Image of Zafiris Apartments

Zafiris Apartments

6 of 49 hotels in Sidari

5 out of 5 from 76 reviews
Melitsa, Περουλάδες, 49081, Greece
A popular complex set on a slight incline, the Zafiris Apartments provide guests with comfortable accommodation and a good range of facilities. This hotel, situated very close to a sandy beach, is a firm favourite with all its visitors.

76 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    54
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not for me (2 stars)
2 years 3 months ago
I went with my family (mum, dad, sister, sisters daughter and my boyfriend) and their room was pretty nice and spacious whereas ours wasn't very nice.

The food is not good. Buffet food which means there's a lot but none of it is much good. We noticed things being put out again such as the same pizza for lunch (at one point pizza with bacon put in vegetarian pizza section) as dinner, chips at lunch presalted when my boyfriend got them which for me, suggests they took them off someone's plate to serve again.

A live wire next to the Saxophone which crackled when we went past. We told the barman and next time we went past it was just covered with a lot of tape.

Drinks are sodastream which, personally, wasn't that good for me. Just felt like they were trying to save as much as possible while still being all inclusive.

This isn't against hotel but there is very little to do outside of the hotel. After a short (20 minute walk) you reach the end of the shops and then there's nothing else to really do.

It rained twice in our week there and both times I was disappointed that they didn't open the Saxophone early so we had something to do.

My parents enjoyed everything though so I just think the holiday wasn't for me.

On the last day we had to check out for 12 and at half 10 the maids were in our room, tidying up which we thought was strange. They had taken a bottle of Pepsi out of the fridge and put it in mop bucket, hidden and gave it us back once I questioned it.

We realised later they'd taken other things like some clothes and money off the bedside table and decided to go to reception and ask for our things back. The woman at reception was polite, at first and dealt with it promptly, getting the maid to bring back our items. However she didn't apologize and seemed to treat it like an "accident".

So me and my boyfriend walk off to the planet pool on corner but are chased by my sister who says the manager is trying to blame us for it, saying that it was "our responsibility to ensure nothing was stolen from our room."

So, annoyed now, we go back up to reception and ask about this. Admittedly we were angry and did yell when she said that we needed to bring suitcases into reception so they knew we'd checked out. We argued that if that was the case why were people in our room when the cases weren't in reception.

The woman at reception shouted back at us, telling us to lower our voices. I left it to my boyfriend and wrote out the feedback form they had given us the day before, saying that they had stolen and staff were rude when confronted. She also said we had to obey the laws of country (which laws we never discovered) and we couldn't go into a friends room in the UK (which I'm sure isn't illegal).

I put the feedback form on desk as left and walked back down hill only to be chased by a large man who, I think, was the owner. He screamed at us, saying we weren't allowed to leave and he was calling police over allegations of stolen money. I tried to say we didn't care about the money, we were leaving in 2 hrs and would rather enjoy rest of time here rather than complaining about 6€, which we never got back. But he screamed me down and kept saying it was against law.

He left and said again we weren't allowed to leave and was calling police.

Me and my boyfriend went to my parents room (we were standing outside their complex) to get our luggage in case he tried to stop us entering their room later. As I was leaving I heard him screaming again and, saw he was stood in front of gates, presumably to stop us leaving.

Eventually my mum, dad and boyfriend decided to, separately, have words with him. We all left and my boyfriend went with him to wait for police. We went to the local bar to try and calm down. He was also trying to get my boyfriend to redact his feedback as he, essentially, said it was slander.

The police arrived and my boyfriend returned to get his passport as police wanted it. He gave them all his details and later said the manager was trying to get my boyfriend's passport taken off him so we couldn't fly home. I rung the British embassy at this point as I was scared something would happen.

It was eventually resolved but after 40 mins of stress, that didn't need to happen.

AVOID.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Hotel tip: The pizza place round the corner is gorgeous.

Aspden Family
9 years ago
fantastic apartments,the views from the pool were second to none!! the staff couldn't do enough for you and were always stopping for a laugh and a chat!! Our kids loved it here and we would definately come back,i think they were refurbishing the pool area for the 2010 season so it will be even better!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Rushworth
9 years 1 month ago
just come back from zafiris had the best holiday in a long time rooms lovely and clean the staff were brilliant and barbie was more than helpfull the food was lovely had a meal on cliff top the views were great not to be missed lovely beach a stones throws away was a lovely beach found another beach to the left of zafiris this was just as nice all in all had a brill time local people were really nice also went horse riding twice this is not to be missed either had a great time all in all i give zafiris 10 out of 10 on every thing can not wait for next year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Steve Harris
9 years 2 months ago
We've just returned from a great week's holiday in Corfu.
The transfer was about an hour and a half of winding roads and it was hot hot hot! (Mid 30's).
The staff are lovely - friendly and genuine the food in the hotel is good although slightly pricey. The room was fine and very clean. The receptionist was friendly and very helpful and I would highly recomend this hotel.
A couple of minor points - the pool has an island feature with an underwater ledge that it could be possible to get stuck under - my 6 yr old can swim wellbut I had to watch this very carefully.
Could highly recomend Aqualand - a great day out!
The season has been quiet I hear - in part due to the credit crunch and in part to the strong Euro - Greece isn't as cheap to visit as 10yrs ago but is still a really good destination for a hoiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
The Morgan Family
9 years 2 months ago
This was our long awaited second visit to this lovely Hotel. We were not disapointed! We had another fantastic holiday. Our accommodation was perfect, 2 bed apt in block 2 right next to the kids play park and with fantastic views. We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay 3 years ago and this hotel is just as good on our return visit. Fantastic staff - very friendly - can't do enough for you. Great food - as with our last stay the food is so good at the hotel we didn't want to eat anywhere else! Good entertainment - the greek night was great! Halfway through our stay a new entertainment chap called Chris started, he seems very good and the kids had a great time playing in the pool with him!

We will definately return to the Zafiris, it's our perfect relaxing family holiday, great people, great food, fantastic location - can't praise it enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
PENNYCOOK FAMILY
9 years 3 months ago
Been here 6 times before, I agree its needing a bit of upgrade, but for the money you pay its still value for money. The staff are brillas usual. They now have an entertainer at the pool for the kids and at night his name is Paul he is brill Kept my 10 yr old occupied. Had lots of entertainment from quiz night to bingo and even snail racing. He is better than the reps you get at british holiday caravan sites.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Well just got back, We have 3 young children, & they all got upset about going home. We had the best holiday ever, we made loads of friends, all with families. Weather for october was hotish, about 25c everyday. Pool was fab as was the beach a few yards away. The room was fair, we had a front room, with tv, kitchen etc and a lovely balcony over looking the pool and play park, upstairs was a bathroom with bath & shower and 3 beds for the kids, we slept on the couch wich turned into 2 beds. we was there for 2 weeks, & all 5 of us was happy with the accomidation. n reception we had a free safe to put all cash etc in, and the receptionist is caled Dawn (Barbie), she is english and a lovely lady, very helpful. The maids came daily & all the waiters & gardeners etc were very friendly. There is loads to do, trips to go on. We went on a couple of boat trips, corfu trip, then spent the rest of our time either in the pool or at the beach, We hired a speed boat at the beach for a few hours, it was dead cool, only 35 euros for abrand new speed boat with all the life jackets, flairs, sun canopy etc, the whole family enjoyed this, we also went paragliding too! We cant fault this holiday & are making plans to go back next year. We met really nice people from all over England, which we will keep in contact with. evenings a little quiet as Taveners dont start the entertainment until 22.00, & kids was to tired to go, however the creek night at the sea breze was fantastic, they get you up on the floor too & smash the plates & dance away. All meals was very cheap, although drinks are expensive. about 55 Euros for all 5 of us, for a big meal.
Great holiday, Great Accomadation, great people.
You should book this holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nicky
10 years ago
First visit to this hotel and definitely worth it! Hotel leads straight to the beautiful beach and coastline of Sidari.
Rooms cleaned regularly along with towel changes. Ok the room was very small, especially for 5 of us but as we only slept and had breakfast there we managed.
What really makes this hotel stand out are the wonderful staff. Never before have we been so welcomed and nothing was too much trouble. Zafiris the owner is calm, gentle and lovely, the other staff - Nikki, Tom, Domitri, Domitri, David and Yannis all go out of their way to ensure that you have the best holiday ever and we did! The pool party and the Greek night are well worth a visit and the Saxophone bar was a joy especially the hypnotist and the bingo!! We loved the location of the hotel, which was in the quieter and much nicer part of Sidari. Food at the pool bar and hotel restaurant was lovely and we especially liked the 'Village' and also the 'Konaki'. The food was quite reasonably priced however the drinks at the hotel and resort are very expensive and meant that we spent most of our money!!! We loved our time here and would recommend it to anyone and would definitely like to return next year - thank you Zafiris.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Dave And Mary
10 years ago
Just retuned after a fabulous time at the Zafiris,so good we've booked for 2 weeks next August.
My wife and I joined my daughter,son in law and 2 grandchildren for their second week.
On arrival was met by Zafiris himself who personally took us to our room,helping with cases.
The location was breathtaking, 20metres from the cliffs and small coves - the sunset views from the restaurant are just something out of this world..
The pool was fantastic and very clean,the surrounding bar area is great for cooling off in the shade.
Room was adequate but clean and fresh towels supplied each day.
Good choice of food available and the full breakfast really good value at 3.80euros.inc.juice,coffee/tea and toast.
The real icing on the cake was the staff - they are the best we've encountered anywhere.
Tom,Nikki,Dave and the others couldn't do enough for you - we even had Tom saying Scots sayings with his accent spot on..
Couldn't say a bad word about the place - roll on next summer.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Phil
10 years ago
we have just returned from zafiris after having a very enjoyable holiday, however this was in spite of some grave failings.our bathroom,my sister's bathroom and my son's bathroom were covered in mould and fell well below our expectations.my daughter's bathroom was fine. the pool was dirty-very cloudy with numerous waterboatmen enjoying a swim,so watch out for ear infections.our towels were only changed 4 times in a fortnight(they say it is done 3 times a week).however all the staff are friendly and helpful,especially the receptionist who is a delight.the food is first class and eating during sunset is a lovely experience.the position is excellent and the grounds are well kept.the rooms and kitchen area are adequate.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum