Image of Sellas Hotel

Sellas Hotel

38 of 49 hotels in Sidari

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
3 stars
Sidari, Esperioi 49081, Greece
This popular, family run hotel is very well known amongst British visitors. Set in a pleasant, quiet location in Sidari, within easy strolling distance of the resort centre and the sandy beach, the hotel offers comfortable accommodation in simply furnished.

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jan
Hotel wasnt clean at all
7 years 1 month ago
Myself and my husband stayed at the Sellas Hotel B&B in June.

When we arrived we were shown to our room 109 the fridge was rusty and dirty and the knife and spoon in the room was dirty the bathroom door did not shut or lock and the apartment door handle was loose, so we asked to be moved.

We were then moved to room 502 on the top floor overlooking the pool to our horror the amenities were worse the fridge was rusty inside and out it was dirty inside with bits of food still inside, the kettle had a faulty lid if you tried to make a cup of tea the lid fell off and boiling water came out the spout as well as the top of the kettle, the taps in the bathroom were rusty and the metal had started to come off them the shower head was rusty and dirty the shower curtain had holes in it and it was black with dirt at the bottom.

We have been to Sidari on many occasions and I know you can get basic hotels but you at least expect the amenities to be in decent condition not poor conditions. The room itself was clean it was just the amenities that is why I have given it a score of 2 for cleanliness.

This is based on the experience we had with the hotel I do not know what the rest of the hotel rooms are like.

We complained to the reps, they tried to do everything they could to move us but nothing came of it. We complained to the manager who eventually changed everything in the room after 3 days.
The cleaners are round 6 days our bed and towels were changed 3 times a week they work really hard and are very friendly.

The pool area is nice plenty of sun loungers but only 6 parasols. Bed & Breakfast consists of boiled eggs, ham, cheese (which is cheese slices) cornflakes, apple, French bread to make toast which you have to retrieve from the toaster with Metal Tongs (which is not practical as it could cause a serious accident) milk, tea and coffee so we only had breakfast once there.

They do do a menu and you can purchase a full English off that, the food off the menu is better the staff at the hotel are friendly Lauren who works in the bar is lovely.

If you are planning to stay at this hotel they have a separate building for self-catering you have to ask for the annex I have seen it while I was over and it is nice. The hotel is central for everything.
I would not recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Keith & Linda
Fantastic - will return !
7 years 2 months ago
Myself and my partner have just returned today from a fantastic stay at the Sellas Hotel. Unfortunately we were only there for a week when 3 would have been nice!

Hotel - the hotel is exactly what it says on the tin; it doesn't claim to be a 5* deluxe nor a 1* slum, it is perfect for what you need a hotel room for - somewhere to sleep, change and store your clothes.

The beds are comfy enough, the shower curtains are a tad small yes, but the bathrooms are designed to be wet rooms so there is no issue there at all. The rooms are clean & spacious enough, cant really complain at all.

There is a lovely little bar area (we maybe spent a little too much time here!) and also a lovely pool and sun terrace. The atmosphere around the hotel was brilliant too, as it is not a large place and is more intimate and you saw the same faces every day> It was a very friendly place to be and we met some really nice people there.

The breakfast was ample if unspectacular but it did its job of filling a gap, there was always the snack bar if you weren't up for a continental breakfast. We ate at the snack bar a few times and the food was really nice.

Staff - what can we say about these lot? They are all excellent and for us they turned a really good holiday into an excellent holiday and we cant thank them all enough.

Location - perfect is the best way to describe it. Just set back about 100m from the main road, far enough away from the main strip to be nice and quiet but close enough to it to never feel out of touch with it all.

All in all we both had a perfect getaway, we were both really sad to be leaving but cant wait to return probably in 2012.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Will & Emily
8 years 11 months ago
Not welcomed on arrival - reluctantly taken to our room by uninterested member of staff.
Room small, dated and not particularly clean.
Bathroom also dated with broken towel rail and sink with no plug. Tiny shower that leaked on to bathroom floor when in use.
Pool area relaxing but, again, not very clean or well maintained.
Not suitable for couples planning a relaxing break as the hotel seems to attract groups of noisy teenagers.
Not up to usual Thompson standard and definitely should not be listed as 3T.
Very disappointing accommodation.
Will return to Sidari but definitely not Sellas Hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Andrea
8 years 11 months ago
This is our third time at the hotel Sellas, will be returning soon.

Mimosa, Marios and there son wonderful to see them again.

Lovely to meet George the owner, lovely man. We love this place so much we regard this as our second home, with lots of friends.
Hotel very clean, nice and peaceful by the pool, the local cuisine fabulous.

What more can I say hopefully retire out there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook - Flight

Recommended
Gail
9 years 10 months ago
the hotel rooms are tiny and so are the balconies. the fridge is a good help although it was very small. in the room there is 2 cups and one spoon a small wardrobe one draw and a bedside table. a friend stayed in the double room and the bed was smaller than a double (very cosey) the location is briiliant although it is down a small dirt track which is a shock when you get there, this helps the hotel to remain quiet so sleeping isnt a problem and no other holiday makers use the pool. the food in the hotel bar is nice but expensive eg 3 50 for a bacon butty and 2 for a cup of tea. cans of fizzy drinks were 2 euro so allow a far amount of monry for your food as there is no room in the rooms to even make a sandwich. The staff r very frindly and aim to please oh and i must not forget the beatiful friendly hotel cat that thinks its a dog hes fab. I would nt stay at sellas adain but i would stay in the hotels other accomadation that is close by.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Just back after a break with family and friends, couldnot find any complaints about the hotel or its staff who are all very friendly, nothing was to mucj trouble for them. Set back up a small dirt track which made it a very quiet place, and left the pool to residents only. Plenty to do in the town although the entertainment was pretty much the same fromone bar to the next, most had a quiz and followed that with a karaoke which is ok if thats what your after. Overall our group had a good stay here and would go back to this hotel, just not sure about resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lord
9 years 11 months ago
The breakfast was nice, with a choice of fresh bread, cheese, ham, eggs, cereal, cake and fruit, an english breakfast was an optional extra - but wouldnt of wanted a full breakfast everyday as this would have been to heavy in the heat.
The room was cleaned everyday, and we were pleased to have a fridge and kettle.

We thought the location of the hotel was perfect, right in the centre of everything, only a couple minutes walk to bars, restaurants and the beach, and everything else that you could want, the hotel was just off the main road so was nice and quiet when going to sleep.

We went to a restaurant that people had recommended on this site, but to our disappointment we did not enjoy our meals here. One place we would highly recommend is the 'Sweet Apple Cafe'. It is about 5-10mins walk but has lovely food and brilliant cocktails and the service was excellent.

The Hotel Staff were more than helpful, and as advertised there was no entertainment - it had a lovely swimmingpool and bar-restaurant and plently of other entertainment is only seconds away. For us it was just what we were looking for, as we wanted to explore what Corfu has to offer rather than staying in one place all day.

If one day we return to Corfu we would be happy to revisit this hotel. Thank you for our pleasant stay x
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Andrea
10 years 10 months ago
Hotel clean and tidy, pool area very good Breakfast basic but satisfied our needs poosible more variety on cereal for children and perhaps a hot buffet would be good !!
Location of Hotel excellent quite only a short walk to tavernas and bars
Hotel staff excellen especially Mimosa and Marios very helpful.
We will be visiting again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nicola
10 years 10 months ago
The best thing about this hotel is the location, we were looking for a hotel that was close to bars restaurants etc, but not too noisy that you couldn't sleep!! We found exactly that at the Sella's. We only had breakfast at the hotel twice preferring a better breakfast in the surrounding areas. We had some snacks at the hotel some lunchtimes which we thought were very good value for what you were paying and the food was nice. The hotel itself is extremely clean and it was a lovely relaxing atmosphere. It is a shame that the only huge let down was the room, we had squashed mosquitoes on the wall, the bathroom smelt and whenever we had a shower the bathroom looked like a swimming pool, the decor was dated and not appealing at all. Other than that the people were relatively friendly, the areas excluding the room was very good and the food was satisfactory.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Emma Parkes
10 years 10 months ago
The hotel was very basic but ok if you just want some where to sleep and chang. Beware of the mossies they are everywhere and you have to pay 50 euros for air con which trust me you need it for this time of year!

The hotel was in a great location just of the main strip at the quiet end. The hotel was very clean but dont bother with the brekkie only bread ham cheese and cereal, go to fagins round the corner.

Staff were friendly enough. If you want to go on excursions it is much cheaper to book with the agencies on the main road than it is with first choice. We booked a grand island tour which was 38 euros each but then we had to pay 4 euros each to visit monestery and 7 eruos each for a boat trip, after lunch it proved to be a very expensive trip, other tours we have done with first choice everything is included in the price but not this one be warned!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum