19 independent reviews of the Santa Fe Bungalows
Address: Avenida de Gran Canaria 23, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows Location
Ranked #44 of 48 hotels in Playa Del Ingles


2/5
Santa Fe Bungalows Santa Fe Bungalows is rated 2.05 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
47% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 0 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 5 stars

Santa Fe Bungalows Reviews

4/5
4

finlayson had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in October 2007
had a great family holiday. bungalows basic but clean, pool was nice and quiet. ideal walking distance to shopping centres and many restaurants. took taxis (very cheap) to maspalomas beach and walked back along the beach to playa de ingles. Our ideal holiday, not an overcrowded resort,

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

K & A visited the Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in September 2005
Perfectly situated for both gay and straight barhopping. Kasbah/Metro/Plaza just few minutes walk away and so is Yumbo with gay activities. Taxis eur 1,85 daytime eur 2,30 night. Take one to Riu Maspalomas Hotel and you are just by the dunes, a walk towards from the bushes and little further from to the nude beach.

At Santa Fe we had nothing to complain, worn but clean, brand new cookware (teflon),water cooker,toaster etc. Our bungalow was right by the pool (no.13) with sleepers on the patio, table and 4 chairs.Pool was clean and not crowded. The sliding door was a bit tricky but functioned. Bathroom ok. The maid visited us daily and even washed the dishes (which usually is never included).

There is a big fridge on the corner of the living room (check out the temperature, ours was on 1 which was ...
too warm for some goods, put it up to 4 to get it cool.The light switch for the terrace outdoor light is behind the fridge!

Living on the ground level you can assume there are insects, luckily no mosquitos, some cockroaches and ants. But keep the lights on day and night or use some spray.And doors and windows closed during the night naturally.

Ants will do the dead ones and will eat all your food droppings from the floor - so sweep to keep the floor clean. Do not leave bread, sugar, used glasses with sweet remains etc. uncovered on the tables. The ants are harmless and we even wondered/followed them how long it took when the first messangers found the \"food\" and alarmed the others.There are stray cats too, which try to get in and rub themselves on you. However some are sick and carry lice etc. so better not to feed or pamper them at all.

Respect your neighbour was a rule, no one bothered anyone, greeted each other daily though. There were other gays staying there too, but mainly the clientale was straight couples with no kids. Locals (spaniards from the mainland) own their bungalows and live there the whole season.

Rent a safety box immediately on arrival and keep all valuables, tickets, passports, wallets, jewelry, wrist watches, mob.phones, cameras etc. all there if not in use. Take only the amount of cash which you will need on that particular night. No credit cards or wallets, just bare cash. We were 2 persons and eur 15-20 per person per night was enough. Took some drinks at the terrace before going though.

Last but not least, lock all doors carefully, bolt and use the safety chain + lock the terrace door first, shut/lock all the windows (if not barred) and leave trough the \"main\" door by the kitchen. Leave all lights on.If possible never bring visitors to your apartment - visit theirs.

Have a happy holiday, the place is great. For further gay activity info, visit the pages of Yumbo etc.

K&A

Read More

Tour Operator: Gay friend

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

chris visited the Santa Fe Bungalows in September 2005
stayed at santa fe bungalows, playa del ingles, going again sept 07, very clean , staff superb, maid service great, location brilliant, saw only one cockroach

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

aaron visited the Santa Fe Bungalows in January 2005
Arrived at complex at 2am in the morning could not open the door, broken lock. When we finally got in greeted by a load of cockroaches.

They didn't spray the drains until the wednesday. That did stop them.

The shower didn't work, the bath was rusty. Paint was flaking off the walls and the front door was bricked up heaven knows what would have happened if there was a fire.

The staff and reps were no help at all.

Saying all that there was a plus the bungalow was in the best location.

Tour Operator: my travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

laura had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles in October 2004
Arrived in these apts at around 2pm as we walked in the place looked great the pools are large and very clean when we found are apt,we got in and the sheets where very dirty and the shower curtain you would not touch...the apt was big enough for just two people as my partner went into the room he sat on the bed and it broke. we went straight to the apts and asked for clean sheets and where told they would be sent to us shortly true to there word we recieved them but they werent any cleaner. we just had to sleep on are beach towels..also are fridge was in the front garden we told security and he said it was deforsting ha ha although we didnt let any of this annoy us we did have a good stay in the apts.

Tour Operator: aspro

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

martin visited the Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel in September 2004
Arrived at 3am to find a disgusting apartment, supposed to sleep 3? Bedding was dirty, full of cockroaches, broken shelves, doors wouldnt lock, bedding and towels were filthy, hotel staff were very unhelpful when we complained the hotel maintenance man told us that we were not in England now. The apartment was cleaned every 3 days, there were ants and cockroahces everywhere which you can get rid of by purchasing insect spray from local supermarket. When we asked on day 5 for the bedding and towels to be changed we were told this only happened every 7 days. The rep confirmed this and was pretty unhelpful. Direct Holidays class it as 2 star but we found it to be a 1 key rating. Lots of unhappy people with the same complaints while we were there. ...
Definately wont stay there again!! P.S. buy your own cleaning gear.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

anna had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in September 2004
I have been to Santa Fe bungalows 3 times and find it a great place to stay and would go there anytime. I had no trouble with any of the staff and the maids were very friendly they came in 6 days a week to clean our rooms.

The pools were very clean and well kept gardens.

Cockroaches saw a few but what do you expect in a warm country, ants as well but you get them anywhere.


There are plenty of eating places all around as it is situated more or less in the middle of Playa del Ingles.

Overall we had a great time here.

The security walked about at night but found him to be a very nice man and if anyone was being to noisy after a certain time he went to them asked then to be ...
little bit quieter as there were people there with kids sleeping which I think was right.

Read More

Tour Operator: first travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

zoe and rich stayed at Santa Fe Bungalows in July 2004
Lovely basic room which is all you need when you go away! stopped there for 10 nights and only had 3 cockroaches. Buy some spray and spray near the patio and front door before you go out at night, you should have no problem then.

Pools clean and tidy. Food very basic at the pool bar but ok as a snack. Clean towels every few days but bedding only got changed once.

Only 10 minutes walk to the beach, all down hill. lovely eating places near the hotel. Go to the english bar called \'big bens\'. Friendly staff and English too...nice food and brilliant entertainment.. sell bitter too..

Great place too stop will visit the place again .

Tour Operator: aspro

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

emma stayed at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in July 2004
We stayed in santa fe for 2 weeks in july 2004. We thought the apartments were in a great location and for 1 key apartments they were great. There were loads of cockroaches but what can you expect from a ground floor bungalow - they didnt come near us as we had cockroach spray - which you can nuy in the local supermarket - along with maltesers and hula hoops! The apartments were really handy to everywhere in the resort - and taxis were readily available day or night! The rep could have been a bit more helpful but she wasn\'t bad at all. There is a great wee row of restaurants just up from santa fe on the right with great value meals - mother hubbards for breakfast cures any hangover - and go ...
to rasher geraqghtys on a tuesday night to see sis starz family drag - tell them lynsey emma and clare sent you - it is a great show! PS yumbo is the best for a night out - even if you are straight like we are!!

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kate Rizzo had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in June 2004
well sounds like things have really improved, i stayed here recently and found cleanliness to be excellent, saw one cockroach the whole stay and our bungalow was cleaned 3-4 times we were there. its location was great, right next to the kazbah centre and only 15minute walk from the beach, the staff were not as helpful in reception or as welcoming as they could have been but would definately stay here again, the pool was beautiful, the furnishings and security were 9/10, kitchen is a little basic but was just the job for what we needed, all in all a recommended place to go in a couple!!!

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Ciara had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in June 2004
Just returned from these apartments this morning at 7 and it was the worst accomodation ive EVER stayed in my life!!

Was told by the Airtours reps as this was a last minute deal that it was 3 star apartments, got there and it was 1 key!

Hotel staff were extremly unhelpful when we arrived. Like a review above we didnt realise that the apartment had two doors so called the security guard to let us in, when we got to the door there was a dead RAT that had obv been there some time as ants we eating away at it! This was disgusting as our apt was right beside the hotel rest!!
Even at seeing the rat the security guard didnt move us bt pushed us in and closed the door!

Woke up the next morning to fing out that out ...
bathroom window didnt lock, so everyone could see through it, was terrified to see kitchen men staring in the bathroom when me and my friend were taking showers!!

The doors were very insecure and you could easily push them over to gain entry!
One night after coming in, me and my friend discovered our apt COVERED in cockroaches-crawling under the matress and everything!went to the security guard and got walked around the complex at 6 in the morning trying to find an apt,moved all out luggage to find even more,however this was a better apt until the only plug socket came out of the wall and the sink and shower began to stink of drains etc!

As for security it was awful, the guards often followed us to our apts and tried to grab our arms..

The only thing about this apartment was the closeness to the Irish centre where we LIVED cos we didnt wana go back to the hellhole!

This review is not lies, it was the hol from hell and if your going to these apartments i strongly recommend you change or it will b a pure waste of money!!

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

gemma had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles in June 2003
We stayed at the santa fe bungalows for 1 week and that was enough for me!

As far as im concerned the bungalow was dirty, smelly, damp and NOT secure AT ALL. Even though the maids came 3 times! One time they forgot to shut our front door and left it wide open. We were so lucky not to have things stolen. Someone we met had to spend her whole holiday in court rooms coz she caught someone burgling her room. Luckiy she punched him and knocked him out which ment he didnt steal her stuff!!!!

We heard so many storys of peoples bungalows gettin broken into its untrue.

There were little or no facilitys to use and the staff there were not interested in any of our quieres at all. They were quite happy to take your money but ...
then didnt deliver the bloody goods! (as our friends found out when they tried to hire a fan)

Be warned you get ripped off for hiring fans, toasters, kettles, tv\'s and other stufff.

We wernt even allowed in the swimming pool as it was having work done on it. We had not been told of this.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

0/5
0

berger had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in July 2002
These bungalows are worth much more than two stars.

We have just returned home from them (June 2002) after 2 weeks.

We found them excellent we had 2 bungalows just outside the pool they were both very clean had maid service every other day with fresh bedding towels etc.
age ranges of our party were 6, 14, 34, 35, 57, 62.
We found this accomadation suitable for all ages. 2 large swimming pools with sunbeds poolside cafe
reception very helpful and friendly.
location was excellent within 5 mins walk of anywhere you wanted but not noisy at all. we have booked next years holiday already due to committments but we are returning to these bungalows in june 2004.
we met alot of famalies at the resort and they all thought the same as us.
Some of the reports above I cannot understand the comments
THE PLACE IS FAB.








Tour Operator: My Travel
Review Rating


0/5
0

ruudi stayed at Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in March 2002
Got this place as a real cheapie, but I have to say it is nicer than the 2 stars that Airtours give it.

Although the maid was in the place virtually non stop, it did not stop the cockroaches - managed to splat 5 in a week. The front door had a folded up towel against it which I assume was there to stop the blighters getting in (or maybe out!)

An excellent location, just a few minutes walk from some really nice restaurants and shops.

I would strongly advise anyone checking in though to get the safety deposit box key straight away. I had my wallet stolen from the room while we were sitting on the terrace. No money in it but I did have to go to all the trouble of phoning home to get my cards stopped. My ...
own fault for being to easy going, don\'t make the same mistake!

Overall, for the money we paid, it was an excellent place to stay. Quiet if you wanted peace, but close enough to the hot spots if you wanted to party the night away.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating


3/5
3

Mel visited the Santa Fe Bungalows in January 2002
The hotel was fine but disappointed at how basic everything was, definatley home to the roaches aaahhh.

We were self catering so it didn't matter about the few kitchen utensils but you can order things like toasters when you get there. Staff were ok but didn't really see them around as we were out all the time catching the sun.

I would come here if I just wanted somewhere to sleep and get drunk. The kitchens to the restaurant are on the resort so you can see what there doing to the food.
Take my advice dont eat there.

Tour Operator: MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

0/5
0

cliff_decker had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in December 2001
Spent a week here in July 2002. Out of the 3 rooms that the group had (9 travelled), the one I was in (room 93) appeared to only be half finished. There were lights with dodgy wall fittings, and the breakfast bar was only about 2 feet long! Also there was no bath, just a crappy shower with no curtain.

We saw a few \'roaches during the stay, but they didn\'t bother us too much and the maid service was good - they even did our washing up! One thing to note is that there is no toaster (you can hire one) for your morning Bimbo.

The complex has 2 good size pools, with plenty of sun loungers, although be careful as one of the pools has an odd slope meaning it\'s easy to diving into the shallow bit - like I ...
did - ouch!

The staff seemed friendly enough, one bloke even had a comedy \'tache and Keegan perm. Quality.

Location couldn\'t have been better - 5 minutes to the Kasbah, 10 to the Irish pubs. Just out of town enough to be reasonably quiet, although there was late noise when we were there due to peeps coming in pished in the wee hours.

In conclusion, this was a nice place to stay and the fact is wasn\'t a high-rise hotel was good too. It is a bit basic, but if you\'re just on a \"beer and leer\" holiday it is fine.

Shameless plug: For pictures from this holiday visit www.projectbandito.co.uk - No apologies.


Read More

Tour Operator: My Travel
Review Rating


0/5
0

kunaja visited the Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel in December 2001
I went in a large party of 30 to gran canaria and stayed at the santa fe bungalows for two weeks.

The first night we got there, the place was clean, but there were cockroaches everywhere [cockroaches are apparently the cleanest insects around]. We were also dissapointed at how basic the cooking arrangements, only two hobs to use for self catering cooking, and the utilities were also basic.

Appart from that, it seemed like a perfectly nice place.


That is until we got burgled.
We had gone out clubbing for the night, and as always, we ensure that we lock every window and door.

When we got back, we realised that the front door had been attempted to be broken into, with no success. However when we got in we found that the back/patio doors had been broken and broken into, despite taking all possible security measures.

In total over

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating


0/5
0

johnhancock visited the Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles in December 2001
Stayed there in October 2001 to celebrate my wedding anniversary - don\'t really understand some of the other comments as at no time did I feel like there were problems with security. The place was spotless, the staff were very helpful and it was an ideal location.

True, there were stacks of roaches (we had a pet one called Ronnie) but where can you go in the Canaries where there aren\'t loads?

Only drawback was all the mincers. The reps recommended the \'Jumbo\' centre to see the cabarets, etc. Steer clear unless you want to listen to dubious experiences when you\'re sitting having a drink or something to eat. I nearly got into a couple of scraps and I was there with the wife!


Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating


0/5
0

julie_horner had a holiday at Santa Fe Bungalows Hotel, Playa Del Ingles, Spain in December 2001
I can\'t believe all the negative comments about these bungalows.

My boyfriend and i went last year and it was fantastic. I was so please when we pulled up outside as we didn\'t know where we would be staying.

The maids were fantastic they came in nearly everyday - they even did our washing up and tidied up. There were no problems with security - although the patio doors were a bit rubbish.

We did have a number of @#%$-roaches which were minging but never mind. I was diapointed with the beach at playa-dingles it was a bit smelly.

There was aslo a fantastic all you can eat retaurant on the front by the escalators to get to the beach (by the kasbah centre) it was yummy.

Soux City was also a good night out, but the escapes bar crawls were dire, and the escapdes ...
reps were the most foul mouthed bunch of individual i have ever met.

We were delayed coming back and airtours were worse than useless - so don\'t avoid these bungalows just avoid airtours!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Share