28 independent reviews of the Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Av de Antonio Machado, 22, 29631 Arroyo de la Miel-Benalmádena Costa, Spain
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel Location
Ranked #11 of 28 hotels in Benalmadena


4/5
Las Arenas Hotel Las Arenas Hotel is rated 3.96 out of 5 from 28 Reviews
82% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (28 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Las Arenas Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Impressed with the hotel"
Peter had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel in February 2011
This was the first time we have stayed at Las Arenas.

The staff were very efficient and friendly.

The room was very good with sea view. Room was spotless, cleaned every day including bedding. Satellite TV so could get Sky news, Eurosport, BBC1 and ITV.

The food (breakfast and evening meal) was excellent with a very good choice.

Overall we were impressed with the hotel so would stay again.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

luci visited the Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena, Spain in December 2009
The hotel is now a 4* and it shows. In addition to a quiet seating area at reception, there is a large bar/lounge with entertainment every night. We didn’t stay for the entertainment so can’t comment. There are also various daytime activities.

The restaurant is bright and airy with a small buffet area. The food is always fresh and constantly replenished. We were staying B&B and the breakfast was very good. You can have dinner for €14pp.

The whole hotel is spotless. There are 3 very small lifts to the bedrooms. There are 7 floors, but the lift only goes up to the 6th floor and those on the 7th floor have to go up a flight of stairs.

We asked for and got a seaview room with wonderful views towards Torremolinos. This side ...
of the hotel is in shade, but the other side would be in full sun which is something to bear in mind if you visit in the summer.

There is free wifi in the reception area, but managed to get it on the balcony although not in the room. There are two computer terminals for those without a laptop which cost €1 for 15 mins.

The room is average size for a Spanish hotel and spotless with either twin or double beds. There is a double mirrored wardrobe which was half hanging space and the other half shelved. This housed the safe. The dresser had 4 drawers at one side and a fridge at the other which was very handy. The TV had Sky News, BBC1 and Eurosport. The sheets and towels were changed every day. A late check out until 6pm was €20

The bathroom was bright and clean with a shower over the bath with a glass screen. Ample room for toiletries. The toiletries provided included soap, bath gel, shampoo, a dental kit including toothbrush and paste, a razor kit and a comb. The bath gel was replaced every day. There is also a hairdryer in the bathroom.

Good size pool with large sun terrace with loungers and a kids’ pool

The hotel is opposite Bil Bil Castle and there is a bus stop nearby. It is close to bars and restaurants and there is a small supermarket behind the hotel.

Santa Ana beach is across the road with more bars and restaurants. The hotel is on a main road and traffic noise may bother some, but didn’t bother OH who is a light sleeper.

Paloma Park is behind the hotel with access from the Windmill roundabout.

We had dinner at the Milan Indian and Italian restaurant at Windmill roundabout which was very good. After the meal they gave us a voucher for bottle of wine or main course on the house on our next visit.

We had dinner at the Port ‘O’ Call carvery which was excellent. €9.95 for the carvery and a desert. We had beef, pork and gammon with loads of fresh vegetables and there was a good choice of desserts such as jam roly poly, apple crumble and custard, bread and butter pudding, trifle, etc.

If we return to Benalmadena I am sure we will stay at Las Arenas again as we thought it was an excellent hotel and the free wifi and fridge would be enough to tempt us back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Lorraine McCord had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel in July 2009
Hotel very well kept staff cleaning all the time Foodwas very varied and plenty for everyone I am a fussy eater and there was always something suitable.Reception staff not very pleasant but the other staff always very nice Two things not so good were the entertainment which was awful and the pool was too small and therefore too deep and the kiddies pool was the deepth of a paddling pool There was no pool bar which meant going downstairs to get a drink. For those who are less mobile beware as the pool is up steps with no lift available and when you arrive the coach will drop you off at the bus stop up the road and you have to walk along the road and the same when you are going home you have to trail your cases up ...
the road and wait in the heat in our case for 40 mins which I felt was unexceptable

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

hicking visited the Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in July 2009
lovely hotel . booked independently with thompson easy check in room was 403 which overlooked the road and beach , although the road was busy it did not bother us when sleeping in fact we loved watching all the amazing cars from porches to lambaginnis and ferraris yes this is where the money is . Great beach bar oppossit though a little slow when fetching your bill . Lovely marina which is about nat 30 minutes brisk walk plenty to do . the hotel as an entertainment guy who was good not pushy though again more suited from the ages of 8 years and upwards ,Food good plenty of choice and lovely staff very civerlised , Pool small but had no complaints as always got a sunbed even though we were thwere during school holidays . No pool side bar ...
, however you just go downstairs and fetch them up tp the pool if you wish nobody getting drunk happy hour 5 till 6 buy one get one free which was great ,also do slushes strawberry and lemon at 3 euros large sizes and 20 different flavoured icecreams at 2 euros . Would definatley go back very civilized hotel great to chill out and watch the world go by ... have fun

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

S&C had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena, Spain in July 2009
Excellent hotel well laid out especially pool area fantastic view overlooking sea from our sunbeds. Pool area had only one access which was unlocked at 9am thus preventing sunbeds being reserved before then. Plenty sunbeds and moveable parasols. Rooms were well maintained towels changed daily. Quality of food in restaurant of a high standard with a great variety and very attentitive staff. Would certainly stay here again if returning to the area. Excellent cocktail bar on beach front opposite hotel.

Tour Operator: Globespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Paul H had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena, Spain in May 2009
There certainly isn

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

walshaw had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in January 2009
this hotel was absolutly fantastic anything u wanted was no trouble at all the staff were freindly and polite always smiling, the food was lovely a large range to choose from and it was hot the meat was cooked on a grddle and done as it was wanted, there was entrtainment every night from dancer to bingo, the hotel is situated in a central location straight across the road from the beach and is not a long walk from the marina and supermarkets the pool area is clean and tidy and the rooms are cleaned every day and done well with towel and beddin changed every day the hotel is on a main road but it is not noisy as u would think it would be we had a room on the front and hardly heard any traffic at all ...
we are definaly going back to this hotel its the best on the costa del sol!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

ropers stayed at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in October 2008
were to start,the food was super,the hotel was spotless,the location was brill,the hotel staff carnt do enought for you,the entertainment was better then most. we have been to this hotel three times now and it just keeps getting better and better.they have a happy hour everyday,and entertainment everyday.the buffet style dinner and breakfast never run dry,always topped up and hot,the room we had was on the front off the hotel so much room it was a great size,for three adults the third bed was in its own room,we had a fridge,and aircon for free,some now charge for aircon and fridge,but not here,will be going back again next year,its fantastic.

Tour Operator: thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

K visited the Las Arenas Hotel in August 2008
I don\'t feel like writing an essay so please find my summary below, there were two of us in our early twenties at this hotel and our experience was:

Room - Averge size, good air con which was free, decent sized little fridge for you to put your drinks in, tv including BBC1 and various international channels. Powerful shower & hairdryer, lots of little toiletries which were kept topped up without even asking.

Staff - Waiters extremely nice, humourous and hardworking without seeming fake. Cleaners very thorough and polite. Reception staff nice although the young blonde woman a little snooty with me, although funnily enough not my bf!

Entertainment - Poolside activities guy had funny banter, pingpong, darts etc for kids and adults, he wasn\'t pushy though, if you want to play, you go to him. Can\'t comment on night time as we\'re ...
not really at that age, but families and older couples seemed to enjoy it.

Food - Fantastic! HB for 2weeks and anticipated boredom and plain food geared towards timid British pallates. Not so, the hotel guests were about 2/3rds Spanish, this was reflected in the buffet. Lots of fresh fish, salads, veg, and more unusual items. Didn\'t get bored once, although obviously the breakfast can only vary too much (how many dif breakfasts does one make at home though.... I\'m pushed to count more than 5!)Special mention to the abundance of fresh fruit at both courses - beautiful. So you can choose to SLIM or SIN as the desserts were equally tempting.

I must say that the views from the balconies are mostly sea view, front or side. And we experienced no noise, although occasionally we could hear the cleaners conversing in the morning (our version of morning is about 10am though)

Final point, it\'s right next to the beach, but most of the hotels aren\'t far from it. It\'s a fair walk of about 20min to the harbour.

I hope this helps!!!!
K


Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Graham had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel in April 2008
Hotel spotless, rooms immaculate, food good with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Location excellent, all staff very friendly and helpful. Entertainment poor and bar area smokey, however lounge area in front of hotel pleasant, relaxing and smoke free. Would definately visit again, hotel probably geared more for adults than families.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

sharon,dave+josh visited the Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena, Spain in April 2008
We stayed at Hotel Las Arenas April 2008. Hotel was spotless and food really good. Our room was 309 and had a lovely view of sea and pool area, location perfect, on the beach front opposite beach bar Maracas and central for all bars and restaurants.

Shakespeare's Cafe a few doors away do an excellant breakfast if you can't get up in time for your own. Must try Tiny's Bar 10 mins up the road, very friendly atmosphere and very cheap.

Loved Benalmadena, going back soon.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Mr M Hall stayed at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena, Spain in March 2008
The hotel is rated 4 star it barely rated 3 star. The food was cold and dry the leftover were reused and mixed with the following days food (scrambled egg mixed with peas for breakfast!) No labelling of dishes.The rooms were very small with paper thin walls and very noisy.The staff apart from the waiting staff were arrogant.The entertainment was dismal.There was no porterage available.Would we visit Las Arenas again - no way!

Tour Operator: Jet 2 holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

clark stayed at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in October 2007
hotel is spotless,rooms immaculate,clean bedding and towels every day. we have been to this hotel 5 times in the past year and will always return.the staff are delightful and go out of their way to make your stay one to remember.we felt the food was going down hill a little bit but there is always something for everyone.their fresh fruit is lovely.we would recommend this hotel to any couples but do not think it is for children as it is beside a busy road and not much for children to ...
do in hotel.if you look for cleanliness this hotel is for you.look forward to returning in february.

Read More

Tour Operator: flyglobespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Joan Bunce had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in July 2007
Fist time in Costa Del Sol for 25 years. Loved this hotel. Spotlessy clean, excellent location, (directly opposit the beach and short walk to the Marina). Food was a very high standard and very friendly staff. Any problems (only minor one) were dealt with swiftly and efficiently. Did not stay most nighs for the entertainment but was mostly typical for Spanish Resorts. Plenty to do in resort. Loved the Park behind the hotel. So impressed have already booked to go back this October.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Pam had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in July 2007
This Hotel provides good food, very friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms. The latter containing a fridge ( not mini -bar) which proved very useful.Bedding changed ,if not every day, every other day. However,the Pool area is very small and is in need of a make-over. There is no life guard cover nor first aid facilities which at this time of the year I consider a neccessity. The standard of the Pool area does not match up with the rest of the Hotel.
However , be warned , this Hotel is situated right next to an extremely busy and noisy dual carriage way which runs from Fuengerola through to Torremolenos. It is almost impossible to hear yourself think or talk when seated in the outside Bar area. I pity anyone whose room overlooks the front of the Hotel and consequently ...
the road. The stream of traffic is almost constant for 24 hours . This spoilt an otherwise lovely Holiday .
I consider this Hotel is a 3 star masquerading as a 4 star.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Paul & Janet stayed at Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in May 2007
Hotel was great. Helpful staff especially the gentleman on reception. Food was great - lots to choose from. Mainly for couples - not many children. Location was great.

Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

clark & berry visited the Las Arenas Hotel, Benalmadena in April 2007
hotel was really nice and cleaned to a very high standard.

Food hot and something for everyone.

Plenty sunbeds at all times. ...


Will certainly return.

Read More

Tour Operator: flyglobespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

heather stayed at Las Arenas Hotel in January 2007
We have just returned today from a weeks stay at this hotel. It is a great location, with excellent staff and spotlessly clean.

The food although you would not starve was of a poor quality and semi warm. The entertainment was abysmal.

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Raymond had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel in January 2007
This hotel is spotless and could not fault it in any way.

The food is o-k but poor quality depending on what you are used to eating but in all fairness there was always something you could get.

We are both 58 and were bored, with no dissrespect, the hotel was geared up for retired people, and I mean well retired. So if you are looking for even a little entertainment then stay away and do not even think about taking children as there is nothing to do and as most of the bars are closed you can not even find a bit of life. It was that poor we sat in our room after 8pm but as I said if you like old time dancing every night then go but beware, do not sit on the wrong seat as most ...
of the people are on holiday for up to 3 months. And yes we were glad to get home last night.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

clark had a holiday at Las Arenas Hotel in October 2006
Lovely hotel which was cleaned to a very high standard.

Great location overlooking the beach and a few minutes to restuarants. Rooms spotless and great views.

Food was good and hot.

Will certainly return to this hotel.

Tour Operator: flyglobespan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share