Image of Tirana Aqua Park Resort

Tirana Aqua Park Resort

83 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
5 stars
Airport rd, Nabq Bay Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Stafford
Good Value For Money
4 years 11 months ago
This is now the TIRANA AQUAPARK, it has been bought out by a Turkish group. Went 17/12/12 for 2 weeks - me and my 2 lads aged 16 & 18 - cost just over 2 grand which I thought was a fair price. They had just lost a star making it a 3*. The staff were working hard sprucing it up - painters everywhere. The new manager told me they are spending £20 million getting it back up to scratch. The food was adequate but bland. The staff worked very hard, as always. The 'heated pools' weren't heated! Neither was the aquapark pools, which was a shame for the kids. The pools were hardly used during our 2 week stay. The manager said it was for 'economic reasons'. The hotel is expanding and as a result there is a building site at the rear. They are building another 4000 rooms {so the manager said} and another 45 water slides and more pools. There wasn't much work going on during our stay but you can only imagine the noise and dust in the heat of summer. They are also building more rooms on their private beach which resembled a building site by the sea although there were sun loungers and a bar and snack bar there. It didn't spoil our trips to the beach though. Can't fault the clear clean waters of the red sea. Nabq Bay is worth a visit, just up the road. Hard Rock Cafe, KFC, Mcd's {you can get KFC & McD's delivered to the hotel}, Chinese, Union Jack Inn and plenty of shops. Soho Square is a 10 min taxi ride. If you don't like the hassle from the shop keepers this is the place for you. Its owned by the Savoy Hotel and the shop owners are not allowed to hassle you, but you can still barter. Naama Bay is also good for night life and shopping but you are at the mercy of the shop keepers. We went 2 years ago and they were very grabby and all over us. This year they were much calmer! Made it a pleasure to shop and barter. Went on a day boat trip to dive over the coral - well worth it. The food was better than the hotel food! Did quad bikes through the desert on Christmas Day. Did dune buggies too, gave them a good thrashing! Weather was very hot and getting hotter. Got sunstroke on the last day. Good to come back to cold, wet, soggy England with a tan though. If the price was right I'd go again, especially after all the renovations are complete.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
All in all a good holiday!
6 years 8 months ago
We stayed here for two weeks over the Easter hols.

On arrival we were greeted by staff with a welcoming and refreshing drink, we were then swiftly booked in and shown to our rooms. We stayed in a large two bedroom family room. The room had everything you would need, fridge which was restocked daily with fresh water. We had a kettle, iron and board, slippers and bath robes and a lovely large bowl of fresh fruit. The room was lovely and clean for the duration of our stay.

The balcony overlooked the water park. The boys loved the pools and the water park all of which were lovely and clean.

Food was ok but as with all Inclusive got a bit repetitive after a while, though you always found something to eat. There was also four A la Carte restaurants too. (Italian, Indian, Chinese and Lebanese).

No, wasn't really any entertainment in the evenings which let the hotel down abit, but that's the norm for Sharm.

All in all a good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Joe
Not the 5 star it boasts.
6 years 10 months ago
Hotel was worth the money. Kids had a great time, weather was not the best, but the workers were friendly.

You should consider a taxi to Naama Bay. Prices we paid were 50 Egyptian. You will need to state the price and be prepared to walk away. They will take the price. I highly recommend you be in a tipping mood. You will be rewarded. The people work hard for money and the little extra you provide will get you far. Tip your house keeper daily and you will be treated well. They all went above their responsibilities to get my kids and family what we needed.

Food was redundant but was manageable when we reminded ourselves to eat in moderation. Specialty Restaurants are a must. Great change of pace.

I would not consider this the 5 star rating it boasts. The pools were cold. I understand the climate is hot, but they need to be prepared to accommodate the winter guests with warmer water. I was extremely disappointed as the kids were just too cold, but anxious to get in the water.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian Stafford
Excellent hotel
6 years 11 months ago
Excellent hotel, having read some previous reviews I was a bit apprehensive about this hotel, also it was our first time in Egypt. Needn't have been worried. This hotel was excellent. Staff could not do enough to help - and they didn't expect tips.

Room kept extremely clean and tidy. I did tip the room lad a couple of times because he did an excellent job. Staff very friendly. Take the time to chat to them, they love the Brits. Meal time was interesting in that its a case of first come first served. All food areas were spotlessly clean and all food very well presented. Plenty of choice but it does get a bit repetitive.

The water park isn't massive but its enough to keep most kids happy for a few hours a day. Spent Christmas Day in Luxor. Weather was brilliant, especially Luxor.

Overall I rate the hotel as a low 4 star. The hotel was very well kept and the service was excellent. I would go again. Infact I'm already sorting out going again this Christmas. Have a good stay folks!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SallyMac
We have booked to go back
7 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Sunrise Tirana from 16th September for 2 weeks and loved it. The problems from July would appear to have all been rectified and a lot of the management replaced. Mind you we were out with the school holidays so the hotel was only half full which was great. No queues, plenty of sunbeds, no waiting to get a table.

Our rooms were large and cleaned daily with some lovely towel displays left. Bottled water is left for you each day and its good having the fridge. The room safe is free and the flat screen TV shows MTV, Disney channel, CNN etc. The huge walk in shower was fab! Loads of cupboard space but like all other hotels needs more hangers - take some plastic ones with you. We had rooms 2123 and 2121 which were in an ideal location for the kid’s pool and the slides.

The pools and slides are superb. My son who is nearly 4 loved the kiddie's pool and spent 14 days in there! Hubby and I tried the larger slides and they were excellent and great fun. Loads of mats and rings available.
There are 2 swim up bars and they were heaven in the hot afternoon heat.

Food was excellent with loads of choice. Freshly cooked omelettes and pancakes for breakfast, French toast, etc. Lunch - we only ate at the pool snack bar which served burgers, pizza, chips; etc which we just took back to our sunbeds (saved getting dressed for the restaurant!). Dinner - loads of choice. I loved the outdoor cooking stations and enjoyed some of the best stir fry’s ever! You would find it very hard to go hungry here.

No problems with the glasses for drinks, all large enough for us!

The staff were second to none. They did not look for tips although we did tip on a regular basis - just small tips but it certainly meant a lot to them. We received fabulous service and would do it all again. Do not tip in UK pound coins - they cannot change these at the banks and have to rely on tourists to change them into Sterling notes or Egyptian LE. They will accept dollars but it’s so much easier for them if you tip in their own currency.

The hotel is a bit remote, but we knew that before we went. There are plenty of taxis if you want to get out and about, just agree a price before you set off!

I have scored the entertainment as a 3 because we only saw it a couple of nights - our son was asleep by 9pm most nights! So drinks on the balcony for us.

The hotel Spa is lovely and we all enjoyed a massage from highly trained staff. Would definitely recommend it. All in all, a great holiday and we have booked to go back again June 2011. Can't wait!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bowman
7 years 4 months ago
This is the worst hoetl I have ever stayed in its not a 4 star its more like a 3 star. We got moved to another hotel after 2 days, Thnomas cook are aware of the problems with this hotel and its the only hotel I have stayed in were the resort manager has been there as there was so many complaints in on morning. this is a list of thing we complained about and so did a few other people.
1. room not ready at 8pm, no bed for my son
2. coffee machines broken at breakfast
3. pool attendents put towls on sun bed for money
4. staff and managers are rude and want tipped all the time
5. pool ladders broken
6. staff please there self when they take the icecream off
7. waited 30 min to get a table cleaned and reset of our dinner
8. waited 20 mins for plates to get our food
9. drinks all warm
10. glasses in restaurant all chipped
11. hot and frozen food mixed together. you dont need to be told how bad that is. Dont have the sping rolls these were like that
12. Ran out of spirits at 11pm
13. no were to sit in the lobby
14. welcolme meeting held in a room which was like a building site
15. staff want money for every thing they do for you and are not shy to ask
16. daughter got bit 18 times in the first night we were there.
the list could go on.

If you have a 18 year old son he will not get served alcoholic drinks as they say you must be 21 even though you pay adult price for him. My daughter is 16 and got served no problem and so did alot of other young girls
if your daughter is blonde or has long hair watch them as the staff will give the a bit more attention than they want.
Have been to Eygpt before and love it but would not go back to this hotel. If I was you I would see your tour operator and change you hotel.
We got moved to the Tiran Sharm and what a differec great staff and food would go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Saward
7 years 7 months ago
The Hotel was very clean, but upon arriving we had to leave our luggage outside the Hotel, go inside to check in, then go back outside to attach a sticker to our luggage,to enable the concierge to deliver the luggage to the correct room. Once back inside the Hotel we were not allowed to go to our room without someone showing us our room with about 4 other families. We found all we wanted to do was take our luggage and go straight to our room instead of hanging around in reception for about 1/2 an hour.

The food was very poor it was the same old thing night after night, the service in the Buffet restaurant was really bad, the waiters just had no idea on what they were doing we had to permanently be on their case for cutlery, can we have a drink etc.

The location was a Taxi ride away which was at a cost we found we used the local mini buses which were great fun.

We would have preferred a more central Hotel.

The cleaning Staff were good, but the Buffet restaurant staff gave very poor service and also some of the Bar staff.

The Entertainment was virtually non existant and what they did have, lasted about an hour was excruciatingly painful to watch, after two evenings we did give up watching. It was very hard for the children as they found the evenings quite boring.

We would not recommend this Hotel or stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jill And Phill
8 years ago
We stayed between the 1/11/09 and 12/11/09 for our honeymoon. The hotel is only a short drive from the airport (10 mins) but you dont worry about too much noise from the planes. The reception area is lovely spacious and clean. We were shown to our room promptly and are room was very nice. Unfortunately i think we have already covered the good points!
The food was substandard for a 5 star hotel i certainly wouldnt rate it higher than a 3 star and that would be pushing it. The main restaurant food was monotonous, and didnt cater for the English or children, it was always very busy with Russians pushing in and pinching your table. We lived off bread chips and cheese toasties. The italian a la carte was not much better with only 2 menus in the restaurant your in for a slow meal- which if you received at home would have refused to pay for. The fish restaurant opened on the 1/11 we heard some very bad reviews for there so didnt even try it (most people got up and left before their main meals even arrived).

The glasses you receive are small and most are chipped all around the top, queues to get a drink are often long, however find a seat and tip a waiter and you will be looked after better. Evening entertainment is entertain yourselves! If we haddnt have been able to get chatting with others in the same situation i dont know how we would have managed to stay the duration. Naama Bay is a 20 min taxi journey away costing
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: beach collections

Kirsty
8 years 5 months ago
The hotel itself is lovely, one of the nicest I have stayed in. Rooms are very nice, air conditioning very good, all areas of hotel including pool seemed to be kept very clean. Most staff are very friendly and will do anything for you.

The grounds of the hotel are massive and at the moment some parts are not complete however, this did not affect our holiday at all.

With regard to the food, myself and my boyfriend didn't think there was a lot of choice. I am quite a fussy eater so wouldn't usually make a negative comment about food but my boyfriend will eat most things but even he was stuck for choice. We have stayed All Inclusive in other countries and never had a problem before. Also, the alcohol isn't that great -some people may expect this but again, in previous All Inclusive hotels we have stayed in (including Turkey, Cyprus), this was not a problem.

The hotel is located in a quiet area but this didn't bother us. Hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport.

From what we saw the entertainment wasn't great but to be honest we didn't watch it every night so cannot comment too much. Various activities were put on during the day by the animation team but again I cannot comment on this because we didn't join in.

Both myself and my boyfriend were ill for a few days during our holiday - stomach upset, sickness. We made friends with another couple and they were also both ill and we heard other people say they had been ill. We don't think the illness was down to the food though, we just think it was down to the fact that some people do get ill abroad and people can get stomach upsets wherever they go on holiday. Mosquitos were also a problem and it seemed that people were getting bitten whilst in their rooms but this was sorted out by the hotel staff as they fumigated every room and after that I didn't get any more bites.

Myself and my boyfriend would visit this hotel again but only if we knew the food choice had improved.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kate & Andy
8 years 7 months ago
This was our fisrt trip to Egypt, We both had concerns about being ill as every one we had ever spoken to who had been ended up poorly. We booked a last min deal with Thomas Cook and enjoyed a good filght out. Our coach transfer was air conditioned and waiting for us when we landed. The hotel is very close to the air port and you will be able to watch planes going over on their way in and out. This added a point of intrest for the day rather than being a pain you couldnt hear the planes from your room.

On arrival at the hotel we were given a fantastic fruit drink that was really welcome, we checked in without any issues by a happy and freindly receptionist.we were taken along huge marble coridors to our room.

The bathroom was floor to celing in marble with a walk in shower complete with seat !!!

Our room had Twin beds and to be honest we would have prefered a double but the location of our room near to the pool and resteraunt we didnt ask to move. The beds were comfortable and had enough wardrobe space for all our cloathes although there were only a few hangers.The air con unit worked without problems and was very welcome on returning from a day at the pool.
Our TV worked without any problems there was a mix of language's on the channels and I could normally find something to watch.

Our maid was male as were most of the staff we saw, this was not an issue and infact Mohamad bought me flowers including mint as he noticed I had smoked on the balcony. ( smoking is permited in the rooms but I always prefer to smoke outside )and was happy to practice his english if he saw us in the room. We are not natural tippers but were happy to leave a pound or so each day which we were always thanked for. It seames that the staff collect the pound coins and will ask guests that are leaving to exchange for notes on leaving.... If you are happy to return home with a pocket full of pound coins you can do this but dont be afraid to count the money befor you make the swap.

My main concern about the holiday was being ill from the food but I have to say that the food we ate was good considering the number of people they were feeding, there was always someone on the hot food points to answer my questions and on more than one occasion the head chef walked through the dinning hall happy to talk to the guests. On some review sites people complain that food reapears and this is a standard catering trick, vegatables that had been hot were cooled and served in salads etc I did notice this a few times but I would rather not waste food so this did not bother me. I am happy to eat any thing so seldom have trouble finding something to eat but my other half is a very picky eater but always found something he enjoyed as there was a cooked to order pasta station in the dinning room.

Drinks were served from the main bar just off reception or the pool bar during the day, they were also available from the resturant during a meal service. There were also pool boys who would bring drinks to you by the pool but they were not always reliable. I think that was because they were a bit thin on the ground and the size of the place was huge so, by the time they had got back to the bar there was a huge list of drinks to remember, I dont think that they had pads to write things down.

The external areas of the hotel were just as clean as the interior and inthe desert thats no mean feet. The water in the pool was a little chilly for me but others in our group were happy to take a dip to get out of the heat. We did notice that the standard health and asftey signs were not in place and did mention this to our rep who organised a full risk assesment and we were advised that sings were due to be put up.

You will be given a towell card on check in, this is used to get fresh towells at the pool hut each day, the pool hut staff would offer to carry your towels and find sunbeds for you, a few times in the week we were there we did have difficulties finding a bed but the pool hut staff were always able to find some for us after a short wait.

We didnt experience any of the entertainment as we meet some fantastic people and were happy to sit by the bar.

We did leave the hotel on a few nights and can recomend going in to Nama bay if only to see the lights on the Shish cafes, fast food was very well priced four of us ate in pizza hut and it cost 167.00 egypt pounds wich at the time was around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.