Image of Riu ClubHotel Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Riu ClubHotel Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

23 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Calle Suiza, 4 35519 Puerto del Carmen, Spain
This hotel has four pools to jump into, including a jumbo-sized lagoon number with a wraparound terrace, and a figure-of-eight-shaped one with a swim-up bar. The hotel is located just across the road from the beach. Plus, the poolside buffet restaurant comes with a big terrace. For a night out, the restaurants in Puerto del Carmen are a 30-minute walk along the beach.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great for Everyone
4 years 9 months ago
Had a great two weeks in November with daughter and two young grandsons. This hotel was an excellent choice. The hotel is very well run and managed throughout. The standards of cleanliness are very high. This hotel has excellent facilities.

Everybody is all inclusive. In the main part of the hotel there is a main buffet restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition there are three bookable restaurants, Asian, Mexican and Canarian, and a snack bar which is open most of the day. Food is very good, plentiful, fresh and hot. All the Staff are friendly, polite, cheerful and attentive. Good choice of activities during the day, and evening entertainment for the children but disappointing for the adults.

My 3 year old and 18 month old grandsons were in the children's pool twice a day. There were 2/3 other pools. Towels are provided and could be exchanged every day as well as safe and fridge without any extra charges.

We were also here Nov 2011 and will return at some point.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lorna Alsop
Have already rebooked !
5 years 11 months ago
Stayed for one week October half term. Arrived late evening - given wrist bands and directed towards the restaurant so we could eat - all very efficient.

The room was the usual you find abroad but there was plenty of clothes space and the bathroom was lovely - very modern. Met the inlaws there (70th birthday), they had emailed ahead and requested a room in the main bit - we ended up next to them - it was a great location - near to bar! However, the 'otherside' looked nice also.

Food was lovely. There are three restaurants - the main one as well as two others, I think they alternate one of them between canarian and mexican. The other one is chinese. You need to give them a couple of days notice to book a table in these restaurants. There are two sittings here 6.45 and 8.45. You are shown to your table and the waiters bring your first drinks - you help yourself after that; the food is still buffet style but its great being in a smaller restaurant and being shown to your table.

Staff were really good - friendly but professional.

Bar - in the main bit you help yourself to wines, lager and soft drinks - just need to go to the bar if you want shorts or cocktails. The only time I had to wait more than a few seconds for service was in the afternoon when the kids were having cocktails.

Only sat in the entertainment twice - the staff worked really hard but we tended to chat to each other.

Hotel location brilliant - it is on a main road but set back a bit - bus stop outside. To the right is the resort of pueto del Carmen - looks very lively but doesn't impact at all on this hotel.

Would I go back - oh dear - just booked for Spring Bank 2012 for 11 nights this time - can't wait.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris & John
8 years 5 months ago
Hi Just got back after a relaxing time in a very good hotel which has just been re-furbished to a good standard
We enjoyed the three different restraunts the service was very good the food was a ok but could have been hotter (baked beans)
The entertainment team did well but need a bit more variety instead of dancing most nights
We will be visiting again next year all being well
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mr Barley
9 years 2 months ago
We are here now and after 24 hours we have moved rooms 3 times and they all smell of mould.

The bedding walls and fittings are damp and mouldy and the whole place is shabby and in need of major repairs and decoration.

If you are German or amazingly lucky you get put in the new German half of the hotel (after all its german owned) if you are english you are a second class citizen and get a one star hovel to live in.

We have been offered a move to the german side for 200 euros or another hotel for 800 euros. What superb customer service eh?

Thomas cook are abysmal now they have taken over airtours and as a regular traveller with them have decided never to use them or go near a riu hotel again.

The food and bar service is however superb and the best run all inclusive I have seen with no loud druken groups,in fact it is extremely civilised
The public areas are clean and lovely if somewhat in need of redecoration.

If you like quality avoid this place like the plague
If you think a customer service promise is worth anything forget it you can move if you pay twice

We have been offerd another room or hotel (to the tireless efforts of becca our rep) in the morning so we wait with baited breath in the meantime its back to sleeping in the mouldy old bed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

A Wilson
9 years 2 months ago
I have read these reportsts for many years and will try and give an honest appraisal.

1. Hotel - In desperate need of renovation, the new part is pretty good but not what you expect from a RIU.
2. Food - Very good and reasonable choice, they seem to have an obsession with pork!
3. Location - Good, although could be located nearer the resort centre.
4. Out and About - The Mucky Duck pub out the back of the hotel and turn left 500 metres on the left hand side, very good pub.
5. Entertainment - appauling unless your German, staff however very friendly and helpful and childrens entertainers very good.

Positive - Very well kept grounds with plenty of beds available and plenty of pools.
Negative - Full of Germans, however they arent as rowdy as some brit yobs.

On the whole the hotel is good and would return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
just return from this hotel what a lovely hotel,food was great,only one complant was there was no bacon or sausages for breakfast.(bacon was dish up on 1 day)staff very friendly,entertainment team was good they worked very hard daytime and putting on show in the evening.enjoyed this holiday very much and would return to this hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Kally
9 years 9 months ago
I must admit I was a little apprehensive going to the hotel after reading some of the comments, but I am pleased to report it's excellent!!

My first AI holiday and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Thomson flights were great, especially on the way out. The hotel is great, we had a room in the older part, but had no problems what-so-ever, yes there is some flaking paint in some areas of the hotel, but everything is clean.

The food is good, lots to choose from. I can recommend the Asian restaurant (chinese) though, please book asap, we only just managed to get it, it only appeared to be open Tues through to Thurs, when we were there.

Plenty of drinks to choose from and all the bar staff, in fact all the hotel staff were very friendly.

Entertainment was good and lots to do in the day, if you wanted to join in.

The newer part seemed much more subdued in the evening, with a piano duo playing and people sitting around have quiet drinks. The older side is where it all happens!

Plenty of sunbeds, even later in the day, obviously the best ones are bagged early (need I say more)

My first visit to Lanzarote, I will certainly be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
M Kettle
9 years 11 months ago
i think this hotel has gone downhill from when we
where last there 1 the proper bacardi has gone
2 the entertainment. 5 nights out of 7 people were
just getting up and walking out. even with a lot of
english in the room the entertainment team never bothered
to speak it which they could if they wanted to
also a lot of coachroachs about the terrces in
the evenings we never saw anything being done
about it But saying all that the hotel still has its
plus points staff location etc
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Matt And Donna
10 years 5 months ago
Club Hotel Riu Paraiso is a very international hotel 10mins from airport.

Hot and cold self service food available all day and self service beer wine and soft drinks until midnight. Few if any bad points to report only it can get windy around the pool area and the restaurant can get very busy early on.

Ask for a Bacardi and coke you get the proper brand, and not much coke!

We booked flights with Thomson and hotel direct with Riu, Do your Maths...

Going again in July its very good value just shop around..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
E. Hughes
10 years 7 months ago
This was our first time at a RIU Hotel and the main reason to pick this hotel was that it advertised 2 heated swimming pools.

Our family was very impressed with the courteous service of the staff and the food was also excellent.

I would say that the 2 bed apartment was under par for a 4 star rating and was in need of a makeover.

Our only problem (and for us this is a big problem) was that the heated section of the pools were nowhere near the stated 25 degrees C, as stated upon arrival. The two large pools were both split in half where one half is heated and one half is not. The two small children's pools are also heated. A complaint was made early in our holiday but nothing was done about it. If you are looking at a Winter Sun holiday with a large heated pool to have fun with the older kids then this hotel complex is not the place to go!! I am not one normally not one for making a complaint but feel that on this occasion I feel very let down at it was also our first time in a 4 star hotel Winter Sun holiday and was personally looking forward to having a great time in the pool with the kids (as us fathers do!!!) but both our 6 and 15 year old would not come in to the large pools as they were too cold and spent their time in the small children's pool. We have been on numerous Winter Sun holidays in the past where both 2 and 3 star rated accommodation have had wonderful heated pools.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.