Image of Arona Gran Hotel

Arona Gran Hotel

3 of 24 hotels in Los Cristianos

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
4 stars
Av Juan Carlos I, 38 38660 Arona, Spain
The hotel has large public areas with glass covered arcades and interior fountains and allows guests to relax whilst having all that the resort has to offer on your doorstep.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
R Allen
9 years 1 month ago
we went in september the weather was perfect. this is a great hotel,right by the sea,too many rocks to swim there but only a short walk to a sandy beach ,all the rooms have a sea view, some from the front (best) some have a view from the side. all the staff are friendly and helpful.food was good with lots of choice. hotel kept very clean and tidy, entertainment every night (not the best) but it was free. we will be going back .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
We got transferred to this hotel by our tour firm has we are both in wheelchairs and the other hotel was not suitable the arona gran is the essence of luxury lovely people and very friendly and helpful staff the only down fall was if you wanted to join in with the daytime activities disabled guests could not get to the room but it didn't stop us enjoying the hotel and the outside amenities we would certainly go back the evening entertainment was very good and Lena the "boss " very friendly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Dave Allen
9 years 11 months ago
Major refurbishments ongoing which we were told would be completed for xmas 07.I wouldn't be surprised if it took longer. All first floor rooms were being done.Check before booking even after this date.One of the function rooms/restaurants was also closed.We were half board but were upgraded to full board due to the work.Bearing in mind the amount of work which was going on the hotel was still very clean.Fresh towels every day for the pool area and very comfortable sun loungers.Pools spotless and heated.The food on the whole was very good although I thought there could have been more choice at lunch.Men do not need a tie in the restaurant as is advertised in some holidy brochures.Rooms were fine.British TV channels were a bonus.The bathroom was ok with a good powerfull shower over the bath.Fresh towels every day.Staff were good,entertainment a bit weak.Overall the hotel was great despite the work and looked the best of the four star hotels that we visited in the area.It does look impressive when you go in.Everything is put on your room card and you pay for it all when you check out.It was very quiet in November but that could have been because people were aware of the refurbishments.If you want a relaxing holiday when the work is complete I would recommend this hotel. If you are after something lively look elsewhere.We would go back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Alison Raw
10 years 3 months ago
We have just stayed at this hotel from the 3rd to 10th July 2007. When we walked into the hotel on arrival the reception has a real WOW factor. The room was really nice too. We had literallt been in the room about 10 mins and a waiter arrived with a bowl of fresh fruit and 2 bottles of wine, the room was clean and there were nice little touches like the bath robes and slippers, a mini bar and fresh towels everyday.The pool and scenery at the hotel was lovelly. Palm trees and flowers all around. The food was brilliant, if you go hald board it is well worth it as the buffet style breakfast and everning meals could get you really fat. At breakfast most mornings you could have a glass or two of Cava which was included in with the price of course. Also we were served complimentry Cava or Orange juice at the pool side. We had a really relaxing dispite the referbushment work going on around us which did not disturb us too much. All told we had a relaxing time in great surroundings and we would stay at any of the Springs hotel groups in Tenerife again. Go you will love it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Walker
10 years 10 months ago
Have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel which is very clean, well run and has very different design. A good mix of European nations and a few Americans all of whom seemed to be over sixty were staying at the hotel.

Which catered well for people of limited mobility and he design of the hotel was good for wheechairs. The food was somewhat bland and not up to the standard of a 4**** hotel was the hotels main problem.

This latter judgement is however a personal one but others who had used the hotel on many ocasions also made the point that food quality had dropped since the hotel had become part of a chain. The location of the hotel at the far end of the resort well away from the port area with its bars and cafes.

The staff were excellent and could not be faulted. The entertainment did leave a little to be desired but again this is very much a personal choice.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mike, Anne Alex
11 years 2 months ago
Ok lets start with the negatives......because there are only a couple concerning the area. Located right at the very far end of Los Christianos it seems to be last in the queue for the refurbishment, though it is quite obvious that in a year or two it will have caught up with the rest of Los Cos with new shopping developments nearly ready for opening. Its about a 35 mins stroll to the harbour area which I think is rather tatty too......the thing which bugged me most was the constant string of people standing outside restaurants trying to entice you in, most were Brits.Have to say didn't see one time share tout though.

Onto the hotel now............which was really hard to find any negative points.

The staff at the reception to the chambermaids to the bar staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient.

Because the hotel wasn't busy when we arrived, we had an upgraded room with a pool view at no extra charge which really got our holiday off to a good start. Dave the Thomson rep was very good and helpful if you needed him.

The pool area is immaculate, best I've seen, 2 or 3 hours cleaning every night, all the 3 pools were heated too.On the 2nd week we were there the hotel got busier and if you got down after 9 0'clock would find it hard to get a bed.A nice touch was the free towels left in our room which were given to use down by the pools and were changed everyday if desired.

Can't really comment on the night time entertainment as we went into town every night, daytime was next low key with just water aerobics, darts and table tennis comps, no kids club which was OK as my 12 yr old boy would no have joined anyway.Talking of kids, the 1st week there were only a handful but by the 2nd week there were a significant amount, all well behaved though.Good mixture of nationalities too.

Rooms were very very clean spacious and enough room even with an extra bed in, only complaint is not enough draw space................oh theres a mini bar too, careful though it's a bit pricey. Just one tip, when you get into your room you will find an envelope with a form in, fill this in and you will get a card which gives you a 15% discount with the spring group who run the hotel, get a 15% discount on your bar bills when you settle at the end of your holiday.

All in all a very good holiday, would return, but probably as just a couple.One last thing, if you fancy a fantastic massage, visit the beauty shop which is in the galleries attached to the hotel, a young attractive girl to boot !!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This hotel is excellent, it is only 15-20 minutes from the airport, its very clean, hotel staff friendly and helpful.

The food was top notch, the reception area is really impressive.

The room was cleaned on a daily basis, and we were provided with bathrobes and slippers. The rooms do have hairdryers, but I would recommend you take your own. We had a sea view (did not pay extra for this) that overlooked the harbour. Was a little concerned on whether there would be a fight for sunbeds, but there was always plenty and we went during the main weeks. You are also provided with pool towels. There was some building work going on in the hotel, but you did not really notice it.

There is a supermarket (tesco products), bakery and plenty of bars just yards from the hotel.

Please note this hotel does not deal with cash for drinks and food etc, and you will be given a bill at the end of your stay. Drinks etc at this hotel are roughly priced as the UK (I would definitely recommend the Arona Gran cocktail), but you can eat and drink outside the hotel really cheap. Please also note you have to pay for your safe and mini bar.

The hotel does not have a beach as such but it is just a couple of minutes walk to one. The best thing about this hotel is that it is quiet, but the town only really starts a couple hundred yards down the prom. There is a market right next to the hotel on a Sunday and this is just as good as any other on the island (and we went to them all).

On your arrival at the hotel there is a letter in your room regarding joining the Spring club. Fill this form in as you get a card and you get 15% of all drinks, food and safe. It will also guarantee your room until 3 p.m. at no extra cost on your last day and will even give you discount on the cost of your room if you require to extend past 3 p.m.

The entertainment at the hotel is not up to much, I feel the hotel is more suitable for adults.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I can understand why people go back time and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Doyle
11 years 8 months ago
Just returned last week from staying at the Arona Gran with friends. We had a great week and enjoyed our stay.

The hotel look impressive on approach, and the reception area was very palatial.

The room was good (top floor)with a sea view and by leaving the balcony doors open at night we could hear the sea lapping up! Very relaxing.

Food was ok but sometimes unimaginative and not very hot(porridge ,chips, scrambled eggs in particular). Our trip was not a package but the hotel included taxi transfer. This was a golf holiday for the husbands but unfortunately one taxi was sent for 4 adults plus 3 suitcases and 2 golf bags! This was despite appropriate arrangements being made beforehand. It took the best part of a week for the hotel to agree to pay for the extra taxi. Golfers beware and arrange well beforehand.

Otherwise brilliant holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Expedia/Jet 2

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
This hotel has been recently taken over by the Spring group which owns the Vulcano and a couple of others. It was already very good, but I think they've improved
it. There are more sunbeds, all new, the food is better presented and repeat customers can now get 15% off bar and meal bills.

The staff, as ever, are wonderful. Cheerful, helpful and really interested in you as a person. Many are on "hugging" terms with old customers.

It's a little way from the town and from the nearest beach and doesn't provide anything special for children, although, again, the staff were lovely with them. Because of the relative isolation it's very quiet.

There is some renovation work going on in some rooms so check that you are not going to be near that as it could be a little noisy during the day. Mainly for the older customer, which we are, but we love it and will be going back for the fourth time next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Brian Moody
11 years 9 months ago
Arrived 13.00 hours 23rd December 2005 for Xmas and New year. Had to wait over one hour for room? This was 642 directly across from the lift went back down asked for a move. I was told room was quite no noise?? First big mistake it was so noisy lift brake Squealing and doors closing all night and into the early morning every time the 3 lifts stopped. It took 1 week to get moved this was done under pressure they just were not interested.

As for plenty of sunbeds there are but you are in competition with all the surrounding Back packers and apartment holiday makers who just walk into the hotel pool area and reserve the sun beds.

I emailed the manager told him there was a problem 1st January still No reply. They seem to take it that anyone can just walk in and use facilities at the expense of hotel guest that have paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.