Image of Benalmadena Palace Spa Aparthotel

Benalmadena Palace Spa Aparthotel

22 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4 out of 5 from 84 reviews
4 stars
Camino de Doña María, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain
Situated 2.5 kilometres away from the resort centre of Benalmadina Costa and 1.5 kilometres from the nearest restaurants, bars and shops. There is a sandy beach only 150 metres away.

84 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    42
  • Good
    20
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Location on a very steep hill
6 years 7 months ago
The hotel is on top of a hill and it is a really very steep climb. Most of the time I was there from 4th to 17th March it was raining and windy and cold. So after you come back and you are all wet you have to climb up the hill.

The hotel is cheap and it seems it has permanent vacancies because no one wants a hotel with such difficult access. There is a glut of hotels in Costa Del Sol and you could easily find cheaper and better accommodation right on the beach and no need to climb up the hill each time.

A few years ago I booked from Cooks for a 3 star hotel in Torremolinos and I found it much better situated, right on the beach, the Benalmedina Palace hotel is OK for families etc. or people who are content to stay in the hotel most of the time. Definitely not advisable for elderly(I am one)and with walking difficulties.

Also the rooms on the 7th floor have a slanting roof so that if you stand up you can dash your head against the roof. So do not take the 7th floor rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Dave/chrisfromstoke
Hotel and facilities were brilliant!
6 years 10 months ago
Picked up a bargain weeks holiday here from the 5th Dec. Well what can I say? The hotel and facilities are brilliant, the staff were also brilliant. Don't hesitate to book!

You do need to pay a 60euro deposit on arrival for breakages etc but fully refunded at the end of the week. No need to take towels, a 10euro deposit will secure you one which can be changed anytime and fully refunded when you finally hand it back saving you valuable weight on your travel luggage.

We had also a small bottle of water and a couple of t-bags, coffee, milk, an apple and orange on arrival which I thought was great.

Good supermarket at the bottom of the slope (at the back of the hotel, just go past the indoor swimming pool area).

Fantastic place loved the free jacuzzi, Spa, swimming pool and sauna. Get it booked if you can.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Elaine
Brilliant
7 years 2 months ago
Myself and a friend have just spent 5 nights in the Benalmadena palace hotel and spa. We found the hotel staff extremely helpful and pleasant at all times.

Facilities were good, especially the pool area, where there plenty of sun loungers, and the area was cleaned daily. There is a tiny shop on sight where there was a good selection of food, gifts etc, and newspapers.

Our room was excellent overlooking the pool and surrounding area, our beds were made each day and towels replaced daily. The hotel is build on a steep incline, but didn’t find it too much of a problem.

We would have no hesitation booking a future stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Diane
7 years 7 months ago
Stayed at this hotel on a girls weekend. We had chosen another hotel but it was closed so we were given the Benalmadena Palace instead. The reception and public areas in the hotel were well maintained and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful when we needed them and unobtrusive when we didn't. The room was perfect for our needs and just the right size. Towels changed everyday and beds made. Sofabed in the sitting area was very comfortable and easy to fold away. The hotel is a wee bit further out than we had expected but the walk was pleasant and easy enough to do if you were able. Taxis cheap and quick and plentiful so not too much hassle being further away. The entertainment that we took part in was very good, and staff 'Nicky from Newcastle' particularly good fun. Only one complaint would be the short drinking up time and the bar staff being slightly rude when asking us to leave the bar!!! Unfortunately it rained while we were there so we didnt use the outside pool but indoor one and spa area was just as good. 'Cardiac' Hill was a bit of a tought but actually not as bad as we had been lead to believe. Would definitely recommend for a break but if you want an adults only place maybe not the best for you.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independantly

Recommended
Phil
8 years 3 months ago
I visited this hotel last year with my family and was one of the most enjoyable holidays i have had. very relaxing. only a 10 minute walk to the beach. day entertainment and overall atmosphere of the resort was fabulous. staff interact with the children and strive to keep them entertained. many oppertunities for the children to make friends. very suitable for teenagers in a good location so if they want to go out of the complex to the closest bar its only 10 minutes down the road. disco bar and entertainment every night. staff were very friendly. strict life guards but they had a good laugh with the kids. hotel was spotless and havnt one complain about the rooms. when we got there we had to wait one hour on our roomn but the hotel provided us with safe security for our luggage to save us carrying it around and free drinks at the bar whilst we had to wait. view from bedrooms with pool and beach view is fantastic. cannot comment on food as we didnt eat in hotel but bar at pool food was nice. overall very enjoyable holiday and would definitly go back. many cheapo bars close buy like a chinese 3 course for 5 euro really cant beat it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent booking

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
Have just returned from this hotel via a booking with Alpharooms plus independant flights with Aer Lingus from Gatwick.
Overall my wife and I agree that we can't really be too critical of this hotel, it pretty much 'does what it says on the tin'
I do think we were extremely fortunate with our room, we requested a high room and didn't get 1 of the Studio apartments but got a perfectly adequate 1 bedroomed apartment on the 6th floor, right over the hotel's front entrance overlooking the mountains at the back and the sea to one side (see pictures).
Yes it has marble type floors which can make for some noise at night as people return to their rooms but I have to say that overall we heard very little.
The rooms had their towels changed every day, beds made every day and new sheets most, so absolutely no complaints there.
As I say, your room can make or break it and we had a well located and perfectly comfortable room. I heard an Irish woman who had just checked in complaining her room stunk of cigarettes and hadn't been cleaned and was quite upset but if you look at all the rooms I have to say (like most hotels) there are some locations I would definitely not want to have had our room. Yes I've had better rooms but I've also had worse and this is your usual Med 3* type room with a fridge, hob and a microwave even though we were there on HB basis. I'm aware the hotel is classed as 3* but I think that is because of the indoor pool and other Spa type things they offer. Effectively I would say it's a good 3* standard.

Food & Evening entertainment'

Had read other reviews before we went about people on HB saying the food in the evening was a bit mundane and sometimes not warm.
Well we thought the food was absolutely fine, breakfast was excellent, again usual Med hotel offerings, cereals, yogurts, toast and all the fry up options on a buffet basis. They will cook you an omelette if you ask as well.
Heard some woman moan about queuing for toast at the machine 1 morning which annoys me immensely, get a life quite honestly or use the toaster in your room!
Evening meals always had chips on offer for people who wanted that, pasta, boiled/roast potatoes, show cooked pork, lamb, chicken etc...
Yes ok they tend to overcook the sprouts and broccoli in these hotels but i don't mind!
Salad bar could have had a better choice to be honest, needed some of those big Spanish peppers more and sometimes the day before's food turned up in a rice salad.
But hey, no one had stomach upsets (which we have had), food was hot, well prepared, frequently refreshed, plates tidied from tables quickly, friendly and smiley staff.
Overall food was good we'd say but lacked variety a little and other places we've been to have had theme nights (Chinese/Italian etc..) which would help I think.
But don't want to be critical really, would have bored a little of 2 weeks of this food but realistically for the hotel for myself, my wife and our 5 year old daughter we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Laura Chapel
8 years 7 months ago
Reception staff were excellent. Had an awful view from our room recpetion offered us a choice of 2 others which were great and they didnt have to as we hadnt paid extra for a sea view or anything. Excellent facilities both outdoor pools were too cold when we went at the end of march so the inside pool was lovley. Life guards very friendly and efficient. Patrice aka Beny the Tiger really made the holiday for us though. Our little girl is a bit shy and he really made an effort to get her involved.

The location isnt great though bit out of the way but its good exercise and a pleasent walk.

The breakfast is fantastic but not impressed with evening meal. Ok i guess for what we paid but if I went again would just book bb.

I dont have any faults with the hotel but one thing that took me by suprise was the amount of groups of young people. bad language and drunken idiots spoilt a few days by the pool. We were on the 2nd floor the same as the disco, after 12 the doors were closed but it was really noisey with people coming out. We did complain once to reception and to there credit it was dealt with promptly. We did speak to people on other floors who heard nothing on a night though. I mentioned this to reception on leaving and the guy mentioned they get a lot of stag do's because of the price which is a fair comment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ryan air / holiday nights

Recommended
David
8 years 8 months ago
Background information
We (my wife and our 17 month son) have just returned today, 1st March 2009 from a one week holiday at the Benalmadena palace.
(This is our first package holiday for 5 years, we used to book all our holidays through trailfinders so our expectations are quite high, unfortunately we don't agree taking a baby on long haul holidays so its 2-3 hours flying time max for the next few years)it was the 3rd holiday with the baby the other two being scheduled flights and booking hotels separately.


The first thing you notice about the hotel is the big hill, I had read about it on here after we had booked, so I was expecting a hill. I now know why they call it Cardiac hill ! You can view a video on ''you tube''. The hill has two half's the first slog takes you up to the carpark level where you can use the lift to miss out the second part of the hill. (I think the first part of the hill is worse than the second half.) (Try pushing a pram with a baby and the normal accessories up the hill, you will have big calf muscles by the end of the week) We hired a car for the week so we only did it once.
The hotel itself was great, its not the same standard as a 4 star that you get in the far east or at a business users hotel but it was better than I had expected. The staff were really friendly, the rep Kerry did a great job (even though we didn't book any excursions from her)the children's entertainer Patrice was brilliant. There was something to do all day for the children and adults. (although one area of improvement would be longer opening times of the childrens play area. 10am-4pm that's when most people are out and about and they like to come back and let the children run off some energy. The indoor pool was fantastic this time of the year.
Every night there was live entertainment in the disco bar. its starts off with children play time from 8.00pm until 9.30pm then the kids can go to the cinema or stay with you for the adults entertainment, they were singers, magicians, live bird show (feathered variety) reptile show, flamenco dancing, bingo, also you could watch all the live sports events on sky TV football rugby etc.
The hotel had lots of other facilities, games room, internet cafe, spa, sauna, gym, massage, hairdresser, washing machines,
A few tips which I didn't see on here, you can hire your pool side towels, 10 euros for the week, you can also hire a cot and high chair for your room, the towels are changed daily and you have a hairdryer and safety deposit box in your room. even though we were half board we still had a self catering room.with fridge, cooker, microwave and electric kettle.
In February the mix of guests was varied in ages, mainly parents with pre-school children. (half term week would have been older children) and the OAP groups.
The food was good (buffet style). (not excellent) the breakfast was as good as I have had in many business hotels or hotels of higher standard. you had the normal continental style meats, cheeses, pastries, cerals etc or the full english breakfasts cooked in front of you bacon, fried eggs, sausages etc. the evening meals had a few choices of starters, and about 4 or 5 different main course options, you would be struggling not to find something you liked. Its not restaurant standard, its mass catering more brewers fare standard of food.

Overall
We had a fantastic holiday. beside the flights and the airports. It exceeded my expectations and you get what you pay for, you can't get champagne for beer money. Its great for families and any age group, but I wouldn't recommend it as a lads/girls holiday in the 18-30 theme.

We hired a car for the full week. a seat Ibiza we took our own baby seat,(its not part of your weight allowance)
Places visted
Marbella and old town
Puerto Banus
Mijas
Gibaralter (twice, stock up on you duty frees here ! although we were stopped at customs on the spanish border, we were within the limits) went up to the rock with the apes.
Selwo marine world, The dolphin show was brilliant
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Locker
8 years 10 months ago
The reception staff were very nice and would help you with any of your requests,very helpful.
The Hotel is a short walk into the centre of Banalmadena,which is great to walk off your brekky or your evening meal.only 15 mins to the centre
It was exceptionally imaculate,and changed towels if you wished,they cleaned,the room each day,and also made the bed,even on Christmas day.All the staff were pleasant,and did a great job.
The entertainment was brilliant, and Patrice was excellent,he showed the adults how to shoot with a rifle and there was Archery,Pentanca [French boules ]and much more.There was lots of entertainment for the children,indoors and out.The cinema is small but come on how many hotels do you know with a cinema ?The evening entertainment was great, various artist's with different act's and entertainment,very profesional.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Rich
9 years ago
when checking in reception asked for a deposit of 60 euros to cover breakages!!! never been asked that anywhere in the world before.you can use your credit card(not advisable)or cash.the hotel is very clean throughout as are the rooms.our room had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms/living area with fold down bed/tv with english channels/kitchen area with 2 ring hob and microwave/balcony.Towels were changed most days.plenty of sunbeds by the pool.inside pool and gym/suana/small shop.bars have happy hour 5pm till 6pm & 10pm till 11pm BOGOF drinks.sky sports & setanta.entertainment every night.also has own cinema.
didn't eat in the hotel/cheap supermarket at the back you can get to by going past shooting range(gate is locked between 7pm & 8am.
hotel situated top of a hill/can get access via car park underneath.10 mins walk to resort.5mins walk to nearest bars.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.