341 independent reviews of Benalmadena, Spain
Benalmadena Location

4/5
Benalmadena is rated 4 out of 5 from 341 Reviews

Benalmadena Hotels

Benalmadena Reviews

4/5


Bill and Margaret visited here on March 2009
The resort of Benalmadena is excellent for both young and not-so-young. For good bars try Brian\'s Bar in Bonanza Square and Chrissie\'s Bar on Avenida Telefonica. The beaches are kept clean daily and were very popular. Paloma Park is also worth a visit to see the cactus garden, fountain, rabbits, chickens, ducks, geese, peacocks, etc.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Ane Gray visited here on March 2009
This was my first visit to the COstas for over 20 years - I was very dissapointed and would not really choose to go back.
The resorts from Marbella to Malaga - we visited each one of them during our time out there - are nothing more than concrete jungles.
The beaches whilst appearing from a distance to be nice - require big clean ups and are rather \'messy\'.
We didn\'t come across any entertainment - maybe that was just cos it was out of season but as it advertised to be a year round resort then I felt it should have catered more.
Im not phased about having gone and not enjoyed the resorts etc. We made the break worthwhile for us ...
and that was all that mattered - we needed to de-stress but we wont be back.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


laura chapel visited here on March 2009
Resort very clean. Not the best to comment on the entertainment going out of season it was dead we didnotice it picking up as we were leaving on the 1st april.
Stillin shockat how expensive everythingis now though. prices have gone up about 10% then with the pound working out the same as the euro it wanst a cheap holiday. Couldnt find suntan cream under 15 pound and even a burger and chips would set you back 7 euros. We noticed it was alot busier though the day and dead on a evening this may be because if the prices and people just eating out for one meal a day.

Lots of scams to be aware off.Dont fall for the scrath ...
card scam everyone wins they offer you free tickets totivoli world or sea world but you have to give up a day of your holiday to visit a timeshare resort and they get quite miffed ifyour not interested in buying one! these people are very very pushy. Also if u buy a beach towel from a shop dont accept one they get you allready packaged without checking. We fell for this and when we got to the beach it was half the size!!!

Also a few of the bar owners warned us of bag snatchers dont put you bags down in the floors of restraunts if you can help it.
It is a nice place just unfortunatly full of con artists - keep your wits about you!!

Would definatly reccommend Seawo marina just behind the main park which is also excellent. you can find this up the road from all the windmills. And the best meals is mama gina\'s

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

2/5


David visited here on February 2009
In my opinion its tacky, but not as bad as Torremolinos. I know that before we booked so my expectations weren\'t that high. it was about on par with what I expected, lots of Mc D\'s Burgerkings, fast food joints, bars up by expats, tacky shops selling tack. timeshare salesmen and women offering lottery tickets that you always win on. and high rise hotels.
Plenty of old folk about, who all appear to smoke and have tattoo\'s and talk about the weather.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


g wyatt visited here on January 2009
we found the resort to be very clean and friendly you never felt intimedated at any time day or night.There is lots bars to choose from and at 1 euro a pint you dont feel that you are being ripped off.The beaches are excellent and very clean and the prom is lovely to walk the length of.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


Locker visited here on December 2008
Our holiday in Benalmadena was brill,the center of the resort is about a 20minute walk,but of course there are bus\'s,and they are about every 10 mins. We enjoyed our walk into the centre,and we had a walk on the beach,which was very clean.We went for a walk on Christmas day,and saw lots of buses,going to various places,so we needn\'t have walked.The beach was cleanwith no litter or dog poo.It was only a short walk to bars,and a couple of night clubc.There is lots of restaurants,if you are self catering,and YES they were open on Christmas day.

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


rich visited here on October 2008
resort is whatever you want it to be/bars etc or nice restaurants.beware of scratchcard touts or people asking you what travel company you came with.they still try to give you a scratchcard to win a bottle of whisky at a holidy presentation.dont take one!beach nice with plenty of sunbeds.marina area is great.you can walk on the beach to torremolinas.be careful crossing the road.zebra crossings not pedestian friendly.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


ann ferguson visited here on October 2008
the marina was lovely and the beach was really clean though you have to be careful of pickpockets i would advise only carrying what you need for the day so if you are unlucky you will still have money
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


George visited here on September 2008
Would definitely return to this resort can be anything you want it to be quiet or Loud there are a lot of bars spread throughout the resort a lot down side streets the centre of Benalmedena is more for the young ones but there is plenty for older people there is a park in the middle of the resort Paloma Park which is brilliant big lake with catfish up to 2 foot long hundreds of Turtles Swans Geese even a small animal zoo the Marina is magnificent with a huge shopping centre around it the beaches are grit not sand but very clean,the transport system is also excellent both the bus and train service,one of the best things is you ...
can just get a taxi from the airport to resort for 25 Euros or get the train and then a taxi outside the train station for about 7/8 Euro\'s for both let me know if I have missed anything.
Geovil
Geovil

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


perry visited here on September 2008
been many times to benalmadena. something for everyone. great sea front and marina. you can walk from benalmadena to torremolinos on sea front, all traffic free. carhuelas is a great area for shopping and stop and have a drink. yes, will return.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


glen sarah & charlie visited here on August 2008
The beach was a short down hill walk away a killer coming back up about 30 steps and \"cardiac hill\" to the hotel. Sun loungers not a cheap option up to 5 euro\'s but very comfy.
The harbour and marina very pictoresque .Lots of shops and bars around it. Visit Paloma Park a short walk away a beautiful place with ducks, chickens, peacocks ,rabbits and guinea pigs all roaming free a lake full of terrapins and 3 bars within its location.
Lots of local English pubs that were a lot cheaper than the hotel , try Lilly Langtrys beer 70 cents and a very warm welcome from the staff,or Bonanza that has lots of live acts free entry
The shops were all the ...
tourist type selling the same stuff.
The only criticism I have was the amount of looky looky men and others selling at you constantly in the bars and the beach.And one or two time share sellers touting for business using winning scratch cards as bait too lure you.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Tony visited here on August 2008
What can I say about Benalmadena and the surrounding areas that have not been said before. Beautiful, picturesque, paradise the list goes on.

Unfortunately Benalmadena Costa has lost some of its magic for me. I used to call this place my second home but not now. I can\'t put my finger on it as to why but the sparkle has gone.

We spent time at the Marina, Paloma Park, Fuengirola, Torremolinos, Benalmadena Pueblo, Malaga and Mijas as well as the normal round the pool and on the beach. I have to say I enjoyed my time outside the main resort more than the days spent in it.

Strolling aound Arroyo is probably still one of my favourite past times as is strolling around ...
Paloma Park but its about time the Mayor spent some money on tidying the place up a bit.

I\'m not saying Benalmadena Costa is dirty put the same paving stones are cracked or loose as they were in 2000. We noticed on several occasions people allowing their dogs to foul the footpath despite the fact there ae designated areas for dogs. The Mayor and his team need to act soon or Benalmadena\'s tourist trade from the UK will drop.

I cant comment on the resort entertainment but the show bars Bonanza, Buzbys and El Elefante seemed to attract a good crowd evey night.

We did eat on most nights and all the places we ate at served up good meals. Poppys, Panda Chinese, Angies, Bees Knees, Halfway Inn, Pekin Chinese, North and South and the Indians down the hill from the Bali to name a few were all very good.

Poppys has a new cook and the steak was spot on. The chinese is good value for money at 4.95 euros for the menu of the day.

We also ate at a couple of Spanish places on the sea front which gave good value for money. Dont ask the names because I cant remember.

Benalmadena in short needs to be dragged into the 21st century kicking and screaming and then for me perhaps the sparkle might come back.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


L Woods visited here on August 2008
I ahve only given the resort entertainment a three because i didnt leave the hotel much at night as everything was catered for. The only down side to my whole holiday in this area was the hill on the way up to the hotel but you are advised about it and after a few days in does become easier to manage.

All in all this is one of the best places I have ever visited for a holiday..
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


birkett visited here on August 2008
great location very clean pretty good food great beachs consisting of two lovely bays brilliant veiws staff super yes i would go again pool a short walk along the beach front life gaurd and security allways
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


The Robinsons visited here on March 2008
Benalmedina was a lovely place to visit with plenty to do for everyone.There is alovely park just off the front called Paloma Park with animals running around.The marina,cable cars and the usual shops and Markets.The bus service is very good if you wanted to try neighboring resorts.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Rod visited here on December 2007
Despite beeing very quiet at this time of the year, the resort was spotless and the beach raked and swept immaculately. Of course many of the bars were closed so entertainment was greatly reduced. However, Benalmadena still gets my vote as one of the best.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


pato visited here on November 2007
In November pretty quiet but usually managed to find somewhere that had a bit of life.

The the area around the harbour seemed to be mainly Spanish people and did not get busy until after midnight

at the 24hour square up the hill it was the usual costa del sol type bars that the brits pile into and they were relatively quiet (Molly Malones probably the best, Linekers the worst)
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


m aston visited here on November 2007
The main problem with this resort is that everything is either up or down hill.There are some good bars just down the bottom of the hill of death ( its a killer) and some good places to eat in the square up the hill.
PLEASE BE VERY AWARE OF THE MAIN ROAD AT THE BOTTOM, THE CARS TRAVEL VERY FAST, ME AND THE FATHER IN-LAW WITNESSED A FATALITY ON THE ROAD SO BE VERY CAREFULL WITH CHILDREN AND DO NOT TRUST THE CROSSINGS, ALWAYS DOUBLE CHECK.
The marina is well worth a visit with lots to see but was infested with flies like the whole of the resort ( i dont know if this is a problem just at this time ...
of year or not)Torremelinos and Fuengerola were very nice and easy to get to on the local bus service

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


charles hemingway visited here on November 2007
we saw plenty of street cleaners both walking and machines the resort is kept quite clean to say it is november.

did not go on the beach but the promanade is a good walk and clean.

I hope to go back to this resort next year

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Craig visited here on November 2007
benalmadena in November is very quite so if your looking for great nightlife look elsewhere, prices for eating and drinking vary depending how near you are to the long fantastic beach front, the weather was not that good as we had 4 days of rain 2 cloudy and 1 scorcher which happened to be on our last day i suppose its the chance you take at this time of year, the marina was beautiful and would love to see it at the height of summer, a big resort and would go again but i think the next time would be a summer holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Aloha Playa Sol Hotel  stars Aloha Playa Sol Hotel
Suited to couples and families in search of high standards of comfort, the recently refurbished Aparthotel Sol Aloha Play offers a wide range of facilities and Sol's great entertainment programme, caters for a range of nationalities.

Latest Review: May 2008

Ranked #15 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

5/5
Arcosur Principe Spa Hotel  stars Arcosur Principe Spa Hotel
Hotel Arcosur Principe Spa is situated 50meters from the beach and about 10 minutes walking from Puerto Marina (Benalmadena Coast). The hotel offers 130 units featuring bathrooms, balcony, telephone, satellite TV and air conditioning.

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Bali Hotel  stars Bali Hotel
Address: Avenida de Telefónica, 7, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Balmoral Hotel  stars Balmoral Hotel
Address: Avenida de Antonio Machado, 29630, Spain

Latest Review: Oct 2011

Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3/5
Benal Beach Apartments  stars Benal Beach Apartments
Address: Av. Del Parque 3urb. Benal Beach, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #26 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Benalmadena Palace Spa Aparthotel  stars Benalmadena Palace Spa Aparthotel
Situated 2.5 kilometres away from the resort centre of Benalmadina Costa and 1.5 kilometres from the nearest restaurants, bars and shops. There is a sandy beach only 150 metres away.

Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #21 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Best Benalmadena Hotel  stars Best Benalmadena Hotel
With a priviledged position directly opposite the beach, a wide choice of bars, restaurants and Puerto Marina nearby this brand new hotel is set to be perfect for families.

Latest Review: Mar 2007

Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3/5
Best Siroco Hotel  stars Best Siroco Hotel
Set in an elevated position, the hotel is built around two swimming pools set in well tended landscaped gardens. The calm and pleasant atmosphere is ideal for relaxation and a short stroll will take you out onto the beach, with an excellent variety of shops.

Latest Review: Oct 2013

Ranked #22 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

5/5
Costa Marina Apartments  stars Costa Marina Apartments
A must for couples in search of a modern, small and friendly holiday base, the Costa Marina is situated between Fuengirola and Benalmadena, just a short stroll downhill from the beach. Apartments here are comfortable and well equipped.

Latest Review: Mar 2005

Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Doramar Apartments  stars Doramar Apartments
Address: Calle del Siroco, 6, 29630 Benalmádena Costa, Spain

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

1/5
Jardines del Gamonal Apartments  stars Jardines del Gamonal Apartments
Address: Apartamentos Jardines Del Gamonal, C/ Zodiaco, 7, 29631 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #27 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Jupiter Minerva Apartments  stars Jupiter Minerva Apartments
Address: Av de Gamonal, 29631 Arroyo de la Miel-Benalmádena Costa, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
La Roca Hotel  stars La Roca Hotel
Address: Carretera de Santander-Cádiz, 5, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Mar 2009

Ranked #18 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Las Arenas Hotel  stars Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Av de Antonio Machado, 22, 29631 Arroyo de la Miel-Benalmádena Costa, Spain

Latest Review: Feb 2011

Ranked #11 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Los Patos Hotel  stars Los Patos Hotel
Address: Carretera de Santander-Cádiz, 50, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Feb 2008

Ranked #17 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
MS Alay Hotel  stars MS Alay Hotel
A well established property within the UK market, offering good standards of comfort and service. The hotel boasts an excellent central location next to the resort, promenade and yachting harbour. Enjoying splendid views across the marina.

Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #4 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3/5
Palmasol Hotel  stars Palmasol Hotel
This large, modern, hotel has a great location in the heart of Benalmadena's tourist area and is just a short walk from the beach. Set in beautiful gardens, the hotel H10 Palmasol offers good facilities and quality accommodation and is perfect for couples.

Latest Review: Sep 2014

Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Playa Bonita Hotel  stars Playa Bonita Hotel
Families simply love the superb beachside location, great facilities and entertainment offered here. Set beside the sea in splendid seclusion, yet with easy access to the bustling centre of Benalmadena on the shuttle bus service.

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #7 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Pueblo Evita Club Villa  stars Pueblo Evita Club Villa
Address: Calle del Palmito, 29630 Benalmadena Costa, Spain

Latest Review: Mar 2007

Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena Hotel  stars Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena Hotel
Address: Avd. del puerto deportivo, s/n, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Dec 2007

Ranked #3 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Riviera Hotel  stars Riviera Hotel
A customer favourite for many years, the Hotel Riviera, has wonderful sea views both from the pool terraces and dining room. Access to the beach is by the lift or along the stepped pathway.

Latest Review: Jun 2012

Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
San Fermin Hotel  stars San Fermin Hotel
Address: Calle de San Fermín, 21, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Sep 2008

Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3/5
Sirenis Holiday Palace Hotel  stars Sirenis Holiday Palace Hotel
Sirenis Holiday Palace in Torremuelle will be another excellent addition to the Sirenis hotel chain and all facilities in the hotel are planned for the opening in Summer 2004. You can relax by the pool and enjoy the facilities on offer.

Latest Review: Oct 2006

Ranked #23 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Sunset Beach Club  stars Sunset Beach Club
With a great waterside location this large and modern complex is suitable for everyone. You can either try out the two swimming pools or take a stroll to the beach either way you are always close to the local bars, cafes and restaurants.

Latest Review: Aug 2011

Ranked #13 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Triton Hotel  stars Triton Hotel
Address: Avenida de Antonio Machado, 29, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Dec 2011

Ranked #12 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

4/5
Villasol Hotel  stars Villasol Hotel
Address: Avenida de Antonio Machado, 43, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

Latest Review: Jul 2011

Ranked #18 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena

3/5
Vistamar Apartments  stars Vistamar Apartments
Situated just minutes away from the beach, this new property is ideal for those seeking a beach based holiday with many amenities close by. All apartments are furnished to high standards. The restaurant offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner.

Latest Review: Dec 2007

Ranked #25 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena
Share