Image of Houda Golf & Beach Club

Houda Golf & Beach Club

3 of 15 hotels in Skanes

4 out of 5 from 77 reviews
3 stars

77 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    41
  • Good
    16
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
SollyOlly
7 years 7 months ago
I've just returned, with my husband and 12 year old son, from this hotel. We had booked AI for a week but stayed for two because of the volcano fiasco. We had a great time. The staff are friendly and hard working. The food is fresh, but a little bit "school dinners" . The pools are great and the slides are such fun for all the family. The entertainment team are a must-see and try and join in the daytime games; what a laugh. The only real downside are the rooms. They are cleaned and tidied every day by the maids, and are absolutely spotless. However, they are a bit run down. The bathroom could do with re-tiling and the plaster on the walls has blown.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Joanne
8 years 2 months ago
we have just returned from houda beach, and we loved it... the hotel is spotless and in the 2 weeks that we were there, we never once walked into the lobby without seeing somebody cleaning it! the food is great, not much english, but local produce and quite a good variety, everything is well cooked, the kitchens and dining room was spotless and the friendly waiters were constantly clearing our table or changing the tablecloths. there is not much to do immediatly outside the hotel but there is lots of good priced excursions to do,and there is a bus stop and taxis right outside the gate, as well as a noddy train that will take you to monstair. every member of staff at the hotel were pleasant at all times and couldn't do enough for us. the entertainment team are fantastic, the nightly shows are amazing, and they walk around the hotel grounds during the day to make sure everyone is happy and knows what is happening at each part of the hotel. the overall attitude of the staff, as well as the location, layout and weather made this holiday great for all 7 of us, our ages range from 10 to 60, and we were never once bored.. would i go back to houda beach?, i can't wait........
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Heidi
8 years 2 months ago
We have just got back from the Houda Beach and all in all we had a good holiday
the hotel was clean, not spotless but clean and the cleaners were always cleaning.
the flies oh i dont know how i can tell you but the flies are everywhere... you are eating and they are on you.

We also covered ourselves every night with mossi cream and yet we got bit awful.

The food, very repetitive, we really got bored with it by the end of the 2nd week.

the staff were fantastic, they work hard, and often long hours,

The drinks machines weren't working for a lot of the holiday so long queues at the bar, for even soft drinks. which in the end we got sick of and ended up buying drinks from the shop, and also no icecream is included in the all inclusive.

it was a lovely holiday but would we go back. maybe....
but i am doubting it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson/first choice

8 years 5 months ago
We went to Houda beach from 24th june to 5th july. The weather was just fab. The rooms are basic but are fine, it's not as if you spend much time in them anyway. The hotel staff were all helpfull and nice but it was the annimation team that made the hotel.They were just fantastic!!!! All were v. talented at many different things. The fire show on the beach is a must, it's excellent. Infact all the entertainment over at the slide pools was very good. You certainly get a laugh!! So thanks to Nani, Willy, Sabri, Simba, Billy, Mido, Mario, Mickey, Momo, Mino, Chico & Mukki to mention a few!! U guys are great and made our holiday!! The pools and gardens are all kept very clean n tidy. The kids loved the slide pool. The food is ok, not your everyday choice but you're in Africa, you can't have it all!! But you won't go hungry, there's always something.If you can't go without your "normal" food for a wee while, then stay at home!!! Susan the rep was brill to, i was always pestering her!! lol. Hope you enjoyed you're wee luxuries!! Issam the other rep was also good. There is an arcade just 2 mins from the hotel that has couple of shops, cafe, nightclub, etc. The pizzas are recommended. If you go over there after the evening entertainment has finished, you're sure to see some of the guys from the annimation team. They will not go past you and will stop to chat, infact there is a pool table in the nightclub and they often played pool with my youngest son (8). Poor guys can't even get peace once they have finished work!! So if you are thinking of booking this hotel or have already booked this, relax enjoy and have a great time. We all did!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kath
8 years 5 months ago
We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by some of the entertainment team dressed up and making us feel welcome. The kids faces lit up. The approach to the hotel was lovely, with the gardens being well looked after. The food was ok, but we never went hungry. The kids lived on chips and there was always chicken, fish, turkey or even egg to go with it. The location was a bit of a let down, there was only 1 shop/bar outside our hotel and that was it. We did go up to Port El Kentoui for the day in a taxi which was lovely, although the taxi ride was an experience!
The hotel staff are just fantastic, really friendly and helpfull. They were excellent with the kids, ours went to kids club and really enjoyed. They also loved the mini disco in the evening. The entertainment was good too. I would go back to this hotel but only for 1 week. 2 weeks was too long when there is nothing around outside. The only let down for us was the fly's and the hotel room was very basic. All in all a good holiday, we were worried about going after reading some of the reports, but our experience was a good one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Karen Graham
9 years 1 month ago
After reading lots of terrible reviews from some very critical people about the Houda Golf Hotel i just had to write my own.We travelled there in October last year and my boys aged 10 and 6 absolutely loved everything about it,our rooms were yes very basic but what do u expect you're in an african country,the boys really loved the water park and spent almost every single day there.We only booked for one week and when the final day by the pool came i could've quite happily stayed for another week.

When you arrive and first use the restaurant you are designated your own waiter for the duration of your stay and ours was lovely and decorated our table each night with flowers and candles,drinks would always be waiting for us.The food was nothing like home,but thats what we love about being in a foreign country why would you go on holiday to eat egg and chips?it baffles me that people complain about silly things like that why not stay and holiday in England?

I would definately return to Tunisia and The Houda Golf Hotel as it was really nice and relaxing there and the cleanliness is second to none,staff were very helpful and we had to visit the doctor not for sickness or diareeah but my 6 year old had an allergy and the onsite doctor was fantastic.All in all this was a great family holiday that we all enjoyed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
We stayed AI at this 3 star hotel and found the cleanliness to be excellent,they were always clearing tables and cleaning floors, never saw any dirt we were very pleased with the way our rooms were kept.

The food was different to say the least,we never went hungry always finding something to eat. It does cater for Europeans more than British, but like I said we never went without,plus the cakes are to die for.

Hotel location is not great but perfect for a beach based holiday and it's easy to get out and about.

Hotel staff always polite and friendly. The hotel based entertainment was good fun and quite entertaing, always very lively especially during the day around the pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Laura Ellett
9 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the houda in may 2008,The hotel was clean,as was our room,and the cleaners made special efforts to make our room lovely including real flower petals sprinkled on the bed.

The groundsmen and gardeners work constantly through to the evening to maintain the clean and beautiful gardens you find around the pool area.I found no problems with cleanliness what so ever.No people were using the pool in the evening, and the pool area and gardens were found in an immaculate condition every morning, which says something because the late nite snack area is at the pool bar.

The hotel food is basic,but we found no problems at all with undercooked food etc.In fact i found the salads were lovely.At times i found it a bit repetatiive,but you can dine in the tunisian and italian a la carte at least once each during your stay.

The drinks were very watered down-didnt get drunk from the hotel booze at all.The wine in the a la carte restaurants was stronger,as was the beer.Im sure thats not a bad thing though as a hotel full of drunks would have spoilt it!

The entertainment team are fantastic(can get on your nerves a bit and call you lazy if you dont join in with daytime activities) but apart from that brightened up the day and night.They work long hours but always make an effort to smile and say hello.

Do keep your stuff with you at all times,99 percent of staff are trustworthy,but we put our trust in a poolside barman, we had built up freindship with.....only to be stolen from.The hotel didnt return our money until 5 mins before we left the hotel to go home.We know we shouldnt have been so silly to trust a stranger..no matter how much they befriend you!!!!

Entertainment was basic in may,but family returned in the summer hols and entertainment was stepped up..loads more going on.

We were going back again in october with our 6 year old daughter,but changed our minds for menorca instead.Why?...The basic food menu,the fact that you have to get a taxi to the nearest amenities,and the flies.Maybe would go back one day..the location on beach was excellent!



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mr Dave Spurrier
9 years 11 months ago
The hotel was really clean, the maid done a really good job each day, food was lovely best chips I have ever had, location was idea, right on top of a sandy beach,the outdoor pools were brilliant for us all, they have a great turkish bath, sauna , indoor pool, jacuzzi, fantastic massage, the people were lovely and friendly, the gym was good with a personnel trainer spurring you on !!,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Carol,Emi & Beth
9 years 11 months ago
We moved to this hotel from the Riadh Palms.

All I can say is it was the best ever.

The room. The food...the staff...they couldnt do enough for us.

We are returning in April. People who slag it off should go to 5* accomodation in a different country..as there is not one thing I can fault about the place. Especially for the money as it is very cheap. To those people - you get what u pay for!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: