Image of Aquacanis Apartments

Aquacanis Apartments

20 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Fundacion de la Escuela Noruega de Gran Canaria, Barranco Agua la Perra, S/N, 35130 Gran Canaria, Spain
Secluded with outstanding sea views, friendly attentive staff, a good qualit accommodation, and a warm welcome the aquacanis is a great place if you are looking to get away with from it all. There are steep steps at the entrance to the complex so not reco

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Rebecca And Guy
10 years 4 months ago
Considering we were self - catering in the apartments, the utilities that were provided were very limited and were not as they were described in the brochure.

The night we arrived at the apartments the room that we had been allocated to seemed to have been broken into on a previous occasion.

We had a disrupted first night as we had little sleep due the uncontrollable fear that the patio doors were not in a secure state. The problem could have easily been resolved but the apartment staff were not there upon our arrival and had left our key stuck to the reception door with tape. Clearly they were concerned that the thief may come back and they wanted to ensure that he would not break the door again. As well as this, on the same night we noticed that the tap in the kitchen had basically been broken away from the sink and was not in a state to be used. We were very disappointed that the room had been allowed to stay in this condition and then left for us to stay in for what could have been the duration of the holiday.

The following day we were moved to a different room which was slightly better than the previous, but after just one week the hot water stopped working and we were forced to have cold showers for the rest of our stay. The problem was reported to the staff in the reception on several occasions in the one day and we were re-assured that the problem would be resolved and sorted by the morning. Another couple staying in the apartment next door had also complained about the absence of warm water.

The cause of this upset may have been down to the building work that was also going on in the rooms directly above our own which condensed at 9:00 in the morning and continued throughout the day until tea time.

The cleaning maids did seem to be friendly but I felt that they could have changed the bed sheets on a more regular basis and also the towels. I would strongly steer anyone away from staying at these apartments or at least to investigate the condition of the whole place before booking to stay here for any amount of time.

We were very disappointed and will not be returning to Puerto Rico due to the uncomfortable stay in Aquacanis Apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Carly
10 years 4 months ago
Me and my family stayed here for 2 weeks in june.These are really lovely apartments and in a nice location.The apartments were half empty when we were there.Which was great having the pool to our self!Staff were friendly as well.I would say the only down fall was there wasnt any entertainment.But after talking with staff they said they were going to start it later in the year.Great place and would stay there again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Lee
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel was basic and requiring some maintenance repairs to doors and a fresh coat of paint! Headboards in bedroom just resting behind beds, not fixed! Cleaning staff was regular but would have preferred bedding to be changed more often. The steps to the apartment were a shock but got used to them eventually, definitely not for the faint hearted!!

The resident "pest" as he called himself was an excellent entertainer but typically Geordie British!! Shame though, went there to escape Britain for two weeks. He really could motivate people to partake in pool rounders-lilo racing-killer pool etc...

Fantasic view over marina and out to sea.

The weather was extremely hot and the nights were too.

The reps were excellent, more than reps, made you feel like friends, excellent! Give the place a try, you will grow to love it!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Joanne
12 years ago
Just returned from the Aquacanis, this was our second time at these apartments.

The apartments are very basic but are clean and pleasant. The menu in the bar is limited but is very good, but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby. There are plenty of cooking utensils in the apartments if you wish to stay in and cook, although there are only two cooking rings but you can hire a microwave.

The location is a little on the outskirts but I prefer this as you are away from all the noise and only a 15 min walk to bars and shops or 2 minutes by taxi which costs 2 euro's. The rooms are situated in tiers and it is a steep climb if you are put at the top, however you can request a low floor, the view over the ocean are fantastic.

Henion and his bar staff are fantastic and very friendly and Tony who provides the entertainment is great, the wednesday night bbq is well worth it, there are also quizes and bingo most nights.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Louise Lock
12 years 1 month ago
We weren't told about the steep steps up to our room and no help was offered to carry our cases up.

In total we found 5 large cockroaches in our apartment we were not warned of this either.


Our spending money went missing from our rooms after they had been cleaned! No action was taken by the hotel staff.

Advice to guests look after your money!

The entertainment was good and Tony was very lively.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Carol And Simon
12 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Aquacanis in Aug/Sept of this year and we found it a very nice place indeed.

Pool is a nice size and was always very clean.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Ramon went out of his way to help us when we needed it regarding our holiday not the complex.

Yes there are a lot of steps to your room especially if you are on the top floor like we were, but we knew about this in advance and it in no way spoiled our stay there at all.

Excellent pool side bar , serving meals all day and good quality priced meals.

Lacking in entertainment but I believe this has now been sorted and we will definitely be going back there next year.

Siuated away from all the hustle and bustle of PR's main area and a loverly 15-20 minute stroll into town in the evenings.

overall 10/10 from us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Laura
12 years 11 months ago
Maids came 6 times in 1 week bed linen changed 4 times.
hotel food was typical pub grub but never complained because I ate it.

It was a good walk to the beach 5 10 mins Amadores beach is 10 times better but about half an hour further by foot. Graham was excellent BBQ was amazing.

Never seen the reps .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Vi
13 years 2 months ago
The apartments were ok.

Cleaning staff were very friendly, bar manager a great success, made it nice to stay in the complex.

Very well situated within walking distance, nice views.

We went self catering but most of our stay we ate at the bar, very tasty meals.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Zo N Dave
13 years 2 months ago
After reading many bad reports we were a little apprehensive about these apartments but on arrival found them to be clean and tidy.

We have visited Puerto Rico on numerous occasions and found the accommodation in a good location, very close to the beach and only a 15 minute walk to the centre.

The only small problem in the room were the ants, but apart from this the room was very clean and comfortable. We saw no cockroaches at all (helped by putting a towel across the gap in the door to be sure) and had a fantastic sea view.

The pool area was very clear and spacious, with plenty of sunbeds.

The best restaurant in Puerto Rico is San Miguel in the town centre it is great value for money.

We would definitely visit these apartments again as they all in all they are excellent!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
Kirstie
13 years 3 months ago
We arrived at Aquacanis at 4am. The reception staff were friendly although not speaking much english.

We were told there were steep steps to the complex before we went so that didn't come as a surprise.

The apartment was very clean, only saw 1 cockroach. The maid only came 3 days out of the 7 we stayed.

Graham, who was behind the bar couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The food was also good.

Overall, it was a very pleasant complex, the pool was clean and there was plenty of sunbeds for people to use.

Entertainment was provided for those who required it from barbeques to chinese buffet nights which were also good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.