Image of Bitacora Club Apartments

Bitacora Club Apartments

75 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

3 out of 5 from 27 reviews
3 stars
Calle Alcorce 11, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    17
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lynn
Wouldn't come back even if it was free
7 years 2 months ago
These apartments should be condemned! The pool is vile, dirty, filthy, scum round the pool, not to mention cockroaches not just in the apt but in the beds. We had to sleep in living room.

Checked out in the end could not stand it any longer like ground hog day.

Bar staff so too faced, would not stay here if it was free.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Mick
7 years 8 months ago
This was a late booking holiday that we thought we would just try to get some winter sun, so we had no idea what we were getting, other than the travel agent telling us that this was a great value holiday.
These self catering apartments are clean, basic but in need of refurbishment. The one bed apartment we were allocated on arrival was very damp in the bedroom, so luckily we changed to another. We would not have stayed in the first apartment even for one night. This second apartment had lots of dampness in the bathroom with paint flaking from the ceiling which we decided to ignore, as we were only staying for a week. We ate out every night (about
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hayes

Shelley
8 years 3 months ago
We arrived there at about 6pm and were tired from the flight and the heat and was frustrated that the woman at the reception didnt understand us but finally got across what we were trying to say.

We got to the rooms and found them very clean and spacious and were very well equiped.

The fault i had most was that there were cats everywhere, and when we got leaflets when we got there it specified that the cats were stray and not to feed them yet the staff at the pool bar were clearly feeding them.

I also found that the woman workin at the hotel bar had no manners and did not want to serve us, for example one day we arrived at half 4 for food(which was very basic) and were told that we were too late for food as she was closing at 6 which is ridiculus and in future we had to order food at 4 even though she wasn't closing for 2 hours, so after a lot of huffing and puffing and muttering under her breath in spanish she made it. needless to say we didnt eat there again.

the pool was the highlight of the appartments, it was clean and safe with plenty of sunbeds.

But overall i liked this place as it was clean and secure and its close to the strip which had a wide variety of restaurants and bars and even though the hill was steep its was only like 3 euro in a taxi. I found the rest of the staff nice and very friendly and would return again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: topflight

Recommended
Louise McCrory
8 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Bitacora in December 08 and found the apartments to be spacious, in a good location from the strip and to be tidy. There was no entertainment in the complex but for 3 euro you could take a taxi to the resort centre. The food at the pool bar was lovely although there wasnt much to choose from. The only downfall about this holiday was noisy neighbours being a couple (aged 21 - 23) we like to party, but we also like our sleep too and the 3 ladies who were next door to us liked to sleep all day and party all night making loads of noise, banging furniture and generally just being rowdy throughout the night. Out of our 7 night stay we only got 2 full nights sleep with the other 5 nights being disrupted all through the night. Apart from this we had a good break away!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Booked cheap break for birthday. Apartment across road from reception, very nice setting clean with distant seaview. apartment 163 basic but adequate but rooms quite tired, bathroom damp so smelly, poor shower & no hot water nightly from about 5 til 7.30 they had a pump problem apparently.

Also hear very clearly the neighbours! All the apartments on this side of the complex have been sold off so now private.

Arrived on Sunday no clean towels or sheets till Thurs!

Never ate at the complex too many nice places on the front, very steep hill though. Entertainment in basement which does not appeal sounded Spanish lots of Spanish guests there during our stay.

Pool areas clean but not many sunbeds esp if complex fully occupied.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: uk holiday shop/ thomson

Recommended
Simone Sanders
9 years 10 months ago
The food was awful, promised a warm and cold buffet for breakfast and you only get the cold. The evening meal was as bad, the warm food, sometimes not cooked, cold and no choice.

The hotel was fairly clean but day before last day had had towels for 3 days and they had stripped most of the bedding off irregardless of us still being there.

No entertainment and the bar did not open until 9.30, then shut at 12.00.

The apartments have security issues, when we were there which was only for 1 week there were 18 break-ins. They seem to target people who are going home.

We only had hot water twice in a week.

This is the worst complex I have ever stayed in, so don't.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Take Off Holidays

Helen Kendal
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed in the quieter area across the road from the main entrance. Lots of steps to our apartment which was the furthest room 257. Did have a sea view and north facing so very pleasant to sit on the balcony in the early evening. Apartment spacious, clean and sufficient for our needs. Only complaints were the beds creaked if you made the slightest movement, the shower wasnt very powerful, the fridge seemed to freeze anything we put in it and the outside light didn't work.

We liked both poolsides, the main complex had Parasols but the pool near our apartment did not so when it became too hot, you either jumped into the deep pool to cool down or fried. We used the poolside bar only twice as often there was no one there to serve or it was shut, (though there was not many people around the pool while we were there anyway). We had the pool to ourselves one day.

Breakfast was OK, various cold meats, cheese, boiled egg, plus croissants, toast, small cakes and pastries, melon and cereals, all help your self and plentiful.

There were mainly Spanish visitors and the entertainment was provided by 2 male singers who played a variety of Spanish, salsa style songs. We went to watch the last half hour 10:30 pm and thought they were very good. 11:00 pm prompt the group finished, the bar closed and everyone left.

The hill was very steep and there was lots of steps and uneven cracked slippy pavements. I hurt my ankle while walking down so you have to be careful. Wouldn't like to walk down in the middle of summer.

I probably would not revisit this hotel, only because of where it was situated. If your looking for a base from which to explore the area and on a room only basis then its ideal. You get what you pay for and we got a good deal booking 1 month before we went.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Triton

Wendy, Adrian & Bethany
10 years 7 months ago
We arrived at the Bitacora under unsusual circumstances as the tour operator had not advised of a flight change so we were provided with an alternative holiday.

It's definately a 2 star accomodation - apartments are spacious although you can hear the movements of your neighbours quite clearly - you don't want to be staying below people there for the partying!

There are comprehensive facilities in the rooms - toaster, kettle, stove, pots & pans, fridge however the TV was broken and only tuned to True Movies for half a day and Eurosport permanently. Not what you need with a 7 year old.

For the first 3 days there was a piercing buzzing noise - a bit like when your radiator needs bleeding which started at 03:15 and finished around 11:00. By the 3rd night we could tune it out and got some sleep. When you complained about it, we were offered another room but by this point we were fully unpacked and could not guarantee the noise in another apartment.

On a good day the food was OK - a fairly safe salad options but the hot food was hit and miss - the best days were when they put on a BBQ. You are not advised of the menu at any point - even when eating it. Not the best when there's a person with allergies in the party and we are not fluent in Spanish. If you have food allergies, I'd suggest highlighting this to your Rep and ensure they put something in place, OR go self catering and eat in the many lovely restaurants around the front.

The hotel is up a steep hill so not great if you've got mobility difficulties but brilliant exercise every day for everyone else. The hotel itself has ramps everywhere so could be suitable for a wheelchair but the flooring is a bit slippy at the best of times - ceramic tiles or calcium painted concrete.

The cleaners are polite and friendly and the staff on the front desk speak English and German as well as Spanish. But you may find yourself stood for a while in reception or in the shop whilst the staff have a chat - there certainly isn't an air of respect for your patronage.

Entertainment is limited to the pools, pool table or pool side bar - there is a bar under the hotel on an evening but this was poorly lit and quite claustrophobic. The pools are either tiny kids pools or deep swimming pools - in the deep pools, the lowest dept is 1.6 meters.

We won't be going back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: MyTravel

FLICK
10 years 8 months ago
Just Returned from the Bitacora Apts Arrived on 22nd February 2007 for 4 Nights.

Did experience a slight problem when we arrived at reception .. We booked Flights and The accommodation with different operators.

Hotel needed a Accommodation voucher rather than just a booking ref - so if any one is travelling remember this. Lovely quiet area with a little steep hill down to the front .. 2 euros in taxi back no problems!

Apartments well catered . toaster, kettle which you dont always find in other apts in Pto del carmen do visit lanzarote very often.

Even TV which is NOT Coin operated and plenty of cutlery etc. bedrooms nice beds comfy, can get chilly in evening so ask for blankets. Maid service wasnt great arrived thurs cleaned Sunday could be more frequent but only there for 4 nights!

Carnival out of this world so make sure you dont miss it every Feb! Pool areas fine !

Overall Great Holiday would return to the Bitacora !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom/ Tcook

Recommended
Richard
10 years 8 months ago
This is the 5th year to Lanzerote and the Bitacora Club Appts. We go Feb/March time each year for room only and cannot fault the overall appearance of the Bitacora. Cleaners visit at least every other day and change sheets/towels if requested but otherwise only twice a week. Only front of house staff speak english so dont expect a conversation with the domestic staff. People seem to rave about cockroaches, I cannot recall ever seeing any... We have not experienced the hotel food other than the poolside bar which can only be described as basic but perfectly edible. The hotel is located at the top of "Heart Attack Hill" a good form of daily exercise and excellent giggle factor to negotiate when drunk! That aside, it is only a 10min walk to the sea front with plenty of shops/grocers enroute at relitively affordable prices. The hotel staff are abrupt but people need to remember that they are in a different country where things are done "differently" Your complaints are delt with as requested. Agin people need to remember that they are going to a foreign country where the tempreture is significantly warmer than here in Blighty, dont expect much and you wont be dissapointed. The hotel entertainment can be limited but we were there for the night life not the hotel. Yes I would be going back to the Bitacora, its an excellent base to work from.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.