Image of Castillo del Sol Apartments

Castillo del Sol Apartments

27 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
2 stars
Calle Gran Canaria, 16, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sharon
9 years ago
The sockets were hanging off the walls only had 3 beds for 4 people. Terrible smell when we walked in got moved the following day. Our view was of the car park. We were on the 7th floor and could not close the patio door, Apartment was very small
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

L Walt
10 years 1 month ago
myself my 2 sons (11 and 16 and 3 other 16 year olds) appartments was very basic......clean and tidy, cleaners came in most days to tidy round make beds..(not wash up though......but did put it away if we washed it).. towels were changed 4 times in 14 days. pool side and bar were ok.....some really nice staff work there very pleasant...Damingo well what can i say..... very good entertainer with kids and adults...plays water polo, pool games, karaoke, and shooting( be warned though the target is well out lol)
the appartment is 164 steps down to the town which is not that bad really....
if you have a safe make sure that u keep the reciept as its the only way you get your deposit back as mine dissapeared out of the appartment....
lots of nice places to visit in town we spent lots of time at tropicans bar....kids entertainment from 8 30ish for an hour....
all in all the holiday was good plenty of sun made lots of new friends..... and would deffo go back to puerto rico but would stay somewhere different...
only bad coment is the fact that the first week there they were doing building work nearly every day and the one lift was outta use and the other kept breaking down.... not good when your on a high floor....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Anne O'Niel
10 years 1 month ago
My family and I went out to Gran Canaria to celebrate my sister in laws 40th birthday, we stayed at Castillo del Sol ..I wish we didn't.

1. Arrived at hotel they gave us 3 rooms we could only get into 3 of them as one door wouldnt open ...the receptionist aka the barmaid couldnt help us

2.one of our apartsments didnt have any electricity

3.in the only apartment we could get into the sockets were falling off the walls

4.after trying to organise another room we gave in and me my husband my sister and my 4 boys all stayed in the 1 room

5. We went to reception in the morning to complain and they said they were full and no rooms were available...but after 1 hour of telling them we wanted our money back and move us they found another room ..suprise suprise

6. The only good thing about this complex was the bar...I could drown my sorrows and forget about the awfull room I had

I would never never go back to this awful complex and I would never recommend it to my worst enemy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Claire
10 years 1 month ago
The hotel itself was basic but always clean the food at the poolside was very nice .the hotel staff were very helpful.

The DJ Domingo was brill nearly every day he would take the children out to play some sport activities in the night he would always do a karaoke and do some games.

The only thing we didn't like were the cats when we went outside of our rooms there were cats everywhere you look. Yes I would definitely go back to the hotel because of the entertainment. x
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Sharman
10 years 2 months ago
Just back from Castillo Del Sol and wanted to report back what a fantastic time was had by our whole party.

The cleaners were in our rooms almost every day and did everything that you would expect from a two star hotel and more - on one occasion we left the mornings washing up and it was gone when we came back!!!!
Hotel is currently going through a major refurbishment programme, stage by stage. Despite this it does not interfere with your holiday - which is a pleasant suprise!

The hotel offered spectacular views across the resort and the commercial centre, especially in the evening.
There are a total of 180 steps to the hotel but when you can climb at your leisure, whats the big deal!? For those who don't wish to climb at their leisure or anyone else's, you can grab a taxi at any time of the day and night for a couple of euro's.

All hotel staff were very helpful and very friendly. We had no problems with anyone.

Entertainment was probably a little more than you would expect from a two star. There were karaoke nights as well as bingo and barbecue nights. Internet access is also available at a good price (one euro for approx 16 minutes), so a cheaper way to keep in touch with back home.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Hannah And Richard.x
10 years 2 months ago
the hotel was brilliant rooms very clean and very kind staff at hotel.lovely swimming pool and relaxing holiday due to hotel quite high up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Stephen Burgess
10 years 9 months ago
i have stayed in these aptarments on numerous occasions and never had a bad holiday yet.the staff our all friendly and domingo is a very good entertainer,the food is very tasty at the pool bar and u could get a nice bbq one nite a week as well.usually its my mates and i go on holiday we enjoy these apartments all the time as there is a good atmosphere and most of the time the guests are friendlt to as we have met loads odf nice people that stay there to.cant wait to get back on 3rd december 2007.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Recommended
Stu & D
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed for two weeks, although general cleanliness was fine, but in those two weeks the bed linen was left til the 12th day before it was changed, the towels were changed only three times in the fortnight.
There was also a lack of toilet paper left by the cleaners they also had a lack of common courtesy and manners, they tended to be rude, ignorant and abrupt.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Recommended
Matt
11 years 3 months ago
The kitchen facilities were fine although you did have to pay extra for a kettle!
Rooms were clean and basic, some do have a joining door to the rooms next door which means that it doesn't block out sound too well. Luckily we had good neighbours for our week.

We didn't eat at the hotel although there always seemed to be people eating there so I guess it must have been pretty good.

The hotel location is excellent, a few steps to walk up but there is pretty much everywhere. Great view of the shopping centre and the resort, especially in the early evening.

Staff were fine, didn't have any reason to call upon them, always had a smile and siad ola!

I would definitely visit this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
Sarah Gardet
11 years 3 months ago
The rooms were basic but clean and the balcony was a good size. The pool area was fantastic - the pool was large and there was plenty of places to sunbathe there was never any problem getting a sun lounger. The pool bar served drinks and food at a reasonable price and the staff were extremely friendly. The highlight of the stay at this hotel was definately the entertainer domingo happy days! I would definately stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.