Image of San Marcial Apartments

San Marcial Apartments

52 of 89 hotels in Puerto Del Carmen

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
2 stars
Calle Alpahor, 4, 35510 Puerto del Carmen, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Harri
7 years 3 months ago
Apartments were clean, although a little dated. The bar served reasonably priced food and drinks, although was better for snacks then proper meals beware bar staff not the friendliest people in the world!

Hotel is located about 7 minutes walk from the beach, 10 minutes from the local small centre with restaurants/bars/supermarket.

Entertainment was hit and miss but what we did see was the usual Spanish tourist stuff. All in all value for money and would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Risteard Mac Cionnaigh
7 years 5 months ago
my first time ever in Lanzarote and was pleasantly surprised with the place. The apartment was cleaned 3 times aweek if we needed but we just wanted clean towels and got them. The staff were always there to help especially during this time with the Icelandic Volcanic ash problems. The onsite supermarket was a bit on the dear side. Especially when we got 1 Litre of red wine in the local Spar for half the price. The 1 down point was that the barman in the bar wore the same polo shirt for 5 days. Even enjoyed watching the aeroplanes taking off and landing at the airport.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
John And Anne
9 years 9 months ago
The one thing that can be said about San Marcial is that the Bar/Restaurant and its staff and prices are excellent.
As for the apartments..well...ours, number 117 had no view or aspect of any kind and we were dissapointed but it was as clean and serviced as well as our usual choice on Tenerife.
Because it was a quiet time of year some of the published entertainment did not appear.
We were also a little dismayed to find, we were expecting a reasonably quiet atmosphere in school term time, there were an extrodinary number of school age children here (at one point I counted 20 running about the pool area) several of whom were unsupervised on occasions and quite obtrusive at times.
Overall, would not go back, wished we had stuck with Tenerife.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Derek, Lisa & Emma
9 years 9 months ago
Having read the comments below i find the part about the kids rather sad. I mean the shock to find kids having fun around a pool whilst on holiday, goodness is that not what holidays are about fun? Also to address them being out of school some of us working parents have to take our holidays when we can get them.

We stayed here from the 17th to the 24th of January in room 103. We were right in front of the pool and had fun watching the brave kids venture into the freezing water during the day. No real noise during the day or at night to speak of just the usual comings and goings of a family hotel. The room was clean enough and well furnished it was cleaned twice and the towels changed twice in the 7 days (our only real complaint was this). The hotel is based around steep stairs so it may not be for older people with mobility problems.

The bar was reasonable for its food but more expensive for its drinks 2 euro's 50 cents for a soft drink or beer. We found the bar staff to be rather rude at times. This was more evident when the bar manager ordered two young lads sitting in the shade to get off the chairs because they were not buying a drink (they had spent every night in there before hitting the town). The bar was meant to be open until 1am but closed most nights before midnight.

We did three trips one being the market a breezy day where the price of goods for sale was very high. 45 euro for a shawl and 5euro 10 cents for bacon sandwich. We also did Rancho Texas which was good fun but still not good value for money. Our last trip was "Titty Trollops" we did not do this through the rep but found it good value and clean fun (something i was worried about taking our 12 yr old daughter to).

We did Lanzerote a few years back and loved it, sadly this time we found most of the good small resturants have gone, to be replased by the Lani's chain and so-called traditional Irish themed bars (non of the ones we have been in back in Ireland were like these). Sadly we wouldnt go back but would say the hotel was a good base to stay if you chose Matagorda Lanzerote.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Stephen & Elaine Green
9 years 9 months ago
Lovely spot for a quick holiday. Swimming pool absolutely freezing but still warmer than the one at home (I wish).

On site shop very expensive and the restaurant food good but owner very rude.

Rancho Texas night quite good from what I remember but very expensive 3 adults 2 children including guns and pictures etc 300 euros !

You have to drink alot of beer to get your money's worth. Market OK in Teguise and well worth a PAL trip, because where the reps give their spiel on bedding etc the town, Famara is absolutely beautiful.

Being so close to the airport is absolutely brilliant and very interesting watching the planes land. The best restaurant in the resort which was recommended by our neighbour on site is the Sapporo (Japanese) but not all raw food. Absolutely stunning and cooked in front of you at the table. Not expensive either.

Kids loved running around the pool and making friends and hopefully my two annoyed one of the previous writers who obviously doesn't like children.

Thoroughly recommend said apartments, although having read reports on hotel Beatriz Playa across the road, might try there next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Johnson Family
9 years 10 months ago
we stayed at san marcial appts for two weeks, at first it took us a while to get into the swing of things, as it was our first holiday abroad as a family. the food was excellent and service was good. we were so suprised that they put the beer glasses in the freezer first, then poured the beer into it, it was lovely and cold. the hotel was clean and tidy, not many utensils to use, there were only 2 forks for four of us. the staff were polite and helpful, there was a supermarket on site but the service was slow, and sometimes out of date newspapers! the reception staff rang for taxis for us a few times. The location of the hotel was good , not too crowded or miles away from anywhere. the beach was 5 mins down the road, the sea was actually warmer than the pool. the entertaiment was ok, you had quiz night, animal show and a singer entertaining us on another night. there were also 2 pool tables for the kids, swimming pool which was cold!!! you had to get used to the water and slowly get in! Our older son was a bit bored and wanted more exciting things to do, and in the form of scuba diving man that called to the hotel gave him a lesson in the pool, and then made arrangements to have another lesson in the sea, with a dvd for a reminder of the day.
On the whole we would go again,just need to look for more things to do. the weather was great except for last day it rained. 8/10 overall.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Naomi O' Connell
10 years 1 month ago
This was the best holiday we ever had!! It was amazing the staff were brilliant!! The food was to die for!! We were really happy with the cleaning(nearly evry morning!!) The staff were brilliant!! They'd really cheer you up! The entertainment was fab! And I'd definitely visit these apartments again!! We've been there twice now!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Furtaventura

Recommended
Beverley
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the San Marcial and I can say as a 50 year old who goes abroad twice a year this was the best hoilday to date. The whole place was great. The food in the resaurant on the site was excellent value ie. Full English Breakfast including Tea or Coffee for 2 was 9 Euros, and Evening Meal for 2 courses never cost more than 20 Euros.
The rooms were kept clean and fresh towels daily and cleaned every day.
The pool was cleaned daily and the area around was kept very clean.
Recption was not named all day but you were notified of the times. Supermarket on the site was a little expensive compared to the local shops but it was on your doorstep so no heavy water bottles to carry!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Maggie
10 years 3 months ago
This was my 6th time back to the san marcial and I have already booked to go back again. The staff are extremley friendly and the apartments and food are excellent. The complex provides a safe and enjoyable place for both children and parents to relax and there is something for everyone to enjoy.

You are always involved with other families so you are sure of having someone to talk with and have a nice drink at the pool side.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JWT

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
This was our second time staying at the San Marcial Apts - last time was 2 years ago before the refurb. We were informed when we got our tickets that the refurb was still ongoing, however when we booked early in '06 we were told it would be complete well before our arrival.

GUESS WHAT - We got two apartments that had not been modernised. The following is what we found:

Massive amounts of mould growing on the walls that stunk. It set both my son's and my own asthma off.

When the rings on the oven were turned on the electricity fused throughout the apt. The fuse board was exposed on the living room wall about 5 foot up the wall with no cover.

Electric switches were hanging off the walls.

You would not have bathed a dog in the bathroom never mind have a shower yourself - it was manky.

There was no 4th bed in the living room - WE had to move one from my in-laws apt.

There was no bedding for the beds in living room - we just managed to get them from reception before the cleaners went home. This is all at 7pm !!!

Sounds a disaster, however first thing next day we asked reception for a move. They said they would have to wait until the manager came in. We saw the First Choice rep as soon as she came for the welcome meeting. We were the only new arrivals so we had her to ourselves. She could not believe where we had been put and had a look round our apt. She gave us her word that we would be moved, which is exactly what happened. Both us and the in-laws moved two apts along to what can only be described as excellent apts. The bathroom was 4 star (honest) and the position of both apts couldn't have been better. We got the sun on the terrace morning and afternoon and the in-laws got it in the afternoon and evening.

Staff are brilliant although the staff in the bar/cafe are only happy when taking your money - turns out this is owned by different people to the apts.

Less than 5 mins from the beach and the central part that has all the bars and restaurants.

Would recommend these apts, although there are lots of steps so be careful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.