Image of Riosol Aparthotel

Riosol Aparthotel

16 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 39 reviews
3 stars
Calle de la Isla de Lobos, 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Spain
The Riosol Aparthotel is a great choice with organised daytime activities.

39 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Miss Reilly
great for families & couples
4 years 10 months ago
Stayed here Dec 2012 for 1 week, weather was sunny every day and about 25c. Lovely apartments and friendly staff. Everywhere was spotless apartments cleaned every day except Sun & Thurs. We got clean towels left for us every day as well. Pools great & very clean larger pool was too cold as it was December, but the rooftop pool was solar heated, so was fine, we travelled as 2 adults 3 kids & stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, it was like 2 one bedroom apartments with a connecting door so was big with 2 bathrooms. Quite a walk down to beach about 500 steps, but don’t let this put you off, lovely views on the way down, we just took our time on the way back up. Amadores beach is also lovely & within walking distance. The food at the Riosol was good with something for everyone. We would stay here again kids 15, 11, & 9 all loved it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Hotel tip: reception & bar on top floor most 2 bedrooms on top floors, but bigger balconies lower down.

Recommended
Bruce
8 years 3 months ago
we are just back form this great hotel , we've been to gran canaria puerto rico a few times and found this hotel one of the best we've stayed in lots for to keep the kids entertained and the maids do an excellent job and are very freindly , only a couple of probs at the begining of the hols , we were put in a room next to the lift which squeeks all night and when we asked to be moved it wasnt a prob , it did get busy at the week ends but i would def go back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Anderson
10 years 1 month ago
We are just back from the riosol hotel and had a fantastic time, food was great and plentiful. Rooms were kept very clean and trinny the maid was always working hard.

Looking out from our balcony over Peurto Rico was amazing, the view was stunning. You had table and chairsand 2 sun loungers on your balcony, so you could just lay there and sun your self silly, most relaxed holiday we have had in a long time, the hotel is large, but you heard very little noise which was great to.

I would go back tommorow if I could, just for the view and the piece and quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed 1/2 board in the aparthotel for 1 week. The menu is on a 2 week rota of themes i.e. German, Canarian, French, English etc. All food is buffet style and you can eat as much (or as little) as you like. There are 2 hot soups available (one vegetarian) and about 6 different main courses. There is a salad bar with cold meat/fish and a dessert counter. A good variety at breakfast of hot and cold food and cereals. Drinks are included in breakfast but not dinner. We ate at various times and we never had a problem with getting a table or lack of choice. They could do with better labelling of the food as sometimes you had to guess what the dish was! Staff in restaurant are excellent. Note that in your welcome pack in your room it says that no shorts are allowed in the dinning room in the evening which we thought might be a problem as my husband had not packed any long trousers. Asked at reception if it was mandatory and they said yes. We didn't have time to shop to buy long trousers so he just wore long shorts and nothing was said. There were others men in shorts too and a few days later we noticed a very small sign saying shorts maybe worn to dine during the months of May to October.

The hotel is set into the side of a mountain. The reception, dinning room and pools are located on the top level (level 5). We were in an apartment on level 4 and there were 60 steps upto the pool. There is only one lift which was prone to breaking down which caused problems for people on the lower levels. The room was serviced daily except Tuesday and Thursday with fresh towels everytime but bedding only once. We had no cockroaches in our room but we did take with us a JML pest repellent (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Panorama

Christopher Cooper
10 years 3 months ago
Stayed at the RIOSOL APARTHOTEL, when we first arrived I was just overwhelmed with the views and heat wow.

Rooms were very clean and tidy everything is catered for, rooms could of done with Air Con in them but the fan was efficient, the views from room are out of this world excellent.

The hotel entertainment was spot on, there is 2 big pools, top and bottom both very clean. Sunbathing areas are great but they could do with more parasoles.

The best beach by far is Playa Amadores, water us warm and there are pleanty of shops to buy food and drink from, the night life in Puerto Rico was great but you tend to get harrassed by people for food all the time and tends to be very annoying - there is a MC DONALDS there too for people who love that food.

But overrall I think its smashing value for money, the flight from UK is 4 hours everything very cheap over there I took
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Jackson
10 years 3 months ago
Hotel on top of hill lovely views but 700 steps to beach. 150 steps to apartment,ok if lift working. Wery hard for people with pushchairs there are a few ramps but you will still need to use some steps.

Swimming pools large but can not use inflatables or balls as eco pool,kids got bored really quick.

Rooms clean has kettle,toaster,microwave but no micor wave containers to use. Main problem was cockroaches in rooms crawling along wall at bar area,in rooms,bathroom and on patio. must be bad as they supply you with a can of spray to kill them and pest control visit regulary.

Staff very friendly maids clean exceptionaly well top marks to them.

Entertainment kids club 1hour aday no activities for them. unless you are sixteen you can not join in. There is aqua gym daily at 1100, one activity at 12 nothing until 3pm which is water polo, no acitivites friday and saturday. This was very disappointing as on hotel web site appears lots of activits but none in reality. One entertainer can not do all the work this is an area the hotel needs to work on they have the facilites but nobody to run them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Newsome
10 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Riosol for 2 weeks. Absolutly stunning views of Puerto Rico. We stayed half board and the food was very nice, however after 2 weeks it become a bit "samey" The rooms were kept very clean and the maids worked very hard and were very friendly. The main problem was that there were cookroaches in your rooms at night and on the balcony, also there was no aircon, which was terrible when we had the heatwave of over 40degrees. We hardly slept a wink because it was so hot ( not complaining about the weather mind!!!) Paco was the only entertainer for the adults and the kids and he worked so hard, the hotel could do with more entertainment, especially around the pool during the day as the kids dont have a lot to do due to the ban on lilo's and balls in the pool. Overall though, the hotel is a nice one with fantastic views which is very clean and the staff are very friendly ( with the odd exception!!) I would definately come here again and would recommend to my friends. The hotel is due to be renovated next year and judging by the pictures up on the walls of what is going to be done, it will be really nice. A little tip before your holiday email the hotel and request one of the rooms with the large balconies with the sunbeds, we did and we weren't disappointed. Puerto rico has two beaches, the best one being the amadores beach which is man made, also pay a visit to puerto de mogan to the market on a friday, you can catch the glass bottom boat there for around 10 euros. Riosol is very close to the Europa centre which is full of bars, restuarants and shops, Yates and the Extreeems bar are great with free shot quizzes, the DJ's are very funny, BEWARE where you sit in the extreeems bar as they have some little phrases on the walls!!! Also BEWARE of the lucky lucky men and women!! they are a nuisance!! We had a great time and would definately go back to puerto rico.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
Mrs J Robinson
10 years 7 months ago
We love the Riosol because its the right location the
balconies are very spacious with two sunbeds and table and chairs, the view from the balcony is very scenic and very peaceful
The staff are very friendly
The food is varied but not a big selection, but the hotel its self is very clean and welcoming.

And Paco who as been their for quite a few years is a very good entertainer for the all familes. especially children.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Emma
11 years ago
We satyed at the Monte Paraiso apartments. This was our first time in Puerto Rico.

Plenty of places to eat at the Europa centre. Very good food! The best thing at the hotel has got to be the entertainment. From water polo to water aerobics to mini disco for the kids and the night time entertainment. Excellent. Well done Paco. Top man!!!!

I must say though if you want to get out and about then you will probably need to use a taxi which only cost 2 or 3 euros. it is very steep hills. Loved it so much i want to go back next year. Again well done PACO for the entertainment he is excellent! and very good looking
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Carla Smith
11 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the Riosol at approx 10pm, check in was very quick with no problems at all, the staff were very helpful. We got shown to our room by a member of staff, which didn't speak much English but was very helpful. When we arrived at our apartment we were very pleased, the views over Puerto Rico were 'fantastic', our room was large with a lovely large balcony to overlook Puerto Rico.
Our room was a 1 bedroom apartment, twin beds which I have to say were extremely comfortable, shower was brill, plenty of hot water anytime of the day. The only problem was there was no air-conditioning, but there was a fan provided which helped.

We spent most of our time round the pool, plenty of sunbeds to go round everyday, as there were two pools to choose from. The weather for September was nice and hot, take plenty of sun tan lotions!

The Europa Centre was convenient as it was literally on the door step, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. I would recommend the Chinese Restaurant downstairs on the corner as this was great, and value for money.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.