Image of Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort

24 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
5 stars

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 10 months ago
We spent a week here and loved every minute. Although we booked with H&J I emailed the hotel and they arrenged a transfer from the airport for me. My first impression is that security here is very tight - no one can just wander in.

The grounds are beautiful and spotless clean - didnt see one piece of rubbish all week. Pool/beach butlers are excellent, really friendly and helpful. Although we were on a bed and breakfast booking we only ate in the hotel. The food is excellent with lots of selection. Imported wine is very expensive but the Egyptian wine (a first for me) is fine.

The hotel runs a courtesy bus three times a day into Naa'ma Bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended
N. Bailey
10 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the hotel after a decent enough flight, but then had to wait for what ended up being 2 hours whilst we waited for another couple who had unfortunately lost their bags.

I would advise people to book private transport instead of the communal transport and that way they can get straight to the hotel without delay.

When we eventually got to the hotel we were immediately very impressed with the standard. We had paid for a "sea view" room, but one would have had to stretch to see the sea and although we had asked for a double bed, it turned out to be two singles. We returned to reception and complained and after a short time and a few determined words they gave us a proper double room with a better sea view.

From then on, the place was fantastic! The service was very good with extremely helpful staff. We were very pleased to see that they had a lovely pool that catered for Adults only. Children were not allowed in and any that arrived with or without their parents were politely shown to the other pools. Parents with children should not feel bad about this as the other pools are bigger and better for the extra energy of children. We were very impressed with the helpfullness and diplomacy of the pool captains in this area.

Food was very good and the Thai resaurant suposedly the best in the area, but we thought that the Souk resaurant was a dissapointment. It has a good choice that you pay for with a system of tokens that you buy in advance. It is not too expensive, but we found the food to be rather ordinary. You sit at tables in the centre of the "Souk" more or less facing the stage where the entertainment takes place. Most of the entertainment is dancing and Egyptian music, but we found the amplified music to be far too loud to be pleasant.

Breakfast was excellent with a staggering choice, but try to get in early or you will be trampled in the rush!
Entertainment was not that good really, but I have marked it higher than I would normally have done because the management put on a superb effort to screen the live Rugby world cup final on giant screens. Refreshment was also on sale to quench the thirsts of hoarse throats!

The hotel also has it's own private beach with a long floating jetty which takes you out to the reef where you can snorkel or scuba. You can hire equipment from their small shop at minimal rates and the views on the reef are fantastic with thousands of brilliantly coloured fish. I swam for 2 hours at a time, but beware that you don't burn your back with the sun.

This whole review would have been virtually faultless if it hadn't been for an unfortunate occurance. We had enjoyed a splendid meal and settled in the lounge bar where I ordered a Cognac (Hennessy,which I know well). When it arrived I immediately knew that it was watered down! I took it back personally and watched as he poured another one. This was also watered down and not just slightly, but quite obviously. This was sad because it spoiled the great feeling we had built up about the Egyptian staff. To suddenly realise we were being cheated left a bad taste. I went to complain to the manager the next day and was told that he was on his day off, but I could see the Egyptian undermanager. He took my complaint and promised to look into it. A couple of days later I spotted the South African Manager and checked with him that my complaint had been passed on. It had not been passed on and the manager seemed genuinely shocked at my report. He reassured me that he would certainly look into it and it would be treated with the utmost seriousness. I left it at that and I don't know what the outcome of this was.

Although this is bad, the hotel was so good that we will be returning although I think I will stick to the beer in future!

Notwithstanding the bad bit,I would recommend this hotel for singles and couples with and without children. It is of a very high standard and some decent smart casual clothes should be packed for evening wear.

The sun is very hot in the season, so pack a very high factor suncream if you burn easily.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Key2 Holidays

Recommended
Diane & George Fallows
11 years 2 months ago
Have stayed at this hotel about 5 or 6 times now so really a local have taken friends and family there over the past years and can say that other than the 4 seasons it is the best hotel in Sharm. They always give you a room you are happy with and tend to reserve the same room for us as we love the location of it so much.

If you have not stayed there yet it is a must I recommend it all the time back home to people who ask where to stay in Sharm and we have been going every year sometimes twice a year since 1995.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday click

Recommended
Tina
11 years 5 months ago
My boyfriend and I stayed here last summer. It was a great hotel, the best I've stayed in! It was very clean, the staff were very helpful over helpful if anything!

The food was outstanding, we only stayed on bed and breakfast basis but found ourselves eating in the hotel most nights. The 'Souk' restaurant is the best! Choice of 5 different types of food and a special which is completely different each night!

The entertainment was pretty much same old every night but if you go into town there is no need to moan about the entertainment!

The Thai restaurant is lovely, expensive but worth it, lovely seating area outside which over looks the pools and sea/beach! We had to move inside as it was too hot to sit out there and eat which was a shame!

The spa in the hotel is wonderful, great massages etc! Beautifully decorated rooms with candles etc!

The hotel was very busy when we stayed. Yet everyday no matter what the time you could find a sunbed which is very rare! Great Adult only pool so you don't get the kids splashing! The actually do come over to this pool and ask the kids to get out if they do start to swim in this pool.

Would come back to this hotel again! Since staying here I have recommended this hotel to many!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Longwood Holidays

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
This must be the best hotel in Sharm !!

Everyone in the know, in Sharm, will tell you it is either this one or the 4 Seasons, but the 4 Seasons is very formal (ok if that's what you want, we prefer our hotel staff a little friendlier!) and the location is not as good.

The moment you arrive you are well looked after, met off the coach and luggage taken by the staff and, once your room is identified, off it goes whilst you are taken for a little guided tour on the way to your room.

We booked a sea front room, well worth the extra for an unobscured view of the Garden Bay.

(tip: we emailed the hotel a week before and requested an upper floor room, they are only 2 storey, but because of the terraced aspect, if you are on ground floor level you will only have a view of the grass and the sea horizon)

The rooms are lovely, large, with king size bed, well appointed and good 4 star rating I would say, kept well cleaned, fresh sheets every day.

Food was really good. The Souk restaurant was a great idea, nice set up with the "coin" system, lots of choice, only glitch being the repetitive Egyptian music and dancing same every night.

Beach grill is lovely, open every day but only open for dinner 3 nights a week. Cascades was great for lunch, right next to the pool. Sala Thai is fabulous and correctly regarded as the best restaurant in Sharm, authentic Thai wood carved decor, very good food, (been to Thailand so can comment!)

We had our 28th Wedding Anniversary dinner there and were made a real fuss of!! I arranged a single red rose and a cake as a surprise for my Wife and when I asked the price I was told that it would be complimentary !!. Did not eat at the Cafe Fresco as breakfast is served there, so a bit repetitive,but the menu looked good.

Location is fantastic, right on middle garden reef. Each morning saw at least ten dive and snorkeling boats coming into the bay from Naama Bay to drop off their clients, and it's there all day for us!! The reef is truly unbelievable, all I can say is if you don't snorkel, LEARN!!!

Close enough to the resort area, five minutes by taxi.
(tip: go to Naama Bay by hotel limo, it costs 56 LE fixed price and is by air con Mercedes. Otherwise you are going by local taxi, dirty 20 year old estate Peugeot, no air con and the haggling for the price is unbelievable, they want 50LE to begin with! but will settle for 30LE. That is after extreme haggling and I speak a fair amount of Arabic!!).

Hotel staff are excellent. Could not do enough for you, with, I feel, the correct balance of formality and familiarity. Pool butlers are brilliant and if you go to the same pool every day he will reserve your favourite sunbeds for you each morning. He would not even let us blow up our own inflatables! Took them from us, blew them up and returned them! Will arrange waiters to serve you, if you look like having difficulty attracting one. Would put up your sun parasols and even give you extra towels without asking for them.

All of the staff are as helpful as they can be and go out of their way to please you.

Room service was great, and food was relatively cheap to have delivered to you. (tip: For those who can't be bothered pressing clothes before you go. I had 8 shirts and 4 tee shirts collected at 9am and returned beautifully pressed into my wardrobe by 3pm for 12 Quid!!!).

Entertainment was a little thin on the ground, as I said previously, the Souk area was repetitive, only other entertainment was the Piano man in the Music & Stars bar, and he was very good. Sang and played some really great songs.

As others have said, drinks are expensive, and how they can justify 250 quid for a bottle of Moet, 115 quid for a bottle of cava and 67 quid for a bottle of blossom hill Cabernet is beyond me!!! Especially when a decent bottle of wine in Sharm airport duty free shop is $USA 8!!

However don't let that put you off, it's the only negative.

Spa was sooo good, we all had massages and felt fantastic afterwards. Sauna,s team room and warm Jacuzzi are free and can be used whenever you want.

Bank in the Souk area gave 10.1 to the quid which was good and so convenient, no traipsing round the resort for your exchange.

Overall, it is a fabulous hotel, the pools and lazy river are lovely, beach and reef area is great, restaurants and all of the staff are brill. Rooms very comfortable, whole hotel is spotlessly cleaned, gorgeous garden areas, excellent spa .You really could not wish for any more, and they make you feel like the most important V.I.P. guest at all times !!!

All added up, all 4 of us had one of the best holidays we have ever had and are already planning our return!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Dino
12 years 3 months ago
Hi All - just got back from a week at Hyatt Regency in Sharm (28th aug to 4th sep). Any prices below are Sterling.

Hotel Security - felt very safe in hotel. On arrival - guards search bags and you have to go through a bleeper archway thing (like at airport). On night they have a man watching over beach front area. Due to recent bombings - hotel not very full.

Location - Superb. 15 mins from airport but no problems with planes so this was excellent. Hotel built on sloping hill face and gardens/ bulidings decend down to sandy / coral cove. Hotel covers a large area but superb (beautiful) layout. 10 mins taxi to Nam bay & 20 mins to old Sharm market area. Stayed within Sinai area so never bothered with visas. Went to Nam Bay in daytime - was not impressed. Much better on night. Went to older Sharm market one night - hated it!!

Hotel - Very posh!! Beautiful bulidings and gardens layout / spotlessly clean / decent gym / luxurious spa facilities. Several pool areas and water falls dotted in amongst the grounds. Lovely lazy river runs around them. 80m water shute - the main reason for booking this place to keep kids amused was a master stroke - even if I say this myself!! We all loved it and was very poplular with all the families there.

Rooms - spotless and we had superb views over cove and sea and did not pay for FULL sea view (room 5317 and 5318 which I requested before the hol and were duly given on arrival - nice!!). Looked like pretty much all rooms had good views. Lovely bathrooms. We found both ours and our kids' (kids are 13 and 15 yrs old) room next door to be surprisingly cool even without air ???? on. This was fortunate as on the occasions when we did use the air ???? for a short blast at night it was very effective at cooling the room but noisy.

Service - Did not go Regency Club but service still extremely friendly and made you feel like royalty. Any problems sorted pretty much immediately!! Except the pool side drinks & food service - terrible (I'm still waiting for my beer!!)

Health - On our Egyptian friends' advice - we never drunk ice and ran showers for 5 mins before using (in case of disease spores building up if they were not used for long time). All 4 of us had no tummy bugs at all.

Beach / Coral snorkelling - Loved the beach cove (very comfy loungers). Coral snorkelling was a superb experience for 5 euros snorkel hire and right on our beach!! You enter the beach from the hotel via an underground "cave" tunnel - cool!!

Eating at Hotel - Not cheap. Several bars and restaurants. Typical meal for 4 of us on nightime in the "cheaper" Souke main restaurant area (choice of Meddy / Italian / Chinese etc...) would be approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Key 2 Holidays

Recommended
pol
12 years 4 months ago
My boyfriend and I just returned from the Hyatt on friday having had the most amazing holiday. The moment we arrived our cases were taken off us and after checking in we were taken to our huge room with queen size bed and a stunning sea view. Having only requested a sea view room rather than a sea front room we were slightly concerned that the view may be just a glimpse of the sea over the roof of another apartment so we were pleasantly surprised! The room was cleaned daily (as long as you remember to turn off your privacy light!) and we really could not fault the service of the housekeeping staff.

As for food the Sala Thai restaurant is definitely the best place to eat in the hotel however expect to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended
{at Docker
12 years 5 months ago
Luxurious hotel
3 pools including lazy river and corkscrew slide (although this was out of action at the end of holiday due to pool leak.

Staff really friendly. Breakfast lovely with fresh fruit, pancakes, omelettes cooked as well as cereal.

Beach restaurant idyllic and souk although a bit like a food court practical for a family.

Location brill: could just walk from beach or jetty straight into coral with amazing fish. Entertainment OK but not exciting: belly dancing + dance music.

Food and drinks expensive compared to prices at Nama Bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson a la carte

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Impressive hotel with great staff 4.5/5 - pool butlers are a great idea and will go out of their way to get you a sunbed (an end 'reserving' with towels!).

Room was ok, nothing more, nothing less - 3.5/5 . Facilities are quite good with three pools (so not much over-crowding, although one pool and the water slide was out of action), evening entertainment was ok.

The hotel is on quite a steep slope so it can be a bit of a slog walking from the sea back to your room in 40+ heat. You can snorkel off a floating jetty (into deep water though) or from the beach but I think more eco information could be provided by the hotel as I saw lots of people walking on the corals!
I also thought there was a reasonable current at certain times of the day, though no sign of lifegaurds.

The free hotel bus to Naama bay is a joke, there is no such thing as queing just a mad rush to get on (and off) and they do try to load it up as full as possible (not even standing room left!), so it does get hot; thankfully the trip is only about 10/15 minutes. Facilities overall 3/5.

The final thing was food, which I thought really let the hotel down, the breakfast was appalling with birds all over the pastries /bread although as a token guesture on the last day of our stay there was a waiter stood there waving a napkin over the food to keep the birds off! The fruit juice tastes like neat concentrate and needed at least 50% water to make it drinkable!

Overall breakfast=0.5/5. Lunches (burgers/pizzas etc) were ok in the pool bar 3/5. I thought any of the dinners we had in the various restaurants were expensive and not very good, but the thai restaurant was superb (even my partner who doesn't like spicy food said it was excellent).
Dinners=2/5 but thai gets 5/5.

Overall hotel is ok/good but expensive and let down by the food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Kealy
12 years 6 months ago
We arrived at the hotel about 6pm in the afternoon. Your cases are taken from you as soon as they are unloaded and taken straight to you room. The reception is beautiful and huge and very well maintained. It has a fantastic view of the sea, which is really spectacular. Reception staff are very polite and courteous. You are handed a cool drink upon arrival, which was great as in May it is really, really hot! The hotel complex is huge, with access for disabled. The hotel is positioned on a slight slope. We were taken to our room by one of the reception staff who gave us an overview of the hotel on the way. I emailed the hotel with a few queries before we went and they met all of our requirements which was nice (I believe this was down to the hyatt gold passport)

I do feel the staff take receiving tips for granted, until we went to Naama Bay we didnt know there was any other notes besides a LE50 or LE100! I dont mind tipping at all but I prefer to decide who to tip and how much.

We were upgraded to a full sea view room, with the help of a Hyatt Gold Passport (get one - worth it even if only to extend your room stay upon day of departure with no charge!). The rooms themselves are spacious and very comfortable. Huge TV with lots of English speaking channels should you desire to watch TV. Excellent kingsize beds. Nice bed clothes. Internet connection. Table and chairs. Balcony with sun lounger and additional table and chairs. Air conditioning. Lots of wardrobe space and drawers.

We found that housekeeping was done in the morning and they checked again in the afternoon to see if your room needs a refresh. Each day about 6pm the minibar is restocked with chocolate, alchohol, soft drinks and crips/nuts. In addition you could drink as much tea of coffee as you wanted. Although we found housekeeping was efficient I feel the rooms could do with a bit of a makeover, especially as the rest of the hotel is kept in immaculate condition. We found the plug hole in the shower didnt drain as quick as it should do. If you have a shower at a busy time of day (9.00-10.00am or 8.00-9.00pm) then there doesnt seem to be much hot water or power behind the spray. There are little issues such as the toilet holder cover falling off, skirting boards a little chipped, corners of the walls scuffed and chipped, more four star than 5 star.

We found that there is enough food options to keep you satisfied for a two weeks stay. Breakfast (7.30-10am)was great with lots of choice. Fresh pancakes and omlettes, cold meats, various cheeses, croissants, fresh fruit, toast maker, fresh fruit juices, tea/coffee and you can ask for various types of tea and coffee if you dont like the standard (which is actually just fine!) I would advise breakfast before 10.00am as it seems to get very busy around that time!

Dinner options were ok, the beach house is excellent for seafood although a little dark in the evening if you arent positioned under a lamp. They also offer chicken and beef options if you fancy a change.

Cascades pool bar offers lunch options, hot dogs, burgers, pizza, salads and costs approx LE150 for 2 people for a lunch time snack

Unfortunately, i cant recommend the Souk, we tried it 3 times and each time were disapointed. They have five outlets to choose from, Italian, Mexican, Indian, Chinese and a Desserts outlet. They give you a little bag of coins worth LE20 each, as you go round you pay with your coins - most meals are about 3-4 coins. they then count how many coins you have left and bill you for what you have used. Drinks are added seperately from the coins. They also have a chap wandering round with Hibiscus juice which tastes like Ribena - free of charge. They have entertainment in the form of Belly Dancers and a guy spinning round with plates, it looked the same pretty much everynight. In the souk they also have a Sheesha Corner (Fruit Flavoured Tobacco) - give it a go, definately an experience, I have since been advised that you are not supposed to inhale!.

Cafe fresco is a buffet service with different options every night or a standard A La Carte Menu. I would suggest you have a look at whats on offer in the buffet service before you decide between that and the alacarte menu. We found the Alacarte menu the best option and the most reasonably prices.

For 2 people we found meals ranging between LE300 and LE500 per night (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson A La Carte

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.