Image of Makumba Studios & Apartments

Makumba Studios & Apartments

7 of 16 hotels in Bitez

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Highly recommended for families this property is ideally located close to the beach. In a peaceful setting amongst tangerine groves, the Makumba offers comfortably furnished accommodation.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ron Bennett
11 years 2 months ago
we have just got back and had a number of problems at this hotel my wife and 13 year old girl was very upset
due to the fact the hotel photographty who is not part of staff arked my wife to go to the beach with him on her own he was asked to leave the hotel befor he did we found out he had broken the cameria he used also wipe the lap top clean of any photos we told rep but no report taken also he run the photo company and it is a family firm we have put a report in to holiday company and the matter is in hand we also he been doing this to lot of single females and young girls he saying i will take your photo but come on your own i take you to beach in my car the beach is only 300 metters away so please take care as people need to know about this man
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Mr M Moller
13 years 1 month ago
We chose this hotel for its advertised peace and quiet. Sadly this proved to be inaccurate and we had to be moved to another room. Although this was an improvement I would not say this hotel was quiet, on some occasions the music was blaring out at midnight. Our other compliant was about the water. Every morning the water was completely cold. When we complained we were met with shrugs and then told we were not using the showers properly! How hard can this be? They said run the water for 5 minutes first, we ran for 30 minutes and it made no difference.
We felt that our concerns were of no importance to the staff and that we were just a pain to them to complain. We have travelled extensively for many years and this is the first time we have felt moved to complain. If you like loud noise and cold water, stay here!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Pam
13 years 3 months ago
just back from the best holiday i have ever had.the place is just the best the apartments cleaned daily.beautiful gardens surrounding apartments.the staff were very friendly and full of fun and cannot do enough for you. could not fault any of them.will defenetly be visiting again i felt sad to leave the place it was that good.would recomend these apartments.
It is far enough away from all the bizz, every night we ended up back at the bar in apartments very relaxed place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Kirsty And Abi
13 years 5 months ago
we stayed at the makumba for a week in may and it was excellent.

the staff were so friendly and the pool and rooms were clean and tidy - the rooms were slightly small but we were not in them for long.

the food at the resteraunt was lovely - and the location was great as not right in the night life of gumbet but only a short taxi ride away.

we liked it so much we have booked for 2 weeks to go back in september.

i would recommend this to both singles and familys
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sandy & Glenys
14 years 5 months ago
The Makumba Summer apartments were really nice, one road back from the beach, you can cut down an alleway alongside the Manuela Hotel. We stayed in one of the one bedroom apartments, had a problem with the first room the balcony door would not lock and had no water. They changed us to the room opposite which was better as the balcony was more in the sun in the morning.

The room was cleaned everyday and bedding and towels changed everyday as well. Basic self catering equipment but did include a hairdryer.

Nice pool and the gardens are lovely,second pool hadn't been filled yet, but in the height of season I would think you need the extra pools as the hotel wasn't full but can imagine would be very busy round the main pool.

Reception staff helpful and bar staff also had lunch round ther pool a couple of times. Their own restaraunt is very good as well.

If we go back to Bitez, we would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
15 years 4 months ago
This is now known as Summer Gardens Makumba Apartotel.

The apartments are in sperate 2 storey buildings overlooking the pool area and set in beautiful lush gardens with all manner of trees , plants and shrubs.

The self catering apartments are basic but have everything you need (we ate out all the time except breakfast anyway but it was nice to have a fridge).
The bathroom is quite small but the loo, sink and shower all worked perfectly and the rooms were cleaned and the towels and bed linen changed every day.

We had a small balcony just big enough for a table and couple of chairs and overlooked by fruit trees which was perfect to relax on with a drink and some music ot to have breakfast.

The staff were all really friendly and greeted you with a smile and a hello and would come and have a chat with you but were never intrusive.

The pool area was great with a large pool with a seperate section and a waterslide for the kids. There were plenty of loungers and no need to get up at 6am to play the annoying towel game.

The pool bar was very good with drink prices no dearer than any where else and the snacks very tasty and great value.

There was also a small supermarket right outside the premises and again this was priced much the same as anywhere else.

The location was excellent, set literally one road back from the front and about 2 minutes walk to the beachfront with no noise from nearby hotels-they even turned the music down at the pool bar around midnight.

One word of caution-there are a few stray cats that wander around the complex and like to come onto your balcony scrounging for food-it didn't bother us as we are cat lovers but it's something to bear in mind if you are not keen on our feline friends!

In summary, based on our week's stay we would definitely recommend Summer Gardens to anyone. We only paid
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Baby
17 years 2 months ago
this was the fist time we have been self catering we were not too sure about going self catering but there is everything you need very close. the makumba is extremly clean, there are hardly any mosquitos near the hotel. the summer garden restaurant next door is great. when it said one road back from the beach you think yeah alrite but it is a two minute walk. the staff couldn't do enough for us and seeing as there were eleven of us on one trip it was great. the bar staff Jonny and Jimmy were brilliant if you are near the pool most days Jonny will start dancing to the music, Jimmy will wind you up all day but he is very funny. there is a turkish night once a week and drinking games late some nights. we left the makumba at midnight and Jonny and Jimmy stayed outside to see us off they are both so lovely. i will go back again if you go there put money in the tip box because they work so hard.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Stuart & Vanessa
17 years 2 months ago
The Makumba is split into two parts. The first is an older section at the front where most of the Brits are put, and a newer section (2 years old) where you'll find a mixture of Dutch, Russian and Turkish holidaymakers (with a few Brits).

It depends what you want from a holiday really, but some of the accommodation in the old section has not been refurbished, is cramped for space and is way past its sell-by date. The newer section is understandibly better equipped and the rooms are larger.

Having said that, the cleanliness of the rooms on arrival is very good (we moved twice).

The best thing about the Makumba is that the older section has a thriving (British) family atmosphere to it with music played all day (and night!!!!), lots of food available and the infamous Jimmy & Johnny Entertainers/Barman if that's what you want, and it also has a quiet chillout pool (mainly suited to adults) in the newer section if thats what you want instead.

Be warned that the Bar music in the older section is loud at times and goes on until midnight which will annoy you unless you're cool about these things).

The staff are excellent, very friendly and approachable and really want you to have a great time so tell them if something's not right and they'll do their best. I mentioned that our shower head was falling off and that we couldn't use it and it was replaced within the hour. From the Reception staff to the Gardener, you'll find them all really friendly (The Asst. Manageress looks like she could use a couple of months sleep though!) Brilliant Staff - the best!

The Location of the apartments is superb as it's close to the beach and all the restaurants but not in the thick of the action (The noise from the bar can spoil that benefit though as I mentioned so get a room in the newer section and it won't be a problem for you!).

They have several organised events including a Turkish night, but we can't comment as we were out and about during these.

The maid service was rather poor we felt as they only seemed to re-make the beds but not actually clean anything or change the bed linen at all, which is strange as everything is so clean on arrival.

I noticed elsewhere that someone had mentioned the local cockeral, and I can honestly say that this bird has no idea of the time of day, or when to shut up. If you've the air conditioning on at night though, it probably won't annoy you.

There is a shop attached to the apartments that has a pretty good selection, but if you intended to cook every night (not likely!) you'd struggle for variety.

On the whole the Makumba is a clean, well run and very friendly place to spend your holiday. The bar noise and condition of some of the older rooms may not be to your liking though.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Emz
17 years 3 months ago
Really good!

Would definitely go back as said in others.

Jimmy and Johnny were brilliant.

Food very nice.

Only a minutes walk to the beach.

Recommend to anyone old and young!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Shoequeen
17 years 3 months ago
It was mine and my families first time to Bitez and we thought it was going to be quiet compared to other parts of Turkey wed been to but we found it was great.

The Makumba is situated close to the beach not far away from the dolmus (bus) that you can catch into bodrum for shopping and small department stores close by.

The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent spotless and the cleaners aways helping out.

The food in the hotel was good but try out different restaurants as well.

The location was brill close to the beach and everything you need.

The hotel staff were great especially Jimmy and Johnny who will always make you laugh.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.