Image of Palmera Mar Apartments

Palmera Mar Apartments

28 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
1 star
Calle Montaña Clara, 5, 35140 Mogán, Spain

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Julie
Not good for walking difficulties
6 years ago
We arrive at 2am to find out keys stuck to the reception window. Although I had asked for a sea view we found we were on floor one and had a tree view.

The apartment was very basic with limited kitchen equipment, no air con and an old coin operated TV with only Spanish channels. I checked in at 9am and found the receptionist very rude and unhelpful refusing to upgrade our room by saying they were full although I had noticed empty apartments on the way up the 7 flights of stairs to reception.

Check-in took 5 minutes and when I got back to the apartment I found my purse with over £700 (all we had) and all bank cards and driving licence missing. The receptionist and I were the only people in reception near enough to it as I checked in and when I approached him he denied seeing it even though I had taken it out of my bag and placed it on reception to retrieve the documents in my bag. He was very rude and unhelpful when I asked him to call the police and would not give me directions to the nearest station.

As for the hotel itself it was clean enough but the beds were changed only once and the maids would not wait until we left the room to clean it. The reception shop was expensive with very limited choice. It was not restocked for the entire week.

The restaurant (9am-11am, 5pm-11pm) and pool bar (12-4pm)were only open for short limited periods. The pool was clean but small and occupied mostly by teenage/early 20's smooching couples. There was no entertainment apart from a particularly bad singer on the Friday evening.

The location was bad too with a long downhill walk approx 20 mins to the beach and a killer walk up to the Europa Centre for shops and bars. The locals refer to this hill as 'Cardiac bank'!

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone but as this was our first holiday in five years and our wedding anniversary we did not let it spoil our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda
Worst hotel I have visited
6 years 2 months ago
It is the worst hotel which I have visited. I would never go back there. First of all the rooms are very poor. The furniture is old. The TV is payable, if you want to watch TV for 1 Euro you will have 30 minutes to watch.

The staff are unfriendly. At night it is very noisy inside. The bed sheets were not changed all week. I won't recommend this hotel at all. We had breakfast and I was sick of it. The same food every morning. There are other better hotels in Gran Canaria, but not this one.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Laura
8 years 11 months ago
I went to palmara mar with my mom and brother on september 15th for a week! i had a brillant week! staff was ok especially the barman i love him hes great! it was beautiful weather! it was 100 degrees all week maybe higher! everyone was friendly! i am going again to palmara mar with my friend for 2 weeks in april! cant wait! defernatly recomend it!

Do not! i repeat do not! go to flix in the europa centre for a sunday roast it is disgusting i love my roast dinners! but everything including meat and veg are all processed and chewy they are discusting and at 8 euros each is a rip off! to be honist they should be paying us to eat there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Margaret
9 years 10 months ago
Believe me if you just want a nice quite apartment this is the place to go. All rooms have been updated this year very clean hotel. We were in 203 looking over the pool and the beautiful Amordoras Beach.

The apartments are very spaious the only thing they haven't got is aircondition.

If you book this hotel on the net like I did, you save so much money you will pay about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: broadway canaries

Recommended
9 years 11 months ago
The Palmara Mar is situated up a steep hill a short walk from Amadores Beach and is not far from the Europa Centre, takes roughly about 5/10 minutes to walk up to the Europa Centre and a gentle stroll down to the beach takes approx 15 mins. Taxis are cheap and cost just under 3 euros back up to the hotel from the beach...well worth it...its a big hill! The hotel offers splendid views over Amadores beach and for quite an old hotel it is nice and clean and the kitchen is quite well equipped, toaster, kettle etc. However that said I wouldnt choose to stay there again!
My experience of the Palmara Mar was unwelcoming. The staff werent particulary helpful, infact at times they were quite ignorant and the hotel was extremely noisy. More often than not we were woken several times throughout the early hours by the return of drunken guests and to make matters worse we were woken on 3 consequetive mornings by a work man who at 8.30 am without any consideration for sleeping guests started repair work on the patio window boxes on the floor above. Having spoken with reception on the second occasion I was assured the work man had finished only to be woken the following day with more drilling and troweling!

The hotel did not offer any entertainment, but I hadnt expected it too. The noise from adjacent hotels provided the evening music!

The hotel pool was lovely and clean, but the sun beds were a bit cramped around the pool. Due to the location of the hotel the pool didnt benefit from the morning or evening sun. Prior to 10.45/11am and after 4pm the pool area was in the shade. If you're a sun worshipper i would recommend staying lower down the hill and closer to the beach. You could stay on the beach until at least 7ish if you wanted too. Not worth going to the beach prior to 10/10.30 though because the sun doesnt really come out until then!

Amadores beach is lovely, its a man made beach and very clean. Ball games etc are not permitted, every hour or so a "tannoy" message is delivered advising bathers what is and isnt permitted, seemed stange at first but eventually you get use to it. The beach "tannoy" also keep bathers informed of any problems i.e high winds etc. Above all though a lovely beach and good for snorkelling!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: gratlatedeals.com

Chris
10 years 10 months ago
Just got back from this hotel.

Firstly, nice basic hotel, the rooms are similar to the Puerto Azul. Hotel should be a 3 star, we only stayed at the pool one day, and I was impressed, it is bigger than what it looks in the brochures.

Got bevied at the pool bar and the man was giving us free drinks. The weather was boiling, well over 30 degrees every day, and for October this is brilliant. The Amadoras beach is gorgeous, and the view from the hotel is spot on. We ate at the hotel on the last night and it was as nice as any of the restaurants in the centres.

We only had one cockroach, but it was huge, I mean as in 4 inches huge! and it flew at me! The waiter got it for us with a brush!

You will deffo need a to hire a fan for 15 euros, hotel has no air con.

Overall got exactly what I expected and maybe a little more, cheap to stay at and would recommend if you are after a last minute holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Canary Forum

Recommended
Isabel
10 years 10 months ago
My boyfriend and I stayed at these apartments in Oct and I was very pleasantly surprised. We booked the holiday at the last minute and were a bit unsure due to some mixed reviews.

This accommodation should definately be higher than 2*. The pool was fantastic, we spent 2/3 days by the pool. The barman is hilarious, spends much of his day sleeping, getting drunk and singing along to Abba!

The Location couldn't have been better down hill to the Amadores Beach (directly below apartments). 5 minutes walk up hill to Europa Centre. Commercial Centre is down hill. Directly below the Europa Centre, it is wakable, but a taxi is about 2euros. Beware of the pavements they are very slippy!

One point about the centre's is beware of the sales reps. They are every where trying to tell you, you have won one of three prizes, a couple at our resort got completely conned and ended up spending an hour and a half listening to a presentation trying to get them to buy into a holiday club.

It rained only once when we were their and boy did it rain! It rained so bad the water was coming in through the balcony door! However, the staff very on hand to help where they could. Rain cleared in about an hour and it was beautiful sunshine after that. Temperature was above 30 degrees every day. Not having been to the Canaries before I was told to expected hot but I didn't expect to get such great weather at the end of October.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and really didn't want to come home. A sure sign of a good time, I would go back in a minute and would definately go back to these apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hotel Beds

Recommended
Fiona & Alan
10 years 11 months ago
Though the apartments are a bit out the way of the main resort it is only 5 min walk to the Europa centre.

They have an amazing view and the apartments where spotless. Found Antonio on reception very friendly and helpful.

He went out of his way to put us in a room beside our friends who had arrived the day before and also in keeping our room on at the end of our hol due to a late departure.

The pool area was lovely and has a jacuzzi. The pool bar man was entertainment. Best value drinks ever as he was half cut most of the time gave you hughe measures and hardly charged you anything. How the pool bar makes any profit I,ll never know.

The place was nice and peaceful until the day we where due to check out and quite a few Spaniards checked in.

Would recommend these apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Globespan

Kimberley
10 years 11 months ago
We were a bit concered about staying in this hotel as it was only a 2* however it is more of a 3*.

The rooms where very spacus with a huge balcony. However the cleaners where not great in giving us clean towels and changing the sheets. Even when we did leave the towels on a pile on the floor they did not take them so we asked reception who where only too happy to help us. The room also began to get a lot of ants in it on our second week although we never really ate or drank in there to attract them. We also had a couple of lizards that had managed to get in to our appartment! The appartments are ideal if you are not going to spend a lot of time in them.

The pool was lovely and a great size.

The 3* for entertainment we have given is for the drunk bar man at the pool! He was excellent giving half price drinks or not charging for some! You have to pay him a visit he had me in stiches!

The hotel location was 5 minutes uphill to bars and resturant or you could get a taxi in to Pueter Rico which costs about 3 euros- dirt cheap! This is more lively with more bars and resturants.

Overall we were impressed with what we got for our money and would reccomend the appartments to familys or young groups/couples. Probaly not so suitable for the elderly as it is has steep hills.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Warren
11 years ago
We arrived late at the hotel to find no-one in the reception, the person that was there was very rude and un-helpful, we were self catering but had no kettle or toaster to make a cup of tea we used a saucepan to make our drink. We didn't know that we would have to purchase these item's. After three days the hotel filled up with lot's of Spanish people who took over the pool area swimming during the night till 2/3am playing loud music all day & night running along the corridors banging door's and shouting. The management in the hotel turned a blind eye to this. Our holiday was ruined and we stayed only one week instead of two costing us an extra 217 euros to fly home early.

We would not recommend this hotel if you expect a quiet and tranquil place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medhotels .com

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.