29 independent reviews of the Altamadores Apartments
Address: C/ San Borondón, 6, 35130 Playa Amadores, Spain
Altamadores Apartments
Altamadores Apartments Location
Ranked #11 of 58 hotels in Puerto Rico


4/5
Altamadores Apartments Altamadores Apartments is rated 4.1 out of 5 from 29 Reviews
93% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (29 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 4 stars

Altamadores Apartments Reviews

5/5
5

lisa visited the Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico, Spain in August 2010
1 reader found this review helpful

I have just returned from this hotel with my family and friends and cannot complain at all about the hotel. the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel itself was very clean you always seen an army of cleaning staff around the hotel every day. The food was plentiful and had variety, couldn't complain at all about this either.

I would definitely go back and would recommend to others. Michale hotel rep for Thomas Cook was very helpful and welcomed anyone even if not traveling with their company - not pushy at all.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"clean hotel, friendly staff and a lazy refreshing break"
Miss Stone stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico, Spain in August 2010
Stayed at the Altamadores for two weeks from 7th - 21st August. Arrived late at night to be greeted by a male Receptionist who didn't speak much English but was very welcoming and tried his best to locate our room to us from the map. We were given two cards to our room and told we could collect a safe key in the morning. (The safe was electronic and the key could be hired for 10 euros a week plus 10 deposit)

Luckily we were only on the first floor, room number 106 and it was the biggest hotel room we had ever stayed in with a fully equipped kitchen. It was nice to have a big fridge included even though we were all inclusive. Neither the beds nor the bed settees were comfy enough to have a good nights ...
sleep like home but the sheets and pillows were clean and that was all that mattered to me. We woke to find one or two cockroaches in the room but they were never really a major problem and after all you are in Gran Canaria! But the view from our room was fantastic and made up for any creepy crawly. I have never seen a blue sky matched with blue sea like it! It was lovely.

Lola our maid came round every two days to clean and she changed our linen on Saturday. She changed all our towels regardless whether we needed them changing which I thought was really nice of her. The army of cleaners could be seen around the hotel every day constantly washing and sweeping terraces, mopping and polishing floors and cleaning round the pool area. The waiters and waitresses in the dining room basically hover over your shoulders ready to swipe your dirty plate away to keep the place looking clean.

The breakfasts consisted of various cereals, white and brown bread to toast, jam, honey, marmalade, rolls, waffles, bacon, scrambled, boiled and fried eggs, beans, fruits, salad, cold meats and even chips! Lunch on offer was usually chips, burgers, sausage, salad, fruit, rice, meat dishes and breads. Dinner was usually meat such as pork, turkey and chicken, mash potatoes, boiled potatoes, selection of veg, nuggets, fish, rice, beefburgers oh and chips! The chinese food night was lovely, my favorite is sweet and sour chicken so I was really pleased. The barbecue night was great too and you could see the two guys cooking steaks, chicken and sausage outside. The food was plentiful and constantly being checked on by kitchen staff to replenish whenever needed. I found the variety of food really nice, but then I like most foods whereas if you are not keen on different flavours other than standard meat and two veg or chips kind of meals then you might struggle sometimes to put things together so mealtimes might get tedious for you.

Pete the entertainer was great with the kids, they really liked being around him. He did try to get most of the children to join in with pool games or football etc in the afternoon but to be fair he is limited with resources and time. Music is played around the pool in the afternoon and it is usually the same songs so you'll think it's brill if you love Lady Gaga! Karaoke every night does get a bit much as others have said but to be fair if there aren't many adults with the confidence or the voice to get up and have a go you will end up with the same kids murdering California Gurls or Lady Gaga songs! Still it is a self service bar after all so just drink and sing a long! The shows in the evening didn't seem to last long enough either only seemed about 40 minutes or so. The guy who does the Eagle show only seemed interested in trying to get kids to have pictures with his birds at 10 euros a time. You wouldnt mind but it is just a photo not in a frame or anything special and he charges for more than one person in the photo at a time! Needless to say he didnt seem like he had a roaring trade after the show for photos, wonder why? We did enjoy the Bingo sessions though and won seven times in our two week stay!

The pool area was nice and clean and the pool tables were very popular with the kids. If you want a decent sunbed then you will have to join the sunbed brigade from 7am if you want your favorite spot leave it any later than 8.30am and you will have to make do with the patio chairs.

Michael the holiday Rep is very knowledgeable about the area and he offers many trips at reasonable prices. He is always around at the hotel so if you do have a problem there is someone on hand to help.

As someone has already pointed out one negative to this hotel is the lack of air con in the rooms. We did have the two fans going constantly through the day and night we could actually feel it was cooler outside on the terrace than in the room! But the bedroom fan was noisy but you had no choice but to have the fans on. I envied the people who had a balcony (I think these were rooms in the 200€s and 500€s) and could leave their doors open at night to have a bit of a breeze.

We never expected Las Vegas shows neither did we expect five star cuisine at this hotel however we did get a clean hotel, friendly staff and a lazy refreshing break in the sun. Our two children met lots of lovely friends and we really enjoyed our holiday here.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Simon & Jean had a holiday at Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico in July 2010
Have stayed at this hotel twice before and it did not disappoint. Asked for a room on 2nd floor with a large balcony and got exactly that. Entertainment was not quite up to the same standard as last year but as the hotel now takes English and Scandinavian people together they have to cater for everone\'s tastes. Food good and staff friendly. Excellent value for money.\"



Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

John visited the Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico in June 2010
Having just returned from the Altamadores Apartments my wife and I feel we have to write a positive reveiw about the place. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The apartments were immaculately clean with excellent maid service. Food was very good for adults and kids alike. Entertainment was good most nights. I wouldn\'t think twice about going back to this apartment complex and my kids agree. All in all we had a wonderful holiday.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5
"Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly"
Louise visited the Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico in June 2010
We stayed in the Altamadores in June 2010. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel was lovely and pool area immaculate. We didn't have any difficulty in getting beds by the pool although in June it would probably be a little quieter.

The food was varied and the 2 weekly barbecues were lovely. All food was well cooked and no complaints at all. The hotel staff were fantastic and all made a big fuss of our 13 month old baby which was lovely. Everyone from the receptionist, the restaurant staff to the handy man were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.

Yes the hotel is a bit of walk to the beach and the Europa centre but not too far and taxies are really cheap. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Would definitely book again if we return to Gran Canaria.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

brian and elaine harvey stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel in May 2010
We stayed in the altamadores for a week from the 24th may 2010.The apartment was clean and spacious,we had a lovely terrace with a fantastic view of amadores beach.The apartments are situated quite high up on a hill,alright to walk down to the beach but better to get a taxi back up,it only costs about 3 euros.All-inclusive is from 11am till 11pm,bar then closes and then unable to buy any more drinks at the bar.Most people would stock up on drinks about 10 mins before bar shuts and take them out to pool area.We met a fantastic crowd and we would all get together around the pool after bar closed.Would advise anyone who likes to retire early to bed not to take a room around pool as it could be bit noisy with people talking and singing as they close ...
the bar doors.
The all=inclusive bar was self service and that included the spirits and wines also which is quite unusual but stopped any queing.
Food was average but you would always find something that would appeal to you.
All in all we had a brill holiday and this was enhanced by the great company we met.Would definetly return these apartments again

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

annemarie toner stayed at Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico, Spain in May 2010
the altamadores apartments were fantastic. The were to a very high standard of cleanliness in all aspects including the rooms, resturant and pool area. the maid service was excellent, the resturant and reception staff were very friendly and helpful.There was an excellent selection of food on offer to suit all and available throughout the day.The whole package was great and i will definately be returning. the only improvement that could be made would be on the entertainment. the last 2 nights were excellent with Jake Sullerman, Chris Mooney who were very talented singers and created a very good atmosphere. all in all a great holiday.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Karen visited the Altamadores Apartments Hotel in August 2009
Very disappointing - despite reasonable reviews. The apartments - set up on a steep hill - were adequate. Please note there are no hairdryers - and the TV is coin operated.
THe food (we stayed all inclusive) was dreadful. I think they need to get to grips with the buffet cart - as the hot food was always cold and the salad was luke warm! They forgot to switch the soup urn on one day - and I found cold soup with a white fat skim settled on the top! Lovely...! Suspicions of \"recycling\" going on - grilled meat would often be reincarnated in a cream sauce the next day - further resurrected as curry the day after...?
THe entertainment was reasonable. Decent professional acts throughout the 2 weeks. However, the \"resident\" ...
entertainer was a bit self indulgent. Minimum time spent on sport in preferance of bingo. Very Brits abroad...
Drinks were left on the bar to help yourself - which was novel - but avoided the hassle of queues. This was also convenient for the children who could just help themselves at the soda fountain.


Read More

Tour Operator: You Travel.com
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Laura visited the Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico, Spain in June 2009
What a little gem!!

We booked this holiday independently - this included flights, accomodation, car parking, even the toll road costs as we live in Belfast and flew from Dublin. Holiday for myself, hubby and our 4 year old daughter - total price was

Tour Operator: Independant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Adele & Kevin stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel in September 2008
We have just returned home from a two week holiday at the Altamadores and would strongly reccommend this holiday to anyone as it suits anyone of all ages. The rooms were absolutely spotless and were cleaned thoroughly six out of seven days. They were very spacious especially with there only being the two of us and had all the necesseties such as a fridge, cooker etc. The hotel is situated outside of the main centre but is very nice not having the hustle and bustle at night times and is only a 15min walk from a lovely beach.
The all inclusive basis proved to be the best otption for us and overall it was very good. However, the evening meal was not of a particularly high standard compared to the breakfast and lunch snacks available but the Europa Centre and Puerto ...
Rico centre were so close in a taxi and had lots of nice bars and restaurants.
The staff were all very friendly and entertainment was provided both day and night six out of seven days so there was plenty going on to keep eveyone amused. We would strongly consider returning to this hotel in the future.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Pack visited the Altamadores Apartments in September 2008
We stayed there the first week in September very clean and the staff were very friendly the breakfast was excellent and the meals during the day we good the evening meal slighly let it down but was still not bad. The rooms were clean and the swimming pool area was good. The entertainment was excellent the man called Leo was fantansic he made the holiday. In the week we had two groups who were good. Leo made it though he was very friendly and we had a great laugh with him. We have stayed in other all inclusive places and the entertainment was bad he was brilliant Well done leo from Pack and Hands party.

Tour Operator: Co-operative

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

jhon malcolm visited the Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico in September 2008
Had fantastic time at the hotel.Very clean and spacious and both food and entertainment were fantastic.We were all inclusive and would highly recommend this option.Pool was lovely with plenty of space around for the sun loungers.All in all excellent family holiday with friendly staff.Leo our entertainer was fantastic even if he fiddled the quiz so I lost ! Special thanks to the lovely giovanna and Jose too who made us more than welcome.


Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Tracey & frankie stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico, Spain in August 2008
We arrived early in the morning and was welcomed by pleasent reception staff followed on by a clean comfortable room witch had 2 ceiling fans which kept you nice and cool especially in the night..
The breakfast was fine (even had propper bacon) then from 11:30 am the was a wide range of snack which you order as and when required which means its cooked when ordered so was always nice and hot which include ,, pizzas, omlettes,toasties,chicken burgers, cheese burgers, lasagne, spagette bol,chicken nuggets all can be ordered with chips this is served till 5pm . the evening meal starts at 6:30 which is just normal all inclusive food the only problen nothing is labled so you dont really know what your putting on the plate
The location is at the top of a hill but dont let this put you ...
off as its only 3 euros in a taxi to get back up including drivers tip.
The hotel staff are great always willing to help and very quick service at the bar.. It does state at the bar only one drink per person but they waver that you can get as many as you wish (or you could when we were there) theres one particular guy called jose whos there on an evening has a scream.. Very camp and up for a laugh with everyone.. Vicki the entertainer is brilliant with the kids she works alone and works long hours but that dosnt faze her at all
We are defenatly wanting to visit this hotel again.

Read More

Tour Operator: travel republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Dameon Suzanne stayed at Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico in August 2008
We Booked this holiday At the Altamadores apartment with complete travel.
we arrived early in the morning and was greeted by reception who were very nice.
the food was very good you have a Breakfast 08:00 till 10:00 then a menu to order from all day and evening meal at 18:30 and free drinks 11:00 till 23:00 it was well worth what we paid.
The rooms pool side and restrant were very clean.
The location is at the top of the mouatin and is a 10 minute walk down to a love white sandy beach and a taxi ride back up is only 3 euros.
the staff were excelent and fun.
The Entertainment was good most nights shows like the tramp,Abba,but to much bingo.
I would recomend this place to anyone going to purto rico.
And we will be returning there again next year

Tour Operator: Complete Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Dawn visited the Altamadores Apartments in August 2008
We have just come back from staying here and enjoyed our stay.We were all inclusive which was definatly worth doing even if just for the breakfast and drinks.The breakfasts we couldnt fault as there was lots to choose from and was really nice.The snack bar was ok too but am sorry to say the evening meal was quite a let down.Saturday night is bbq night and i would say was the best evening meal of the week.If the food had cards in front of them stating what it was that would have helped a lot.The bar staff were lovely too especially Davinthia.The cleaners and reception staff were friendly too.But Leo the entertainer made the hotel.He even comes into work 2 hours earlier to come round the pool and chat to you.He has so much energy and the kids love ...
him as well as the adults.Go Leo,next time tho Leo we will do a duet of day dream believer together.Keep up the good work.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jenny, Terry & Charlotte stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico, Spain in August 2008
We have just got back from the Altamadores and i can only say that the whole holiday was fantastic! yes i agree about previous comments with regards to the evening meal in so much as if the food was labelled then you would know what was what, but hey come on - anyone can tell a chop from pizza and although we never experienced cold food there is a microwave on the side. Breakfast - fab - good proper english bacon!! snacks - you couldn\'t fault. The apartments were spacious and clean. The ceiling fans are a must. We left ours on for the whole 2 weeks we were there, we just put our tesco clubcard in the slot and away we went. All the hotel staff in general were very polite, but ...
special mentions to all the bar staff especially Jose - we got a smile out of him by the end of the 2 weeks. Now for the entertainment - LEO LEOOOOO!!! what a superb all round entertainer this guy is and as the previous post said - he makes time to get to know all the guests and sits and chats with them all. Leo - we hope you are doing us proud and still singing Penny Arcade!!!!!

Anyway we are hoping to go back next year. Big hello to anyone reading this who was there when we were there (We were the Warrington Wolves fans!!!)

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

nicky stayed at Altamadores Apartments Hotel, Puerto Rico, Spain in July 2008
hotel was nice and clean with good maid service.
breakfast and snack menu food was good but could have been a bit more of a variety,the food at the evening buffet was terrible apart from not being able to tell what it was meant to be it was also always cold reulting in having to eat out most nights not what you plan when you go all inclusive.
location not great but like most places up a steep hill need to taxi but very cheap.
some of the staff were ok others very rude and ignorant. the entertainment girl was nice and friendly and tried her best to get things going.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

KEITH TAYLOR had a holiday at Altamadores Apartments, Puerto Rico in July 2008
We returned this earlier this month and it has rained since we got home. we were looking forward to some rain after two weeks of glorious sunshine but we are not so sure now.
A very relaxing holiday the staff are so friendly and all have a smattering of English therefore life was so much easier when trying to order food or looking for pronunciation. Vikki works her socks off keeping everyone busy and has a very easy attitude towards all. we only witnessed two events when discussion got a bit heated with the bar staff but as usual it was the ignorance of the Brits stoked on alcohol and false bravado having a pop at the bar staff who work tirelessly keeping the guests supplied with alcohol. If I were them I would simply have stopped serving the guests ...
alcohol but they handled themselves admirably. A great family hotel with a varied entertainment a bit lack lustre on occasion but we are not into bingo having said that the \"pots\" were seldom below 100 Euros. The acts that performed were of a good quality and were very professional. The food as an AI guest we would say was okay you certainly wont starve. Breakfast was the usual continental cerials or full English. The lunch menu was a set menu of pizza steaks omlette burgers various sandwiches toasties and the obligitory chips and other snacks cooked freshly for you when you order, (so much better than sitting under heat lamps for hours). The evening meal was never very exciting but there was Chicken, Lamb, Beef and Fish on offer most nights of the week, so something for everyone.
if you like to have excursions then i would suggest that you have a look at the prices in the harbour in puerto rico as they are a lot cheaper than the reps.
All in all a very enjoyable two weeks and we will probably go back just to see how much the resort

Read More

Tour Operator: ON THE BEACH

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sheila Lorraine Trotter had a holiday at Altamadores Apartments in June 2008
Just returned from Altamadores. We arrived early morning, were given a map of the hotel and had to find your own way to your apartment. This was not a problem.

The apartment was very clean, the kitchen was very well equipped although there was no kettle. We did not find this a problem as we were all inclusive.

The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sun beds, but could of done with a few more parasols, it was very hot.

The food was ok we found the breakfast and snacks very good. Evening meal was buffet style. It would have helped if they had some sort of menu. What I thought were onion rings were in fact squid.

The hotel entertainer Vicky was really good. We really enjoyed the tribute band the Tramps ...
and also the acrobats.

Although situated high up a hill we didn't find this a problem walking up to the Europa Centre or down to the beach but a taxis is a must. Coming back up the bank in the heat is a no no.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Laura had a holiday at Altamadores Apartments in September 2007
Just returned from staying at the Altamadores apts, thought they were excellent, lovely and clean rooms with fans on the ceiling, very much needed!! Pool area clean and spacious with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas available. Staff were very pleasant and helpful even letting us keep our room as we had a late flight home. Well worth getting a taxi to Puerto Rico centre or the amadores beach for some lovely restaurants along the beach, only costs a few euros to get there. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would recommend these apartments to anyone cant wait to go back!!

Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share