Image of Arizona Apartments

Arizona Apartments

36 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 44 reviews
1 star
Autovía Las Palmas-Puerto Rico, 35139, Spain
Set on a hillside close to the resort centre, these apartments offer a great holiday base for both couples and families. Puerto Rico beach, with its choice of watersports is within easy reach, as are local shops, bars and restaurants.

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert Young
Never again!
6 years 9 months ago
Stayed in room 68 in the Arizona up and down stair bungalows.

Room was ant-ridden making it impossible to eat or sleep downstairs. Plaster inside and out crumbled daily along with the flaking paintwork. There is no bath but 2 showers, a 2 ring hob and a fridge with ice box for your convenience. When it rains it rains into your upstairs bathroom through the skylight which is quite loud through the night. The fixtures and fittings are very 80's and near collapse. In bad need of repair.

There are 14 stairs leading to the property and not 6 as in the advertisement. The advertised heated pool was not heated and the pool bar was closed. The reception was never opened. I had key posted to my address in UK. Cleaning and maid service was once in a fortnight. We spent more time cleaning and washing on this holiday than anything else.

Spent 3 nights in another hotel, would have had more if available.

Location is good as it is only one level up the mountain making it close to the resort centre.

The double ikea bed was quite comfy although maid service as mentioned was only once in the 2 weeks.
Paid £600 for accommodation only for 14 nights in this 1 star property. Never again!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
8 years 5 months ago
My daughter + I have recently returned from our seventh visit to Puerto Rico, we've stayed at the Arizona complex everytime + we've loved it.

We arrived in the wee hours of the monring (5 am) + the security guard / receptionist looked very confused + told us (in Spanish which luckily my daughter speaks) noone was registered to be checking in tonight + so we'd have to wait until 6 am until the manager turned up for his shift. We showed her our hotel receipt + she had to flag down a local boy who spoke English to explain what she was talking about. The manager arrived; glanced at our receipt + handed us a key!
I've read reports of break-ins, cockroaches in beds, x amount of stairs to climb, strangers prowling around the complex, etc. The only reports I can confirm are the stairs, the ants + sometimes cockroaches + the strangers prowling around; of course there are stairs because lets face it there are stairs absolutely everywhere in Puerto Rico - you shouldn't book a hilly resort if you aren't prepared / equiped to walk up + down them + also don't book a hotel within walking distance of the Centro Commercial if you can't handle the noise.
The only thing I have to complain about the Arizona is the strangers prowling around the grounds as this happened to my daughter. As this trip was booked for her 18th she'd invited some of her friends from Harley's Bar over for the day, they had the front door open as they were sitting in the living area + my daughter went outside to put a couple of their towels over the back of a chair to dry out when she was confronted by a man standing at the bottom of our stairs who began coming towards her, speaking very fast in Spanish. Obviously she was scared + called out to her friends. So I returned home to find the boys from Harley's, the Irish lads who were staying two apartments down from us + two of the Spanish boys who were also staying at the Arizona being shouted at by, who I can only assume was another manager, for 'making a scene'. He told me he thought the man may have gotten inside the complex when one of the cleaners had left a gate slightly ajar + that he may have gotten the 'wrong idea' from the way my daughter was dressed (she was wearing a bikini, shorts + a tank top which compared to some other holiday-makers could be considered overdressed!) but that he would make sure all staff were notified to make sure all gates are closed behind them.
Upon speaking to a few holiday makers who had stayed at the Arizona before I discovered that this is not the first time a stranger has managed to get inside the complex + that they were not surprised by the manager's reaction at all.

I absolutely love the Arizona, would reccommed it to anyone + will definitley stay there again but I would suggest they step up the security just a little.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Redfern/Wombwell
10 years 7 months ago
Just returned from a wonderful holiday. The Arizona bungalows were basic but clean. Bungalows are on 2 floors though, bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and a downstairs loo. This is an excellent idea when 2 couples travelling as we were. Maid service was regular and excellent.

The lift gives excellent views over puerto rico, everything was within walking distance, only a few steps to this complex. Security was excellent.

Pool looked fine, we didn't try it as we spent everyday at the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: beat the brochure.com

Recommended
Jo Fisher
11 years ago
This is the 3rd time we have chosen to stay at the Arizona Apartments. You get what you see clean, central and well maintained.

Having the split level accommodation gives you the advantage of 2 bathrooms and when there is more then one of you this is bonus. Staff & Management are friendly, approachable and helpful.

Well done to the Arizona for maintaining year on year. See you next year definitely.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Apartments Abroad

Recommended
Jo
11 years ago
We stayed here last year after booking the Omar apartments specifically and arriving at 3am to be told they had double booked us and we would have to stay in the Arizona, which we thought ok.

To find the back door didnt lock and next door had been burgled so we asked to move, so we moved to another apartment, the size of the rooms are great but there were too many opportunitists our room was nearly robbed whilst my partnr was asleep on the veranda only to awake to find 2 guys venturing into our room, and then to find out next door was asleeo on the sofa and did get things stolen so always keep the doors shut unless you are in view of the doors.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct

John York
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Arizona bungalows this year in March 2006 for 2 weeks we had a private let which are much better thas from a tour operator, they couldnt care less, but the owners do. I would always recommend going private.
Everything was supplied kettle, toaster, microwave, washer, tv dvd didnt have to hire a thing everything was spot on. We didnt get roaches or anything else in the apartment, anyway this is a tropical island and in the Canaries it is only natural you will get the odd one anywhere if there are gardens especially its nothing to do with dirt.
I have read some of these reports and they are very much over exaggerated its a pity some people are busy looking for faults instead of enjoying them selves we are becoming a nation of professional moaners.

The staff at the pool bar were very helpful and pleasant no use calling them for not speaking English after all you were in Spain how about the foreigners (US) speaking their language and my kids enjoyed the pool immensely.
As for the Arizona being at the top of the hill nonsense it starts on the lowest level ground level then depends where your room is, anyway there are lifts. If you think its noisy try staying at the Cala dor or the Cumbres Del Sol then youll get noise from the centre.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private rental

Recommended
Chris
11 years 8 months ago
Was realy worried about going after reading some reviews but was great managed to understand the staff.

Sercurity was good did not hear of anyone getting broke into.

Not a single cock roach to be seen inside the apartment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chioce

Recommended
Charlotte
11 years 8 months ago
Although the hotel was clean, we found that if you left food out over night, by the morning, it would be covered in ants!! They seemed to apear from everywhere.
No cockroaches in the room....which was great, apart from one late night arriving back when one followed us in from the front area!! I ran out screaming whilst my boyfriend kicked it out!! It was huge!!!
Didn't really speak to much staff, apart from when we bought a drink by the pool, seemed nice enough.
No entertainment held at the hotel during our stay....made ourselves busy by going into the center.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

OCONNOR
11 years 9 months ago
Maid was in every day except sunday. Pool snackbar was very convienient and cheap.

Staff didn't speak much English but were friendly enough. Would go back again as security was also very good you cant get in or out with out keys.

There was a bit of noise from from bars in the centre but we are all on holiday an we all like different things its just one of those things you have to accept or else go to a quiet resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Ashling
11 years 10 months ago
About 30 of us stayed at Arizona. Three apartments were broken into. One of them twice whoever was doing it had a key they took money clothes and jewellery.

One other apartment was broken into and had there childres christmas toys taken this was all very upsetting for everyone lots of cockroches we wont be going back there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: home and abrod

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.