Image of Rio Piedras Apartments

Rio Piedras Apartments

9 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Calle del Ancla, 2, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 3 months ago
This was our third visit to Puerto Rico but our first staying at the Rio Piedras and they have been the best apartments we've stayed in so far.

We had 2 apartments as we had 3 teenagers with us. I phoned the apartments approx 5 weeks before we went to ensure we had rooms next to each other which we got, both the apartments were very clean and had spacious balconies. I think looking at other apartments that its a bit hit and miss whether you get a huge balcony or not.

Maid service is daily except tues and sunday, towels changed twice in the week whilst we were there and clean sheets every third day.

There was a big bottle of water in the fridge for us which was a pleasant surprise.

Ideally situated just 2 mins from beach and five mins to the commercial centre.

The pool and bar area is on the roof and it was great. Bar staff were very pleasant and we had the odd snack there and breakfast one day and it was very nice. There's a barbecue on a wednesday but we didn't go so can't comment on that. The pool bar was open 10.30 am to midnight, entertainment abit dodgy (bingo and karaoke) and repile show on sunday evenings but plenty of entertainment in commerical centre anyway.

The reception area was large with lots of sofas and chairs, another guest told us you can book the courtesy room on the last day if needed, you get an hour's slot and its free. We didn't need it as we were leaving early evening and didn't have to be out of apartments till noon. There was also some computers in reception which you could use (great for teenagers who absolutely must keep in touch with friends over the holiday), I think it was 1 euro for 40 mins!

We would definitely stay at the Rio Piedras apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Allison &dave Bell
9 years 5 months ago
This was our first visit to the Rio Piedras and we were really impressed. Our room had a sea view and a fairly big balcony, the kitchen was well equipped with a cooker, fridge, kettle and plenty of pots and pans, the bathroom had a bath, shower, loo, bidet and a hairdryer, the bedroom had a huge wardrobe, two single beds and a safe which was only 10 euros for 2 weeks.

The pool was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds.

There is a restaurant but it is not owned by the hotel so the opening times were a bit hit and miss but maybe in the height of the season they will be more regular.

The hotel is just a short walk to the beach where there are loads of restaurants.

The hotel staff were very friendly and most of them spoke very good English. Maid service 5 days a week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sue
9 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from there Kasa6. It was our first holiday abroad so we had nothing to compare it with. Since we returned & have spoken to others, we feel we paid too much for the very basic accomadation at the Rio Piedras Apartments.

It is run by a very friendly Spanish family who are eager to please & keep the place spotless. But the rooms really need updating. It was like steping back in time to the 1970's. The bedspreads & curtains are cholcolate brown & not very inviting in a hot country.

The chairs in the living area are very uncomfortable, we ended up pilling all the cushions up to make it bearable. The oven in our apartment didn't work & the rings took so long to heat up it took 1/2 hr to boil an egg.

Our room (#101) Is the only on on the ground floor which has a lovely view (NOT) of the road, this can be quite noisy & the diesel fumes get a bit much. It is right next to the gate onto the road, which was handy for nipping out to the shops ect, but we did get people walking right past our room all the time when they were going in & out.

On the plus side the pool & resturant terrace on the roof is beautiful. We spent 2 whole days sunbathing up there, ordering lunch from the restaurant & falling in the pool to cool off. When you look over the balcany from the roof you realise that it is pot luck on the size of balcany you get. Some of them are huge, but others are not. When we checked in the couple in front of us said "we hope we have a large balcony" & the receptionist said "all rooms are full, so no change" Now we are home I think I should have complained & demanded to be moved, I am sure they could have done it as people were checking in & out all week. But we didn't know any different at the time.

The only entertainment is Carlos on his Organ. If you like Peurto Rico, then this is great as a base, but if you like staying in the hotel you may get a bit bored. I hope you have a great holiday, we did, but we won't be going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

James Hutchison
10 years ago
The Rio Piedras we found to be the best apartments we have stayed in. this was our fourth visit to the resort and these were without doubt the best we have had. rooms were spotless, as was all the hotel. staff were very welcoming and helpful. the pool and restuarant were on the roof with an abundance of sunloungers, the views were breathtaking. as our apartment was directly below the roof terrace we were hesitant at first as we thought it might prove noisy but this was not the case. our terrace with the room afforded superb views due to it's location and was so spacious some hours were spent there sunbathing instead of the beach or pool. the beach was a 2 minute walk and the commercial centre was only a 10 minute walk away, therefore we were spoilt for choice for entertainment and restaurants.
the only critiscism we could find was that the pool bar closed early,(aprox. 11:00 pm) so despite having returned for a night cap with other guests, you got the impression that they couldn't wait for you to leave so that they could close up and go home
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Hiatt
10 years 5 months ago
This was our 17th visit to Gran Canaria and the rio Piedras has to be the best apartments we have ever stayed in spotless clean, great location, really freindly staff and the biggest balconies ever. Already booked for next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first Choice

Recommended
Carding Family
10 years 6 months ago
Great apartments we had a huge balcony with table & chairs, two sun loungers. Lovely & clean.

We had the pool almost to ourselves which was great, fantastic views.

Downside probably in the busy periods pool would be very overcrowded as it wasn't that big, but lovely & clean.

The hotel didn't have any entertainment on but we went out every night to eat and found our own entertainment so this wasn't a problem.

Great hotel would go back again for the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: eclipse direct

Recommended
Gemma And Danny
11 years 1 month ago
We went here for a 2 week holiday and will return with no hesitation!! the hotel was in fab location...2 mins from the beach and about a 5 min walk into the centre.....

We went self catering but did eat by the pool and food was very nice.

Staff very friedly !

Room was HUGE with a balcony as big as the room with 4 sun loungers on and a table and chairs you could have a football match on there!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Emily
11 years 2 months ago
On arrival at the hotel we did have to wait in the Lobby area for quite some time. This gave us a bad omen about the hotel to begin with.

However, when were eventually were shown to our room, we were over the moon at what we had got. The room was superb. We were a family of 6, which meant we had two rooms and both were as clean as the other. We had everything in the room we could have possibly needed considering we were slef catering, and the balcony was out of this world. Large and very spacious. You could even catch some sun rays out there at ease, it was that large.

We then ventured down to the pool area. Well, i say down, we ventured up! This was the only problem for us. We had to climb many stairs due to the pool being on the roof. Not good for elderly people, or maybe even children for safety purposes.

All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, making conversation with us and trying their best to make the holiday more enjoyable.

Entertainment wasn't a huge problem because we ventured out into the town at night, which was out of this world.

I would most certainly go back to the Rio Pedras as it was everything a holiday should be.

It was our first visit the Gran Canria, and we have been back twice since. What does that tell you?

Perfect holiday

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Deborah
11 years 3 months ago
Just arrived back from these apartments and I've got to say was probably one of the best places I've stayed as a self catering holiday.

The rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday, bed linen changed twice a week and plenty of clean towels every other day. Rooms were well equipped with cooker, toaster,kettle, coffee maker, t.v. hairdryer and radio.

The complex itself was spotless pool area great with plenty of sunbeds not that you really needed them as the balcony in the apartment was huge and housed 5 sunbeds, large table and 6 chairs and still enough room to throw a party.

Pool was on the rooftop which sounded a bit off putting when I heard but was even better as it was more private with a great bar and restaurant. Waiters very happy and friendly, happy hour (2 drinks for 1) twice a day. Good selection of food at the restaurant or to take away.

The location of the Rio piedras is good as it is a 2 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Amadores beach is a 20 minute walk away which is well worth a visit.

Hotel staff very helpful and accommodating with a 24 hour reception with large seating area with T.V,computer, and board games which was very welcome on our last day when we were hanging around for our coach.

Room available for showering and changing on departure with clean towels free of charge.

We have visited Puerto Rico twice having stayed at another location previously and would definitely stay here again, infact for a self catering holiday would not consider anywhere else.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jan & Keith
11 years 10 months ago
This is the best hotel we have stayed in Puerto Rico. Large apartment with even larger balconies.

Cleaned every day, sheets changed mid week. Fantastic views from apartments and pool area. No steps to climb, five minutes walk to beach and shops, ten minute walk to commercial centre.

Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Large welcome pack from First Choice on arrival, including milk, bread, coffee, tea, sugar, margarine, jam, crisps, water (nice touch).

Will definately be visiting these apartments again very soon!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.