Image of Altamar Apartments

Altamar Apartments

8 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 62 reviews
2 stars
Urbanización Puerto Rico, Avenida de la Cornisa, 21, 35130, Mogán, Las Palmas, Spain
set in the hill side at the top of the mountian, over looking the sea. Kids club also available, self catering or half board available. Two outdoor pools. Lively entertainment, shop on site. local beaches a taxis ride away for the price of about 1.50.

62 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    31
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very good holiday
6 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from the Altamar and had a very good holiday. Firstly check-in was quick and we got a high floor as requested reception staff very friendly. Our room was located beside reception so this was ideal for getting out of the complex. The rooms are a bit on the small side but adequate for what we needed, the maids came every other day which suited us fine, we also asked reception for extra pillows and they were prompt at bringing them. We only ate once at the complex for our breakfast and they are nice just need to be a bit hotter and they were buffet style all you can eat for 5.50.

We found the bar staff to be very friendly and as others have stated that those who are all inclusive were treated different this was not the case as I noticed a lot of AI guests staying here and they always had a smile for them. The bingo is quite good and is between 4-5 o’clock just not much to win as they said it was getting to the end of the British season, the most it was for a house was 131 which is still good.

I liked the views of the Altamar and all have sea-views the only drawback we found with the location is the top Centre is very quiet and not many places to go so we spent a fortune on taxis back and forth to the bottom centre which was of course our choice, the taxis are cheap between 3.15-3.95 but when you are going back and forth to the bottom this soon mounted up.

The shop inside the Altamar is expensive despite what others have said, the only cheap thing is the water which we needed to drink plenty of, but I suppose most shops inside of the complexes are more expensive.

The lifts in these apartments can be a bit of a nightmare when they keep breaking down, some people were stuck between the floors but were soon rescued, we never had to wait long for them when we wanted to visit the pool, you can walk down the steps to the pool from the top floor but walking back up is a different matter especially in the midday heat.

The entertainment in here leaves a lot to be desired especially on a night, it started around 9 oclock and sometimes they had a kids disco then it always ended with karaoke which tends to be a bit boring, we never stayed here much on a night because of this. Beware of the snake show they won't let you take your own photo's which is fair enough but when you go and get your photo taken with the snakes around your neck they take 2 photos one with one snake round your neck, then with 2 and make you purchase the 2 lots which has to be paid upfront at 10 each which isn’t a lot but the way they explain it is you can have your photo taken for only 10 but crafty in taking 2 then telling you afterwards they want 20, as my dad got caught out when he had his taken with my daughter.

The pools in this complex are nice and clean we mainly used pool A as found it less busier and more relaxing, the kids loved it and spent some late afternoons in there to cool off, we never had any trouble getting a sunbed and also you don’t have to pay for the mattresses for them, there was hardly anyone reserving sunbeds which was ideal too.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and possibly would return if we intended to go AI as it would probably be more relaxing not having to keep going to the bottom for our meals.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Shirley Forster
7 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Altamar Hotl in Puerto Rico. We booked this holiday only a week before going and we weren't dissappointed. The only down side was that the 3 of us had to go to the bar each time to get a drink which was a bit of a pain. The breakfast and evening meals were good but the lunch was leftovers from breakfast and the night before.
We would definatley go back in January but probably not in the middle of the summer as the rooms did not have air conditioning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Matty
8 years ago
Just got bake from a great 2 weeks at the Altamar stayed here on all inclusive was a bit sceptical about other reports on this hotel,but we had no worries the food was very good with a good selection for everybody only complaint we had was you could only get 1 drink at a time this meant that we all had to go to the bar
The entertainment at night that the hotel put on was very good and catered for every one over the 2 weeks that we were there, the hypnotist which is on a Friday is not to be missed there is also singers,parrot show,dancers,reptile show and more did get a bit fed up with kids karaoke after the main show had finished(11 o'clock)but its a family hotel had heard a lot about gazza but didnt see much of him the all 2 weeks
Happy hour between 4&5 o'clock is buy on get one free if your not all inclusive with 2 games of bingo (good money to be won)the bingo song is something else
You could still get a sunbed at 9 o'clock in the morning at either pool (2 pools A&B)some people still getting up at 6.30 to put towels out(bit sad) they have a big inflatable in pool a on a Friday(free)The day time activities are between 2&3 o'clock
the apartments are good and clean you have microwave,fridge,hob you have a big balcony with 2 sunbeds on and a table and chairs
We had no trouble with the lifts while we were there but they are known to brake down
would definatly go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Matty
8 years ago
Just got back from a great 2 weeks at the Altamar.

Stayed here on all inclusive was a bit sceptical about other reports on this hotel, but we had no worries the food was very good with a good selection for everybody. Only complaint we had was you could only get 1 drink at a time this meant that we all had to go to the bar

The entertainment at night that the hotel put on was very good and catered for every one over the 2 weeks that we were there, the hypnotist which is on a Friday is not to be missed there is also singers, parrot show, dancers, reptile show and more did get a bit fed up with kids karaoke after the main show had finished(11 o'clock)but its a family hotel had heard a lot about gazza but didn't see much of him the all 2 weeks

Happy hour between 4&5 o'clock is buy on get one free if your not all inclusive with 2 games of bingo (good money to be won)the bingo song is something else

You could still get a sunbed at 9 o'clock in the morning at either pool (2 pools A&B)some people still getting up at 6.30 to put towels out(bit sad) they have a big inflatable in pool a on a Friday(free)

The day time activities are between 2&3 o'clock

The apartments are good and clean you have microwave, fridge, hob you have a big balcony with 2 sunbeds on and a table and chairs

We had no trouble with the lifts while we were there but they are known to break down

Would definitely go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Toon
8 years 1 month ago
Two weeks spent at this hotel with my fiancee.Disappointed that we did not have a double bed. Also, the air con didnt work which made us very uncomfortable. Whilst the staff were helpful, the room facilities ( fans / TV / Kettle / patio umbrella / sun bed mattress )all incurred a cost. Bed sheets were changed once per week, and the towels twice per week (unless you were willing to pay extra for additional changes)
The pool area was crowded and children were uncontrolled....hence I would advise that unless you are willing to have a holiday with children in abundence ( and often uncontrolled !), I would be wary of this hotel.
On a positive, the apartments were clean, spacious and in a good area. In conclusion....a good destination, stunning views but the appartments lacked basic requirements unless you are willing to pay for the extras..........
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

8 years 1 month ago
Spent 2 weeks @ this hotel with my family, and was the second time we'd been here, came with the wife in 1996.

There were some disappointments, there is no Air Con and there's nothing free anymore! You have to pay extras for a Kettle, TV, Sun bed Mattress & Umbrella on your Patio. Linen is only changed once a week, towels I think twice.

On the positives, the staff where very friendly and the complex was very clean and tidy (well except for those
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
we arrived to be told we were on level 0 , we had requested a high floor as i have bad knees . hotel is spotless ,staff friendly rooms good.
we ate lunch snacks in hotel these were fine . the only problem was the all inclusive , this wasnt an option when we and others booked . you could never get a decent seat for the entertainment as the blue wristband brigade blocked all the good seats .dont think we will return but had a good 2 weeks .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
8 years 1 month ago
Just got back from a great 2 week break at the Altamar. We had a huge 2 bedroom apt, one room had 2 single beds, the other had a double, with en-suite bathroom. Some people seemed to have to pay for extras i.e. kettle, tv, coffee maker, matress for sunbeds and parasols. But they were all in the apt already and the tv was fully operational. There is only ceiling fans in the bedrooms and lounge and the temps did hit 50+ will we were there, but we found that if we left the small windows open with the curtains closed with the fans still going the room stayed fairly cool apart from one night which was unbearable!!!.
We went half board and found the food to be o.k, salad bar, hot food, carvery, bread and rolls, dessert bar.There seemed to be a better choice in our first week, but we all found that there was plenty of choice, my kids really enjoyed it and ate loads so if the kids are happy so were we!!!
Kids club was great, Stacey, Hayley and Tracey worked really hard to keep the kids entertained and have been hugely missed by my boys :-(.
Entertainment was good to a varied selection, bit hit and miss some nights but kept us happy.
Pools were not huge and there was not enough sunbeds, there were a lot of people up at 7 put there towels down and staying in that spot for the rest of the day, quite sad really considering the pool does'nt open till 9. Friday afternoon was great for the kids as they got an inflatable out in pool A which the kids loved.
My only complaint was that I found that if you was'nt wearing a blue wrist band you would wait ages at the bar, espcially during happy hour, which is where you would think they would make money out of the guests paying for drinks!!!
All in all a good place to go for a family holiday, definatly recommended.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Stu
8 years 1 month ago
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the reception was fast and friendly.
rooms are very clean, but as said in other reports only a ceiling fan, and it was in the 50,s almost everyday, and 40's in the evening, so its was very hard to sleep.
we were on an all inclusive basis, and the 3 daytime meals were very good.kids never went without and never complained about the food.
once the entertainment gets started which is usually about 9-9.30pm, it is very good, having different outside acts every night. if you fo go, you have got to see the hypnotist, very very funny.i only have a couple of problems
1. not enough sunbeds for everyone, got to get up early.
2. bar staff were on the whole a grumpy lot, apart from monica, very nice lady and always helped when she could.
3. all our drinks were included, but you were only allowed one drink per person, which involved 8 of us going to the bar at the same time. i couldnt even get my kids drink, they had to come with me.been doing all inclusive for over 10 yrs and this is the first time the whole party had to get up to get a drink.also there are paying guests, and it seems that if you went to the bar with a euro in your hand, you got served first. staff seemed to ingore the all inclusive. dont even try to get an all inclusive drink during happy hour between 4 and 5 pm you get totally blanked.
overall was a very good holiday, we did have a good time, but i dont think we would go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
We stayed in this hotel first week of March and were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed half board and we got a superb room with very large balcony next to a garden. The room had cooker, fridge, microwave so was ideal to store drinks. Room was very comfortable and clean. TV in room but had to pay for viewing, but we didn't bother with that any way. Food in hotel was fine. Lots of choice for breakfast and for evening meal also and waiters always quick to serve with drinks. Not many English at this hotel, perhaps time of year. There were many Scandinavian people who were very friendly. The entertainment was not very good at all. Some guy playing a guitar that sounded like an organ and then one night a guy playingan organ that sounded awful. The pools (2) were lovely and spotlessly clean. No bugs anywhere! We only went for a week and it was a nice break.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.