Image of De Costa Bay Hotel Apartments

De Costa Bay Hotel Apartments

39 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4, Dafnis Street, Cyprus

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
David
9 years 7 months ago
de costa bay was in a lovely location close to te sea yet only 15 mins walk to the strip the hotel is a little run down but its clean and very relaxing nice pool and a large grass area with sunbeds
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airbourn

Recommended
Louise And Family
9 years 8 months ago
The Hotel was disappointing and definitely not a 4 star, more like 2 star. The room was very dated and shabby, the fridge door didn't close and the shower head wouldn't stay up on the bracket. The air conditioning was appreciated but very noisy.

The cleaner came in every other day but not sure what she did apart from changing bed clothes as she certainly didn't sweep. However she did try to clean up around me and change bedding etc on the morning we were leaving as I was packing and refused to come back later so I had to call housekeeping to have her removed !!!!

The bar/restaurant staff had the 'Can't be bothered' attitude. I found one male in his 40's to be particularly rude.
The food was good, and you were given the option on half board to eat at lunch time instead of the evening, giving you the opportunity to eat out, although the choice was VERY limited (13 items and that included a portion of chips), so we were glad we hadn't booked all inclusive if that was the lunch time menu.

The entertainment was good when it happened.(2 nights out of 7) although we did comment on how quiet the Hotel was for August. The entertainment staff did try to get guests involved around the pool with very few takers.
The pool and area were great and also clean.
There was also a little pebbly bay a 2 minutes walk from the pool area which was quiet and perfect for snorkeling or relaxing.

The Hotel was only a 10 minute walk (at a 4 year olds pace) from the beach/centre.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: flightline.co.uk

Keith & Kay
10 years 9 months ago
Hotel in a quiet location but only a 5 to 10 minute walk from all the nightlife (take a short cut across the wasteground just across the road). We had a sea view which was great, Hotel gardens go right to sea front , cliff top. Track down to small shingle beach area. Not sure about the view from rooms on the other side of the hotel tho. Pool area clean. Ignore the signs about not reserving sunbeds as everyone else does. Daily poolside activities such as aqua aerobics, water polo etc. There are showers in the sauna room which no one seemed to use and we were able to lock the door and use these to get ready for our late departure.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Julie And Mark
11 years 6 months ago
The Hotel was small and friendly, they did have a gym but it was locked up.

At that time of year the pool is really to cold to swim in and the beach was not that close to our hotel. I was disapointed in it really.

We had booked the Sunny Coast hotel, it was said to have a gym,hairdryer in the room, also sky tv in your room. This one didn't. I was greeted by our rep at the airport and she told us the hotel we had booked had closed and hadn't informed them. So we went to this one. All the little things I wanted it didn't have. Then again it probably worked out better as the location was much closer to the main town.

I would not go to the med again for 2 weeks in October, too much rain and cloud not enough sunshine.

The food in hotel is boring, the staff are really funny and friendly.

Would I go back to this hotel? Probably not.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Michelle & Family
11 years 8 months ago
We stayed in 1 bed apartment, it was large, plenty of room without us getting on top of one another. The aircon was a great asset as the temperature got up to 43 degrees! The room and hotel was clean and the maid came in most days with the sheets and towels being changed everh 2 days. The 'kitchen' is very very basic so if you are going to cook expect limitations.

The hotel food was themed buffet style. The food was ok but nothing special.

The entertainment was very basic in the evening, there is an entertainment manager who tried to keep the guests motivated although most of the time this fell flat.

Be aware that everything stops in the hotel at midnight including the bar.

The pool is lovely and there are games in the pool during the day which is great for adults and kids alike. My children are 10 and 13 and had a great time, as there were plenty of families in the resort they made lots of friends.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: lowcostbeds

Kim
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed in a one bed apartment with a lovely view of the med, the rooms are big, and thank godness for the air con as temperatures at night were 30 degrees.
I don't think you could cook in the kitchen but who wants to cook on holiday!

The themed buffet at night was ok but a bit pricey at 7cyp per adult and 3.50 per child plus drinks on top

The staff were great, reception was very helpful, Look out for Bill he is very friendly, he made us feel very welcome, he takes care of the entertainment day and night which was good.

I would like to vist

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Excel

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
We booked these apartments direct with Beds4All. Were a bit worried as there wasn't many reviews. However were extremely pleased with same. The one bedroom apartment is huge. They have aircon in both the bedroom and living area (although depends who you book with depends whether you have to pay for this). The kitchen is very basic (holidays aren't for cooking and the fridge does its job!). Very clean, the maid was in every day. Decent size pool and plenty of sun loungers. No need to put towels out as you could get a lounger at any time. There is also a garden area with loungers. There is a tennis court (far too much exercise for our liking). The hotel does food during the day and breakfast and meals in the evening. The evening meals are all buffet style. Can't comment on this because we didn't try them. Did have something to eat during the day and it was fine. There is also a bar and entertain on at night. Again can't comment because we didn't go. The bar is quite pricey compared to bars in the main strip. There is also a shop attached to the apartments and it does the job for essentials.

The main strip in Protaras is only a 10 minute "stroll" (could never be bothered to walk any faster) from the apartments. You will find many different restaurants and bars there. The further down the strip you go you will find the more livlier bars and clubs.

Do not go to the large Chinese restaurant with the Budda outside as it is over priced and the service is terrible. Indeed the food wasn't hot. There is an Italian restaurant up the stairs by the first fountain and although not strictly Italian the food was great and the staff were wounderful. If you want a proper Italian go right along the strip (McDonalds is at the end) and just before the Dancing Waters show (go its good and something different) on the right there is a brilliant Italian and we wish we had found it sooner. There is a Cypriot restaurant on your left, just before Stonehenge Bar, that does authentic Cypriot meals. Lovely but be warned the portions are HUGE!!!!

Just as you turn the corner onto the strip (travelling from the apartments), after Divas restaurant there is La Pas bar. Go there as the staff are wounderful and really friendly and always go out of their way to speak to you, even if you are just walking past.

Don't waste your money on taxis, catch the bus as they are a lot cheaper. There is a bus about every 15 mins. It would cost you 9 cyp to go to the waterpark in Ayia Napa and only 80 cent on the bus, plus keep your bus ticket as you get money off your entrance fee.

Everybody slags Larnaca airport the key is to try and get flights at good times. We arrived at 4pm and left at 4am. No queue on either arrival or departure. We have however heard that queues can be so big you are queuing out of the aiport in the blazing sun.

Enjoy your holiday if you are reading this, wish we were back already!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant - Accommodation booked with Beds4all

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel it's self was pretty nice but it was very basic. We stayed Half-board although the food was terrible every day, breakfast and dinner. It seemed like they weren't ready for catering as they didn't even have a proper set food bar, it was just on tables with hot dishes.

The hotel location wasn't too bad but it is a 15 minute stroll in to where evrything is happening, but I won't moan too much about it as it wasn't too bad.

HOTEL STAFF - WOW every single person who worked as the hotel was extremley friendly and would go out of their way to help. I have never stayed in an hotel where staff are so friendly. We asked if we could hire an Iron but they didn't do it so one of the staff there went and got his own, and lent it to us for the week.

Entertainment wasn't up to much I don't think but then again the hotel wasn't that busy.

All in all the hotel was ok but I wouldn't have chosen it if I knew before hand.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Anna
12 years 7 months ago
This was a lovely little find. This hotel was quite a way out of Protaras, about a 15 minute casual walk, but it was nice to be out of the way if you are after a relaxing holiday.

The rooms are great, with bedrooms upstairsa and balconys on both floors. We have a gorgeous view of the pool and the sea.

We were half board and the food was great, couldn't fault it in anyway. They even gave us a pack up when we left for our journey.

I would definitely come back to this hotel for a quiet week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended
12 years 8 months ago
WOW.... what a fantastic place to stay. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was a great size and could easily have slept three people. There was a good size fridge and reasonable cooker (we didn't cook once). There was enough utensils and everything you needed for up to four people. GREAT shower, hot water and good pressure. maids in every day and sheets and towels changed every two days.

The hotel staff where the most polite and helpful people I could have hoped for, from the reception staff right down to the cleaners, bar staff.... well everyone really.

Food was fresh and very very good, we ate in the hotel on several occasions, no complaints.

And yes I would visit this hotel again and again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum