Image of Omar Apartments

Omar Apartments

30 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
1 star
Aparthotel Puerto Azul, Avenida de la Cornisa, 13, 35130 Gran Canaria, Spain

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tony And Lisa
9 years 10 months ago
when we arrived we thought the hotel itself was clean and basic , but we had done it on a cheap deal so didnt expect alot . the morning we woke we realized our patio door was broken , we informed staff but they did nothing . we didnt realize we had more to come! our hot water was broken so we were made to use cold water for 3days!!! . our furniture in the room was terrible we had door knobs hanging off or non there at all our couch which 1 of us had to sleep on was broken and there was nails sticking out . they came to fix our sofa and water but our door was never put right ....... we will neva go again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Bert
9 years 11 months ago
This hotel provides excellent value for money. I wasn't expecting much for what we paid, but what we got was basic but stlyish room. Rooms were cleaned almost daily, staff were friendly and helpful. Balcony was large with excellent views of the resort. Location was good, close to the resort centre (although fairly steep steps to get there). Around 10 minute walk to the beach and a further 20 mins to Amadores beach. Only downside was that it was fairly noisy, you could hear all the noise from the bars of the commercial centre. Overall would reccommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jet2

Recommended
10 years ago
The Omar Apartments are handily located, a short walk from Centro Comercial Puerto Rico, home to pubs, restaurants and shops, and a little longer walk from the beach and port.
We were lucky enough to have one of the rooms with a very large balcony - great view over the town - but other rooms have somewhat smaller balconies.
The room was basic but pleasant enough and was cleaned almost every other day. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It had an adequate pool and a poolside bar - though I wouldn't recommend the food - and you could nip next door to the Cala Nova for greater bar facilities and entertainment.
For us the main bugbear with Omar was noise - the corridors and passages seemed to amplify the sound of guests returning in the early hours or the cleaning ladies setting to work in the morning.
The beds weren't the most comfortable I have slept in, either.
But, all in all, it served our needs well enough and for the price it was good value. I would go there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Marianne-steve
10 years 3 months ago
Just come back from the omar in july 07. Rooms were basic but very clean maids came in 3 times a week to clean and change towels. The apartments were in a good location not to far up the hill side centrally located would go back to the Omar for another cheap holiday, you get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: flightline

Recommended
Joanne
10 years 6 months ago
We would never go back to these apartments again I saw more cockroaches in our room than I did in all Puerto Rico. We were supposed to stay for 2weeks but ended up changing apartments after the first week.

There was no entertainment, the pool bar was hardly ever open & the camp bed they gave us for our son kept breaking all the time.

The lady on reception through the day was nice but the security man at night was a bit creepy he just stared at you he never spoke at all to any of us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: my travel

G Barclay
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed at Omar in september and it was excellent especially considering the price!

The room was cleaned regularly, towels changed regularly, and the view was amazing! Balcony was huge, perfect 4 sunbathing while my mate was still in bed!

The staff at reception were very friendly day and night, and at 3am alway had an 'Olla' and a smile for you!

Saw 1 cockroach over 2 wks, n it was in the hall, not the apartment!

As far as locations go, it was ideal for us! an easy walk to the commercial centre and if you hate stairs, on the way back take the hill up from the taxi rank, makes it a lot easier! The noise is non existant after 3am cos the pubs close and the 2 clubs are underground, so you can sleep easy! Ideal for the younger generations looking for a clean place to sleep, near to all the action!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Sarah
11 years 2 months ago
My family and i have been on holiday to puerto rico 21 times and stayed in the omar 16 times. Rooms are a good size, kitchen small but you don't need a large kitchen when on hoilday. It has 2 cooking rings, kettle, toaster. You can hire a microwave/ grill from reception if you can't cook the old fashioned way. I found the rooms clean, cleaners come around 3 times a week all the staff are very friendly. No entertainment but location is 5 mins walk to main shops and bars were you will have all the entertainment you need. Also 5 min walk to beach. Some rooms have a double balcony and the veiws are fantastic.You can hear music from bars at night not to loud tho. I will be visiting the Omar again .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booked direct with omar

Recommended
Sarah
11 years 2 months ago
My family and i have been on holiday to puerto rico 21 times and stayed in the omar 16 times. Rooms are a good size, kitchen small but you don't need a large kitchen when on hoilday. It has 2 cooking rings, kettle, toaster. You can hire a microwave/ grill from reception if you can't cook the old fashioned way. I found the rooms clean, cleaners come around 3 times a week all the staff are very friendly. No entertainment but location is 5 mins walk to main shops and bars were you will have all the entertainment you need. Also 5 min walk to beach. Some rooms have a double balcony and the veiws are fantastic.You can hear music from bars at night not to loud tho. I will be visiting the Omar again .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Booked direct with omar

Recommended
Folland Family
11 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Omar in June 06 and have never seen anything like it on any of our other holidays. Apartments are scruffy and dangerous (plug sockets hanging from the walls)looks in need of demolishing and rebuilding.

The pool gets very filthy and don't go in on a Sunday as it does not get cleaned that morning so you will be swimming in 2 days of muck/tan lotion etc !!!

We went as a family and later found out that the Omar caters for 18/30 which would explain the constant noise every night, people (drunk) running up and down the corridors in the middle of the night. Second week got even worse and my wife wanted to come home, as a bunch of yobs about seven lasses and 7 lads came on the Monday and it got even worse on a night. They where throwing beer over each other and then jumping in the pool, this was about 4 in the morning!

If you are unfortunate to have booked here then you have our sympathy.........
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Davies
11 years 10 months ago
The room was clean when we got there but the cleaners only came round once in a week to change bedding and towels, the towels were old and shabby looking lucky I took my own.

I went self catering but there was a restaurant downstairs the food was lovely and very cheap. I would recommend a meal there.

Location was perfect, close to shops & beach, and close enough to the nightlife without it keeping you awake. Also not too far up the hill.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The week I was there they had only one show which I did't watch because I had a trip so I cannot comment on that.

I would recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.