Image of Babalu Apartments

Babalu Apartments

29 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 45 reviews
1 star
Avenida de la Cornisa, 15, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
In an elevated spot, 3km from Puerto Rico\'s main beach and centre. The apartments are just 200m from the many shops, bars and restaurants at the Europa Commercial Centre.

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kellou1504
Total HELL
7 years 1 month ago
We stayed for 2 weeks on a self-catering basis. There was a microwave, a 2 ring hob and plates etc. No kettle, no toaster or AC but a fan and the other 2 could be hired from reception for 10E each a week.

The cleanliness of the hotel was abysmal the first night when we arrived. There was an infestation of ants and many of the appliances in the room including lights and door locks were either broken or faulty. There were also plug sockets hanging off the wall.

There was food served at the pool bar which was actually quite nice.

The hotel staff were ridiculous. They were rude, ignorant and seriously didn’t care. This is not due to a language barrier as I speak fluent Spanish and was disgusted by them in both languages.

The entertainment and pool bar were the highlight of the holiday apart from the sun. The staff there made the holiday seem less like hell. The entertainment was top notch most nights also.

I would not visit this hotel ever ever ever again. Not if it was the last hotel on earth. I was absolutely disgusted by the service we received when we arrived and this continued throughout my stay.

The beds well they might as well have not been there. It was like sleeping on the floor. Myself and my partner had purchased lilos for the pool/beach and took to using them as a mattress on top of the one we had got just so we could try and get some sleep. This worked but made us extremely hot due to the plastic. I found myself sleeping round the pool and on the beach and consequently got sunburnt. The sheets had marks on them and my mattress had a massive cig burn in it. The wardrobe was filthy so I left my clothes in the case for the entire 2 weeks.


The cats were also a major problem. I understand and am aware that animals roam free in foreign countries but the hotel was plagued with them. They were drinking out of the pool and roaming all over the balconies. We walked past one of the rooms where the maid was cleaning and had the door open and there was a cat laid under the coffee table snoozing while she cleaned. She had obviously let it into the room and I don't think that was acceptable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Leah
7 years 7 months ago
Just got back from a Fantastic week in Puerto Rico.

With the Babalu hotel, you get what you pay for, the room has alot of space,with a large balcony, the furniture could do with being updated and rooms being painted..Only fault with the room is there was no air con, had to hire a fan 10
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angela
8 years 5 months ago
We booked this holiday as a last minute deal.

The apartment was basic but clean. The furnishings were shabby. The bathroom only has a shower. The best thing was the large balcony. The kitchen facilities were basic.

The maid cleaned 5 days out of 7.

The apartments are located half way up the hill of Puerto Rico. If you want to visit the resort at the bottom of the hill a taxi costs
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

S Miles
8 years 6 months ago
excellent place to unwind. On a hilly position but no problem as a local bus picks up outside and a taxi down to the resort centre is only 3 euros. Reception staff are only too happy to help. Rooms cleaned most days. Fabulous balconies which get the sun all day. Would have preferred a kettle in the room to a microwave but no complaints other than that. Pool bar downstairs had a happy hour every night. food looked ok but did not eat there. Just a shame that it it not better supported by the people staying at the complex. Would definately recommend the babalu for anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday in basic accomodation. A real value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
D Smith
9 years ago
just back from holiday at the babalu.the actual hotel was very basic but it is kept very clean and tidy,rooms could do with more facilities for self catering.well in truly value for money tho.the swimming pool is massive and there is also plenty of sunbeds for everyone,pool side entertainment was excellent during the day and at night,all entertainment is provided by dave.he provides superb entertainment for all ages,day and night.the bbq on a wed night is only 11 euro,the food is superb and there is plenty of it,our night time entertainment included a comedian,reptile show,bird show and elvis impersonators.all in all well worth the money and with dave about your kids are well in truly entertained.hotel recomended for the pool and entertainment alone.hotel only 2 mins from shopping centre which is very handy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Kernan
9 years 4 months ago
Fantastic rooms, all with pool & sea veiws. Basic but clean, Huge Balconys. Location was fine for us as we enjoyed walking everywhere, but got a taxi back for a few euros. Entertainment fantastic provided by Dave. Good for all ages, families, couples & groups. Had a real family holiday. We have 2 young kids, there was plenty to do both in the apartments and nearby. Would really like to go back & strongly recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Kernan
9 years 4 months ago
Fantastic rooms, all with pool & sea veiws. Basic but clean, Huge Balconys. Location was fine for us as we enjoyed walking everywhere, but got a taxi back for a few euros. Entertainment fantastic provided by Dave. Good for all ages, families, couples & groups. Had a real family holiday. We have 2 young kids, there was plenty to do both in the apartments and nearby. Would really like to go back & strongly recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Sasha
9 years 4 months ago
I went for a hen week at the babalu hotel, the bar staff was amazing. Our entertainer for the week was Dave, hes so funny, no-one says the bingo numbers like him ;].
Shopping centre located right next to the hotel, so going for drinks and meals wasnt a problem.
Overall the holiday was amazing, and deffo consider going back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Wazzas & Swazzas
9 years 10 months ago
Food was great especially the steak rolls!!!
This was our 5th new year in Peurto Rico ... Fantastic
Bar staff are very friendly ( Have you been here before?)
Pool area was great sun all day Dave the entertainer Top Man !! . Have booked for June 2008

See you then!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jenny And Simon
10 years ago
the hotel we stayed in was lovely perfect for the 2 of us. it was clean and we had cleaners round most days. the food was nice and affordable. the hotel location was right at the top of the hill but the view were beautiful. the hotel staff were fab and friendly. the entertainment was spot on. dave was fantastic he kept eveyone entertained especially the kids and we loved bingo. i hope he got that 64 ball out what he got stuck hehe. and yes i think i would come back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.