asked for a sea view which we had requested when booking.the room reeked of cigarettes with burns on the sheets and pillows.

The balcony was tiny with one broken chair and rusty handrails.

We had a walk to the beach to cheer ourselves up,what a let down even the beach was grubby with camel and horse muck.

The brochure shows a walk way to the bar in the sea,this is a rusty filthy steel framework. Enough was enough so we contacted the rep (lee)and asked to be moved which he sorted out in quick time. We had to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: AIRTOURS

10 years 10 months ago
Because of the runway at Bristol airport being closed we were taken up to Birmingham to get the plane so instead of arriving at 1500hrs we did not get to the hotel until 2330hr. On arrival it was an easy process to book in and because we had missed our dinner we were offered free sandwiches from the bar but we were to tired for any food.

When we awoke the next morning we were greeted by the sun we had a three bed room with loads of space although the balcony was small it did the job.

The food was very good with plenty of choice all of the staff were very honest and friendly. If you needed to use a taxi tell them what you will pay don't ask them how much prices are as follows Sousse 6td monistir 7td and Port el Kantouri is 10Td do not pay more they will moan but just say you will catch the bus and they will take you.

Sun beds were free but it was a long stay holiday.

The only thing I could complain about was the Monday night entertainment of the Karaoke the man who ran it was rude and had a voice like Tiny Tim and could not sing he liked to play to the noisy people in the club and would give them all his attention and play all instrumentals.

All in all it was a good holiday and if we could get some one else for the Monday night entertainment I would go again this year and stay longer
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Dorothy Fiddes
11 years 3 months ago
Now calling itself the Royal Miramar Thalassa, this hotel is at the northern end of the Skanes beach and is much nearer to Soussa than to Monastir. As with Skanes generally there are few facilities available locally with the exception of the Sahara Shopping Centre across the road.

Arriving at 1.30am the checkin was a simple procedure with an excellent welcome from the night reception staff. The 3 bedded room in the main hotel block was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good sized bathroom, separate W.C. Balcony was somewhat small and cramped, if the room was fully occupied it would not seat three people comfortably. Window box was badly overgrown, and was affected by slashback from the A/C overflow pipe. In August the A/C is at full stretch and while breakdowns did occur they were usually fixed promptly by maintenance staff.After the window box was brought to the attention of the housekeeper it was cleared within 2-3 hours. Maid friendly and helpful. We had specifically requested a quiet room and this was not really the case, with noise from adjoing hotel.

The hotel has all the facilities you would expect, pool, gardens, shopping, massage, entertainment. Poolside was crowded and noisy with little individual space. I don't mind paying for the use of a mattress or pool towels but do object to paying for the actual sun lounger. In this kind of hotel the pool area is a major part of most people's holiday and in my opinion should be free of charge. The gardens are pleasant and spacious but would have been more useful if some of this space could have been utilised poolside which is very crowded when the hotel is full. the small children's pool suffered from from water leakage which left the surrounding terrace area flooded. Popular on warm evenings is a Marine Bar built over the sea and reached by a walkway from the beach. A good place to catch the cooling sea breezes both day and night.

Food was good with plenty of choice and variety to meet the needs of guests from both European and Arabic countries. On the popular Tunisian Evening the main restaurant did run out of specialities like brik, merguez and Fatima's fingers well before the restaurant closed at 9pm. Guests choosing to dine after 8pm were often required to queue for a table. On particular busy evenings guests were seated outside on a covered terrace. The hotel also has an A La Carte restaurant which I did not use. There is a poolside grill offering snacks and light meals at resonable prices at lunch. Crepes were also available poolside during the afternoon. If staying halfboard you can always choose to take lunch as an alternative to dinner. Overall the food was good but I have had better (and worse) in other four star rated hotels in Tunisia. Biggest gripe here is the impossibility of getting tea or coffee after 12pm.

Entertainment was provided 6 nights out of 7, what little I saw of this, only confirmed my opinion that the faces change but the show stays the same. Generally I have other things to do in the evenings. However animation team are friendly, hardworking and very good with children.

While I would not personally return to this hotel again this is because of its location rather than its facilities or service.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thonsonfly/Lowcostsbeds

Ruth Homer
11 years 4 months ago
We arrived at hotel early evening just in time for our first meal, first impressions were good, room was clean bright and airy overlooking pool and sea.

Lobby area nice lots of seating areas. Our 1st meal consisted of rice, salad and meat which was described as turkey legs ( definately not turkey) there are lots of vegetables in various disguises. cakes and fruit for sweet.

Breakfast a bit dissapointing, little choice unless you like eggs, onion, cheese and peas!! food tends to be repeated, liver was served 3 days in a row and i`m sure it was leftovers from the previous day.

Don't forget you are in tunisia not spain and its not your average cuisine. Several people had stomache upsets - I wonder why. During your evening meal the waiter would take orders for your drinks, when you pay with dinar notes they expect to keep the change and we had to ask for it.

Lots of flies around tables and food bars.

On the 3rd day we were there part of the balcony roof collapsed into rubble, it was cleaned up but little concern was shown by hotel staff.

The staff in general were friendly, the animation team always around and try to get you to join in, night entertainment was ok but you got the impression they hadnt done some of the acts before and were a little slow. Pool area ok but you have to pay for sun beds - 2 dinar daily and they are limited.

The day you check out you have to book 1/2 hour slots for the shower room which is small and had mouldy walls and celing.I wouldnt reccommend staying here, it is not worth 4 stars it had been given. We made the most of our holiday and despite the above detail we had a good time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: