Image of Cinco Plazas Apartments

Cinco Plazas Apartments

26 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 32 reviews
2 stars
Calle Anzuelo, 56, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain
The Cinco Plazas is an ideal place for a relaxing family break. It's close to the beach and has three pools, so it's great for sunbathing while the children head off to the kid's club.

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ken Alexander
Great for Families
3 years 7 months ago
Very pleased with the apartments, very clean and spacious. The staff were very helpful. Good central location. The only problem was the Wi-Fi, first you had to pay for it, this wasn't mentioned in the brochure, then we could not get it in our apartment so we had to sit in reception, even then it continually went off. They did get the engineer in later in the week and it did seem more reliable.
Other than the poor Wi-Fi we would recommend the Cinco Plaza apartments for a great family holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brooks Family
Friendly staff and a good size pool
6 years 4 months ago
Just got back from holiday at the Cinco Plaza Apartments. On arrival the reception was clean, cool and nice, not the biggest but nice the staff behind counter spoke better English than we expected and sorted us out pretty quickly. On arrival at our room (furthest pool from reception) it was still being cleaned and was nice and fresh. It was a good sized apartment and well well equipped (kettle, toaster, fan and even a microwave).

Although we were the furthest pool from reception we think it was the best as the main pool always had things going on like water polo and kids would have got fed up keep going in and out pool. All pools had a life guard on duty at all times and felt our kids although 13,14 and 15 and could all swim, was safer with the life guards there.

Cant say about entertainment as we didn't stay in for that although it looked like there was something going on 6 nights a week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
First Class!
6 years 5 months ago
First time we have been to Lanzarote booked through Thomson, all the staff were polite, smiles and couldn’t do enough for us.

The reception area restaurant is a bit small for the amount of guests staying, Thomson reps there were very friendly and were great, there are three pools in the complex witch the kids loved, the apartments were first class clean modern and nothing was missing, we had two balcony’s in our apartment, got to be one of the best apartments we have ever stayed at.

A short walk down the hill to shops and beach and bus stop at the top of the road.

We would all be happy to come back and have another holiday at this place. First class!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Martyn Staley
7 years 4 months ago
cleanliness is very good, every where from rooms to the lobby is spotless

The food was ok at the appartments but a bit more expensive than going out.There are loads of places to eat out, bottles bar do lovely breakfast!

Location is spot on just a 2 minute walk down the hill to all the bars and shops.
hotel staff seemed very pleasent every one spoke to you if you where passing.
Entertainment what we saw was very poor, there was a drag artist miming to every song.the best entertainment was in the morning round 8 o clock people start to gather round the pool with there towels under arms suntan lotion in hand, then they would put the towls round the brolly or on the floor, then wait for the beds to be unlocked at 9 0 clock one person put his towel on top of a stack of 25 sunbeds.
All in all would defo go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
The Swaine Family
7 years 6 months ago
Overall would highly recommend these apartments. Although we found the restaurant staff to be rather short and sometimes rude the rest of the service we received was 'top notch'. Receptionists, maids and entertainment staff extremely friendly and great with our daughter.

As we went slightly out of season entertainment was good. We particularly enjoyed the bird and reptile shows. There was also water polo during the day and various kids activities.

Location was perfect as within easy walking distance to beach, shops, nightlife, etc. Only slight downfall was getting back up the hill after a few drinks in the evening.

The only 1 thing I would warn people of are the rocks down at the beach. They become extremely slippy when wet. Daughter ended up splitting her head open and needing 6 stitches. Seems to be a common occurance as another man (whilst we were away) broke several of his ribs and locals told us holiday makers are forever injurying themselves on them.

All in all though an absolutely brilliant holiday. So much so we are returning again this June.



Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kirsty
7 years 8 months ago
We booked a week at the Cinco Plazas through Thomson for the 30th April. We had read lots of reviews, good and bad and went with an open mind. Our stay was wonderful and are returning again for 2 weeks at the end of June.

* Arrival and reception*

Upon arrival we entered a very large reception area with very shiny polished floors, a shop to the left, restaurant entrance and sofas in front and the main reception desk to the right and next to that is the Thomson and first choice desk too.
The two Spanish receptionists were very friendly, we were welcomed and asked for our names and passports. (They keep your passports overnight to check details etc, we got them back the next day). We were told some information about the hotel and given our key and a map of the hotel. We were told where our room was and off we went.

* The rooms/apartments *

We had read that rooms were very spacious and that was right.
We were given a ground floor apartment which outside has a small outside area which is quite private and has a long tiled bench, a patio table and chairs and a small airer for drying washing.
Through the main door we entered a large open plan room with sofa bed and coffee table to the left, cupboard with tv on top to the right, a dining table with four chairs far left and on the far right is a small kitchenette which includes microwave, sink with washing up liquid and sponge, small hob with two rings, toaster, kettle, coffee maker and fridge with icebox. The cupboards and drawers are well equipped with saucepans, frying pan, plates, cutlery and a tea towel. Everything you need to make a small meal and breakfast etc. No oven/cooker though.
The bedroom at the back had twin beds pushed together with 2 bedside tables. A large built in wardrobe with a few hangers and some more shelving and drawer space. There is also a fan in the bedroom which came in handy at night as we didnt want the windows opened on the ground floor and also there is a safe in the wardrobe but we didnt use this as it is chargeable.
The bathroom has two doors, one from the bedroom and one from the living room. It has a shower over bath (although you cant use the bath as it has no taps or plug), toilet and sink.
Everything was very clean and tidy.
The only complaint we have about the room was the tv. there is only about 3 free channels, 2 Spanish ones and the only English channel is CNN! If you want to watch any of the other channels they are chargeable!
The beds were very comfortable, with a sheet and top blanket for cover and there is an extra blanket in the wardrobes (which also double up as very good sun bed covers)! There was only one pillow each which was a bit annoying so we asked at reception and they brought us an extra one each straight away.
The only other thing i would of liked was a soap or handvsoap for hand washing.

* Maid service*

We found the maid service to be a bit odd.. don't get me wrong they did a very good job but it seemed a bit random. We arrived on a Thursday, the next day our room was cleaned and towels were changed etc. Then we had it done the next day too.. then we didnt see them again for 4 days, then they cleaned again the day before we left! Seemed a bit strange but never mind! The maids didnt speak a word of english apart from the words "clean now?" they would yabber on loudly in spanish and keep using our phone to ring reception but never mind lol!
You are provided with broom and mop to clean the room ourselves if needed.

* Problems *
One day we had a shower and the water was draining from under neath the bath, it seems the pipes were blocked. The staff came to sort it within 10 minutes and it was fine for the rest of the holiday.

* Hotel facilities *

There are 3 swimming pools and each pool is surrounded by apartments. We stayed in the main big pool which is by the restaurant and seems to be the busiest.
The pool was very clean, and tidy. It is a salt water pool but not too salty and i found this better as chlorine makes my eyes sore.
The thing i read about most before we went was the sun bed problem! Well i can say we never had a problem getting sun beds, there was always plenty stacked there during the day and we even ended up keeping one for sunbathing on our front veranda but i can definitely see it being a problem during the summer holiday peak season because i hear there are double the amount of guests. They do chain the sunbeds up at night only because they have had vandals and people stealing them!
The hotel offers a restaurant which serves breakfast, all day snacks and dinner with evening entertainment. Well we had a lunch snack on the last day and it was very good value for money and the staff are friendly. They also offer ice creams (1.26 euros for one scoop and cone of carte dior)
There is also a kids club which runs most days offering various activities which seemed to be very popular.
Also bingo and water polo is organised daily for everyone, held in the main pool at 4pm which can get very noisy!
There is also an on site laundry which we didn't use, a kids play area with brand new equipment, there are two rooms which you can rent for 25 euros on the day you check out if your flight isn't until later on and also a luggage room where you can store your luggage on the last day but they charge 1 euro per weighing for the weigh machine which i wasn't very impressed with! There are pool tables around the swimming pools.
The shop on site is cheaper for most things like cereal, milk and ham etc but more expensive for other things so try netto or shop around.
The Thomson rep andew is a nice guy but doesn't seem to be around that much but when he is he does get involved with things.

* Location *

The hotel is at the top of a hill (not too steep but probably not great for disabled or elderly people).
It is based in the resort of Puerto Del Carmen which is the busiest resort on Lanzarote. It is in a very good position for accessing all of the local restaurants, clubs and shops etc.
Next door is a Netto for shopping but its not the cheapest so shop around. Also next to that is the Spinakker pub which is great for beer and pool. But we didnt try the food.
Across the road is car rental (autos feber) which seem to be the cheapest around.
Walking down the hill brings you down to the main strip of entertainment and the beach, turn right for some of the main restaurants and nightclubs (the royal for EXCELLENT food and tropical for cheap drinks and dancing) (Avoid Niki beach and tequilla bar they have nasty pushy touts and lie about what free things they can give you).
Turn left for the quieter part of town, mini golf, gift shops and some smaller restaurants.
The beach runs right along the strip, if you want sunbeds and the busier part keep walking to the right. But there are some small cove along the way.

All in all the hotel is very good for all the family, clean and we had no complaints at all.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed here in March, for a family celebration. Arrived at lunchtime after investing in a taxi to get there straight away as opposed to sitting on a bus!

Were given 2 apartments next door to each other; fantastic but they were a 1st floor apartment. This was at first disappointing as we had a 18 month old in a push chair, however it could not have been any better as the ground floor apartment had no gate on, so we would have been constantly picking her out of the pool!

The apartments are split into 3 blocks each with a pool. We had a pool view with a lovely sunny balcony. Maid was still cleaning our room, but let us leave our luggage in the room whilst she finished.

Netto supermarket was over the road, great location, up a slight hill but nothing too steep. Spotlessly clean and well equipped apartments. Great service from maintenance when our window would not lock, it was repaired immediately.

Weather was fantastic too. Definitely would return.

Did not eat at the hotel or participate in any of the entertainment so cannot comment.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Sue MacDonald
7 years 10 months ago
Apartment complex is large and good location. Just a short walk downhill to the main sea front. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and well equipped overlooking one of the three pools (the heated one) Apartments were built some time ago but they have been updated regularly and are keep very clean inside and out. Maids came 5 days and changed towells most days. The rubbish bins in the complex were emptied several times each day and there were even recycling bins which were also emptied regularly.

Lots of Germans and Scandinavian people here at this time of the year and a lot of pre-school children. Even so, there were no problems with getting sunbeds and it was a joy to watch the children playing in the pool.

Staff at the apartments were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. There were several Thompson staff for the children's club and several play areas for little ones to play including 2 indoor rooms.

Puerto del Carmen is a mess along the front at the moment as they are putting in a one-way road system and extending the promenade. Lots of dust and noise and its difficult with the buggy, but it will be wonderful when it is finished soon.

Lots of places to eat along the front. Can recommend The Royal and Pinoccio which are to the right as you get to the sea front and if you like Chinese there is the Great wall to the left. Still good value even though the Euro isn't.

Enjoyed the break away from the snow here, but won't return for a while.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
L H
7 years 10 months ago
The cinco plazas apartments where very clean, the maid service was very impressive and the general complex maintanace was fantastic. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, when we requested 2 extra pillows we found them in our apartment when we got back that same day. All 3 of the complex's pools where in stunning condition especially the main square shaped one as it was all tiled whereas the other two were not. The only one complaint we could say about the apartments was the fact they were a bit on the noisy side, you could hear your neighbours from either side of a night. Cannot review the food as we ate out every night but when we passed the restuarant always seemed busy. The complex is situated in a great location, close to the beach and the main strip with loads of bars and restuarants. (Bottles Bar does a top notch english breakfast!) Overall a definate recommendation for a sunny holiday in Lanzarote!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hamilton Family
8 years 2 months ago
Arrived at the Cinco Plaza Apartments not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. We were based in the Plaza Amarillo area which had a lovely pool with the apartments located around. our 2 bedroom apartment was spotless, the 2 bedrooms were large and also provided plenty of storage space for a family of 5. We stayed every day at the pool, we didn't require to go to the beach this was made easier due to the pool being quiet at this time of the year - this would probably be very different in the summer.
The complex is very well kept, the painters, gardeners and cleaning staff are a credit - we have never know cleaners to be in every day and sheets changed every few days. The location as most people have mentioned is up a hill, but when you only have to go down in the evening and back up it's not too bad and this also meant that you didn't have much noise only those round about.
The entertainment was poor but we didn't require this and this was the only down side to our holiday. Reception staff were always very pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: