Image of Poppy Apartments

Poppy Apartments

8 of 10 hotels in Calis Beach

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
3 stars
Foca Mahallesi Kanalyolu, Calis, Fethiye
Close to the centre of the resort and 350m from the beach.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ken & Betty Brown
We would stay there again.
10 years 1 month ago
Stayed at the Poppy apartments 09/10 for 2 weeks, had a great time. Apartments are large and we found to be very clean. Mel and her team worked hard to make sure we were comfortable and dealt with any queries we had straight away.

I have a walking disability so it did take us a little longer than the few minutes to get to the eating places as stated on other reviews, but that is my problem not the Poppy apartments.

Thanks Mel and all your team for all your hard work. I cannot comment on the entertainment at the Poppy apartments because we missed them both as we were out, but we were told they were great nights.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Les And Sue Harding
10 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from Poppy apartments after a wonderful week with our daughter and two friends and cannot fault them. On arrival about midnight we asked if we could get milk and water when 'Gorky' who did just about every job going jumped on his scooter and fetched all our provisions setting the pattern for the week,nothing being to much trouble.The rooms are basic but roomy and cleaned regulary by Gorky's lovely wife Elif who never stops.The Hotel is situated in a quiet area but only a few minutes walk from the fronts where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. When we did stay round the pool which was spotlessly clean most days we had it to ourselves. We ate at the apartments a couple of times on one occasion Gorky cooking us a wonderful meal of Sea Bass and always made our way back to have a drink there at night. Thanks to Jem and Mel and family and all there freindly staff for a memorable holiday and we look forward to seeing them again. I would reccomend these apartments to anyone but if you're expecting 5 star accomadation then pay 5 star price and look elsewere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sun 4 u

Recommended
Keith And Ali
10 years 11 months ago
Stayed in the Poppy Apartments on the reboud from a disasterous encounted at a hotel in Fethiye. Both owners very helpful, English wife to Turkish male. Apartments probably need freshening up, but we did stay at the end of the season and will definitely book again for 2010, taking relatives. Never sampled the food as too mush to sample in Chalis and Fethiye. Equipment in room basic but functional. Rooms cleaned regularly. Hotel location a 'spit' from the centre of Chalis beach. Plenty to do and visit in the surrounding area. Preparing to book for 2010 as I type.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunshine

Recommended
Bodil Klitholm
11 years ago
Just returned from one week at Poppy Apart in Calis.
Never been to a palce similar in Turkey.
Absolutely awfull place. Filthy and dirty apartment. No cleaning at all in one week. Garbage bins only emtied every other day. In Turkey you supposed to but used toiletpaper in a bin and not in the toilet.....as the sewerage system is not built for toiletpaper. In stead they have the inbuilt water nozzle for cleaning.I mean a toilet bin, that have not been emtied for 2 days in 38 deg.C.....
And a kitchen bin with food stuf etc......
Not very hygienic!
All kitchen tools were the worst bomb of bacteria.The frying pan was an old fashion cheep sticky type. It was not allowed for food preparation. Disgusting!!
I only used kitchen tools(cups, glasses, plates, pots and cutleris etc.) that could be sterilized by boiling in hot water.
However, I found the worst part the unbearable noise the first 3 days, I was there. As the swimming pool do not have any closing time(normally pools close at 6PM). Here a tremendous and deafening loud and noisy waterbattle performed by the same 3 english families irretated the rest of the guest in the hotel. They had to flee to the back balcony and close doors and windows in order to find a little peace. And this terrorism was not stop until 9PM. Again later at night there were loud coversations going on from one balcony to another. Surely people were drunk and very noisy. Even the owners and caretakers enjoyed themself loud and clear all day by shouting and screaming, drinking with there friends.
The apartment was creeping with ants and so filthy.
Do not go to this establishment. It is a dump.
Furthermore - they charge 3 TL for 5 liters of water. The normal price is 2 TL. How naughty!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Scanways

Eva & Deirdre
11 years ago
Just arrived back from a week staying at Poppy Apartments and I have to disagree with those that have left poor reviews on this accomodation. I think a lot of people expect a 5 star holiday for a 3 star cost. This was basic accomodation. The appartments may not have been painted in a while, but if they were painted every year the cost would have to be higher. They were clean, spacious, and had everything that we needed including 2 balconies.

It's a family run business (Turkish husband, his English wife and their 2 young sons helping out) and as such had a relaxed and warm atmosphere. There was always someone on hand if there was anything you needed and as it is a small complex you felt part of what was going on. There was no shortage of sun loungers if you wanted to spend the day by the pool and or help and advice on where else to go.

We had no complaints with the food, though we chose to eat out of the hotel at the many restuarants nearby each night.

Because of it's small size there is quite an intimate atmosphere, and we found many of the guests to be people returning year after year. The noise did carry from the bar to the apartments and often there was music playing until maybe 1am, but this didn't bother us. If you don't want to hear any music and be tucked up in bed by 10pm then maybe this isn't the place for you, but we certainly didn't want a crazy party holiday and had no problems with the noise.

In a nutshell, you get what you pay for and if your budget only allows you to go 3 star then I would recommend these apartments. If you find that you aren't happy with them then your expectations are too high for your budget!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Recommended
Evans
11 years 2 months ago
It's almost mind boggling in this day and age to believe you would be charged four pounds per day for air conditioning, on top of the inflated price for this accommodation.

Let's just rethink that: in the heat of southern Turkey, if you stay here, you need to pay extra for air conditioning. And by the way, the a/c is only in one room anyway!

We bought a fan instead and they insisted on charging us one pound a day for using electricity. Using electricity!

The staff/owners were surly and unwelcoming from the off, but I really don't know why we deserved that.

And then there are the apartments themselves. Dirty. Nothing short of disgraceful. I'm not a clean freak, but I drew the line at doors covered in stains, invasions of ants and a toilet that didn't work.

It's a shame because we found the area very beautiful and the locals friendly and welcoming.

So, in summary: If you think it is reasonable to be charged extra for electricity, get blanked by the staff and live in squaler, then visit Poppy Apartments.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Goldtrail

Iris
11 years 2 months ago
We have been visiting this hotel for many years now, and always have a fabulous time. The staff and owners are all polite and friendly, and nothing is ever a problem. If there are any problems with the room etc, once you have made the staff aware, they will fix it for you as quickly as they possibly can. The rooms are always spotless, however many people mistake the distressed woodwork for dirt, when it is not. Although there is basic kitchen equipment provided in the room, the hotel food (which I highly recommend) is delicious, and you will find that the most you use your kitchen for is a cup of tea! The entertainment is and has always been very good, especially the Turkish nights, when the hotel arranges for a belly dancer to come to the hotel to dance for the guests. Always highly entertaining when the belly dancer gets the guests up to dance with her!
I will definately be going again soon!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Arranged myself

Recommended
Parker
11 years 2 months ago
As always an excellent stay at poppy. We stayed self catering & booked accomodation & flights ourselves, as we have done for the past 9 years, it's nice to have a guy with a card & your name on it to take to to the apartments. No waiting for coaches & a million drop offs before yours. Poppy is always clean & tidy, despite the distressed woodwork, which a lot of people seem to regard as dirty, but it isn't. The food choices in the bar are excellent & of fantastic quality. If it isn't on the menu you only have to ask & they will prepare & cook most dishes to your taste. You don't have to eat in the bar the staff will prepare & deliver your breakfast/lunch or dinner to your room if you so wish. Always have plenty of equipment in the kitchen, but if there is anything you don't have or are not happy with i.e chipped mugs & the such like they will replace them for you. If you don't ask you don't get! Its the same with lightbulbs, shower/toilet problems etc all dealt with immediately if the staff are informed of these incidents. Always plenty of beds around the pool which is cleaned on a daily basis. Can be slippery around the pool when wet like most places with marble flooring. You just have to be careful & use your common sense when having fun.
The staff are very friendly & welcoming, can never do enough for you. Nothing is ever a problem here, any problems that do arise are dealt with promplty & effeciently. English & turkish speaking staff on hand to help with any medical/hospital incidents that may occur, unfortunately we encountered a medical incident when my son had an accident at the waterpark, we thought he had broken his little toe, when he slipped into a wall, toe jet black & in absolute agony.On returning back to the apartments the owners thought it best we visited the hospital to get it xrayed. They took us there stayed with us & sorted it all out for us, we were back at the apartments within half an hour & i couldn't thank them enough. Not something i would have liked to have experienced on my own. No ice cream fridge for the kids but they will always send a member of staff to get some for you. Rooms cleaned & bedlinen & towels changed regularly. Turkish nights are an absolute must while staying here, a fantastic night to remember. BBQ excellent choice of meats & plenty of side dishes & salads. Anything you fancy doing from scuba diving, hiring your own boat for the day, horse riding & turkish bath etc they will organise for you at your request. Even birthday parties can be organised with cake & all the trimmings too. You only have to use your imagination & the world is your oyster. My kids won't stay anywhere else they, like us love it here. Spent many an evening in the bar til the early hours having a drink & a laugh with friends we met there. If you're there to drink the staff are always there to serve you no matter what the time of day or night. Looking forward to returning again in September. Thanks Poppy for another memorable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: myself

Recommended
A Dumican
11 years 2 months ago
mel the owner could,nt do enough for you. staff very friendly 10 minute walk to the beach.plenty of food stores within 5minutes,the breakfasts were great.sheets spotless. basic accomadation its true,but for the price i,we [the family] were really happy
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended
Miss S Wileman
12 years ago
We have recently returned form this hotel and i feeled compelled to comment on this to provide holiday makers with a true reflection on this hotel. My honest opinon to you would be- dont do it!!

When we arrived at the hotel our bags were taken off us straight away and taken to our rooms, we had just got off a long flight and was told basic information on our room. We were informed our air con would be '4' per day, having not thought this would mean anything other than Lera, we gladly accepted the air con on this daily charge basis.

Our apartment was on the ground floor, we had no balcony area other than a small rear patio area, we had a window that would not close, our electrics kept tripping, a light in the kitchen smashed when turned on, a leak in the bathroom and a shower that flooded the bathroom each time it was used!! Our sheets were changed ONCE and our towels were changed no more than 3 times. We did request a room cange but were told no other rooms were available. We did get the impression this hotel is full of regulars who reserve the 'best' rooms before they come.

The staff were not very welcoming at all other than one or two of them. We found the nicest of the whole of the people who run or live at the hotel was the family dog!!

When it came to our last day, we were more than ready to leave. We headed to the reception to settle our tab and air con bill. One of the Turkish staff members gave us our bill- it turns out the air con was priced in english pounds. We were obviously not happy with this as we had no idea this would be case. After much negotiation we go the price down but no by much!! We felt very cheated by this. Our pick up for departures were on a notice board in the reception, it stated 3.00am - 3.45am. At 1.55am there was loud knocking at our door, we answered and it was a member of the Turkish staff advising us we were now being picked up at 2.00pm and should have been informed by the english owner of the hotel, who didnt speak to us once during our visit. This was the last straw.

Please do not dismiss this review as i did when researching this hotel before our trip. I wouldnt recommend this to anyone!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Gold Trail

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.