Image of Alen Mak Hotel

Alen Mak Hotel

44 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

1 out of 5 from 14 reviews
2 stars
Chayka, Bulgaria
Situated amongst picturesque woodland between Golden Sands and St. Konstantin with natural springs nearby, this hotel will suit best those looking for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. The Alen Mak is 7km south from Golden Sands.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    12

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lisa Ray
12 years 11 months ago
When we first arrived at this hotel, we were gobsmacked at how run-down it looked. Our 2star room was nothing more than a hovel, with dirty walls, cramped room with no air. We had to pay a further fee to upgrade to 3star, which was a far better standard of room. Then of course is the 2lev fee for a sun lounger!! Ridiculous! The hotel seeks ways to get money from you at all costs. Even when I asked to send postcards which already had stamps, I had to buy more for them to send.

Despite our move, the room was barely cleaned, and I myself had 2 beach towels and a skirt stolen from our room. We were told that the guests who did not tip the cleaners were the ones who got belongings stolen.
There was also a case of an
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunmaster/Balkan Holidays

Leila Maia
12 years 11 months ago
This hotel was a lot nicer than expected! We stayed in the 3* part and it was very clean and the cleaners visit the rooms everyday.

The rooms are very spacious and modern looking with TV channels such as MTV (which was German but still had many American TV programmes on it) and Euro sport.

The staff are very friendly and always said hello. The owner even came up to us when we saw her in Varna and had a chat.

The pool is large (larger than most of the hotels in the resort)and not too deep (just less than 2meters). There is no problem with people 'reserving' sunbeds at 5am, however you have to pay 2levs (approx 80p) for a sunbed which isn't too bad.

The only bad thing about this hotel is that there is no entertainment which isn't very good especially as it is situated in a very quiet location which is more suitable for people looking for a peaceful holiday.

The area is pretty safe though and there are a couple of other hotels nearby. You will need taxi's to get everywhere, but the hotel have their own service which tends to be slightly cheaper.

The food at the restaurant was nice, however the meals tended to not come all at the same time. Also, for breakfast it is advisable to come down as early as possible as it is a buffet style so some people tend to eat as much as possible.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
Moore
12 years 11 months ago
First time we stayed atAllen Mak we were 3* that was in June 2004.

The room was brilliant I think we were the first to stay in it. We got clean bedding and towels regularly. We thought most were of staff were realy lovely people. It was my neices birthday while we there ,the staff played happy birthday to her brought her a big cake with firework type candle on it and a bottle bubbly.

The staff were always polite and friendly.

The breakfasts leave a lot to be desired but the food we ordered from the hotel restaurant wasnt to bad .In 2005 we booked a o a again and ended up back at allen mak in 2* the rooms were not that brill but had improved greatly from 2004.The carpets were dirty in the rooms they put us in , but the staff showed us other rooms and let us pick the one we wanted.The rooms were cleaned every day and the bedding changed twice .

The maids were lovely. We had 3 teenagers with us and they had a fantastic holiday, and are going back in 2006 with a few more mates.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
Not a hotel more like a army base in middle of nowhere. Cockroaches everywhere, room, pool and reception.

Broken windows couldn't see out of balcony as overgrown trees. Patio door to pool smashed and never mended.

Never ever go there as the most disgusting place ever been to.

Complained to Balkan holidays and they didn't want to know.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan

P.Williamson
13 years ago
When we booked, was told we would be A.O.A. as was late booking. Paid nearly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Master

Lesley Rickard
13 years ago
We were moved to this hotel after the a.o.a. we were given turned out to be disgusting.

The 3 star rooms are of a good standard, large with TV and air-con, however the rest of the hotel apart from the pool is a nightmare.

The surrounding area is like a war zone and we were told by other guests it was not safe,

Staff were mostly very unhelpful.

The two star block looks like a run down holiday camp. It's too far from the beach.

The other down side was that the police were at the hotel nearly every day due to some kind of theft. We were lucky and nothing bad happened to us but most people had a horror story to tell including a suitcase full of clothes being stolen.

First and last time in Bulgaria.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

C &l Sawyer
13 years ago
The food was disgusting,I wouldnt feed it to a dog.

We stayed in the 3 star for 2 weeks our sheets were changed once.

The towels were changed if we could find a maid to ask for some. The floors were filthy.

In a war zone,with builing work all around,and in the middle of nowhere.

Very unfriendly,things going missing from our room.
none.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bulkan

Mrs Probert
13 years ago
Rooms and pool not cleaned in our 2 week stay.

Uncovered dried up fly ridden food.

Situated in the middle of what looked like a war zone.

Staff were generally rude, arrogant and unhelful.

Daily visits from police due to constant thefts.

There was no entertainment whatsoever in fact everyone was glad to get out of there for a few hours.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Jennifer Connell
13 years ago
We stayed in the 3 star block the rooms were adequate and spacious. Our sheets and towels were only changed once in the 2 week holiday.

We stayed bed and breakfast the breakfast was awful. I would not have considered eating in the hotel for a main meal.

The staff very very ignorant unfriendly and total intimidating.

The police were there on a daily basis talking with the owners and staff although when we had our wallet stolen the staff would not get the police.

The guests were constantly getting things stolen were constantly have their possession stolen, which included my husband getting his wallet stolen with
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Rebecca Oliver
13 years ago
Where could you start with this hotel? it was a complete and utter disgrace! When we first arrived I thought it was a joke! I did not think any holiday maker could dream of putting an animal in it let alone a human being! The accommodation was diabolical. I just wish I had read reviews before hand.

The hotel in the brochure must have been taken when the hotel had first opened as it was nowhere near the same when we visited.

The food in the hotel was disgusting too, as bad as the hotel itself!! We ordered My younger sister, aged four, lasagne and chips and the lasagne was almost frozen, appalling! Luckily there was a gorgeous hotel 5 minute walk from our war ruined hotel, which we ate at most nights. There staff treated us fairly and was very kind, unlike our bug infested hotel.

While I was there I was extremely unwell and also fell over an unsafe bed within our dirty room and cut my leg open, something which is still scarred to this day.

The majority of staff at our hotel were rude and disgusting. They had no manners and regularly caused fights with guests in the hotel. I also had a running with almost every member of staff there, two in particular who I'm sure everybody knows about 'the 2 sisters who worked there' how rude! Whilst there a member of staff hit a young boy who was playing harmlessly around the pool, as he had apparently called their son. Very immature.

The hotel itself according to the brochure was situated minutes from a gorgeous beach, based in the greens of Bulgaria..... what a lie! is this even allowed? We was half an hour away from any source of life apart from the odd stray, infested dog or cat! I felt I was living a nightmare.

Don't even talk about entertainment, apparently a kids disco, I don't know where that was. Sorry there was a kids park, thats only if you wanted to kill your kid. Dangerous and dirty!

As you can see this is not the first bad review about this hotel... lets hope nobody else has to spend two weeks in this living hell.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum