Image of Atlantica Bay Hotel

Atlantica Bay Hotel

15 of 28 hotels in Limassol

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Amathous Avenue, Limassol 4060, Cyprus

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gill
10 years 8 months ago
Hotel nice and clean and the food fairly good with a varied seletion.
I would not reomened the location,although there was abus stop across the road to Limasol it was not worth a trip unless you ee going out for lunch.
The beach across the road is very tatty and the walk in to the touist area takes a good 45 mins and very dissapointing,just tatty touistshops.The rep advised us not to buy anything in Limasol main chain shops as dearer than the UK.
Hotel staff very polite and friendly.
The cost of drinks and snacks are extortionet even the packages that the hotel are offering,go all inclusive on booking.Alot of people were saying the same re the prices
Nice hotel but would not visit again re location and prices,trips on offer very exspensive as well.
If you do go take plenty of money
ocation and prices
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Bob,jean &ken,jill
10 years 11 months ago
First impressions very good, good flight, only one drop off at our hotel Thomson Gold.

Straight in no cases to carry took to room,

Room very big lots of room,TV, Tea making stuff, hair dryer,Safe {extra charge}
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Gold

Mr & Mrs Harris
10 years 11 months ago

Arrival :
This holiday was for our honeymoon and we wanted to go somewhere special.
We arrived at Paphos airport and jumped on a minibus which took us to the hotel - this was on time and well organised , the driver was also friendly.

On arrival we were taken straight to the welcome meeting while our cases were delivered to our room.We were sat down with a drink and lots of important information was given to us by the PR manager.

After the meeting we were informed that they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite! This was a large room with 4 poster bed, large balcony and hot tub. The room it self was good size but a little shabby with few stains on carpet and ants nest next to patio doors.

Food :
Lots of food at anytime but not very hot and not a great selection of vegetables or traditional food. Waiter system was frustrating as one waiter sat you down, another took drink order, another brought drink over and you had to wait for someone else to notice the bottle and open it ! one night we finished our starter before the wine arrived ! another night our table was cleared while we were getting desert !

Bar:
A bit slow, didnt like the fact you had to sign for every drink, they were not eager to top up your glass.


Entertainment:
Got bored of their resident band 'Roscoe' after 5 nights of it, too much of the same. The reps show was good and particlury Jo Slow the main entertainer who is mad and full of infectous energy! Disco Dave was ok but not as funny. There were many activities during the day for a bit of fun.

Overall the hotel is not 4 star as its a bit shabby around the edges, we had a good honeymoon and enjoyed most parts of our holiday but wont return to this hotel was expecting more for our money- we cannot fault Thomson service, the Reps were spot on.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Holidays

11 years 10 months ago
Thought I'd get this done quickly as I personally have found the reviews to be
extremely helpful when choosing hotels / resorts. So hope this helps.
Quick summary. A great hotel & facilities but only if your in your late 70s

Rooms:
Good sized room, key cards are used. The bedroom itself was fine with twin beds. Air con only worked when in the room, and could take a short while to cool down. Decent sized bathroom with bath/ shower, and plenty of space for all your toiletries, and marble tops. A hair drier is also supplied. Plenty of wardrobe space, not many hangers, so take your own. There are lots of drawers so space is not an issue. A colour TV which only included Sky news/Sky Spots (some of the time) in English.

A fridge with complimentary bottle of water, and ice department. We payed the extra for a sea view which gave us a lovely view of the sea if you stood on a box, as the trees and buildings blocked out the view unless you are on the upper floors.

Restaurant
Main restaurant, meals are buffet style and you can either sit inside or out (although the outside is very limited). There is something for everyone the restaurant had several main course choices +
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Richardson
12 years ago
Do NOT visit this hotel if you are hoping for a child free holiday. This is supposed to be a Thomson GOLD hotel but the week we stayed there must have been 20 to 30 children there!! This is not on, Why on earth do Thomsons allow children in ANY of their Gold hotels ? It is their main selling point, " no families, no children just good value holidays for couples " Apart from the sreaming round the pool area, pressing every button in the lifts as they came out ( so that the lift stops at every floor) running into the toilets at night when ther were a couple of elderly guests in and turning the lights off and the taps on , we hardly noticed they were there .Even the so called length pool to the side of the hotel was invaded, there is no where in this hotel that is adult only.

The hotel is however fabulous, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. We paid extra for a pool view room, that was a waste of time as we couldn't sit out on the balcony due to the formentioned noise and disturbance. The beach bar over the road that also belongs to the hotel is a lovely haven away from some of the noise, come out of the hotel, turn right and use the under pass, its far safer , lit at night than trying to cross the busy road . Its hard to judge the speed of the traffic at night and there are no pavements to speak of. There is a promenade of sorts and a raised boardwalk , we walked out most nights about 45mins gets you to a few bars and shops. We ate out at Just Georges one night, pretty good too.

The food in hotel was out of this world. WE were never stuck for choice, roasts, salads, Cypriot food, fresh fruit, pancakes, honey ( with the comb) ginger, too much to list.

We went for the drinks only package, I think most people did, not many paid cash, it was well worth it, included water, tea coffee, wine, iced coffee, milk shakes etc

We tried to hire a car from Europcar in the hotel but even with 4 days notice we couldn't get an automatic. We were told there weren't many on the island. Rubbish. WE went down the road, ( left out of the hotel, past the traffic lights ) to V.H. Michael, the man who runs it is the bar manager at the hotel, ask for Valentino in the main bar area if you don't fancy the walk. We got an excellant deal and an automatic, it was parked on the forecourt.

The entertainment at night was a mixed bag. Think the main man Rick would be better suited to 18 -30's rather than Thomson Gold. Some of the stuff offered was very childish. Putting a silly hat hat on before you answered the quetions in the competition, etc
We had Cliff Richard impersonator one night who was really good, a clssical guitarist another and a 4 girl band a couple of nights, quite good they were too. The last night was the worst, Rick whipped the mainly younger element of the crowd into a frenzy. They were standing on the chairs and tables shouting " you're not singing anymore " to the other half of the audience and behaving like hooligans. It was a bit intimidating , a lot of the older guests walked off to sit inside.This was not Thomson Gold at is best, more like its worst.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson GOLD

Recommended
Dennis
12 years 1 month ago
Not the best hotel I'm afraid.

Food edible.

Location of hotel was terrible, not much to do on a night.

Staff were friendly though and hotel clean but building work going on very close
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked own

12 years 1 month ago
We stayed in the Atlantica bay hotel 15 July 2007.
The hotel it self looked great, although there is building work going on next to this hotel we were told it would not be excessive we were woken a few times with the noise but it was no more noisy than the main road and the deliveries that was going on on a day to day basis, maid service was of a high standard.

The food itself was near enough the same every day, and it could have been a lot hotter, on one day the breakfast sausage was still stone cold in the middle.

Hotel staff in genral was friendly and helpful although if you ordered drinks by the pool sometimes they did not arrive at all or took a long time to be brought to you.

Entertainment was pretty good.

Would we return no as we have been to other gold hotels and the standard is a lot higher.

Also beings it was a gold hotel we were hopeing for a child free holiday but we had been warned that there may be some from other countries, we will try to find a hotel next year which will not except children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Tony And Sharon
12 years 3 months ago
Nice hotel. Staff very friendly.

Food not bad.

Shame about building site on two sides of hotel which can be dusty no good for asthmatics.

You can upgrade to inclusive or just drinks better deal can be had out there.

Did not see any water sports.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

12 years 6 months ago
On first impression of the hotel was one of being spotless in the public areas and the staff also very friendly. Our room on being allocated (310) was in a not too bad location, not facing the building site and also not facing the sea which would have meant we would also be facing the busy main road into Limassol which was like a test track for motorbikes.

Our room was fairly clean although a vacuum clean would have made the carpet look better and a wipe with duster on the glass surfaces would have stopped it looking shabby. Towels were changed everyday but on a couple of occasions we had to ring down for more towels as the maid kept on leaving us only one set (could have explained the room size which might have been a single but converted to double but forgot to tell the maid), saying that though the reception were prompt in sending up what was missing.

We stayed at the Atlantic Bay on Half Board basis, and thought for the first couple of evenings that the food was quite good although limited in choice, but as the days progressed, we realised that was as good as it was going to get, which then became very repetitive. Often being re-cycled meals with extra bits added from the evening before, you could predict with great accuracy what was on the menu before you walked into the dining room.
The Breakfast was the best of the meals but even that had no variations but plenty of choice so you could really eat something different on most mornings.

We found the location of the hotel to be in a reasonable location and we knew to expect this as we have seen it on previous visits to this area. There is a excellent bus service which stops directly in front of the hotel which you can catch into Limassol for 80 cents for the journey of around 10 kilometres, there are a few local bars nearby, Nelsons which is great if you want to keep up with all things football and a Irish/Cypriot bar called Molly Malones which had live entertainment on the evening we called in.

The hotel staff all seemed to be very hard working especially in the bar and reception, and were also quite friendly and always smiling.

Entertainment during the day consisted of a couple of the reps playing a few poolside games, and on a evening a resident band called Roscoe. The Ballroom where the evening entertainment was held was by enlarge empty, except for a few people who took up the all-inclusive offer and where trying to get value for money.

A gala evening was offered but this turned out to be the same fayre that was offered on all other evenings but just that you had to queue longer as everyone was eating at the same time. The drinks service then also suffered as everyone who ordered a bottle of wine or any other drink had to wait longer due to the volume of people ordering, a few on our table had actually finished all their meal before the wine waiter came round to open the bottle that they had ordered. The food Hygiene also suffered on that night as well as the food was left out in a corridor which normally was a walkway into the main dining room and was not protected by the glass counter for anyone who sneezed or coughed directly over the food.

Before you could finish your meal the entertainment started which was unfortunate if you happened to be sat next to the large amplifier of the stage, I saw a few wince when that started.

Taking all things into consideration we do not think we would visit this hotel again as most things that you take for granted such as fridge and tea/coffee making facilities were all charged as extras and mounted up massively over a week a two week period, the only way to escape those charges were to "Buy" All Inclusive when you arrived.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Alex &jean
12 years 8 months ago
Food was always cold even when it was brought straight from the kitchen and not very well cooked.Had to ask staff to replenish food on a number of occasions.

First room we were allocated we could not sleep for the noise of machinery that went on from 23.00hrs to 8.00hrs, this was room 424 which also overlooked a building site which started work at 07.00hrs to 16.00hrs each day. Second room we were inundated with ants in the bathroom even found 2 in one of the beds.

We were here in this hotel for xmas and the gala dinner on xmas eve was a complete disaster. Done as a buffet with the tables set up in the ballroom and the food in the lobby. There were people trying to get soup, salad. main course and sweet all at the same time with insufficient room in the lobby to accomodate them (packed like sardines in a tin)

Xmas programme stated boxing day lunch would served in the Leda restaurant implying this was for all guests, but on arrival at restaurant you were told it was for all inclusive only. Management did not put up notices to this effect even though they had realised their mistake and were indifferent to complaints.

It cost me
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum