Image of Europa Beach Hotel

Europa Beach Hotel

21 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Analipsi, HERAKLION CRETE 70014, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs Holland
13 years 3 months ago
We had a good holiday in this hotel even though we had booked to go to the Astir Beach hotel and was told a week before we arrived due to over booking.

The transfers to the hotel were good and they soon had us on the coaches and transfered to the hotels same coming back to the airport, didnt have to hang about long.

The rooms were basic and very clean the maids cleaned them every day and had clean towels daily. They provide hairdryers and a fridge and a TV.

When we arrived it was 5am and the manager of the hotel greeted us with fresh orange and gave us forms to fill out with our details then as quickly as he could had us in our rooms (within 1/2 hr)Porters carried our cases to the rooms for us.

The meals catered for all tastes and were hot and good with plenty choice. The waiters and waitresses were friendly and couldnt do enough for us. We usually found something we all liked.

Every afternoon at 4pm there was coffee and cakes served in one of the pool bars if you wanted them. Pizza and chips or sandwiches were on every day too. The bar they used at night only had 1 man on who was serving people fast with not much choice of drinks and he wasnt very friendly that could be because he was run off his feet.

The girl on the pool bar always had a smile and spoke good english she served as fast as she could.
The pool areas were clean but was slippy so caution was needed. The pools were quite deep about 9ft in the deep end and about 5ft in the shallowest end!

The grounds were lovely and well kept lots of little gardens. The ground staff watered the plants twice a day and cut the grass twice a week. They cleaned round the pool everyday.

There was plenty of sunbeds and you didn't have to get up early to get them.

The entertainment left a lot to be desired and we usually looked to see what it was like then went for a walk. The entertainment staff were french and catered for the french mainly! Wasn't impressed at all.

My kids were bored at night (they are teenagers) and the young children were running around not being watched and as the entertainment was outside it got very windy at night so we usually gave it a miss.

They need to re-think their programmes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended
Wendy
13 years 3 months ago
Only visit this Hotel if you are over 65 and wear speedo's !

It is supposed to be 4 star but was definately only 3. The food was really quite bad , it was edible but very bland. The hotel itself is in the middle of no where, and not within walking distance to any where worth going to.

You can catch a taxi to Hersonissos or Malia costing 10 and 15 euro's . If your going to stay in this area then go to Hersonissos or Malia. Europa Beach is for the Saga Catalogue !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Travel

N Murrell
13 years 3 months ago
We were moved to the Europa Beach hotel after being 'overbooked' by Hellenic Voyages as we were supposed to be staying at the Astir Beach hotel in Gouves.

The hotel is very nice with two big pools. There were always plenty of sunbeds available and no need to 'save' them with towels!

Most of the staff are very friendly, including the receptionists, the pool bar staff, the maids and the animation team. However, certain members of management and main bar staff were somewhat less agreeable.

The entertainment most nights was fine, with a kids disco for half an hour before the main entertainment. The animation team actively encourage audience participation, and they had competitions like Mr Europa Beach, You Bet, and Mr and Mrs, as well as sketch shows. They also have Greek and Cretan nights, however, when staying for two weeks, this can become a little repetitive.

The daytime entertainment consisted of activities such as water polo, volleyball, darts, aqua gymnastics and more and the animation team who organise these activities are excellent.

The hotel rooms were clean with hairdryer, fridge and TV.

The pool area was always very clean and well kept. The pools however are a little slippery so please take care as I managed to slip and cut my knee!

The food at the hotel, we found was fine. However, if you are expecting burgers, chips, etc then you will not find it here! There was always pasta with 2 types of sauce, 2/3 kinds of vegetables and potatoes, meat dishes such as veal, mouasaka, pie, and always a veggie option. As well as this, there are salads, soup, fruit, and cakes which were delicious!!!

At the hotel bar, they serve pizza, sandwiches and chips from 10-6 and cakes from 4-5.

We found the hotel very nice but the location of the hotel however is a different matter entirely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hellenic Voyages

Dave
13 years 7 months ago
We had a very enjoyable holiday at the Europa hotel. The rooms were basic but clean as was the whole of the hotel complex. There was plenty of variety to the food and the option of packed lunches if required (and sandwiches o/s of meal times although you have to ask).

Staff were friendly and although the entertainment was limited, the entertainment team were excellent fun and our children always enjoyed the kids club.

The resort is a little isolated and travel is required for anything other than beach / pool or a few bars, but at least this meant the choice was ours rather than having the noise all of the time.

Overall all of us had a very enjoyable time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended
Kirsty
14 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from Europa Beach Hotel, where we had an enjoyable and relaxing break.

Our room was spacious with two wide single beds placed together. The air conditioning was quiet and effective, there was a fridge (useful for bottled water) and television which had Sky news and BBC World News. The TV had a volume control so that others would not be disturbed. We found this to be great as it also served as a reminder that many guests would be seeking peace and quiet.

The rooms are set in clusters of small buildings within lush and well kept grounds. There are two main pools each with childrens pool. The one at the front of the hotel overlooking the beach tends to have music playing most of the time and this is where the entertainment and activities take place. The other one, which we used, is nice and quiet.

We found the food to be excellent - good variety of local dishes, pasta, bread, cheeses, salads. This is all served buffet style and, as a vegetarian, I found no difficulty piling my plate with fabulous foods. This hotel attracts guests from Italy, France, Germany, Greece and other countries and we felt this was reflected in the food, which did not over-indulge the British obsession with chips! (although these were available at the poolside bar along with pizza). We have read other reports critical of the food but we are surprised as we found it delicious, plentiful and well presented. Young children may find some of the food unfamiliar and this could be a difficulty for some although there was plenty of pasta,bread, salad, fruit, meat and cheeses.

The staff were friendly but not overly so. They were always polite and courteous.

In September the entertainment was low-key, which suited us well.

The hotel is situated almost at the end of a road, opposite a nice beach and within walking distance of Analipsi which has shops and tavernas.

We were seeking a quiet relaxing break and this is what we got. It seemed most suited to couples or families with young children.

If you are after an all-action, lively time then this is possibly not for you.

We would return to this hotel. A word of caution however - next to the hotel is a vacant site and it may be worth checking that there is no building work planned before booking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: last minute

Recommended
Stokes
14 years 5 months ago
Firstly I was looking to spend a quite week with my wife which we hadn't been able to do for a long time. This hotel offered everything we needed in order to facilitate this. The staff are friendly. The food is of a good standard, with plenty of variety for all tastes. The American style breakfast is particularly worthy of note. The rooms are very clean, and I mean clean as the maidds come in every day. The location is remote and this sometimes lets it down for entertainment as your quite literally a 'captive audience'. I found this not to be a problem for someone wishing to 'get away from it all' for a week. The mix of Anglo-French-Italian clients also makes this an enjoyable holiday location. I would be more than happy to return on the basis of this first visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Golden Sun

Recommended
Nye
14 years 5 months ago
An excellent holiday for all 4 of us.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The food was tasty and we enjoyed trying the different foods on offer. Meals were easy and uncomplicated - plentiful food well-presented and a wide variety.
The room and the complex were very clean. The pools and communal areas looked after well. Towels provided and replaced as necessary.
20min walk into local village with good range of shops and eateries, but other tavernas along the beach front if you wanted to eat out.
Coach trips are available.
The kids club meant the grown ups got peace and quiet each morning and afternoon.

We had a great time and would happily return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Now

Recommended
Mrs C Cross
14 years 5 months ago
I got back from this hotel yesterday and I have to inform people that it was the worst holiday that me and my family have ever had. The food was absolutely diabolical. There was nothing for the children to eat. There was no unlimited ice cream as stated there would be. The restaurant manager was rude and without doubt the most unhelpful person we have ever met. I would occassionaly make rolls for the children to take with me during the day which was always at the hotel, and he would stop me taking them out of the restaurant if he caught me. My children are 5 and 3 and for the two weeks that we were there, hardly ate a thing. I had to end up going out to the supermarkets and buying them things which I shouldn't have had to do as I was all inclusive. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were damp and overgrown with bushes outside the doors. There would be ants crawling all over the floor. The floor outside the swimming areas were VERY slippery, causing my children to fall constantly. It was the worst 2 weeks of the year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Gemstone Travel

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum