Image of Skanes El Hana Hotel

Skanes El Hana Hotel

12 of 15 hotels in Skanes

3 out of 5 from 47 reviews
4 stars

47 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    10

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 8 months ago
We have stayed at the Skanes El Hana now eighteen times and enjoy it very time. Our party varies from 2 to 5 and are all ages. The hotel is now being renovated every time we go something different has been done. It is a really lovely hotel. The food is good and you never fail to find something you like. There is no entertainment at the moment but this has been so for quite a few years now but with so few guests in the hotel it cannot pay them to do this. The staff are great and welcome us as friends each time. The hotel is conveniently situated in-between Monastir and Sousse and it is easy to get on the bus outside the hotel which is also very cheap.
The people who seem to hassle you are only trying to make a living so if you just say a polite no thank you I find they will leave you alone. I cannot wait to go back again - it is our second home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: ON THE BEACH

Recommended
Sarah
7 years 11 months ago
we went to this hotel in december although it was out of season there was no mention that there would be no entertainment at all. this was very dissapointing as there were nothing to do day or night.the staff where extremely friendly and helpful.the food was lovely apart from the breakfast.overall it was a very boring experience and one i wont do again as a family holiday.the hotel is suited perfect for (no disrespect)the elderly looking for a very quite with nothing to do holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Patricia
9 years 1 month ago
my family and i have been going to this hotel since 1987. Yes when we first started to go it was brand new and the only thing there!! over the years the resort has grown up around this hotel.Over the past few years it has unfortunatly gone down hill. The food wes never brill but it has got worse and yes it is in dire need of a refurb!!The staff on the other hand are fantastic. A lot of them have worked there since 1987 so it is nice to see them when we go back.When we were last there we were told that owner of the hotel had passed away and left the el hanna chain to his children, who are just not interested and are running this once fine hotel into the ground which is a real shame. however if you are after a fun filled cheap and cherrfull hol then this is for you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panarama

Recommended
7P
9 years 5 months ago
This is definatly a place worth going to! the staff are so friendly, me and my friends had such a good laugh! we all wanna go back again! we miss all the animation team who were so friendly! momo, neno,kimo, and amon were by far the best animation team we could have asked for! everyone down to the cleaners were lovely! the view from our hotel room was amazing! the beach beautiful! and the resort centered between monistir and sousse, which was perfect for day trips! lots activities were on offer! the african dream package, was 100% worth every penny, and it provided great tasting traditional food, with excellent entertainment! only word of advice.....if your 7 young girls, stick to taxi's as the buses were a bit much! too many men staring! but it was a brillant hoilday, and we all now saving up to visit again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mark
9 years 5 months ago
I recently stayed at Skanes El Hana with my girlfriend and we were shocked at the hotel room we were allocated.
The room had not been cleaned prior to our arrival.
The light fittings on the wall were hanging off whith the wires exposed. We complaned and 2 days later we were moved the room had a better view but the shower didn't work and the toilet leaked and the lock on the door once closed would not let us back in the room.
The fire escapes had no lights at all the wiring was just poking out.
If you are looking to stay here i recommend you look for another hotel or even another holiday as Tunisa is full of money grabbing rude people who destroy your holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Adam
10 years 3 months ago
The worst Hotel I have ever stayed at. How it gets 4 stars is beyond me. I would struggle to give it 1. The room we stayed in was full of ants, we had ants in our bed and in our suitcases and we were not the only ones. The air conditioner did not work as well plus the only power point in the room was also stuffed. So we got a new room and things were fine until the ants started coming in through the walls, then the cockroaches
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Partner

Sharon
10 years 5 months ago
The rooms were old and tatty make sure you check for ants we had them in our bed they sprayed room and we never saw an ant afterwards.Deffo not a 4 star hotel think more on lines of a 1 star.Food was awfull seemingly the hotel food has gone down from other years due to some manager not paying for "good food" according to a few of the staff we spoke to about it. Most nights you had choice of a pasta dish some sort of meat and fish most of the time u couldnt make out what the meat was suppose to be.. steak it wasnt!!The pizza restrauant down by the pool was good but u tired of the same menu day in and day out.The animation staff worked very very hard to keep us amused but we found the evening shows to be boring with the few guys trying their best,(dont buy the kiddies music tape 20 dinars it had only one song "the beep beep" song on it the rest we never heard) during the day there was water polo, darts and arobics by the pool....looked like a throwback to the 60s. There is nothing outside of the hotel so no walks to visit the shops after your wonderfull evening meal...I joke about the meal.Best is to go visit the local towns of monastir or sousse and port el kantoue(excuse the spelling) is worth a visit to see what Tunisia can offer dont 4get to agree price of taxi before you get in 6 dinars to monastir, 7 dinars to sousse and 15 dinars to Port el kantoue.Beware of anyone offering you cheap silver or leather in the hotel its far cheaper in the local towns if you like to barter because thats only way to do your shopping its fun at the start but you get a bit annoyed after the 100th bloke tells you not to insult his family offering a low price. We found it strange that there were very few women involved in the running of the hotel most were the cleaners and the best lady I came across was Linda the massage Therapist she gave the best full body massage I have ever recieved well worth a visit she can be found down by the pizza restraunt by the pool 20 dinars and I gave her same as a tip you would pay far more for far less in Uk or Ireland.
Tips tips tips if you dont tip the bar staff be prepared to wait or be ignored, then when you do tip the fall all over you.I wouldnt go back to this hotel again but I am already looking forward to heading back to Tunisia on my next break away
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

E.BRANIFF
10 years 5 months ago
WE ARE JUST BACK FROM THE BEST TWO WEEKS HOLIDAY EVER!!The hotel was lovely.The food was great.Buffet style dinner with so much to choose from,you couldnt go wrong.always went back for seconds!!If you didn't like the food you could always stock up on the delightful deserts.Loads of craic out of the waiters also.even though we were right on the beach we never went, as there was so much to do around the pool.water polo,darts,crazy golf,water arerobics and games with the chance to win a cocktail.The animation team were superb,enthusiastic and very friendly despite their long hours they were always full of energy.Mini discos were great for the kids,we are still playing the songs at home.We had such a good time here we cryed when it was time to go home. and cant wait to go back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PANARAMA

Recommended
C LACEY
11 years 3 months ago
We stayed here for 1 week me my husband and 1 yr old son, we could not fault the hotel at all.

Busy doing aerobics, wateraerobics volleyball, water polo and countless other stuff all day and enjoying the entertainment in the evening.

The beach is gorgeous.

The hotel staff treated you like kings nothing too much.

This hotel atrracts many nationalities mainly English and German however the staff are multilingual and very clever.
No tummy upsets, brilliant time will definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: GOING PLACES

Recommended
Amy
11 years 3 months ago
When we saw the above reviews my husband and I were so shocked! You can't have been talking about the same hotel.

It was brilliant and we wish we could have stayed there for ever. The kids loved it and the staff were so friendly.

There was always something to do and it was extremely safe. There were excersions, activities and just sitting by the pool or on the beach.

The only downside to it was that the food was not very nice and the hotel rooms were not to my liking as they were quite tatty. Apart from that I would definitely like to go back and see those cheerful faces of Momo and the other members of staff!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: britaish airways

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: